Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Rio Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
2.9

We checked in, looked at how disgusting the room was and immediately checked out and found another place. The sheets on the beds were dirty, the airconditioning leaked and the windows and doors wouldn't lock.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Great place! I loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
7.1

Playa del carmen is great place to go out and explore. Much better than Cancun but the beaches are not as good. Staff was informative but not friendly. Bedding sucked. Poor mattresses, flat pillows and extra thin sheets. Also smelled poorly. Pool is tiny, but at least there is one. Its not BYOB. There is like 4 bathrooms in the entire place. Water pressure is moderate. The kitchen is ok. We had a massive BBQ and were able to cook, clean, and eat comfortably.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.9

I had so much fun here, there's a really good atmosphere and free drinks for girls is a big plus and the bar man is amazing and so much fun! I wouldn't stay here if you don't want to do alot of partying because the hostel itself doesn't have great amenities and the breakfast was quite grim. And drunk people are coming in and out of your room all the time. Also bring lots of mosquito repellent, I got eaten alive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
9.7

An amazing place with good vibe, very warm and friendly staff and very convenient location. Sometimes it can get a little noise in the night but nothing that a pair of ear plug can't fix. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.7

The hostel has a good vibe and wonderfull staff. Very close to the beach and major restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
9.4

located close to things. Very nice staff. good breakfast. Would recommend. They organize tours too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
5.4

Hostel has seen better days, old furniture, run down, etc. There was only a single bathroom between 4 rooms (2 private/two 6 bed dorm). You can push door open even if it's locked. Hostel is near clubs, and one right next door blasted its music until 4:30 AM. I'm sure after clubbing all night, you'd want to sleep when you go to bed. Our private double had 1/2 of an A/C, and staff had to go to room next to us to turn on/off. There's outdoor atmosphere, during day time no cover if you're sunburnt.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice and close to all the action, literally half a block away from 5th Ave! As other reviews have noted, if you end up in the dorms downstairs under the pool deck, it'll be much louder due to the restaurant/nightclub underneath blasting music until 6am. Earplugs might be a necessity. Dorms and washrooms were a little run down but nothing too bad. No real common areas for lounging around apart from the main outdoor pool deck.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
6.3

TERRRRRRIBLE. Staff was pleasant but did the absolute minimum needed. I had to go back to the front multiple times to ask for information that is typically given when you check in. What is worse then the staff is the fact that there is an Argentinian nightclub on the main floor of the building (hostel is floor 2 and 3), so don't expect to have a quiet sleep until at least 6:30am!!! Hostel is awkwardly stuck in the middle of being not fun enough to be a party hostel, and too loud to not be.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.