X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Plinio Reviews

Main Road 50 Meters Before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
197 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

For the amount of people staying there, the facilities in the kitchen is not enough. Another stove would be good and maybe a blender to do smoothies is always a nice extra touch. Staff is excellent and breakfast included was really good!!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Near the road so very noisy during the night! Good staff and very clean!

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was good, I really enyoyed this place. The only things I can report to improve are: - swimming pool needs care - wifi is working only in the lobby - no bread for breakfast Very friendly place.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great stay here! The location is perfect for visiting Manuel Antonio! The pool is actually big and deep:)) The staff were awesome helping us in any way possible! If your wondering about Staying Somewhere in the area than stay here


86%

Private room has windows directly to the public area with curtains that now open frequently.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing hostel! The best hostel I've stayed at in Costa Rica!! Really nice dorms, that aren't cramped and with comfortable beds. There is also a really nice hang out area, with couches, tables and hammocks, where you also eat the breakfast that is included in the price! Excellent value for money!


100%

best hostel in manuel antonio. staff is nice, location in jungle, sunset view of the ocean, great rooms..!


94%

Hostel Plinio was amazing. Went with a few friends, some stayed in private room, some in dorms, and both were great! Plus there is a pool, which they don't seem to mind if you skinny dip in, we took advantage. Overall, very friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere, easy walk to quepos and bus ride to Manuel Antonio. It was like you were staying in a big tree house! Plus, breakfast included...can't beat it. Highly recommend.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Because the Hostal shares the pool with the adjoined dive shop, the dive shop is responsible for taking care of the pool. The pool area needs to be pressure cleaned. Black mold is growing in & under shower area and is slippery.The waiting pool is contaminated and is not cleaned or used. The waterLine above the pool has scum and has not been cleaned for some time. 2 Hrs divers in full gear practice daily utilizingthe whole pool preventing the hostal guests from swimming.Much damage from tanks.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Breakfast service was great. The room itself was not so great but it was decent.The decor is old style. No AC only a small fan so the room got really hot. You can't open a window, there's only a small square in the window that lets air in. I paid for a private room but got suck with a cramped private room with 3 beds. I was not happy with that. The shower water did not get hot either. Did not like the cold shower. However, the service we got there made up for it. The staff was really nice.


89%

we were lucky to have the dorm to ourselves! Very nice staff, and sweet wooden house built on a mountainside with lots of hammocks and chillout space! great breakfast, and nice pool! thanks!

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We found this Hostel on a whim passing through town me and my husband both in our 40's have never stayed at a Hostel and did not even know it was one, it just looked like an amazing tree house hotel, it actually was an amazing tree house, the facility was spotless the host's were knowledgeable about the area and super sweet, breakfast was included and was really good! The vibe of this place is magical we stayed 2 nights then came back on our way out of town for 2 more nights

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved this hostel! Corey and his staff were amazing. The only down side is that they don't have food or drink onsite so you have to into town (10 min either way quepas/Manuel Antonio). Other than that everything was great! So clean too! I think Corey should bring back the restaurant, they would make a killing. We would stay here again ether way :)

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a great time at Hostel Plinio! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is really laid-back and there are lots of comfortable places to hang out and meet people, including a great pool. It isn't located directly near anything, but the bus is very inexpensive and convenient. I would definitely stay here again!


91%

I have not stayed in a dormitory before and the experience was good. It is a great place that I will recommend to others via facebook and travelocity. Daniel and Rebecca were very helpful and shared information gracefully. The beds were really comfortable. It was great to realize that they also had private rooms as well. The breakfast was excellent and the coffee divine!! Will definitely return.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I did not enjoy the beans and rice every morning. This hostel should serve pancakes and fruit like other hostels. After eating the local food over a period of time rice and beans I was tired of. This hostel would do better if they switched to pancakes and fruit. This hostel is not close to other places nearby to eat out. They were good to help you with carry in delivery's of food from nearby restaurant's.


89%

Very nice hostel. The dorm is georgous! Also loved the private swings on the roof. The whole premise is clean and beautiful. It is just a bit tough to get around because you have to use the cheap bus to do so. But I would choose this hostel nevertheless again.


91%

*The staff was really great!!!! They were Super helpful and spoke great English. *This hostel is a little far from the beach but it is really close to a bus stop, which is easy to use. *The room was a little hot because there was no AC, but there were fans.


94%

The staff is amazing. Theyre extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Always willing to help. There's two sweet kitties that can be found sunbathing and chasing geckos. The pool is a plus.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice and helpfull staff, akways ready helping us to be orientated. Moreover, that's a good place to meet other people, go there!

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Manuel Antonio Hostels

Please give us your feedback