Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Plinio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Hostel Plinio Located at Main Road 50 Meters Before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, , Manuel Antonio.
Hostel Plinio
Costa Rica
Manuel Antonio Main Road 50 Meters Before Restaurant Bamboo Jam
90% 539
9.4245077 -84.1592001
Hostel Plinio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel. Staff are lovely, dorms are basically tree houses with two different balconies. Shared bathroom between 11 people with a spare in the main building but nothing to be done about that. Pool clean and great. There's even a kitten! Staff are lovely and helpful and buses go to manuel Antonio park every 15 mins from right outside (takes 10 mins) Not a party place (good thing). Just very tranquil and good common areas and wifi. Restaurants nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

Enjoyed our stay here, the pool was great after a long day out and the staff were mega helpful, especially Danil. We felt that there was a lack of atmosphere despite the large communal area with nobody ever around to socialise with so I wouldn't recommend here for solo travellers. That being said, facilities were good for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.4

We loved our stay at Hostel Plinio! We stayed in the 8-bed dorm and were surprised by how big the rooms are- essentially divided into two sections of four beds. We also had two shared deck spaces- one outside the room and one balcony on top. Both were great spots for hanging towels to dry and watching storms. Sharing a bathroom with 8 people is a bit much, but there were other bathrooms outside our dorm, so we never had to wait. Everyone at reception was kind and helped us figure out our travel,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
9.1

A great place to stay, close to both Quepos and Manuel Antonio. The staff were always really helpful and engaged, and breakfast (while repetitive!) was filling and tasty. It's certainly not a party hostel, which was perfect for us, and we had a lovely few days there unwinding. The room itself was amazingly spacious, and also really clean with daily roomservice. Great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location, in walking distance of Quepos, with frequent and cheap buses to Manuel Antonio. We only stayed there for one night, but from what we experienced, the dorms are secure, with well made lockers, comfortable beds, and not too hot, even with only two or three fans for an entire dorm. Only one shower/bathroom for 8-9 people, but we didn't have to wait too long. Free breakfast is good and filling, and the atmosphere on the balcony is amazing at night. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in MA. We are happy to hear you liked our hostel. While there is only one shower in the dorm rooms, we do have two additional showers and an additional bathroom near reception. Next time you come, we will show them to you! Pura Vida

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
8.0

Amazing hostel! We booked a private room w/ 3 floors including 2 balconies to ourselves. Impressed with the property, amazing value for the money. The front desk helped us with a mechanic when we bottomed out on our rental. Few issues, No glass windows instead they are screens, which is fine, but lots of road noise at night. The shower was mostly just a trickle and hot water was finicky at best. Worst shower of 3 Central American countries on our trip. Kitchen had dirty sponges, no soap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for letting us know about the hot water, we are working to fix this problem. We have also replaced the sponges and soap. Next time please feel free to let us know your concerns during your stay so we can make it a more enjoyable experience!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
7.7

Very good place to stay, very friendly people, clean, loved the pool. The only thing I would have liked is better security as the locks in the B&B are very old and the front door was often left open. It would have been nice to have had access to a safe of some kind for my valuables. Apart from that though, I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Manuel Antonio and sharing your concerns. At the BNB we do have a 24 hour security system as well as staff that live on site for piece of mind. While there is no lock box at the BNB, we do have a large one at the hostel that you would have been welcome to use. We look forward to your next visit. Pura Vida

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.7

This hostel is split in two buildings, the main one which has the dorms and treehouse-looking rooms and the B&B. We stayed in both. The b&b is extremely clean and quiet with an awesome shower for Costa Rican standards, but does not have a tree-house feel. I highly suggest it if you want peace and quiet. The main building rooms are really cool and are all open, with screens instead of windows, so you get to hear everything going on outside. However, it does get really damp because of the humidity

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, please come back next time you are down this way!

30th Jul 2016
9.7

A great place with a great staff and atmosphere. Closer to Quepos than Manuel Antonio National Park, but the bus system makes that no issue at all. I would totally recommend, there is a pool, restaurant an an awesome veranda on the property. Plus... a great breakfast is provided every morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
9.4

Great pool, restaurant and bar areas. Easy bus to the beach, national park and Quepos (every 15 minutes, right outside the hostel). I was in a private room a short walk down the road from the main hostel building, but used the pool and hostel facilities daily. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.