X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Pearl Reviews

Od Tabakarije 12, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
123 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic friendly hosts and a great location seconds from Dubrovnik old town (and just around the corner from the location for King's Landing in Game of Thrones - a fab spot for a swim!) Directions for the hostel were different from the website - it's best to take a contact phone number and phone the hostel from the store next to the Tisak shop (mentioned in directions to the hostel).

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel would have been 100% amazing. However, they booked someone to live in the common room so we had to walk by people sleeping on the couch to go to the bathroom. Everyone was stuck in a bad situation. They didn't tell the people that they rented the common room out that it was a shared area including the bathroom. If it wasn't for this incident, the room location and price were phenomenal.


80%

The room was beautiful and just a few steps away from the old town. Be aware though that this is not really a hostel and has no proper reception, you are given a telephone number that you are supposed to call if you need something. No Wifi. I was told there was a common room but the directions were vague so I couldn't find it. The owner was very nice.


91%

Dear Luca, you were very helpful and we enjoyed the stay very much. Dear Future guests, do not expect a hostel like one building. Luca is a very helpful and lovely young man who is juggling around about six or seven venues. We had a nice room, double bed, sea view and a big bathroom. Everything worked out fine and we had a great time in one of the most beautiful towns. Hostel Pearl, to us, indeed was a pearl within Dubrovnik, the pearl of the mediterranen sea.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

The room was fine - but NOT an apartment as billed. It was a normal bedroom with an en suite, air con and tv. I wanted an apartment so that I could use the kitchen because eating out is expensive in Dubrovnik. The guy who ran it was friendly and had my washing done for free which was kind. The other guests were very noisy and taking drugs though. I was glad to switch to a real apartment - it only cost me 10 euros more for a nice one in the old town. In summary fine for a night, but shop around.


20%

I totally not recommand the Hostel pearl, Dubrovnik, for the following reasons : - we arrived for 2 nights (friday 8th for 4 persons and saturday 9th for 3 persons) with the printed document of the booking, and the hostel was already full. - after 2 hours, the host/man in charge, luka gave us a call and said to us there is the opportunity to go to another location for the same price (38€/person/night). However what about the deposit (bit more than 40€ ?).

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This accommodation location is fantastic and Luca (owner) gave some great tips about what to do and where to eat. It is called 'Pearl Hostel' but it isn't really a hostel as it is run by Luca who has rooms in different buildings just outside the old town wall. The WiFi was terrible and it does not offer the facilities listed in the hostel description (reception, kitchen, tea making facilities, mini supermarket, lockers...etc). There is no sign for the hostel so ring Luca when you get off the bus


43%

It really surprises how many good reviews Hostel Pearl has received when we felt like we were completly conned. It's not an actual hostel, it's basically one man, Luca, who has 'business partners' all over Dubrovnik and he rents their spare rooms out for them. The rooms look nothing like the pictures displayed on hostel world and we never met another backpacker the whole time we stayed there. The ONLY positive is that the family we stayed with we're lovely and did our washing for us.


86%

We were in the best location imaginable, well inside the city walls amongst all the tourism hotspots, restaurants, bars, shops, which gives it a traditional feel. Luca, the bloke who owns it, left us to it but we had his number should we have needed anything (which we didn't). It seemed like we'd been upgraded for free. Our rooms were spacious and clean, only small towels given and bog seat wasn't attached but we didn't really mind, the quality and location more than made up for it. Recommended.


100%

We Stayed in dubrovnik for 3 nights, and Luca made it one of the most memorable experiences ever, the local knowledge was amazing all recommended spots to eat and see were spot on. A1 service, one of the best location and locals ever


97%

Outstanding stay at hostel Pearl mainly due to Luca being an outstanding host. He couldn't do enough to help us, shuts is around and give us some handy tips. Will definitely return and we reccomending!!

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Luca our host was a legend!! We were 3 hrs late from our eta, and he was there waiting for us. Our apartment was excellent, clean and fresh just outside the walls of the old town. Luca recommended some great restaurants one being the Taj Mahal - is a must great food. He was able to help wherever possible, getting us great discounts almost everywhere. Highly recommend!! Thanks for the hospitality, Dubrovnik is now one of our fave places we have visited!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel was in a great location and the owner, Lukas, was very helpful. He showed us on a map where the best places in Dubrovnik were and offered us discounts on kayaking nearby. Unfortunately, while we were there the wifi didn't work and we had to go outside to get internet. The property we stayed in had no kitchen facilities and this meant we had to buy all meals in restaurants which made the holiday even more expensive.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The manager/owner of this hostel makes it amazing. He helps with everything and will help with everything. Not to mention the location of the hostel is excellent being so close to old town and everything you need. GREAT HOSTEL GREAT MANAGER.


94%

Everything was great! From the cleanness of the room to the amazing location, adding the exceptional reception by Luka. Perfect space, amazing hospitality, giving me tips for the city, arranging for me to have discounts in a Kayaking experience, giving me a 24/7 direct contact to him in case of any trouble,... Plus, the room was very spacious, clean and well equipped! Definite value for money!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Luka completely saved us in dubrovnik. We had spent. Nightin an awful hostel and checked out early and booked a couple of nights at the hostel pearl. It couldn't have been more perfect, lovely clean room literally 2 minutes from the old town and various lovely beaches, Luka recommended where to go, where to eat and even what to order, he really was fantastic and we are already planning our return next year! Washing machines and dryer were so helpful and everything just perfect! Thank you!!


100%

Awesome hostel! The owner was really helpful! Great location! Highly recommended

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel. We stayed in an apartment in the old town, close to everything and with great facilities! Luka is absolutely great at looking after you and showing you where to go. Could not recommend Dubrovnik or Hostel Pearl more.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a good place but bathroom needs some work. Due to drainage issues in the bathroom meant that there was continual dampness in the unit. A little bit of work on the bathroom would turn this property from an average apartment to a great apartment, due to its locality to the seaside and stroll to the old town. The washing machine was a bonus, It was great to wash clothea, but clothes airers would be great.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

definitely stay here again great location difficult to find but phoned the owner luka and he came and met me at the orhan restaurant and it was just around the corner great last nite staying in dubrovnik croatia were playing mexico they got beat but what a great atmosphere.luka also arranged a taxi for me to take me to the airport at a cheaper price than normal thanks neil Smith ps made some great new friends at this hostel


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Dubrovnik Hostels

Please give us your feedback