Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Pousada Pais Tropical Reviews

Largo do Pelourinho 7, Salvador, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained


176 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Honestly I am not a big fan of staying in hostels during my travel, but this hostel is different. It's quiet, comfortable and you can feel like at home here. The staff is helpful and Anna (the owner) is a great source of information about the surroundings. What's more, there is a very nice breakfast served every morning! I think it's the best choice if you want to stay in the historical part of the city. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.


The hostel is not clean. Very hot to sleep there. The staff don't want to help, even in an order of a taxi. One of the beds collapsed on us during the night. The only thing good is the location. Don't spend a night over there


Friendly staff. But very little English spoken unlike other hostels I stayed in throughout Brazil


Good staff! Very helpful!


I felt good in this place, staff was nice and helpful; and I made good friends in my staying there!


Vert happy relaxed atmosphere. I loved Gringo, their cat . The tortoise as well.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

We paid 50 reais per night each and I think it could be a bit cleaner; there was rubbish under our beds... The sheets looked clean. Breakfast was really good and the staff was helpful. It is located in a neighborhood that is a bit dangerous when sunlight is gone. For 30 reais more (80 per night) we moved to a 4 star hotel (Sol Victoria Marina). So if you have budget to spend a bit more, there are better places to stay. If your budget is limited, this hostel is quite ok.


The private room was ok. Only problem is the annoying neon bulb as only source of light in the room and the windowless bathroom with poor plumbing and no ventilation.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The hostel has an excellent location but lacked atmosphere. The room itself was disappointing: the private room was cramped, the plugs and tv did not work and the window pane was missing as well.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
have chosen the cheapest private room which cost less than 2 beds in the collecting 4 bedded room package. price speaks for itself, the room is small and very simple. we have larger rooms with different price and different-standard. Atmosphere created not only by the employees themselves but also the people who stey in the hostel. being one night in a day in which all leave after the game it is difficult to talk about the atmosphere of the hostel.


Location excellent, right in the centre of the Pelourinho area. Rooms fairly clean and breakfast was good. However, they did request credit card details to be sent over email in order to confirm our reservation - they should know that this is not secure, and offer a Paypal option instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment promise to catch up with technology to carnaval and introduce the possibility Paypal


The shower and toilet in our 'en-suite' didnt work, and when I told the reception staff, she laughed. She was far more interested in her young child who was constantly there than the need of the guests. The beds were poor, the air con didnt work, and it was right on a main square which meant it was really really loud all day and night. rubbish hostel


English speaking staff were almost non-existent at the hostel. The top bunk of our bed was also broken and had to be slept on the floor. My guess is had trouble dealing with the surplus world cup traffic.


We were not given a room key or a locker with a lock on it but others were. Only the owner spoke English so we had to wait until she was around to ask any questions. The hostel was in a good location, right in the middle of everything but this was also a problem as there was a party going on in the streets every night until 3 am

Owner Comment (Hide)
part of the locker in the room is closed on the padlock to other keys are issued. Colletives room have window on one of the main squares in the pelourinhu which is visible in the pictures and in the description of the hostel, which is why during carnavau and other festivals you can not count on quiet nights


The staff were excellent So helpful and always smiling The language barrier is usually fixed with google, so be prepared. Pelorinho is quite a shady area at night but the hostel is secure and staff offer helpful advice

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this comment


Bathrooms and dorm rooms could've used a little bit of work, loose tiles, working doors etc.


During World Cup so very busy but staff were friendly.. Breakfast was good but rooms were very hot even with fan and a lot of noise seems to carry through the hostel early in the morning with doors shutting loudly.


Would need some refresh! Too bad that access to the kitchen is only for breakfast. Difficult to meet people.


Perfect location, nice staff, but the double room in the pictures are not real. They don't have windows facing outside, but only small ones facing the stairs, and they are really small. On the contrary the dormitory have really nice view on all Pelourinho, the historical center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we have 4 double rooms with the lowest-standard and photos posted on the site will certainly depict any of these Accomodation. Please carefully read the descriptions of rooms because it is clearly marked where the rooms do not have windows


The internet is not working in rooms, the cleanliness is not the best but the oberall is pretty find

Owner Comment (Hide)
as is described in the Internet is available in the hostel living room and some rooms. Trying, however, to expand our network website to make it available in all rooms


We got a twinroom that was small, dark and only having ventillation to small interior courtyard. I wouldn't really mind but there was an unbearable smell in our private bathroom, don't know why and that made our room stinky too..We had no toilet paper, had to ask for it. No soap either. The breakfast quite poor. Otherwise very central location and nice reception area with library.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)

View all Salvador Hostels

Please give us your feedback