X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Pangea Reviews

Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1035 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

my double room was without a window, there were two big dead cockroaches (after cleaning) on the floor... sorry, any questions about that!!!

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the Hostel to go to in San Jose, no doubt about it. Great bar w/ happy hour, excellent food at reasonable prices cooked and prepared to order by great chefs, a nice little swimming pool with lounge chairs, extremely competent staff that are more than willing to help with all kinds of stuff including arranging tours to just telling you the best way to get from point A to B. Large choice of room styles to stay in: 10 dorm, 8 dorm, 6 dorm, private, private w private bath, love this place!


97%

This was a really awesome hostel. It's like someone said, "What would a hostel be like if you could make the perfect hostel?" Seriously... There's a great atmosphere with the walls all painted, cool sinks, an upstairs bar área with a great view and hammock chairs as well as regular ones, a cool pool, a place to book tours... They also have a good food menu available at the bar, and the bartender was really cool and nice. A plus, there's a cute tapas place/cafe about two doors away.


63%

By far, this are the nicest facilities I have seen for a hostel. However, the downtown area in which this hostel is located may scare you at night. No kitchen. The hang out area is not the bar but separated tables that do not encourage socialization. Don't expect to make many friends here. For the most part, the staff is good, but when I attempted to cancel my reservation they charged my credit card for the full week without my approval. The place is run as a money making business. Period.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

There is no Window in the 4-Bed room nr 11. The air is very bad in there. The Music at the Reception is too loud and at the bar two.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

San Jose, CR is a pretty disgusting and dangerous place. If you are looking for night life, and you are a white American male like myself, stay away from this city. Pangea looks like a haphazardly built fortress during an zombie apocalypse. But it does provide a cool bar and hang out place on top during the night and pool is nice. Inside the hostel reminded me of a Goldeneye 007 (N64) level, rooms are small and intimate.


86%

Pool is great and refreshing.they play loud music in the bar, but turn it off at midnight, the double room has a bed, a table and a safe, but not chairs or a shelf. stuff is nice and helpful. many computers and a great porch with hammocks. except for the music, it was less party-like than described. there were relaxed people who played pool , even families with little children. the mattress was rather uncomfortable, ok for 2 nights. all in all a cheap and central hostel.


89%

I stayed 2 nights at this hostel. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located a short walk from the main street downtown. The rooftop patio and restaurant/bar was great! I would definitely stay here again.

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff of the reception was not always very sympathic and comprehensive. They charged 2 times my payment because I had no cash when I arrived (by night) in Costa Rica- in order to accept I pay in cash on the morning. Rooms are very basic and there was only 1 sheet on the bed and a cover. The place is very noisy, impossible to talk with other people at the bar-restaurant because of the hyper strong music. But facilities where great and they don't charged my son for the shuttle to the airport.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed here only one night. worked for me!


77%

Good place.


69%

terrible beds, not very clean bedsheets but otherwise clean toilets and shower. nice bar area with nice view but lots of noise until very late.


46%

Room felt like dingy cells with too small curtains (didn't block the light), scratchy blanket, no bed sheet. And cockroaches. Walls paper thin - noise very big issue. Food good but overpriced. Reception staff grumpy, rigid, unprofessional (couldn't find our reservation). Bartenders friendly but extremely slow. Lame music. Cool art. Some aspect of security overemphasized while others disregarded (ie bag storage - no supervision/records). Unnecessary charges for everything. Would never go back.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Very dark rooms (at least on the floor where I have been), my room actually didn't have any real window, just a hole on the ceiling. And an other window on the door looking to the corridor, so the private room didn't feel private at all. The bar is nice to have, and the location is very central. They can also arrange for shuttles but as I later learned they are quite expensive compared to other options.


69%

Common areas are great, rooms are a little sad. The wifi barely worked at all, especially in the rooms! I stayed here twice for 1 night each time. The first time the 'window' in the room opened onto the bar, so it was a bit noisy until they shut off the music. The second time our room had only 1 outlet for 6 people. Good: hot water, computers for use, Great food (but a bit pricey even for Costa Rica)

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Good secured place on walking distance from the center and busstations. Although the area is not so safe in the dark, be aware of that. Clean facilties and nice rooftopterrace with bar and restaurant. The hostel is big so don't expect an atmosphere where everybody talks to eachother and everybody knows eachother.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel staff were very helpful, and the shuttle from the airport ran smoothly. The hostel is in a dead part of town. The external security was very good, but the door to the room was a joke, rotting. The room had nothing in it other than bunk beds. The room was cold at night, and there were no blankets. Towels were not included in the price. The wifi didn't work. The bar and restaurant on the top floor looked promising, but I didn't have any of the food, and the drinks were watered down.


46%

dirty room. hairs in beds and pillows person at the reception was not friendly at all.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

-Dorms only -weak myfi that only works when it wants to -ONE toilet each for Males and Females in a hostel -$15 per load of laundry -curfew -rude desk staff, especially the owner.


100%

We stop every time we go thru San Jose! The security is amazing and the rooms are really nice, especially the suites! Good food too!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(92 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback