Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Good place to stay. The room was a little cold at night but the front desk had blankets for free. Bathrooms were very clean. Someone was at the front desk 24/7 which was also nice. Good to know that they don't have parking here. The closest parking lot is on the same street less than a block away however it's 10 USD for the first 10 hours and then 2mil colones after. We needed up paying $18 for parking for one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Aug 2017
4.3

Unpolite staff upon arrival. The hotel was pretty untidy, the toilets were stuck of paper and there was no paper in there either. The street is pretty unsafe and it is not safe to walk in there during night time because there are not many people on the street, I mean there a re no restaurants or bars so you could feel safe. They promised breakfast, lunch and dinner but I only got breakfast and luch and they were really poor, only rice and beans :( Would not go again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

Awesome spot in the city. Friendly staff. Having food served 3x a day around meal times was great. This hostel is huge. Balcony had a really beautiful view. Lots of room to chill and hang out. Rooms were a bit small but that's about it. Would definitely go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
6.6

The rooms are fairly good quality, bathrooms were cleanish but weird layout where the bathroom is a corridor... Staff were kinda helpful but they try too hard to send you to their overpriced restaurant/bar

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
9.1

Overall, this was a great place to stay. It was really close to the center of town. Free breakfast and dinner was definitely a highlight. Bar and fun hangout spot to meet other travelers. Beds weren't super comfy but it was fine for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
10.0

The free food was great! Hostel is super nice plus the staff helped me a lot!! I definitely recommend this hostel. Already book my next stay here. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel! I can't believe for the price I paid I got 3 meals a day!! It's located in San Jose downtown near the bus station, once you are in the hostel you feel very safe, the design is very cool and modern, great staff they helped me organize the rest of my trip. Thanks for everything! I'll be back for sure!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
5.7

Make sure to read the trip advisor reviews of this hostel before booking. All board service is really like snack time 3 times a day. You have to enter the place Lord of the Rings Shire style with a sliding peep hole to make sure you are not dangerous. The facilities were interesting and modern looking. Showers are unisex and used as a hallway which was strange. The walls are paper thin and neighbors jammed out to Alicia keys from about 5-8 a.m. Overall, decent for the price but weird vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2017
7.4

This place is really safe, not far off the centre of the city. The reception staff are helpful, funny and attentive, others not so much but it's cool. This place is huge and in low season it struggles to create an atmosphere, not helped by wifi being available everywhere. People tend to just keep themselves to themselves. Rooms are nice enough and showers are pretty decent. I liked it just as a solo traveller it can be boring if nobody talks. Not the hostels fault though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Nice Hostel with friendly staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.