Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
74% 1654
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jan 2017
4.9

For somewhere to stop over for one night it's fine but for a long stay I don't think I would recommend it. In the dorms there is not one plug between 6 people. Staff on arrival were rude and not helpful, and charged us more as they said their prices had gone up but were not changed on the website?? Yeah sure! Also our transfer was not at the airport waiting for us, if it wasn't for a friendly taxi man outside the airport to help us we would have had to pay a lot of money to get here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
4.9

awful location, rude staff, terrible dorms! Windows don't shut in the room so be prepared to freeze. Staff claim to want to help you when you are booking a bed but when you arrive they do not want to help at all! Tried to organise a private transfer for 2am, was told yes by email then when I arrived was told no (transfers were the only reason I booked the hostel). Was told to catch a taxi or uber (after being told all were very unsafe). Would not recommend this place to anyone!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Wonderfully fun and friendly staff, mezmerizing artwork lining the halls, a true gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.0

It's got the feel of a compound in the city. Nice staff. Private room was small and dark with no fan. Hard to be in room during the day but nice at night. Great food and bar and bartender was awesome that! Pool is a benefit if you're looking for that. Seems to be a nice place to stop in San Jose before you adventure out to the scenic Costa Rica.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Hostel pangea was greater than I expected. The security guy is the only one who can let you in the big locked door at the front. There's a pool, bar with great food and plenty of bathroom facilitieswith nice hot water. Very impressed with this hostel. We meet a tour from Google Adventures so if they are staying there it must be a good hostel. They also recommend other hostels around costa rica.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jan 2017
8.9

Really good security and is needed in the area. Rooms are small but have everything you need. Bar and entertainment area is amazing. Pick up from the airport was handy and would recommend it as a lot of the taxis aren't safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.3

We had a pleasant stay in Pangea hostel. It is well located, walking distance from the main square and very close to small convenience stores. The terrace and the pool are really nice to chill and hang out. The bathrooms were clean and well functioning. The rooms could have been cleaner, but were overall OK. It was a pity that there were no towels for two days, so we had to buy some in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ilkkahapponen3588
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.6

Great value for money. Location is good and staff is nice. Can be sometimes little bit loud because place is big, but it of course depends other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
9.1

Right in downtown San Jose which is a plus when you want to be right in San Jose. The minus is, that the area isn't all that great, so they are very big on security etc, Outdoor area upstairs is col,...bar, food, pool table. Rooms / beds are nothing to write home about. Good place for right in San Jose,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.4

I have stayed here 3 times as it's the perfect location in San Jose. I have been able to walk to and from every bus station I've needed. They offer an airport shuttle too. The only downside is that there is no kitchen, but there is a restaurant upstairs. There's also some sodas around the area so you don't have to walk far for food. Go to Glen's Coffee House! Turn left out of Pangea and it's a few doors down. 3500 colones for a drink, soup, casado and little dessert! Love hostel Pangea!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.