Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
76% 1613
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Nov 2016
6.9

Alright for a night but nothing more. There's no kitchen, and the food the hostel does is quite expensive. It's quite loud and the mattress aren't very comfortable. However the view from the bar at the top is pretty good and their airport shuttle is handy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Overall the Hostel is good... but... the location is not safe... if you want to walk around at night, forget it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
8.6

Airport shuttle was clutch. hostel is big and is the perfect area close to the bus station and restaurants/shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.1

Good location, nice staff who were helpful, it's quite loud but nothing some ear plugs won't fix and you should expect it. Food is a bit pricey and nothing special but it does the job. For a one night stopover between bus journeys it serves its purpose well and I'll use it again if I'm in San Jose for just a night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
9.7

Great location a few blocks from downtown and the buses stations. From the outside looks like a prison but inside the staff is very welcoming and friendly, the halls feels like a Resident Evils game which I loved it. Nice pool and roof top bar, sadly no open kitchen but they have a restaurant and plenty of options in downtown. Not enough power outlets in the room and small lockers outside the dorm... Nice option for a stop in SJ

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
10.0

great hostel, staff are very considerate and helpful. would recommend to anyone who is going to San Jose☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2016
6.6

We arrived expecting to be able to use the pool but it was closed. Would have been nice to know! The walls Are very thin and you hear everything from other rooms and one people start getting up in the morning there is so more sleeping Really cool building and was very clean. Seems like it would be an overwhelming party during high season but was really quiet when we were there. Food at the restaurant was just ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Oct 2016
5.7

Pangea is quite far from the airport, except about $20 and 60 min taxi. When we arrived the pool was under construction so they gave us a free drink for the inconvenience. We had booked two nights to have one day by the pool and do some research for our trip. They have a very strict cancellation policy. Room was very unclean, and it had the feeling of an old insane asylum. The staff on the other hand are very helpful and nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Oct 2016
7.4

In low season this is a very unfriendly place. Maybe in high season better, room enough to party, but when I was there it was very quiet. Didn't make friends with the staff. Very special architecture.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
6.6

Location was sketchy. Security was good. Bar and decour very nice with a cool bar with view that wasn't open probably because it was Slow season so things we're dead. Food at restaurant was mediocre. Staff was friendly and helpful. The industrial design was cool, but when drunken bros come back at 5am it echoed and kinda sucked. We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom... Location was great for us cause the bus we wanted was close. Good transfer spot.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.