Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Papaya Getsemani

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.3
Hostel Papaya Getsemani Located at Calle del Pozo 28-36, Barrio Getsemani, Cartagena.
Hostel Papaya Getsemani
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Calle del Pozo 28-36, Barrio Getsemani
82% 258
10.4203609 -75.5451612
Hostel Papaya Getsemani
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Sep 2016
10.0

Right across from plaza Trinidad my favorite spot to people watching and drink at night. Close to the old city, AC at night which is a huge plus. Breakfast is included and is pretty standard but pretty good. Laid back atmosphere but close to lots of bars and hostels if you are looking to be more rowdy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.9

We enjoyed our stay at Papaya and extended our time there for a couple of days. The breakfast was delicious and the vibe of the hostel was pretty good all round. Spend a little more and book into a 4 person dorm as the 5 person ones are very crampt and poorly laid out. We were not impressed with the under-bed lockers as you could lift the mattress up and reach your belongings through the slats- not safe at all really!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, nice area, nice breakfast, only thing that's a real problem is there's 2 bathrooms for 40-odd people. You can wait literally hours for a pee when people are showering....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
7.7

First stay here, not much atmosphere between travellers but it's a small hostel and the others here were already in a group. Quite hostel. Great location about 5minutes walk from old town but one street away from good nightlife. Good breakfast but small portions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.0

Overall pretty nice hostel. AC on from 8pm which is all you need in Cartagena. Rooms are a bit cramped, with lockers under the beds (it's basically the empty area between your bed and floor. Kind of dirty). Floor in room was a bit dirty, but bathroom and common area seemed to be cleaned daily, as well as the beds. Common area really nice to chill and relax. Pretty good breakfast. Overall good hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel is in a great location called getsemani, a little bit outside of the main city, but nevertheless, an area which has its own beauty and a great vibe in the evenings. Need to thank the women cooking us a different breakfast every morning, definitely one of the best we've ever had in any hostel! The rooms and bathrooms were very clean too. Would suggest this hostel for anyone travelling to cartagena!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
5.7

Not necessarily a bad hostel at all- its just much more bare bones then the profile gives the impression of. Excellent location if you want to get out of the touristy part of town though! There wasn't AC, which is most likely noted somewhere here but should maybe be bolder cause summer in Cartagena, holy crap. Really not a bad spot, just shouldn't be the same price as the others in the neighborhood I suppose.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
5.7

In 5 months travelling SA, I have never seen such cramped rooms. Beds stacked 3 high, with the middle bed perpendicular to the top and bottom in an L shape. The middle bed was 1 foot above mine, so from my chest down it felt like i had the space of a coffin. The feet on that bed was about 2 feet from my head. The middle beds had their pillows touching there were so close. There is space for only 2 people to stand in the 6 bed room. Terrible staff, refused to print a 1 page boarding pass. Disgrac

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
9.4

This was such a great hostel. AC at night, free breakfast, and small enough to get to know the other people staying there. Definitely stay here if you're in Cartagena!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd May 2016
6.3

Location of hostel was great and a very easy walk to the old walled city. Also had great street food on plaza de Trinidad in the evenings. Breakfast was good and different each day. Staff were very helpful too. Unfortunately there just wasn't any atmosphere in the hostel when we stayed as everyone kept to themselves- luckily we met a few nice people though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.