Hostelworld.com

Hostel Papaya Getsemani

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
Hostel Papaya Getsemani Located at Calle del Pozo 28-36, Barrio Getsemani, Cartagena.
Hostel Papaya Getsemani
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle del Pozo 28-36, Barrio Getsemani
84% 227
10.4203609 -75.5451612
Hostel Papaya Getsemani
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
6.9

Great location and nice common space (courtyard, large indoor room). But dorms are cramped and all face the courtyard, so not soundproof. I had a restless night's sleep. If you just want a fun location and good social space and aren't a picky sleeper, could be great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
8.9

we were told we could pay with credit card, but when we went to pay, machine was down. The staff person was not willing to accommodate us so we had to run to get money and almost missing a boat to our next destination. Other experiences with staff were great. One shower did not drain, which was quite uncomfortable. Location is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
6.6

Small hostel approximately a 10 minute walk to the historic part of Cartagena. Had air conditioning but turns on in the evenings around 8/9pm and off around the same time in the morning. They have fans turned on throughout the day. Decent lounge area. Wifi was awful and it was hard to connect an stay connected. Overall, was clean and there was storage for each guest; they provide the key. Breakfast was included and was quite good - coffee, 2 pancakes with icing sugar, and a banana.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Very thankful to the ladies for cooking breakfast for me every morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
20th Apr 2016
5.7

Disappointing. Staff stuffed up bookings which meant they came into the rooms at 2am talking loudly and switching on the lights. No apology. Aircon is only on at night but this isn't mentioned until you get there. Staff were rude, I got given only half a cup of tea at breakfast, and the rooms were tiny. Basically just trying to cram in as many people as possible and cutting costs at guests expense. I won't be staying here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.0

The place is only few minutes from the tourist city, they offer a god quality of breakfast that aren't the same everyday. The hostel is safe, but the man of the street of cartagena simply doens't respect woman, so you may feel unsafe. I did not like the arrangement of beds, are bunk beds, but is like if they had added on more bed in the middle, so tere are not much space for the legs, I myself hurt badly my knee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Apr 2016
7.4

Good hostel. Super cramped rooms and not great value for money but nice enough

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
6.9

Only stayed for one night, lady who who first greeted us was extremely rude and unhappy. If you get put in a 3 bed bunk those are extremely awkwardly placed, but it won't be bad if you're on the shorter end. Locations was very clean and in a great location. Other than the first lady who greeted us the rest of the staff seemed nice and helpful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
8.0

A cozy and homely hostel, with comfortable common areas - both outdoors... and a nicely designed lounge area, with an open-window looking out to the street. Great for chilling out after a day under the hot Cartagena sun. Excellent location, steps away from a main plaza full of life and activity in the evenings... and plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. The staff although polite and professional, don't really hang out with the guests... which is why the only low score was for this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.1

Cool place to stay for the night! Within walking distance of amazing restaurants beaches and historic city!! Lots of fantastic street art. Bring your camera!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.