Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.9

Great facilities really clean, atmosphere was quiet however I was travelling in low season. Found the location to be a bit too far from central San Jose however they did state they were in downtown so this is just a personal preference. Staff were also great! The man at the front desk helped me with an uber booking and let me leave my luggage and hang about by the pool. Thanks for having me Pangea I'll be back one day 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

Very good! Good location and good rooms! All you need and worth the money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
9.1

It was great!! The staff was helpful and three meals are included with the rate. There is a lot of space to lounge and/or play. Pool and pool table, plus multi screen viewing. Located close to downtown, only downside is it's also close to some sketchy areas, but pay attention to what's around and you'll be fine!! Plus San Jose has a large force of helpful police always close by🤗pura vita.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • xxpnkprincess
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

This place is excellent! I felt completely safe being a solo female traveler! They have an awesome bar, restaurant, and lounge areas. The staff are super friendly and helpful. I recommend uber for any travels beyond walking distance, but there's many supermarkets, parks, coffee shops within walking distance. I absolutely will stay here my next trip! The wifi is also great throughout the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
9.1

The hostel was a little further from the airport than I would have liked it to be. The shuttle ended up costing me almost 25 bc no one else was headed to the airport at that time. I was trying to cut costs down as Costa Rica can add up quickly. The rooms were fine, but you need to bring your own towel. The staff was super friendly and helpful. It seemed like a huge hostel but not to many guests. The pool in the center of the property was a nice touch. For 15 bucks you really can't beat it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice hostel located near the main bus station. I only stayed one night, but from what I saw, it is a pretty good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
7.1

Average hostel if you want a place to crash for a stopover in San José. Clean, especially for the female dorm but staff not very friendly / helpful. Very noisy with music until late in the night, but like most of the places in San José.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th May 2017
8.6

Good hostel, great social areas. Bit of a dodgy area in the evenings so just make sure you go out in a group after dark

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2017
9.1

Food a little basic for price but otherwise very good hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th May 2017
9.1

Proper hostel with everything you need, only stayed one night and had a very good burger. Lots of places to chill. Only thing, they wouldn't print something off which although not the end of the world just pisses you off as you know they can easily! Brass caf two doors down if need of attention also

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.