Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Plinio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Hostel Plinio Located at Main Road 50 Meters Before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, , Manuel Antonio.
Hostel Plinio
Costa Rica
Manuel Antonio Main Road 50 Meters Before Restaurant Bamboo Jam
87% 667
9.4245077 -84.1592001
Hostel Plinio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.1

We stayed in the b and b down the road from the main hostel. The building is not the most attractive from the outside but the rooms are lovely. Clear, air conditioning and TV.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Hostel Plinio was perfect! We stayed in the B&B section right next door and our room was really nice, great bed and shower. The location is good, right between quepos and Manuel antonio, the bus less than 1$ in each direction. They served us a really delicious and healthy breakfast and everyone was very helpful. Definitely recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2017
4.0

Was very dark in the hostel. Our room was basically outdoors with no air conditioning. When we flashed our lights around the room, there were spider webs on and under the beds. We then decided to change hostel. Staff was very nice but they didn't offer too many things to do while in Manuel Antonio/quepos. Would not return or recommend this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you didn´t enjoy your time with us. Next time we would appreciate if you come to reception to voice your concerns so we can address them immediately. Our priority is that our guests enjoy their stay at Hostel Plinio. We do not offer AC at the hostel section of Plinio, only the BNB side, which is stated in our description. As far as the spider webs are concerned, we clean daily to get rid of them, but occasionally because we are in the jungle, a few get by us. All of our staff are well versed on things to do in the area, next time come to reception with any questions you have. Thanks.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.6

The staff is excellent, gave me advice on everything and helped me out when renting a car by calling the rental company to see what extra "hidden fees" of be paying on arrival. The hotel was calm, not a party atmosphere what I liked about it. Easy bus ride from the airport that cost only $1!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
9.1

This spot is fantastic! It feels like staying in a treehouse. The pool is great and the restaurant next door is cheap and good. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The free breakfasts are great too. My one complaint is the metal frame bunk isn't comfortable... you can feel every movement of the other person because the frame is so wobbly. I recommend sleeping in a wooden bunk. Otherwise I couldn't say enough good things about Plinio and I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
6.0

It's very beautiful spot, located in the hills surrounded by the jungle. Nice swimming pool though not clean. There was no microwave, stove was from the 1800's, sink was clogged the whole time we were there and the kitchen is outside so not really clean. Don't be scared of ants and Geikos they are everywhere in and outside your bedroom. Other than that it's a good value for the money! You can go to the very top there are swings where you get to enjoy the view of the ocean. Bus stop is 1min walk

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the jungle setting. We would appreciate in the future that you come to reception to express your concerns, especially about a clogged sink! We would have fixed the problem right away. We do not offer a microwave to guests because of past experience with guest use of microwaves. As for the stoves and ovens, they work properly and I assure you they are from this century. The pool is well cleaned several times a week and the geikos eat other bugs, they are your friends! Thanks for staying with us we look forward to hosting you again.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Hostel Plinio was so much more than what we expected! We loved it. The staff, especially Britt, were amazing and went over and above to make us feel taken care of. It has easy access to the local bus stops and has amazing views. We recommend this place to anyone. If you're looking for the hostel experience or if you're looking for a special space for you and your significant other this place is it. Will definitely be back if we're back in Costa Rica.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
7.7

Nice place for the price they ask. Hard to get walking - you need to take a bus or taxi to get there from Quepos or to get to the beach. We decided, that we can get there from bus station walking - quite dangerous, especially at night - there is no pedestrian walks. Atmosphere was increadible - like house on the tree - relaxed and joyfull with a great view on the ocean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear the atmosphere was to your liking. Manuel Antonio is a very hilly area on the coast, and while it often looks like you can walk between places, it is much safer to take the local bus that is about .50 cents USD because the whole town lacks sidewalks. Luckily our bus stop is located a 45 second walk from the front of the hostel. Pura Vida.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
5.1

The staff has no customer service, I didn't like the hotel. They don't know about the are or what to do. Well my last day the manager was soon nice and told a lot of thing that I could do, but that was my last day. Since all the employees leave there, they just play around with each other.. they don't take their job serious or the guest needs. I didn't have hot water, I ask if the could check buy the girl was on her phon. Don't stay there. No stores around there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.9

We stayed in private B&B rooms. Nothing fancy, but the rooms were nice and comfortable. Janina was always there in the morning making a nice typical costarican breakfast. All staff members are super nice and helpful. Corri, the owner of this place, plays guitar and sings on Fridays in a little restaurant there - he's really good. Do not expect any lush greenery there, parking is a bit rough... but it's a great value for MA and we would recommend this place to budget travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.