Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sas0011
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2017
6.6

Pros: Really great location, nice rooftop bar. Breakfast was good. Cons: If you are in any way noise sensitive and like sleeping, don't stay here. The design of the hostel is that all rooms open onto an atrium and have wooden shutters which means you can hear people in their rooms, on the stairs, from the bar, kitchen. There are also pipes going through each room which sound like they're going to combust every time someone runs the water. Major drawback for me and hence wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
8.6

A block away from Templo Mayor and the Cathedral, it doesn't get more central than this. Spotty wi-fi only worked on the kitchen terrace. Rooftop bar has great views with expensive drinks, but it felt more like a hipster bar for locals. Great musical sets, though it gets noisy if you're trying to sleep before bar closing. Inner-facing rooms were hot and stuffy, and the shower/ WC had mold on the walls. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was ok buffet style. Staff were attentive and pretty chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
6.9

Roof bar and lockers big enough to fit your whole backpack are the only good things here. And the roof doesn't open until 6 and the seems to close at the whim of the bartender, and becomes a huge club scene for locals on the weekend - too loud to even talk. Key cards never work so you're constantly locked out of your room. Wifi and laundry don't work either. Also, they never swept the rooms in the week I was there - trash everywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2017
6.9

We had a private double room which was small but clean. Big downfall in terms of noise - all rooms open up into an atrium which acted like a sound tunnel/hot house, could hear everyone talking in their rooms and sounds from the bathrooms. Room was hot and there were no fans. Had to leave our door open overnight for ventilation. It was cooler outside than in the room. Would not recommend during summer, if you want to sleep or privacy. Reception staff weren't friendly or helpful. Great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Christine, it's a pitty to hear about it. We have noticed rooms are hot, so we are buying fans for the rooms, however we can't reach all the rooms at the moment. We'll do it soon. Your comments are valuable and very helpful for improving our service.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
6.0

Very loud and not as clean as I suspected.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.9

Everything is great except shower. Shower is cold almost the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your comments. It's a pitty you had a cold shower. It's so weird, we usually have hot water in showers. We'll consider this situation to avoid another one in the future.

29th Apr 2017
8.3

Seems like it was a really clean hostel before, but now it looks a little bit careless, I found some dirty stuff at the shower which wasn't so satisfactory at all. The location is the best, and you can have some beers at the roof, I still would visit it again but I hope they can improve the cleanup.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Alberto, thank you for letting us know about your stay. We know how important the cleanness is, we are working hard to give the best service you deserve. Please, welcome back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
7.7

i liked this, met some cool people here and the dorms and bathrooms were good. However, not a lot of communal space to relax in and the bar is an actual nightclub, one of the best in town which means you are literally sleeping below a nightclub, not an easy sleep!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.6

The staff was great and very helpful, the rooftop bar had great views and cheap drinks, the location is wonderful! I did notice the toilet paper ran out a lot, the music from the rooftop bar was loud and went late and the key cards sometimes didn't work. Overall if you're looking for a party, this is a great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Pros: Perfect location Big clean dorms with big lockers 24/7 security Restaurant and bar Cons: Not enough bathrooms and toilets for the number of people so they really need to be cleaned more often Kitchen very small considering it's for the whole hostel, but no one seems to use it so wasn't really a problem Bar upstairs doesn't have the best atmosphere Wifi barely works in dorms This isn't the place for you if you're a light sleeper. The rooftop bar plays loud music until 2 everyday

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.