Hostelworld.com

Hostel Quetzal

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostel Quetzal Located at Orquideas N 10, , Cancun.
Hostel Quetzal
Mexico
Cancun Quintana Roo 77500 Orquideas N� 10
82% 1641
21.1599303 -86.8281912
Hostel Quetzal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, the included dinner is good to get everyone together and chatting before heading to a club, although wouldn't call it a party hostel, mainly a pre-drink hostel. Would be good for solo travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.6

Had a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good time. The staff did a fantastic job of getting everyone together and involved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Hostel Quetzal is a great place to stay if you are heading to Cancun but want a more authentic Mexican experience than the super Americanized "hotel zone" offers. The neighborhood can look a little sketchy at first glance, but I am a 30 year old gay man who has stayed there twice now, and I can promise you I never felt uncomfortable or unsafe for so much as a second. It is conveniently located next to a festive outdoor market, a grocery store, and restaurants/bars. Love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.9

Awesome hostel - staff are really fun and friendly. Great social atmosphere and managed to make some friends to party with and go sightseeing with. The hostel offers tours to key cultural places for a decent price and also nights out to the big clubs in cancún! I'm definitely coming back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
9.1

Excellent atmosphere, good to know new people, truly recommendable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
7.1

Bit of a dive but if your only staying there for 2 nights like we did then it's perfect. Really friendly and easy to meet people. Run activities most nights and we enjoyed a family hostel dinner which was nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.1

Very welcoming and fun place to stay! The staff are super friendly and create a very inclusive and fun atmosphere. It is continually cleaned throughout the day, not just once, and the meals provided are great. It is a party hostel, so if you are likely to be offended that you need to ask the staff to let you outside because they are naked in the pool instead of at the reception desk , it is not for you. If you like flamingo beer bongs, then it will be your scene. Very secure and great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
7.7

This was a great one-night stay on my way through Cancun. Very minimal in terms of amenities, but the staff was friendly and made a real effort to get us to know each other and party together. They encouraged us to go out to CocoBongo together and offered to help with anything we needed. Lower ratings are just because of the obvious discomforts and minimalism of a hostel. Otherwise it was awesome to be fed breakfast and dinner!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
8.9

This was 1 of 3 hostels we stayed at in this area of Cancún. Trust me, if this place has beds available stay here! It is a party hostel, but if that's not your scene don't worry, the bedrooms are quite, they have lockers and the bathrooms are almost always clean and stocked...for this price you're probably not going to find something better in the area. Also, there's a pool and a bar...just sayin. Plus, there's a park with a bunch of food stands at night less than a minute away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
5.4

Common areas weren't very comfortable and the couches were disgusting. My locker was broken. Looks nicer in pictures than it actually is. I wouldn't recommend staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.