Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel New York

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 869 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 869 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
Hostel New York Located at C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona.
Hostel New York
Spain
Barcelona 08002 C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002
70% 869
41.3805796 2.1795799
Hostel New York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
5.4

Small room, a bit dirty and didn't look like the photos

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
3.4

If I were to design the worst hostel I can imagine, I wouldn't come even close to this place. There is only one shower and bathroom per floor and the sink in the shower is clogged and spewing orange goo. I had made the booking for the wrong night at the hotel, so when I asked to change I was told to "shut up and show him some respect". When I sat down on the sofa to search for another hotel, I was told to get out of the hostel as I had no right to stay inside without a reservation. Rudest ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.3

Not a bad place to stay, good location, free locker equipment, except had to pay to use sheets. Met some great people during my stay here, would come back again for the central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.0

This hostel is located in the Gothic Quarter, which is the old Barcelona. The streets are small and it's easy to get lost but the atmosphere is amazing and everything is nearby! We only used the hostel to sleep and shower so I can only say that it did it's job. Would probably stay at another hostel that's easier to navigate through at night but I did enjoy my stay at Hostel New York

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
3.1

Do not stay here!! This place is a dump. The mattresses are thin, uncomfortable, and dirty; the bathrooms are filthy and the showers barely work; they require you to leave the doors open and unlocked between 11 and 3 for 'cleaning'; the common area is miserable, no one talks to each other because we're all just thinking about how shitty this hostel is. The 'free breakfast' consists of some wrapped bread and orange juice. Please, do yourself a favor and pay a bit more for a nicer place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
2.6

Probably the worst hostel I've stayed at, the facilities were pretty gross, especially one of the bathrooms which had what looked to be like shit or vomit all over the floor, sink and toilet, and the atmosphere was really bad.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.0

Really sweet staff and very helpful. The location is perfect - middle of Gothic Quarter and surrounded by great squares with good restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2016
6.6

Great location in the old town and in 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Friendly staff and basic breakfast are good. Facilities could use a little upgrading. Would stay here again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th Jun 2016
7.4

room a tiny bit bland and only way of getting air in the room is to open the door which goes out onto a shared balcony. Staff were okay but some of them come across a bit rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
7.1

The place is very basic, 4 bed private rooms have only two charging points. The free breakfast was below average & some of the staff members never smiled. The location however is great & I'd only recommend it if you're looking for a central location on a budget. I wouldn't stay there again though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.