Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • shakeawayy
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Sep 2017
4.0

Wouldn't recommend staying for a single night, apparently you're not allowed to stay on site if you've checked out already then you'll have problems being able to stay in the private areas. The desk staff aren't particularly bright. There's no reason to stay here because this is apparently a "party" hostel - it's not. There's a good rooftop but there is hardly any socialising - most people are on their phones. When asked to leave I was told that "you should know better, you're a traveller".

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
9.1

This was the first hostel I stayed in for the start of my trip and it was a great one to start with! The staff are super friendly and really helpful. They have lots of different activities each day too, which helps you meet people and the breakfast is alright. There is a bar upstairs too - it is overpriced but it's fun to go there! The rooms are OK and get cleaned daily. Overall, I would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
9.1

Amazing!!! Me encanta el lugar, ya van algunas ocasiones que me hospedo ahí y está genial. El Ambiente y la ubicación son lo mejor!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2017
8.3

The place is great, location is super, right behind the catedral en el zocalo. Luckily my dorm was on the 1sr floor, no working elevator so access to community kitchen/ rooftop bar required 5 flights of stairs, but no biggie if you're a walker/adventurero on your viajes. The only downside for me was the bunkbed, super squeaky and wobbly, felt like i was gonna fall on the person below me in the middle of the night, anymovement caused the bunk to roll around. I think they need to update their beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lauramjohns2943
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2017
4.6

Worst Hostel we've stayed at in 3 months of travelling Central America. There is a really cool rooftop bar with an incredible view but it packs out with locals who are very cliquey so it didn't have the best vibe for good party times. Our room was on the 5th floor and the lift was broken our whole stay. Shared bathrooms were filthy and shower door didn't lock. No water in the morning so toilets couldn't flush and no showers. Rude receptionists. Left early because we hated it so much.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
8.6

Had a good stay. Got off to a bad start when receptionist (beard man) was really unreasonable and basically seemed like he was after confrontation but the manager sorted everything out and everyone else working in bar and restaurant were all cool. Clean place and could have a good time in bar, but doesn't totally lend itself to being sociable. The bar is open to public and there was a full on trance rave on the Sunday when I arrived, which wasn't quite what I'd envisaged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Amazing location. Staff were generally pretty helpful. Really decent breakfast. Dorms had their own light and power. Nice rooftop bar. Very loud on Friday Saturday Sunday when the roof bar is open to the public and stays open later but didn’t bother us. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
2.9

I never write reviews because I simply have better things to do wih my time. However I really like HI and I just cannot believe that branch is part of the Institution : the staff couldńt care less about us, the place was a mess and and super noisy. It just felt like a zoo. We were given a twin i stead of a double room, had to ask for towels and sheets and one of the "receptionists" a young punk hooked on candy crush even threatened of calling the police because we checked out an hour too late.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • conrado_grossi7632
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel is good, and there is a bar at the rooftop. The point is that if you are a solo traveller, this hostel is more party then a good atmosphere to meet people, because the bar is more party than a bar, and it is opened to local people, so, it is basically a party. The hostel is located at the city center, which means that the neighborhood is crowded. Besides this, it is fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.1

Met so many cool people at this hostel! Breakfast was really good and so was the location. The kitchen terrace area was great for drinking in the evenings and the rooftop bar is nice but expensive. Only ciritcism was some of the staff were inefficient and unprofessional!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×