Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Orquideas

  • Calle Orquideas #2 sm22, mza 15 lt 23 ZIP 77500, Cancun, Mexico

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 939 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.6

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, shared bathroom- room was fine, shared bathroom was cleaned once a day and the shower head is just a tap off the wall. They have a hammock area undercover but the main area outside in the concrete courtyard is open to the sun and rain. Its a bit of a concrete jungle. Breakfast was good, and 1 out of the 2 nights we were there they offered free dinner (hamburger) 830-9pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
4.3

Even in a private room and bathroom, the facilities were dirty and incredibly basic. They did not even provide hand soap or a blanket for the bed. With the windows closed we could hardly sleep over the sound of loud conversations coming from the courtyard through very thin walls. Staff helped with everything we needed but was not particularly friendly. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.1

I loved staying at this hostel. It's located perfectly; 4 mins away from the ADO station but only a short bus ride to the centre, the staff are super friendly and helpful, you get a lovely breakfast and its so sociable and easy to meet people due to their large communal areas. I cannot recommend more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Had a great stay here, made some good friends, staff were helpful with local knowledge, free breakfast & dinner was good. Maxy was especially helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Stayed in the private room. Shower fitting was a tap, so just a single stream of water. 2/3 showers there was no warm water. Free dinners are a nice idea to be social but not everyone is on Mexican time yet- 9.30pm was quite late!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.7

The hostel is great. A really chill friendly vibe. The beds are a little wobbly and the room is a bit cramped but other than that not bad for the cheapest hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
3.7

Although still quite a walk from the bus station, the location is the best part of our experience with Hostel Orquideas. The room we had (private without bathroom) had bare minimum. The full bed was tiny and sinking. The only light bulb was dark and blue. There is no AC, and we had to choose to suffer from the heat of the portable fan's loud noise. People chat loudly at night outside of the yard. During the two nights we stayed there, we barely rested at all, which directly affected our trip.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • BeTheChange
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
4.3

Very disappointing hostel. Poor bathroom and toilet facilities, most rooms are right on the courtyard where music is played and people hangout so quiet is impossible until late into the night, there's absolutely no hot water in the shower, and they fumigated during one of our days staying there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.6

Brilliant hostel! Comfy bed, friendly staff & basic but tasty & decent breakfast AND dinner! What more could you ask for?!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Lots and lots of cockroaches... Otherwise just an average hostel that added small dinners to the list of perks but there is also really really good and cheap food at the market 2 minutes away so it's not really necessary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.