Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
78% 1572
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
6.3

We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica because we arrived around 5 PM and we're leaving the next morning early for Bocas Del Toro and figured it looked like a fun place to stay for the night as we didn't care to explore San Jose. The hostel was decently clean but we were upset to find out that we were staying the one week that they were doing renovations so all of the facilities were closed :/ also the food and drinks are WAY overpriced. We decided to stay elsewhere traveling back to SJ

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.6

Pangea was great- the workers were friendly and very helpful and I really liked the fact that they check who they let in the front door. Seemed like a good stay for those who like to party, but it was nice and quiet the night we decided to stay. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, we enjoyed the hot water and air conditioner as well. I had to switch my original reservation from 6 to 3 and Pangea was really helpful in allowing me to do so.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
6.0

This hostel was the best it could be considering San Jose is not a great area. We only stayed one night even though we booked two. The neighborhood is bad but the hostel is secure. The walk to the bus is about ten minutes which is awesome. The bathrooms were clean and there is a nice deck with a view of the city but the room itself was hot and dark. There were no windows and lots of traffic noise. This place is OK if you want to crash after a long flight but no longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
9.4

We had to pay for parking and the staff was not very accomodating if we needed extra things. But everything advertised was delivered. Looks super sketch outside but actually really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
4.9

The neighborhood is pretty sketchy, and there are much nicer areas in san jose. The rooms are minimal and a bit too small and the bathrooms were dirty! On our night there, the very unpleasant incident of a drunk, violent fight between the guys in the room adjacent to ours took place, and lasted for hours. The staff was too incompetence in dealing with it or asking the police for necessary help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
8.3

only stayed here for about 9 hours. The food was mediocre but the convenience was nice. $3 ride to the bus station in the morning. Waters were over priced here. Would probably stay again but might consider other options as well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Super fun environment with a lot to do! There is a full bar that offers food/drinks and a dancing area as well as a space to chill and watch some TV. I stayed in a private room that was fairly clean except for stains on the sheets. The bed was also wicked uncomfortable. This hostel is LOUD so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you! Overall a good experience and cool ambiance, would stay there again. Pura vida!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
5.7

We booked a double private bedroom and found that the room had exactly that: a double bed. Nothing else. Not a chair, a table, nor a cupboard. In addition, there is a bar at the rooftop which plays loudly music until midnight. It is extremely annoying. There is not place to eat food bought outside the hostel. We tried to sit down at one of the bar's tables, and the waiter kicked us out immediately. I don't recommend this place. A guy had a leak on his room, and staff mistreated him.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Was a little quiet but still fun, the place is designed to have fun. Very recommended if you would like to go out, not to rest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Diego for the tours is awesome, and so are the guys who work by the gate keeping it all secure. The hostel is very clean, very safe and very busy! Full of travellers who are generally pretty young so it gets quite loud and is a party hostel. Lots of communal spaces- just need more sockets in rooms. Fun vibes but also very safe which is nice. Food is good too- even for a veggie like me! Toilets are clean and showers have hot water which is a great treat! Downstair shower doors dont close properly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.