X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Pangea Reviews

Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1122 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very very noisy, good place to party and meet people but not the place to have a rest.


60%

Pangea is located in a very convenient (central) but not nice location. If you care about being close to the city center of San Jose, it's a good spot. Other than its location and its extensive bar and swimming pool facilities, it doesn't have much to offer. Rooms are not very nice, staff is incredibly unhelpful and not very friendly, it doesn't foster much of a community feeling because it is just so big. If you're there with a big group, the facilities are great and the location is convenient

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

If youre single, this be the place to be. Its definitely a party hostel, which I love, but come time to shutter down, the private rooms(cells) really dont have much privacey. Theres huge vents in the ceiling that lets in all the noise from people screamin down the hall and others shaggin next door. Cheap, good food, and nice staff though.


86%

We reserved a spot for our caravan of friends almost a year out so we could all stay in the same 10 person dorm but when we got there they had to split us up because they had no room left in the 10 person dorm.... what is the point of making a reservation if you just ignore it?!?!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

no plugs in room wifi is horrible staff aren't very polite.. rooms were ok. bar staff not very attentive


86%

Nice place. Staff were friendly. Computers upstairs by the bar were a godsend as my tablet decided to break 2 days before coming here! Would be better if there were some chairs at the computers though! Good overall.


94%

Possibly one of the coolest hostels I have stayedin! Sweet pool, super helpful staff and gnarly artwork. Bar has heaps of food choices too. The rooms are very basic but ok :)

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Potential to be great place unfortunately the staff for the most part left alot to be desired.the people on the travel desk were great and helpful and that's where it ends.also a sense of trying to get every cent out of you.food was very good and fairly priced for san Jose


71%

They have keycards for the room doors but no lockers to keep valuables in the rooms, which is silly especially as there was enough space in my room No windows so it was hot at night Not a single plug socket in the room!! No ladders to get to the top bunks so if you have short legs...good luck Wifi was very temperamental These things are so small but really basic and inconvenient and should be changed Otherwise the bathrooms are really clean and the staff are super nice and helpful!!


89%

Hostel Pangea was great. its very big but it has lots of common space. The bar and restaurant were both very good and the bar tender was awesome. Our room was clean and the bathroom space was very nice. My only complaint would be that later on in our travels we heard from other travellers than you get a free drink when you check in there, which we did not receive - with?!


77%

Good hostel, bar area is great and it's easy to meet fellow travellers and socialise. Pool was a bit filthy. Bar could also do with some variety in music, the awful reggaton 24 hours a day does start to grate. Probably a good place to go if you are a young traveller passing through San José.


69%

The shuttle from the airport was very convenient. The people we met where great. Lots of computers and tv's in the bar upstairs. Staff was ok but we're rude and dismissive a couple times. Bathrooms could b way better. The room was small and like a dungeon. The light wasn't very bright. Bed was ok but not great. Good location. When we asked the staff for a cab and told them our destination, they gave the cab the wrong place. Brought us to a dodgy place

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

the place didn,t seem to be clean. We paid 24$ each for a shuttle to get to the hotel from the areoport and a taxi would have cost 30$ for both ! the employee wasn't realy hepful. The price of the food and drink is too high.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I was well impressed with the size of this hostel. It is beautiful inside. really great conditions to be a super mega hostel. the infrastructures are the best I have been. unfortunately there is not much atmosphere going on. I felt bored all the time and that is something I rarely feel. Maybe staff should put more effort in bringing people together. just a thought.


66%

Massive hostel. Rooms were dim and dark. No area for luggage. The key card didn't work on door so had to leave it unlocked. No ladder for top bunks. WiFi was down the whole time. Food nice but expensive. Clean bathrooms. A bit of a money making venture.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

No personnality, people working there just do what they have to, nothing more

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a great time.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The rooms were the size of shoe boxes and walls paper thin, so thin it was like they didn't exist at all, you could hear everyone on your floors conversation, sniff, cough and snoring, and i was staying in the private room.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

San Jose is not a nice city, paying the extra few bucks to stay somewhere a bit nicer like Pangea is worth it.


80%

We arrived fairly late for a one-night stay before heading to the beach. Keep a close eye for Calle 3 and Avenida 7...or is it Avenida 3 and Calle 7. :) If we had not called and asked for clarification we could have driven by 10 times without seeing it. That is also why this is a great place to stay. Inside is very nicely kept, the people are warm and the accommodations are great. The security is very good and they will store your bags if you are staying in a bunk-room. Highly Recommend.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(75 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback