Hostelworld.com

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
6.9

Loud. Walls are paper thin, all have windows to the central area. Water moving through pipes in our room made UNBELIEVABLY loud noises at 7am as neighboring rooms woke up to shower. Sure, the location is amazing, but it's impossible to get a normal sleep here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.9

great location, only thing i didn't like its a night after 11 they close some of the streets for traffic (not sure if this is always or just temp) but had to walk a couple of blocks by my self at night and yes there was a lot of police presence i just didn't like it. yes there is a bar upstairs with a great view and yes i could hear it from my room but it wasnt as loud as i imagine it from other comments, a outlet and a light for each bed that was nice and the lockers where nice and spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
6.9

So basically if you want somewhere with great location and a great rooftop view but literally nothing works and you may not be able to shower for days or maybe if your lucky a cold shower then this is the place for you

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.1

This is a first choice in Mexico City. If you don't like the prices of the bar (60 pesos for a Perrier), you could sit on the balcony of the 5th floor where you spend nothing. When you go out of the hostel, you are in the very heart of the big city with all the monuments and restaurants, shops and everything. The laundry machines where "fuera de servicio" when I was there, so it was not convenient for me. The free tour is very good, but for people who are interested primarely in culture, art

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
10.0

We'll run hostel in a fantastic location. These guys know what travellers on a budget are looking for. Location is unbeatable. Staff are very helpful and the hostel organises tours, some of which are free. The bar is fantastic with rooftop views over the city and reasonably priced drinks. This hostel has it all. I would definitely stay here again. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise. It is a bit noisy at the weekend but hey, it's the weekend in Mexico City. What do you expect?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice hostel but loud on weekends. There is party on the rooftop bar. If you like that. You are on the right place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.1

Main positives are central location with easy access to tours, security guard on premises, helpful staff, attached restaurant next door with included breakfast. Main negative was wifi down or slow for 3 days. Wifi was fixed for last 2 days of our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel was very well located in regards to where the most popular landmarks are. However, the cathedral are of Mexico City could be very unsafe at night. I stayed there for one night in a private room and the place was very clean. My only complaint is that the receptionist worker (hard short black hair) was very rude. I did not understand how he wanted me to pay and he easily got aggravated and started giving me attitude and belittling my understanding. In short: Poor customer service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.3

Staff had bad people skills, tours were incompatantly ran, kitchen is locked at night ( so if you can't sleep due to the pumping music ) you have nowhere to go.... the bar on top is nice, but not a chance you can sleep untill it closes so loud. Went to the 8am breakfast at 7:57am to be rudely turned away and laughed down upon when the meal was clearly ready ( cerial and milk ) they offer free coffee up stairs the machine seemed to be out of order, wouldn't return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Staff was very nice and helpful. Four bed dorms were simple but nice. Huge lockers! Bathroom shared with one other room and could be inconvenient. I felt the bathrooms could have been cleaned more often. I don't want to blame the staff, as it could be messy guests but it's hard to keep a dry, clean floor in the bathroom when it's constantly getting wet. Breakfast was good. Hostel had lots of activities you could sign up for, some of which were free. Security was pretty great! Lovely rooftop bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.