X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Pangea Reviews

Barrio Amon Ave 7 st.3-3bis, Barrio Amon Ave.11 st 3bis, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1042 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Beatiful and spacious bathrooms

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Only stayed one night. Did the job. But... They warn us of the scummy taxi drivers trying to take us to other hostels and tell us their man will be holding the sign 'Costa Rican hostel network' So we are outside waiting for their man with the sign. After 1.5 hours of waiting for a guy holding that sign and other taxi drivers trying to get us in their taxis we ring the hostel. Next a man approaches us on the phone to the hostel holding 2 completely different signs. Very poor organising

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Worst hostel I've been in the world. It is REALLY noisy because the only thing that is between the corridor and the rooms (even private) is curtain. So it;s like sleeping in a huge dorm where no body can see each other. The toilet garbages were not emptied often enough so it stunked and the shower curtains were disgusting.The staff (especially at the bar) was everything but friendly and efficient (the waiter prefered washing dishes that taking our order) Will never recomend that place.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed at Pangea in early January. I would not recommend it to people who want to get a good sleep or are looking for a relaxed atmosphere, as house music starts playing at 2pm and goes on till about 2 am. The food at the Pangea is delicious!

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel, would definitely come for another visit. Staff were necessarily helpful but great rooftop bar and patio.


89%

Good, clean hostel. Rooms are big, enough space for your bags and walkable space. The staff at the frontdesk is really nice and extremely helpful. Though, the bartenders could be a less annoying and touching at evening/night. only thing was that there were no plugs in the room. When you want to charge your laptop, there is a nice place with sofas, but theres no wifi connection. great stay in San Jose!


71%

Some people of the staff were really nice and that made me feel like home. My room did not have any outlets and no internet connection, that made everything a bit complicated.. They forgot to explain me the securtiy procedure. We had a nice TV evenning. The food in the restaurant was not as good as the food at other places.


89%

Minimalist room but clean. Awesome public places! Shuttle service is on time too.


97%

I have stayed several times at Pangea and always the staff are friendly and very helpful, I love the view at the bar out over San Jose and under the stars, food is great and always comes quickly. Thanks to Julian, Alberto and Mauricio, Pura Vida !!! i will be back soon.


74%

Hostel Pangea is centrally located. It's easy to walk to or get a cab to anywhere in San Jose. Buses out to other cities are blocks away. The place is like Fort Knox with a big heavy door. It's easy to miss the hostel because it looks like garage on the outside but is pretty nice on the inside. The best part of the hostel are the people that you meet. The layout of the hostel makes it easy to meet and mingle with other travelers. All-in-all Hostel Pangea is a solid value.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We really enjoyed staying there. Very good atmosphere and comfy bed. Only complaint is the food, especially the burgers - too salty and just not very nice.


100%

Great place to start/finish a trip to Costa Rica. Friendly staff. Nice rooftop bar. Small lockers available in common areas. Easy to meet people. Small swimming pool. Shuttle to a from airport available for $11 one way. Super helpful.


80%

In general a clean, organized hostel, great location. Some downsides are: 1-doesnt have a kitchen, so no fridge to even keep your drinks cold (this might be to encourage you buy from bar which is overpriced e.g a beer for $3 which should really be $2) 2-Some multi-bed rooms do not have windows to outside, so if you need light these rooms could be pretty gloomy.


94%

Best hoszel in costa Rica


57%

Had a double room. Never seen such a small room. It had no windows, just a hole in the ceiling and you could hear everything of the other rooms and traffic. The bed was very noisy aswell and they must be kidding about the bar. A beer costs you 3$ and the meals are pretty expensive too. They have no kitchen. Pretty expensive and poor for a hostel.


89%

Pay attention to the directions on the email confirmation. Pangea is kind of hard to spot.

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Party place with a lot of underage drinkers (since the rooftop bar will never ever be checked by authorities). Not a very nice surroundings (a lot of prostitutes in the neighborhood), but that's just night in center of San José. Rooftop bar is nice and a little pricey (3,50 for a beer). Dorms are clean and fine, bathrooms too. Biggest problem was they did not received all of my mails and canceled my reservation for 11 dolars and when I show up, they magically renewed it for 15.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff was friendly and we liked the hostel decor, but our room was tiny and noisy. Then again, that's hard to avoid in a big city. We also weren't big fans of the loud dance hall music in the middle of the day or the six (or so) TV screens in the dining/lounge area upstairs, but then we're not 20-somethings anymore, so they might appeal to some.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Close to centrum, awesome terrace and nice food!


83%

This was a good hostel for our last night in Costa Rica. The beds are not very comfortable, but the place looked clean and the staff was very helpful. The bar upstairs is a good place to grab a drink or socialize with fellow travelers.


(94 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback