Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
77% 1555
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Aug 2016
8.3

only stayed here for about 9 hours. The food was mediocre but the convenience was nice. $3 ride to the bus station in the morning. Waters were over priced here. Would probably stay again but might consider other options as well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Super fun environment with a lot to do! There is a full bar that offers food/drinks and a dancing area as well as a space to chill and watch some TV. I stayed in a private room that was fairly clean except for stains on the sheets. The bed was also wicked uncomfortable. This hostel is LOUD so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you! Overall a good experience and cool ambiance, would stay there again. Pura vida!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
5.7

We booked a double private bedroom and found that the room had exactly that: a double bed. Nothing else. Not a chair, a table, nor a cupboard. In addition, there is a bar at the rooftop which plays loudly music until midnight. It is extremely annoying. There is not place to eat food bought outside the hostel. We tried to sit down at one of the bar's tables, and the waiter kicked us out immediately. I don't recommend this place. A guy had a leak on his room, and staff mistreated him.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Was a little quiet but still fun, the place is designed to have fun. Very recommended if you would like to go out, not to rest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Diego for the tours is awesome, and so are the guys who work by the gate keeping it all secure. The hostel is very clean, very safe and very busy! Full of travellers who are generally pretty young so it gets quite loud and is a party hostel. Lots of communal spaces- just need more sockets in rooms. Fun vibes but also very safe which is nice. Food is good too- even for a veggie like me! Toilets are clean and showers have hot water which is a great treat! Downstair shower doors dont close properly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Cool hostel with a very nice view over San Jose. You can go on the rooftop for a few drinks and spend the night there, which is greatly appreciated since we didn't felt too confortable walking across San Jose at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location, near the market where you can find local foods and decent priced memorabilia. Airport shuttle service can't be beat. Sweet artwork throughout the building(s).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
4.9

Cramped, dirty, and not overly organized. Half the time the door was open for cars so I could just walk in there instead of ringing the bell, then wouldn't even see anyone at the front desk. Front desk staff got extremely short with me when I expressed stress about the taxi strike and making it to the airport on time. Person at bar also made food and served it so sometimes waited for 15 minutes to order something from a poorly stalked bar.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Great staff, professional and friendly. big hostel, pool and large rooftop bar are a great feature. convenient to town and good price shuttle if more than 1 person.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
6.9

The chunky bartender could learn how to be a bit more polite. The doormen were extremely kind and made me feel safe when they checked my wristband. The staff could have walked me and other guests to our rooms. I found their instructions confusing. I helped other lost guests find their rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.