Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Apr 2017
6.6

A little boring and very expensive food. If you want to save money go to a place with free breakfast instead of paying 3,500!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahbensadoun
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.1

Good location, easy to Locate. It's close to supermarkets, shopping streets and bus station for those who plan to go to Jaco and La Fortuna. Wifi is spotty. The pool is à nice addition. Clean hostel. Please note, that it not recommanded to go out st night after 8 ( the hostel personnel and other guests mentionned it to us since we were 2 girls).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.0

A solid hostel for staying over before catching a bus or flight out of the city. The hostel restaurant was really yummy and overall everything was in good condition. It was really quiet so if you're looking for a more lively social scene probably not the right hostel for you. The wifi was really poor. The best part was the staff they were super friendly and really willing to help with anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Only stayed here for a stop over night in San José but very good value for money! Staff at the bar wasn't too helpful though and the kitchen barely has any utensils (was only one cup/mug/glass in total). Nice view of the city and nice bathroom facilities. Overall, good choice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location in San Jose. High security to get into the building, however none of the shower stalls locked which was very strange. Private room would have benefited from some furniture or hooks on the walls, but otherwise sufficient for an overnight stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.7

this hostel probably has the best bathroom in the whole costa rica :D the shower actually has hot water as it should be, it's huge, clean and beautful. i didnt understand the kitchen, there were about 200 knifes but not even one fork or spoon :D funny :D apart from that, really nice hostel, swimingpoool, clean, internet works fine, location is good, and they have special discount for nonrefundable bookings which absolutely makes it the best deal in san Jose. totally worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.1

Can't really connect to WiFi while in room! Otherwise you don't have much to complain for its good price! Staff are friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.0

Very helpful staff on front desk. Atmosphere was a bit dead but we were not travelling at peak time. Beautiful views over down town San Jose from the large balcony areas. Walking distance to ATM, supermarket and Bus Stations

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.9

Hostel Pangea is located very close to the center and to a couple of big bus stations. The restaurant on the roof is quite expensive and the receptionists aren't that friendly- I sometimes didn't feel so welcome. Though the rooms are nice and clean and so are the bathrooms. Relaxing on the roof is fun - you can play billiard or just sit there and talk to people. I would recommend it for the price ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2017
7.1

its an okay place to stop over at I guess. I stayed over night and found the staff pretty unfriendly and once just downright rude. Also just so you are aware if you need to leave your baggge there for a few hours after checkout it will cost you 5usd. The beds in the dorms did not come with blankets. The dorm I was in was jammed full of people and more to the point very very badly ventilated I held my blanket over my nose because it smelled so much of other people's breath. I woke up feeling ill

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.