Hostelworld.com

Hostel New York

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
Hostel New York Located at C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002, Barcelona.
Hostel New York
Spain
Barcelona 08002 C/ d'en GIGNAS 6, 08002
78% 834
41.3805796 2.1795799
Hostel New York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2016
8.6

Had a weird incident of someone barging thru my room to get to the people in the other room attached to my balcony, other than that enjoyed my stay here. Internet doesn't work in the rooms, only in the common area on the first floor. People were mixing up the boys/girls shower and toilette - perhaps better signage. They changed the shower curtains every day. You can rent clean linens and they have lockers in the rooms. You have to leave your key if you leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
6.3

the hostel is situated right in the heart of the city which is great for people who want to be out all day sightseeing, as you can get around really easily on foot. shared showers and toilets were always clean when I used them, the rooms are standard with bunk beds and lockers, except you can't lock the lockers properly so will need to take care of your valuables if you're sharing a room with strangers. overall a cheap stay in a charming city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Best hostel I ever stayed in! Was in a pretty neat location near the beach. The showers were a no though, you have to continue pressing a button to keep it running while you are in there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
2.6

Staff were very rude and unhelpful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2016
9.1

I love this location inside the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona, 10min walk from shopping st, beach, high st, palm st, Mirador de Colom, Casa Bassegoda, Casa Mila. But be aware that this place is a maze bec the Gothic Quarter has many narrow street, alot of squares, different in the day and night. We get lost regularly in this place. We stayed at the twin room but it comes with a bunk bed, there is free breakfast but it only comes with butter jam chocolate n bread, you can always get ham next door

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2015
7.1

Great bare-bones hostel. Wouldn't recommend for multiple nights stay, but for the cost, we couldn't find a better value (especially since we were there for New Years). Breakfast was a nice touch, although don't expect too much besides coffee and pastries. Location is great, but we had trouble finding it and almost got our stuff stolen on the way (but that goes with anything in the Gothic Quarter). Don't let that keep you from considering it though, it served our needs well for our time in BCN.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2015
9.1

Our stay here was a pretty great one, contrary to what we read in some of their reviews. Sure the facilities, the bed, the rooms weren't that big enough plus they only have wifi only on their lobby, but then ofcourse, you will always get with what you pay. This is a pretty cheap hostel and yet it offers a good location and the staffs are awesome (especially Fernanda). The place is secured and they will always make sure that only guests are allowed to stay here, which is quite comforting. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Nov 2015
6.0

Not a terrible hostel but certainly not a great one either. With there being so many options for hostels in Barcelona, I'm sure you can find a better one for the money. Pretty beat up, old hostel. Was nice to have a private room for fairly cheap but I'm sure you could do better. Probably would do more searching next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.