Hostelworld.com

Hostel Pangea

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
76% 1505
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lottejay
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.3

Nice bar with pool table and view of the mountains. Staff were really helpful and friendly. No lockers in the rooms, but small lockers near reception. Only a sheet to sleep with which can be a bit cold this time of year. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great during our stay so didn't get to check out the pool. Overall a great hostel, would stay here again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
7.1

It was okay. The room was fine, wifi was good, the staff was helpful, and the location was close to the avenida central which is good for walking and close to museums, but the hostel itself was in a bad neighborhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.3

Stayed with two friends during the low season. Not very many people around. Only one other person in our dorm. The staff is very friendly and happy to accommodate and help out in any way. However I was charged for the full price of the room, the deposit was not taken into account. The rooms are basic but clean. A sheet and a pillow. The food is surprisingly delicious and reasonably priced. The wifi works really well though out the building. We felt very secure during our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.4

Great place to stay if you find yourself in San Jose. Rooftop views of the city from their massive bar and restaurant, and the bathrooms and pool are good too. Only downside was that the lockers are in a hallway rather than inside the dorms, and they're not big enough for a large bag, but it is very secure with the locked front gate. For the price I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.0

Only stayed one night. Sharon helped us book our shuttle and was so nice, so helpful, really sweet. Some other staff did seem less than happy to be there, but it's okay. We had really yummy fajitas at the restaurant there. Showers were great and bathrooms were clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
9.4

This hostel was very safe with a locked door and a doorman 24/7 and the pool, bar and restaurant facilities were all really good. The staff were friendly and helpful, however we did have an issue with our shuttle from the airport, we had prebooked a shuttle bus which just didn't turn up, we called the hostel who told us it would be 15 minutes, then half an hour later we called again and they said they weren't sending one so we were left stranded at the airport at 3am which was not great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
5.1

Front desk staff were decent. Shuttle driver was incredibly rude and not waiting for us at the airport. Guy upstairs working the restaurant and bar was slow and rude. Warning your free drink is only a vodka coke, so not really a free drink if you want something else. People came in screaming and crying in the middle of the night. Played music all night long even on weekdays. Bathrooms are unisex and the middle of the walkway so don't expect a private shower. No communal kitchen. Dirty place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.6

Hostel is located in a great area of San Jose, very central. Staff was very helpful and welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
10.0

Staff was helpful, great place to stay the night before starting your journey abroad...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
6.9

So you get what you pay for. Not bad. You would never know its there from the looks of it and the way they have it on lock down. My only real complaint was the staffing except for one young lady, she was friendly. The other gentlemen the man at the front desk and the bar were just stand off rude. Like I get it you might not like your job and that's fine do something else. Its nice to have friendly people to greet you after traveling around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.