X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Rio Playa Reviews

Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
879 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great vibe at this hostel. - you pay a little extra than the hostels further back from the beach, but in return ladies have free drinks for an hour every night, the breakfast is amazing and goes for two hours and there is a roof top bar and wading pool with great views! Definitely enjoyed my stay and will be back!


100%

One of the best hostel I've stayed at. The staff is amazing, the location is great and it's very clean. The pool is shallow but still very nice. The atmosphere is great and the fact that it's ladies hour EVERYDAY between 10-11 pm is just a big plus. When in playa, stay here!


94%

Stayed at Hostel Rio for 3 nights in April 14. The staff were great. Breakfast was included and was fruit, cake, ham and cheese rolls and tea/coffee. this is the perfect hostel to meet other travellers and have a drink with them. Good party hostel with ladies hour for free drinks from 10-11pm. Really close to all the nightclubs and cheap tacos etc. can be noisey if not up at the bar with the other guests. Comfy beds, good sized lockers and good showers. Definitely would return !!

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This is definitely a party hostel, which I should have read the reviews more carefully before staying here. I don't know if that's the case for all hostels in Playa Del Carmen, could be! The hostel is adjacent to two clubs and the music gets pretty loud at night. I stayed in the girls dorm on the main floor, and the noise wasn't too bad at night. Other than that, I have no major complaints - the staff was very friendly and helpful, the place is in decent shape, and the bar upstairs is good.


100%

perfect. awesome place to drink and meet people. in the center of it all. would stay again.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely brilliant hostel - such helpful and friend staff, very clean, brilliant atmosphere. Was sad to leave!


86%

Awesome place, great staff. Very helpful and very honest. Security is permanent which is great. The only downside is the linen supplied is very old. Sleeping bag liner recommended. Awesome stay


94%

Really good hostel. Perfect bar with pool! Highly recommended!


100%

Amazing place with such a friendly atmosphere. Employees are great and really helpful. If you want to party in playa, THIS IS THE PLACE!

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel has lovely staff. The place is very nice. There is a swimming pool and a bar with generally good atmosphere. The only drawback is that the music from opposite goes on til about 1.30 am. Also, maybe anther fridge would be good for the food s STUFFED IN the fridges, and it is almost impossible to find your bags and food, which sounds petty maybe, but is frustrating when you are craving the food you have bought but cannot find it. In general, it is a very nice and likable hostal


94%

This hostel is sooooo good!!! Traveling solo on my way back to Oz after 2 years in Canada so I could have easily felt a little alone between my 2 worlds but there was no chance of that. Staff are amazing

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyed our stay there. Nice facilities close to all the bars/restaurants. Rooftop bar was great with HANDS DOWN the coldest beer in town. Marcelo is the best!

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good location... nice place... good place to meeting people and drink a beer in the pool


94%

It's a cool place to stay. Excellent location in terms of distance to beach the fifth avenue. But it was really loud at night since it's built upon a local bar which never ended its music until 5am. Everything else was wonderful! If you go out at night then it's a great choice


100%

The best place ever in Playa!!! Perfect location, perfect people ! I was staying there for 10 days because of this hostel!!! The breakfast is really good, the vibe the staff ! The rooms are clean all the time! The best place to stay there in Playa del carmen

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Happy hour girls drink free! Where else does that? Awesome staff great location. small enough to meet everyone and big enough that there are enough people for a good party!

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay if ya wanna party! If ya want a quite night the staff are awesome n just ask for a room in the back if the hostel upstairs. Only place to stay in playa.


100%

This place is GREAT! I had such a fantastic time I kept renewing my room for several days and then ended up back here on my way north towards the airport. The atmosphere is fantastic and the friends I made here surely made my trip the amazing time that it was :)

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel Rio made my stay in playa del Carmen even more amazing. Such a great vibe to this place and the staff are awesome! Linen included for beds, and washing can be done at a very small cost. Breaky provided and an awesome rooftop bar to spend the nights mingling with others. Good wifi connection. Myself and my two girlfriends will most definitely recommend this place to everyone, and we will be coming back!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great time there! will come back


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback