Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Aug 2017
8.6

Had a good stay. Got off to a bad start when receptionist (beard man) was really unreasonable and basically seemed like he was after confrontation but the manager sorted everything out and everyone else working in bar and restaurant were all cool. Clean place and could have a good time in bar, but doesn't totally lend itself to being sociable. The bar is open to public and there was a full on trance rave on the Sunday when I arrived, which wasn't quite what I'd envisaged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
2.9

I never write reviews because I simply have better things to do wih my time. However I really like HI and I just cannot believe that branch is part of the Institution : the staff couldńt care less about us, the place was a mess and and super noisy. It just felt like a zoo. We were given a twin i stead of a double room, had to ask for towels and sheets and one of the "receptionists" a young punk hooked on candy crush even threatened of calling the police because we checked out an hour too late.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • conrado_grossi7632
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel is good, and there is a bar at the rooftop. The point is that if you are a solo traveller, this hostel is more party then a good atmosphere to meet people, because the bar is more party than a bar, and it is opened to local people, so, it is basically a party. The hostel is located at the city center, which means that the neighborhood is crowded. Besides this, it is fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.1

Met so many cool people at this hostel! Breakfast was really good and so was the location. The kitchen terrace area was great for drinking in the evenings and the rooftop bar is nice but expensive. Only ciritcism was some of the staff were inefficient and unprofessional!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

The hostel is great! Just a few steps from the Zócalo metro station and there's always someone from security. Outlets are right next to the beds as well as a personal bed light. Areas are very clean but a minor issue I had was with the sheets. They give you what appear to be fresh and clean sheets but I found several hairs when unfolding them, so that was weird. Overall really cool hostel with super friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2017
4.9

Music stops at 12 on the top floor, the layout means that everything that goes on in other rooms can be heard and 2 of the three nights I stayed were probably the worst nights sleep I have had in a hostel. I checked out early (from a private room) and had to come back latter in the day to ask for a refund for the night I wasn't staying. Told no to start with, then they agreed. But after a month of messing me around no refund. save your head and go stay somewhere else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

Good location, atmosphere could be better. More communal events would be great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
5.1

I definitely would not recommend: It`s a Mcdonald's hostel type. There was a guy in the reception that was simply a idiot. Really, I could not understand. The wifi wasn't working. The room was very small, without structure for the number of people. The commom area is unconfortable and the halls for the rooms is sad. But the location and the breakfast are very good indeed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

Location is almost unbeatable, pretty clean, friendly place with perfectly decent staff. Breakfast overlooking the Zocalo is lovely (and freeeee) and a good way to meet people. Real mix of travellers here - everyone seems to be here for different reasons. Rooftop bar is totally worth a visit - buzzing atmosphere and stunning views. Rooms slightly dated and bunk beds pretty rickety but didn't detract from our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
19th Jul 2017
7.1

The hostel is in a good central location and really close to the metro and rooms are very clean with nice showers, but thought it really lacked atmosphere, it's a bit more like a hotel and the common areas aren't great for mixing, the downstairs restaurant is open to the public and the rooftop bar is set up more like a normal bar than a hostel one so isn't the best for meeting people. Didn't find the staff too helpful either

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.