X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Quetzal Reviews

Orquideas N� 10, Cancun, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1132 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Just one low point, wifi

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Apologies for the unreliable wfif at the time we have sinced switched providers and fixed the problem!

37%

Your in the click with the drunk staff or not. To owner Simon is so arrogant it's not even worth trying to talk him and paddy the Irish bar man was not much better. The only saving grace was I did meet some awesome people, the half of us that weren't in Simons drinking game click. Unless you want rude drunk staff childish drinking games and sleepless nights don't stay here. I moved after the drunk Irish bar man pored iced water on one lad on the top bunk regardless that a girl was asleep under.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
BRYANS back from Tomorrowland. Simon is not the owner and sounds like you didn't get laid.

89%

I would deffinalty stay here again. It was so much fun and the food included within the price is delicious! They also change the bedding and clean rooms everyday and offer nights out eveynight.


91%

The rooms and other facilities are really nice and the location of the hostel is good (only 5min to the ADO bus station and 3 blocks to banks and groceries and bus to the bus/clubs). staff is nice and helpful. Dinner at night is an optional plus to other hostels.


94%

Everyone that works there is amazingly fun and friendly. This was probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in so far, as everyone really came together like a little family. The facilities are clean and well kept, and you can't beat free dinner and brekky.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a really good time, lovely double ensuite room and the breakfast and evening meal really helped living with a tight budget. Very social


74%

Bathroom was a joke Shower was in extremely poor condition Beds were fine Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful Food was average Atmosphere was very social and upbeat

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. A hot cooked breakfast with eggs and fresh fruit and a cooked dinner served to you at the dinner table included in the price is amazing value if you ask me. I am yet to find another hostel that offers this. I am glad you enjoyed that atmosphere and that our staff were helpful to you. Thank you your feedback about the showers we will address this. We hope to see you again!

94%

The best hostel you could ever stay!! The best people you can meet!!

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

best hostel i have ever been! :) and if been to loads of them in europe, asia, usa and central america! you become part of a big family, as soon as you walk in. only for people who like to drink and party though! i will definitely come back!

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was very nice, just as expected, except for the cleanliness in the bathrooms (but that's probably a concern of the other guests too. Maybe it should be a rule for guests to keep them clean). The other thing that bothered me a little, was the fact that the shower had so little water coming out of the head. It was like a tiny spray that made a regular shower take ages, and it couldn't flush away all the sand inside the shower floor left by other guests. So there was sand everywhere.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed the bathrooms were not up to standard during your stay. Now that this has been brought to our attention we can address this. We hope you will come and stay again.

89%

Family Vibe. Certainly a party hostel, but everyone is very welcoming and friendly and what with dinner and breakfast you get to know tons of people and have a wonderful time!

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Quetzal is amazing!! Stay here. The included meals are awesome and dinner comes with a shot (mandatory). The location is out of the hotel zone, downtown but not an issue, right near the ado or the local bus is 8.5 pesos. Every night they'll organise nights out including transport to the clubs. The staff are really accommodating and will go out with you - all great! The rooms get hot (especially the dorm) but its cancun, go to the beach. Loved my stay here, couldn't recommend it more highly.


83%

You have to take a bus to get to the hotel zone, but it's across the street from a park and a bunch of food stalls. The staff was nice, but at times incredibly wasted. The included meals were fantastic, as were the free tequila shots.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our apologies for the staff being wasted only at times. Our party crew is required to be wasted 24/7. This will be addressed at our next meeting.

89%

Really great staff. Close to the bars and restaurants downtown which is good if you want to stay away from the hotel zone. They organize some kind of partying every night if you do want to go into the hotel zone. A really good time! Very social. Everyone ate dinner together and hung out during the day. Also- free tequila shots with dinner!

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel Quetzal had a great atmosphere, and the dinner that was provided every night was excellent. The hostel was, however, a little off the beaten track from the beach and clubs in Cancun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Our location is right in the heart of downtown Cancun here you can experience the real culture of Mexico with local food, crafts, markets and street art with everything at real Mexican prices. It is just a short 10 minutes bus to the clubs and beaches.

94%

One of the funniest hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff do an amazing job of keeping everything running smoothly yet also relaxing and partying with the guests and making sure everyone is included. The meals are also awesome! Special thanks to Brian, Amy, Madge and Paddy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you guys we enjoyed having you :)

80%

Great staff. Good location. Organize fun events. Highly recommend. Free breakfast and dinner are also a good bonus

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

94%

Had a great stay at Quetzal! The staff were all really friendly, and I thought the meals were great! Loved the girls room (Even though there were actually boys staying in it too). Nice, tidy hostel and great outdoor areas-grass courtyard out the back plus rooftop balcony. The 'hammock garden' could be improved-it didn't look very inviting!


51%

There is no hot water unless staff explicated us "we have hot water!". Airconditionar didn't work. There was garbege in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are signs in every room explaining the hot water boiler flame may blow out from windy conditions. Staff saying ¨we have hot water¨would indicate someone actually read this and advised reception and the flame was re-ignighted. Air-con setting was explained to you after you advised us and worked fine when it was set to 'COOL'. As it was a private room any garbage left in the room would be the room guests and are cleaned out daily by 1 of our cleaning staff.

100%

Most amazing hostel I've ever stayed at! Treated like a star, DINNER & BREAKFAST included and free Tequila shots!. Housekeeping every day even in the dorm! Staff are so much fun and know all the best clubs and take you there to make sure you get VIP service. Booked for three nights and ended up changing flights to stay longer! Location is right in the action of Cancun but only 10 minutes to the beach! Cant speak highly enough of this hostel! Thanks for a fantastic stay guys!

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(874 results)


View all Cancun Hostels

Please give us your feedback