Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Papaya Getsemani

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 355 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th May 2017
10.0

Great place to stay in Cartagena!! recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • birakabaho
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
9.1

This hostel is the most well situated one to the night life. The staff is super sweet, although most of them only speak spanish but they will try to communicate with you. It's quieter than others, not THE place to meet other travellers, but the ones you do meet are nice since it is a laid-back hostel. I would recommend for a night but no longer since it's not too much of a social hostel (if you're solo traveling).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.1

The 5 bed option was quite awkward. They stuffed a third bed in between a top and bottom bunk. The staff was nice and breakfast was good. It included eggs (small portion), papaya fruit, bread, and coffee. The staff was really nice and were very helpful. For towels we had to pay $5,000 COP. Showers are not hot but it's so hot in Cartagena that it's not necessary. There is a lot of culture in Getsemani and I'm sure during peak tourist season it's even more fun than when we went.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
9.7

Extremely good location right outside La Trinidad church, very short walk to old town. Lots of good little restaraunts less than 2 minutes walk from the place. I recommend Cafe Beiyu for breakfast and Cafe coconcoro for lunch. Just a heads up though you dont need to stay in Cartagena more than 3 days unless you plan on going to the islands. Overall very good hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.9

5 bed dorm was awkward with not a lot of room for bags. The aircon gets turned off in the early morning, after that it's impossible to sleep. They also charge 5,000 for towels which is quite expensive compared to other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
6.9

Really disappointing, had some kind of weird 3 bed bunk bed in a tiny room, felt a bit like sleeping in a coffin as couldn't turn over without hitting my knees. Lovely staff and good location, but really small hot courtyard and rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
10.0

I highly, highly, highly recommend this hostel! I love the Getsamani neighborhood in Cartagena and they are right where all the action is! You never know what's going to happen outside in the Trinidad Plaza! We did a samba class Out there once with tons of people! The staff is super kind and helpful! Really easy to meet people here too. Bathrooms could be and issue once in awhile but nothing really to complain about there's just three. I love this place! Please check it out for your sake!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice, chilled hostel - social enough to make some friends but certainly not a party hostel (which is what we liked). The staff are so friendly and always smile and say hello. Breakfast was great each morning. Only annoying thing was paying 5 pesos per night for luggage storage if you decide to do a trip somewhere. Would definitely recommend though :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Great stay with plenty of space for everyone. A/c in the rooms, which you need in Cartagena. The place was clean, and the beds redone for you even if you stayed two nights. The area is bustling with people but you barely hear anything. Definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.7

The location of this hostel is perfect if you want to experience the getsemani area and a short walk (under 10 minutes) to the old city! Breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and accommodating and the vibe was cool :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.