Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Rio Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • banedj0116882
  • Serbia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
5.7

First of all - I booked 4 bed dorm and they put me in a 6 bed dorm without explanation. Then I had to use the socket near other guys bed and it did not work (no power) so I asked the receptionist and he said that I can charge my phone there in the hallway (that is not the point - me standing next to my phone on vacation waiting for the recharge). Wi Fi not working in the dorm. It was a mixed dorm with a toilet and a shower inside the room but the door of the toilet could not be locked....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th May 2017
9.7

Best location right next to 5th Ave. Nightlife right on your doorstep. Friendly staff and meet plenty of cool people staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
2.9

We checked in, looked at how disgusting the room was and immediately checked out and found another place. The sheets on the beds were dirty, the airconditioning leaked and the windows and doors wouldn't lock.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
6.0

Music is very loud, there's a bar right beside the hostel and one right under... which play the same 6-7 song back to back till 6 a.m.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Had such an awesome time here! Location is perfect, staff are super friendly and helpful always something going on upstairs at the roof top bar, staff will take you out to all the good spots! It's not a new hostel but it is kept clean, it's a bed to sleep on for a few hours so don't complain! Sergio is so awesome and makes the best drinks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Great place! I loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
7.1

Playa del carmen is great place to go out and explore. Much better than Cancun but the beaches are not as good. Staff was informative but not friendly. Bedding sucked. Poor mattresses, flat pillows and extra thin sheets. Also smelled poorly. Pool is tiny, but at least there is one. Its not BYOB. There is like 4 bathrooms in the entire place. Water pressure is moderate. The kitchen is ok. We had a massive BBQ and were able to cook, clean, and eat comfortably.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.9

I had so much fun here, there's a really good atmosphere and free drinks for girls is a big plus and the bar man is amazing and so much fun! I wouldn't stay here if you don't want to do alot of partying because the hostel itself doesn't have great amenities and the breakfast was quite grim. And drunk people are coming in and out of your room all the time. Also bring lots of mosquito repellent, I got eaten alive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
9.7

An amazing place with good vibe, very warm and friendly staff and very convenient location. Sometimes it can get a little noise in the night but nothing that a pair of ear plug can't fix. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.7

The hostel has a good vibe and wonderfull staff. Very close to the beach and major restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.