X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel One66 Reviews

Block 166 Woodlands Street 13, #01-545 Singapore 730166, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
160 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Met the friendly owner, haven't had much time to explore the facilities, but it is a money-value choice, considering the city-state of Singapore.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

looking forward to seeing you win hostelworld hostel of the year award again as in 2008 !


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
37%

No suite for female stay and very old and smelly .

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Her comments are really unreasonable. We have stated clearly in our site that it is a MIXED dorm in our site so is it our fault that we DO NOT have female dorm? She came late at night about 10pm and left early in the morning before 8am to do some job and pick up her luggage in the evening. She is already NOT comfortable in the first place as it is a mixed dorm and so she kept to herself and concentrate on her tablet. Furthermore, there is another female guest from indonesia.

66%

Very close to metro but about 1hr ride from downtown. Excellent cheap eateries nearby, 50m swimming pool plus kids splash pool 4mins walk.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel's location was quite ideal for someone like me who's not really into crowds. The place was a calm residential area, and you can walk around in the morning for some quiet and fresh air. The hostel is just a minute walk from Marsiling station, and there's a convenient, cheap eating place just behind the building. Mr. Yang, the owner, is very friendly and accommodating even if we arrived at past midnight. The private room was clean and roomy, and I slept really well during my stay.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

a little hostel a bit outside of singapore. we had a very nice time here and the owner was very funny! the place could be a bit cleaner but nothing major to complain about!


94%

Yang is awesome! He helps you with whatever you need with a smile and some witty comment. It was also great to be away from all of the touristy areas and just be able to socialise somewhat with real people. There are lots of choices in the immediate area when it comes to food, there is a mall just one MRT stop away (you can walk it), and there is also a neighbourhood park up the street from the hostel if you just want to sit, relax, and maybe even chat with some of the locals. Fantastic!

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Truly experience of local Singaporean HDB lifestye ! One must try, very near to Causeway heading Malaysia. The owner Mr Yang was a very welcoming and a kind-hearted man. Everybody loves him. hehe..


89%

Really enjoyed it apart from one loud guy who was doing buisiness over the phone all the time

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This is my second time in this hostel over the years always worth coming back and should i pass Singapore again i will.


100%

Great host and exceptional location. Enjoyed my stay here!


71%

good location for access to woodlands train station only 3 stops on the local bus! cheap eats right out the front. cost $30s to get taxi from airport. owner was friendly and spoke good english!

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

location good for malaysia travelling,near foodcourt good for budget travellers

  • 17th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

This was one of the worse hostels I've ever stayed in! There was no common room, when you entered the hostel you were immediately in the dormitory. There were mainly Asian people staying and they didn'nt talk at al! Even saying hello was too much of an effort, so the atmosphere was horrible. The man who is running the hostel is very friendly, but he's never in the hostel, so there was no one available for answering questions/giving information.

Owner Comment (Hide)
During the duration of her stay, there are Korean, Amercian , Australian and Malaysian staying in the hostel. Communication is two ways plus her waking and and coming back late, it render her limited time to meet other NON-Asian We did spend some time with her when she check in and provided maps, information and answered all question on all place of interest. We popped by at hostel in the morning, evening and night but either she is up late in the morning and back late. We can be contacted thru email and FREE phone ( infront of the hostel) at all time. We have hosted many guests from all the world and we try our best to provide the best service and we are sorry and we understand that we will not be able to please all.

100%

Best hostel experience yet. Great for backpackers as well as people on business. Even though it may be a bit far from the city center, i didn't mind the commute. Great place, I highly recommend it.


29%

Hello. We booked two nights at Hostel One66. The location is dangerously out of hand with all the rest of the city. It is too far, almost one hour by metro from the civilized world. The area is also not that much nice, you see only popular buildings surrounding you. All you get close is a local food court where normally the Chinese eat their cheap food (mostly meat, so if you are a vegetarian you won't find anything there for you) and a Fair Price small supermarket and 7/11 at the Marsiling MRT

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmmm..... thus far this is one of the worst comment we had in 8 years, we generally do not bite back unless we are stepped on: 1) We have stated our hostel is OUT off the city in our site where you can see the real singapore where local stay and off the tourist trail and YET she complain about the distance. Is it our fault ? 2) Apparently she did not explore much and "Hole up in the room". There are two parks, a swimming pool and stadium all within 5 mins walk from the hostel. At the time that she is staying, A japanese ( also a vegetarian) girl extended her stay and practice yoga at the park. Another UK guy extend his stay as he loves the place with the swimming pool, stadium and nice & quiet hostel. 3) Take about the local food court. THERE IS A CHINESE VEGETARIAN stall , Thailand food, chicken rice, Noodles, Nasi lemak ( coconut rice), clay pot rice, fried noodles, india food and a few more stalls. As again, she did not Explore the area or ask the other guest staying who explore the place and bought food and cook vegetarian food at the hostel 4) just one MRT station away (2 mins) or walk 15 mins is a BIG Causeway Point shopping mall with a Two BIG supermarket., food court. 5) At the time she is staying, there are guests from , USA, Japan, UK, Aus, Malaysia and India. All were having a good time even cook for each other and sharing their food. To sum it up, the problem is there person herself.

97%

Location was quite far from the main city area of Singapore which some people might dislike. The plus side is that it is in a very quite area and it is close to the zoo and night safari which are very tedious to get to if you are staying nearer the centre. You probably won't even notice you are away from the main city area because the whole island is so well connected by the mrt (train line)! The staff at this hostel are amazing and it has such unique and quirky character, you'll love it! :D


100%

This is the best hostel ever! Yang is a legend (check the shower room wall to see what I mean..) The location is in Woodlands, near the Malaysian border about 35 minutes from the City on the MRT. The neighbourhood is is great, it's a friendly residential community with lots of local stores and coffeeshops (mini hawker centres) My tip: Claypot Chicken from the coffeeshop directly opposite the hostel! The hostel itself is in a HDB building so it's an apartment. Cozy clean and a bit quirky!


86%

I really enjoyed my stay! Due to the fact that it is not so central it attracts a good crowd. It's simple, but lovely. A very friendly host is welcoming you and you can see the area where locals actually live. Think outside the box - I can really recommend this place. Felt save!


93%

very nice place and owner- good man, very open and helpful! thank you for all your hospitality and nice, safe time spent in 166!

  • 21st Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(136 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback