Hostelworld.com

Hostel Pangea

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
76% 1490
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th May 2016
6.9

So you get what you pay for. Not bad. You would never know its there from the looks of it and the way they have it on lock down. My only real complaint was the staffing except for one young lady, she was friendly. The other gentlemen the man at the front desk and the bar were just stand off rude. Like I get it you might not like your job and that's fine do something else. Its nice to have friendly people to greet you after traveling around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benherzog1758
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
6.0

If you value your sleep I would consider somewhere else. I had a private a you can hear everything that is going on the floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
10.0

I would recommend this place! We felt very safe, and the staff was very friendly. It doesn't look like much from outside, but its very spacious and nice inside. There is a rooftop bar with a pool table, restaurant, tv's and lounging areas. There's also a nice pool were you can relax and have a beer. When you ring the doorbell they open the peephole and ask you for the password to get in; your response should be to jump on one leg three times while tapping your head.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2016
4.0

Personnel pas aimable Chambres miniscules et pas très propres Pas d'ambiance mais musique à fond toute la journée

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hughdaunt
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
7.7

Decent facilities. Most of the staff are friendly. Some of them however gave out a few aggressive looks. Pool is a great place to hang out. Food is overpriced but it's the same anywhere in San Jose. San Jose however didn't do much for us and we were more than happy to leave the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

What an awesome place to stay! we ended up booking another night so stayed 3 nights in total. Felt really safe the whole time and the room was quiet and we were able to catch some much needed sleep after a long flight. Enjoyed beers and put our feet in the pool and hung out up top with a balcony, TVs, and great internet. Would definitely stay here agin and recommend to others!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
8.9

Great place if you're landing / flying out. Not much to do in San Jose but great place nonetheless. Staff was incredibly friendly; big thank you to Diego who was incredibly helpful in organizing shuttles and tours for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.9

Very nice place. I would definately recommend it. It's close to the center of San José. The only thing is some of the staff can be rude, like you bother them with your questions. Not all of them tho.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.0

We've stayed at Pangea twice because we were so impressed by our first stay. Hot showers, computers, free pool table and perfect wifi are the main attractions. Food is expensive but delicious- probably better options in town. Reception staff are great but the bartender could not be less banter. Don't be fooled by the outside, you'll be glad of the security come nightfall. Go here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Mar 2016
8.6

This hostel was my first stop on the way to Bocas del Toro. The 'shuttle' ended up being a barely roadworthy car but the driver was the most charming woman who pointed out landmarks and gave me advice on the way to the hostel. The hostel itself is clean with a nice decor and the burgers are amazing. Met awesome people and the bartender, Alberto, even came out with us partying that first night. Really cool guy! Super secure which is important - San Jose is pretty sketchy after dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.