Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Papaya Getsemani

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2017
8.6

Not a weed-friendly hostel, other than that is good. Sleep at nighttime, they play music since very early in the morning plus no A.C after 7 am, and let me tell you, it's pretty hot after this time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
8.0

Great location, right outside a great area with plenty going on. Staff was very nice and accommodating, though little English was spoken. The night we stayed they had a free salsa lesson which was a lot of fun. Facilities are decent. Lockers don't lock but the front desk is good about locking the front door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel. The staff are nice and the location is great. People drink in the plaza most nights and it's a great way to meet people and find parties to go to. The AC gets switched on from 7 till 7 in the dorms. Our dorm beds were fine but there are a funny three bed stack that some people had which was amusing. The breakfast was pretty good. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
9.7

The location is perfect, the square outside is full of life every evening. Though the kitchen is small and they would benefit from an additional bathroom, I would definitely recommend this hostel and this neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • milwaukeebrudens
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
8.6

Great location!! Right off one of the more fun plazas in Getsemani (plaza de la Trinidad). Staff were very helpful and the breakfast they provided was fine - pancakes and fruit with coffee. Rooms have air conditioning but only at night. Security boxes are located under each bunk, but the locks aren't super secure and mine was broken (was able to use my husbands). Bunks were clean and comfy, but you are in very close quarters with your roommates, especially in the 5 person dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
7.1

Pros: good location and clean facilities Cons: only have air conditioning for certain hours of day and they are very stingy about using it. Other hostels have it on all the time. One shower and toilet for ten people seems a bit absurd to me. I always had to use the other bathroom. Hostel is super small so impossible to sleep if people are socializing. Rooms are tiny and they squeezed five beds in the room but no space for bags. Play same music over and over music again. Coffee sucks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th May 2017
9.1

I stayed in the 4 bed dorm, it had spacious lockers and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly each day. Room also had an ensuite bathroom. Although the security of this hostel seemed very tight, we left our bags in the storage room overnight and unfortunately one of the bags had items stolen from it during this time. The staff were very helpful, and it is right in the plaza close to street food and restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th May 2017
10.0

Great place to stay in Cartagena!! recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • birakabaho
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
9.1

This hostel is the most well situated one to the night life. The staff is super sweet, although most of them only speak spanish but they will try to communicate with you. It's quieter than others, not THE place to meet other travellers, but the ones you do meet are nice since it is a laid-back hostel. I would recommend for a night but no longer since it's not too much of a social hostel (if you're solo traveling).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.1

The 5 bed option was quite awkward. They stuffed a third bed in between a top and bottom bunk. The staff was nice and breakfast was good. It included eggs (small portion), papaya fruit, bread, and coffee. The staff was really nice and were very helpful. For towels we had to pay $5,000 COP. Showers are not hot but it's so hot in Cartagena that it's not necessary. There is a lot of culture in Getsemani and I'm sure during peak tourist season it's even more fun than when we went.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.