Hostelworld.com

Hostel Pangea

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
76% 1461
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

What an awesome place to stay! we ended up booking another night so stayed 3 nights in total. Felt really safe the whole time and the room was quiet and we were able to catch some much needed sleep after a long flight. Enjoyed beers and put our feet in the pool and hung out up top with a balcony, TVs, and great internet. Would definitely stay here agin and recommend to others!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robbertmachielsen3653
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
16th Apr 2016
2.0

Very disappointing stay. Alhough the basic facilities are fine and upstairs area looks nice the staff was really really bad. They were very rude from the start. Kicked us out on the day of the check-out and charge more if u book at the hostel itself then via hostelworld. Never experienced staff like that in a hostel and very commercial hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.9

Very nice place. I would definately recommend it. It's close to the center of San José. The only thing is some of the staff can be rude, like you bother them with your questions. Not all of them tho.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.0

We've stayed at Pangea twice because we were so impressed by our first stay. Hot showers, computers, free pool table and perfect wifi are the main attractions. Food is expensive but delicious- probably better options in town. Reception staff are great but the bartender could not be less banter. Don't be fooled by the outside, you'll be glad of the security come nightfall. Go here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Mar 2016
8.6

This hostel was my first stop on the way to Bocas del Toro. The 'shuttle' ended up being a barely roadworthy car but the driver was the most charming woman who pointed out landmarks and gave me advice on the way to the hostel. The hostel itself is clean with a nice decor and the burgers are amazing. Met awesome people and the bartender, Alberto, even came out with us partying that first night. Really cool guy! Super secure which is important - San Jose is pretty sketchy after dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
6.9

The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more. The staff were nice, except for one when I was checking out. I asked him if he would help me with my bag and he said no. I thought that was kind of rude. I wish they had some kind of map, because a lot of the locals don't know where the hostel is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.3

Staff were rude and unfriendly. They didn't show me where any of the facilities were; I wondered round the building myself to find them. It was clean. No lockers in the room. I think the staff kind of kill the atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Mar 2016
4.6

Bed springs all broken. It was like sleeping on a bed of nails. Staff were not friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
8.3

Nice place but the mattress needs attention in the dorm. Great staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2016
7.7

I chose here for going Coca cola bus terminal. It took 15min by working. The bad thing is that there is just 1 electric socket in a room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.