Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.1

Other than the god-awful wifi, this is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The location is inarguably great, the beds and bathrooms are fine. But it's all about the terrace and rooftop bar, sensational experience for solo and social travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Meh. Pretty much the only good thing about this hostel is the central location next to the Zocalo. The hostel is very large and not ideal for meeting other people. The wifi had a data cap on it. Facilities like the bathroom and showers were a little grungy. Next time I'll be staying somewhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! We hope this message finds you well. We agree with you about the size of the hostel. But talking about this place is not ideal for meeting people, we should say the hostel has great common areas such as the roof top bar and the terrace out of the kitchen. It also has some couches in front of the front desk where a lot of people meets others. Your comments are usefull to improve our services. We will focus on cleanliness, specifically the bathroom's. We hope you can give us another chance in the near future to switch that bad image you have about us. Greetings!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.7

Been dying to visit Mexico for many years now, finally got the chance to go and I F#%*ing loved it!! Book a stay at Mundo joven and will defiantly be booking a second stay in the future Pros- Great staff Cleanliness Location!! Roof top and second roof top on the kitchen floor Free tours Cons- Room key isn't the best I'll see you guys soon! Gracias

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your comments. We are really happy to know you had a great time here in the city and specially in our hostel. About the key-cards, it's true, altough we constantly renovate them, they don't always work as good as we wish, but we are still working on it. We will be looking forward to receive you again. Greetings!

  • nessa_au853215
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.1

Great spot. Can't beat the location. Washing machine doesn't work well and is only available after six pm. Bunks are super shaky and wobbly. Super loud internally with all noise reverberating. Lots of signs asking people to keep quiet, but of course these don't do much. I had money stolen out of my room (I was the only one staying there). Staff attitude was that it couldn't have been other staff members. Who else could it be? Otherwise staff were very helpful. Breakfast is ok. Wifi is ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We are really sorry for all the inconveniences. The laundry opens at 6 p.m. because it is located next to the bar which opens at 6, too. We are now looking for a solution to this problem and the idea is to have 2 separated entrances, one for the bar and one for the laundry, so, maybe next time you come to the hostel, you won't have this problem with the laundry anymore. You also have to take in count that our hostel is a very popular one where a lot of people stay, although we give maintenance to bunks constantly, it's almost impossible to keep them in perfect conditions. Hope you can understand it. About the noise, you are right, the walls are not wide enough to avoid the noise but we can offer you earplugs, you can get them at the front desk. We are sorry for your loss and we still think we are not responsible for it. Above all, thank you for your feedback, it helps us to improve our services. Greetings!

  • maddiecdenton
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Really wonderful location and lovely staff, bedrooms are fine and clean. Really amazing roof terrace but only open in the evenings, and other than that not many good communal spaces so maybe a bit hard to meet other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Awesome location, great staff, rooftop bar is very cool. Reading through other reviews: People composing about wifi: I stated here twice for a few days each time and wifi was really fast the whole time Noice: yup it is noisy, bring your earplugs. Only thing would be the cleaning - in our private room it didn't look like it had been cleaned for a while But overall would recommend/stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for comments, they are very important for us. Yes, due to the acoustic of the building, the hostel can be a little bit noisy, we are doing our best to aovid noise. We'll check out the issue with the cleaning of the rooms.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.7

Very lovely/helpful staff, awesome location, small dorms but didn't matter, all beds have lockers and individual lights, would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.4

This hostel is in a great location and the bar is a fantastic addition BUT the design of the building and the bar mean it can be incredibly loud especially at night when the bar is open till 2am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
7.7

Stayed here 2 nights. Location couldn't be better. But the hostel has a public bar at the top (great bar) first night we went to bar and ended up staying out till 5am. So second night wanted a quiet night. Not possible. Music thumping till 2am. Toilet next to room that may as well have been in the room, could hear everything. We were on the floor below the bar. maybe on lower floors not so loud. If you want to join in the party this place is good. If you want a quiet night not the place to come

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

Awesome location in a great hostel. Lots of great people and very helpful staff. However, on a practical note there were a few issues - a laundry that had one machine that never worked, swipe key cards that constantly stopped working and needed resetting and the entire hostel running out of linen to name a few. But despite these issues, this was still one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, the atmosphere was awesome and the whole place was very characterful. A great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.