Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Nomadas Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 97 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 97 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Aug 2017
8.6

stayed for a week. it is a house with dorm rooms upstairs. near la sabana park and the stadium. facilities are good. but hot water in bathroom upstairs would be a plus. easy access to buses for airport, san jose center, and escazu/walmart. good place to hang out but not a party place. gabriel and his family are very nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jonathanmunk
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2017
10.0

Gabriel was a friendly host, good accommodations and central location. I would recommend his hostel if you're staying in San Jose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
8.9

Excellent hosts! Nice place. Some mildew in bathroom. Overall great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
9.7

Nomadas was a great place to stay. Gabriel was very hospitable and helpful. He does airport transfers for a cheaper fee than taxis and saves you the trouble of trying to figure out how to get there. He is also very knowledgeable about Costa Rica, things to do, and how to get around. I enjoyed my stay there and I would definitely go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Jun 2017
8.6

A decent hostel for a short stay when heading in & out of San Jose. Room was a decent size. Warm shower outside in garden, cold shower inside house. Owner is very nice & helpful & took me to the airport for $15 at 5am. Took about 20 mins

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
9.4

The owners are really nice couple and will help you with anything you ask them for. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. House looks old, but it's clean. Although the couches and pillows in the living room are definitely something I'd change immediately. Perfect place to stay if you are flying the next day as it's very close to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.9

This hostel was great, even though I was only there for less than 12 hours! I got there there in the evening, and left around 3 AM to catch a flight. The owner was amazingly nice, and welcoming, and drove me to the airport in the middle of the night. The showers are HOT and the space is great, with a cool breeze at night. It's a little hard to spot the hostel at night, so keep your eyes peeled!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Perfect place to stay if you're heading for a flight, very tidy rooms, good amenities and the staff were excellent took us to the airport for a small fee at a very early no bother at all. Definetly reccomend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.6

We were in the Hostel just for one night. We arrived late at night from the airport so we did not spend much time in the Hostel. The stuff was very nice. Breakfast was toast with marmelade.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • javarch06
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.7

Arrived late, hot rooms with open windows for cooling and curfew at 9/10pm. Stayed for location between airpot & Mepe for cheap taxis but was far off from anything otherthan a McDonalds and a minisuper. They said breakfast was 7-11 but never cooked but for themselves. Slow WiFi if you could get it. Late night paper shredding (tearing by hand) was weird.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.