Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel New York

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
Hostel New York Located at C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona.
Hostel New York
Spain
Barcelona 08002 C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002
70% 904
41.3805796 2.1795799
Hostel New York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
6.3

Great location in the Gothic Quarter, and pretty good value for money considering that. However, there are lots of small things the hostel could do to improve itself vastly. I would improve the lighting, security, staff friendliness and fix those of the showers that are broken.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Nov 2016
9.1

Absolutely amazing location! Dorm type rooms are decent, with big lockers (lock for rent though). The use of hostel computers is limited and breakfast may run out if you come in the last half an hour. Overall pleased, would stay here again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2016
5.4

The staff was rude. The luggage store section was very random and vague. The breakfast sucked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
9.7

Very nice hostel in Barcelona! Located right near las ramblas, it is a great location. Very clean, free wifi, and a decent free breakfast. Staff were friendly except I was yelled at (in Spanish and I don't speak Spanish at all) by the woman running the breakfast. I guess you are not supposed to go in the kitchen even though the coffee and juice were set up in there. They serve you and the food is self-serve.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Sep 2016
5.7

Very unorganised. There was always a lot of people waiting in the tiny foyer. So you had to wait awhile before getting in. Dirty rooms. No linen included. No signs saying respect your room mates. We had people smoking and drinking in the room so you had to breathe that in while sleeping. Had two ladies in the room drinking and one of them spilt beer all over the floor. Lockers were very squeaky and made a lot of noise. Staff weren't very attentive but not a big deal for me. A no for me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2016
6.3

The room was tiny and stuffy. One of the worst hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast was simple and the breakfast lady was rude. However, the location was excellent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.7

Nice place to stay, wouldn't recommend staying solo though; not a very social hostel. Included breakfast of white rolls; spreads, cereal and tea & coffee. Staff are nice, but don't talk to you much. Location is only a 10 at most walk to rambla. They have a kitchen and wifi is good once you're connected

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
5.4

My stay at this hostel wasn't a pleasant one. The rooms were small, a lot of the lockers were not working, the showers quite grubby. There was also no air con and can get very stuffy in the room. Service was also not the best. Location was great and it was do able but I would not come back here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.3

it is a nice hostel, more like a family hostel, definitely not a party one (wich wasnt a problem for me). Rooms were big and clean, but only two (two!!) plugs in a room for 6 people. One of them was used to turn on the only (one!!) fan in the room. I didnt sleep much because of the heat. A little loud at night (stayed in the 3rd floor). Too much hair in the shower. Location is awesome! Breakfast is good but it starts only at 08:30 until 10:30.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
5.4

Small room, a bit dirty and didn't look like the photos

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.