Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Rio Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostel Rio Playa Located at Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10, , Playa del Carmen.
Hostel Rio Playa
Mexico
Playa del Carmen 77710 Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10
84% 1288
20.6260769 -87.0734095
Hostel Rio Playa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed here several times now. Great staff, perfect location, cool rooftop bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
3.1

I booked 5 nights here but only ended up staying 1 because it was so bad. It felt very unsafe and unsecure. It was dirty. The room was stifling hot and there was music playing from the bar next door full blast until 6am. I have stayed in a lot of hostels and this was the worst.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
4.3

Place looked great in photos abs had good reviews but when I arrived I was very disappointed. No atmosphere what so ever, directly above a terrible karaoke bar, the place didn't look anything like the pictures. Defiantly well over due for a renovation. I wouldn't recommend staying here, there are much better places that aren't as expensive as here..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • shrbek
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Hostel Rio Playa was a great place to stay. The rooftop area is great for socializing. Unfortunately we were there on the night before election day and they were unable to sell alcohol at the bar. It's in a great location, a block away from the main strip and 2 blocks away from the beach. The staff was very helpful as well!! Would highly recommend if staying in Playa del Carmen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
6.9

Hostel was in the best location! Close to beach/restaurants/bus station. Cute little soaking pool on the roof. Throughly enjoyed it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
6.0

Probably OK if you're 18-20 years old and you just want to go to Mexico to drink cheap beers and party. Not really what I was expecting of a beachside town in Mexico. The Hostel is above a nightclub that is open until 5am. Not ideal when you want to sleep. The air-conditioner broke whilst I was there making it unbearable to sleep. The atmosphere of the whole town made me feel unsafe about leaving anything valuable in the room. Wouldn't recommend the hostel, will never go back to Playa Del Carmen

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Super helpful staff and lots of other travelers. Prime location. Rooms and facilities were clean. Free drinks for ladies from 10-11 at rooftop pool/bar. And free breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Wonderful place, very convenient location and the staff is WONDERFUL! Can't wait to be back!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Very good hostel, we very enjoyed from the bar and the room was always clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
2.3

This is by far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The pool is not operational. It is above 2 kereoke bars that play till 6am. I stayed Saturday - Tuesday and it was insanely loud every night. When I complained to owners they simply laughed at me. For a single traveler there is absolutely zero atmosphere and the pictures of the roof from the website are very far off the furniture isrusted and delapitated. The breakfast was terrible It was a nightmare experience. I wish I could rate lower

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.