Hostelworld.com

Hostel Quetzal

  • CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22. , CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico
Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1918 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1918 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • visualpilot2210
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Great staff, good breakfast and Dinner. High scores for Ricardo & Israel. Not being able to bring your beer of choice into this hostel was a big minus score for me They are just trying to make a few pesos selling beer, why not sell beer with quality.? Too much party for me but I got over it. Good quality for the money. The staff is great! All of them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay here. Ricardo, the hostel manager, is the man! Space is a little tight, and the bedding is a little rough, but definitely manageable. You might have to take a bus to get to some of the more beach type areas of Cancun, but this should be pretty easy to do. The best part about this hostel is how close it is to the ADO bus terminal which can take you to Tulum, Merida, etc. for an affordable price. Its a party hostel, so expect loud music to go on till late.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.7

The room I booked was amazing, I loved staying there, the staff was super nice. Everything was clean and I had a very great time there. I strongly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sallyancher
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

I only stayed one night in Cancun, and I had the best time at hostel Quetzal! Very open and social vibe, both breakfast and dinner is included, so you get to know people fast, even if you only stay one night - I can definately recommend, will go back if I need a night out in Cancun again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
6.9

The staff seemed to be disorganized. They assigned me a bed already assigned and used by someone else, so I had to assume that I took over a already used bed with used sheets from previous occupant. Bedsheets were polyester and not cotton.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
7.1

1) No water pressure in our room - we had the top floor. The shower was a trickle, and the toilet didn't always flush all the way. But the water did get hot, which was nice. 2) Not good with money - they seem to have lost my payment. Make sure to get a receipt for everything. 3) Not good with booking. Make sure you see their computer screen with your name on your room. Don't just go on a verbal confirmation. 4) They do have a bar and a pool - bar does not open until 7pm-ish

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
6.9

Wouldn't recommend to stay here unless you want to party ALL night. Bad breakfast, cockroaches and drunk people smoking in the dorms. Staff was nice, but would never return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Had a lovely stay at Quetzal. Definitely a party hostel with music going most of the night and early in the morning but if you are looking for a fun and social atmosphere this is definitely the place for you! Staff are very welcoming,friendly and helpful. Close enough to the Ado station to take a bus from the airport and walk or cab($4us) from the station in Cancun city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
6.0

Would not reccomend this hostel! One of the male reception workers there "slept" in the dorm room with a girl who was staying at the hostel..very uncomfortable situation and HIGHLY unprofessional on his behalf!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
2.0

Horrid. This place needs to be shut down. Drunk manager groping women who are protesting against his advances, while the other manager just watched. Disgusting treatment of women. The first place I've legitimately felt unsafe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.