Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Pangea

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
Hostel Pangea Located at Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose.
Hostel Pangea
Costa Rica
San Jose 6824-1000 Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis
77% 1528
9.9372779 -84.0775027
Hostel Pangea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2016
8.0

Shuttle from airport to the hostel was over an hour and a half late, however staff was really helpful and friendly once we got there. They hooked us up with a canopy and canyoning tour with a ride there and back to another hostel. Overall very nice!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Close to town and friendly staff. Nice big rooms and the pool was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel! They worked with us even with a flight that was delayed until 2 in the morning! Great service and a great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.9

Overall decor of the place was cool, especially the main lounge which had the bar and pool table. Showers had hot water and were quite large though there quite out in the open and the doors didn't have locks, neither did a couple of the toilets. Toilet cleanliness wasn't great and everything was petty wet but otherwise not too bad. Staff wise, nobody was rude but they weren't enthusiastic either. It says breakfast included online, but it's not. Delicious breakfast but should be included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
6.9

Food and drinks are outrageously expensive. It's like I'm eating at a fine dining restaurant only it's not close to that. Food is... Okay. Expensive dorms as well. Friendly and very helpful staff for sure. Cool terrace and bar. Hard to sleep in, as tons of random loud sounds echo throughout. Convenient airport shuttle.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel, great location, really friendly staff and feels very secure. Good facilities - pool, bar, computers, restaurant. No kitchen which would be helpful though. Very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

So upon arrival the staff was very friendly and helpful they quickly set us up in our rooms and gave us information about the busses and the activities we wanted to do in Costa Rica. The rooms where clean and the place itself is pretty cool there wasn't much going on though we expected the party you see in the pictures but still a great start to our Costa Rican adventure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay at pangea staff were very friendly. Rooms are great size and bathroom very clean throughout my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jomunkenbeck9954
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.3

Nice clean rooms and facilities, needs a kitchen as the restaurant is expensive if you're on a standard backpacker budget. Walls are paper thin so if the rooms near you are loud you can hear everything. Reception staff really nice. Let us store stuff in luggage room whilst we travelled!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.6

Staff was funny and helpful and we had a Great Time in pangea hostel! There were not many people around but it seems to be a party hostel in high season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.