X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel New King Reviews

15/16 ram dwara road, main bazar ,pahar ganj-55, New Delhi, India

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
551 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Sheets and pillows were unclean, lots of hair all over them. Staff were overall painful to deal with, did allow us to check out late after sorting a tour. Finished our New King experience on an positive note.


94%

Overall I had a great stay! I was only intending to stay for one night but ended up changing that to 5 after my first night due to Sunny and the great location! It is conveniently located to many, many shops, street food stalls, restaurants, bars and the main station. We never had to go for for anything really. Get to know Sunny the manager as he will make your stay in Delhi a nicer, easier and more welcome one. Stay here!


40%

This hostel is very cheap and has a good location near the Main Bazaar. It is very hard to find (we needed to be picked up) and you must walk through some dark, dirty, very noisy alleyways which didn't feel too safe. In the room our fan didn't work and the sink in the bathroom had no water. It took over two days to do our laundry and nothing came back particularly clean. No atmosphere in the hotel - staff didn't care at all or show any interest in us.


77%

Super friendly staff and the hostel is in the center of Delhi. The perfect place for backpacker or people with less money. But the cleanliness is not the best but you can handle it.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

We were surprised that this hotel was published in the Hostelworld website, it doesn't even look like a hotel, and they tried to swindle us when picking up us at the airport!

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I booked a 6 room but they given me a private room.


71%

Pros: Location is great. If on a budget, great price. Cons: No bed linen, atmosphere is nil.


80%

Made reservation for bed in dorm and got double-room for same charge! Thats nice!

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I have stayed at New King every time I have been in Delhi. It's location close to the Metro stations and New Delhi train station make it ideal when you are in the city to arrange tickets for travelling in the rest of the country. It's central in the Pahar Ganj backpacker district and is good for a comfortable and quiet nights sleep, also the hot water actually works and the facilities are generally good. The value for money here can't be beaten.


20%

DO NOT GO !! Part of a big mafia : they often change the name of the hostel in order not to be spotted. They take away your passport while providing false info about tourism in India. Their only goal is that you buy their package to Rajasthan through one of their fake tourism info center. Scouts, that are part of this mafia, are everywhere around you as they follow in the streets ! Nice student, taxi driver, government employee, trains tâtions agent, etc as they claim themselves.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice place, it was my first time in delhi, staff was super amazing the manager, will recommed it

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

The Hostel itself was ok, what i really didn't like is the fact that they brought us to "the department of tourism" to help us. This however turned out to be a private travel agency (even though they said they were led by government) and told us lies about f.i. Public transport in India to make us book a car with a driver for an extremely high price! The location is good but really shocking for foreigners who are the first time in India (next to the main bazar.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good price for the accommodations, will stay here again

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Rooms were good and the manager was nice. However the remainder of the staff had no urge whatsoever to help you or even talk back to you when you asked a question. Over all - rooms are good value for money and reccomend to people who don't need directions, help or any form of service from the staff.


20%

An unsafe dump with a highly intimidating manager. Not as advertised in any way what so ever. Just the worst place I have ever stayed, did not feel safe. Do not stay here please

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all New Delhi Hostels

Please give us your feedback