X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Nucapacha Reviews

Balsamos Sur 308, Urdesa Central., Guayaquil, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
261 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 98%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This hostel was a great first stop for us in Guayaquil, Ecuador. The rooms were good as well as the staff! We got lockers for $2 which was nice. We met lots of friendly travelers and the atmosphere was cool and funky. The location was not ideal though, we had to take a taxi to go explore the city and to get food unless you want junk food which there is a lot of just a block down. The Malecon (main place to go in Guayaquil) is a hour walk if you don't take a taxi. Good travels!

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff were very rude and disrespectful. We had bought drinks at the bar and it did not appear to have any alcohol in them or very little, and when we complained about it they were very snippy and rude and not service oriented. They also made drinks back in their kitchen where we could not see which was odd because they had a bar out front. We were not offered breakfast the next morning when it was clearly marked that it was included.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly let me apologize on behalf of the Hostel Nucapacha that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. Althought we do not appreciate how rude and disrespectful you were when you decided you were not goint to pay for the drinks because after you had FIFTEEN of them you felt they were not good enough. If you would have asked after the first 5 drinks, we could have pour a little more alcohol on them (when it comes to alcohol i hate been skimpy) and perhaps we could have told you that we mostly do the drinks in the kitchen because that's where we keep our ice, our small pool bar does not fit a freezer. Besides our drinks are usually serve by our recepctionist so its easier for them to do it in the kitchen instead of the bar. After all, you did had more than one rounds of drinks, so you could have told us if there was something that did not fit your needs. Imagine my surprise when i asked you close your tab and you complained about the FIFTEEN drinks, when in the afternoon i was sitting in the living room when you came to order the second round and you said (and i quote) 'do them exactly the same way. they are perfect' and then later on you said they were bad. Of course, i wanted a fair and reasonable explanation, which you were unable to give me, so you inmediatly change the subject and started asking for a deposit back, which im guessing you found out you were mistaken because you do not mention that here. About breakfast, im not even going to go there, because you know is not true - you had coffee, i remember you did not want the whole thing, just coffee. Im sorry, but i do not find that situation fair and neither this review and i can be sure of that because one person of your party (althought was unable to pay), came to apologize for you. I just whish that person was the one who did the reservation so i can get rid of this unfair review.

89%

Room was badly in need of paint. Bed comfortable. Nice large showers beside the room. No towels or soap provided. Delicious breakfast made to your choice. Fresh mangos from on site tree. Lovely patio area and great pool. Staff were wonderful. I am from Canada.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about us. We are definately already thinking about the paint in our rooms, we are just waiting for the rains to stop so the walls wont be humid and the paint holds. We do provide towels and soap but under request bcause we charge a refundable deposit for it, I'll make sure the staff starts telling this at the checkin instead of waiting for the customer to ask for it. Thanks for the idea. Glad you enjoy everything else :)



View all Guayaquil Hostels

Please give us your feedback