Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Rio Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Hostel Rio Playa Located at Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10, , Playa del Carmen.
Hostel Rio Playa
Mexico
Playa del Carmen 77710 Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10
85% 1331
20.6260769 -87.0734095
Hostel Rio Playa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
8.3

Noisiest hostel ever. If it's not from the bar next door it will be from construction. Only quiet time is between 3am and 5am. Great party atmosphere though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
8.6

We only stayed for 2 nights, but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly , and let us stay for a shower even after we checked out. It was a little loud at night, but other than that we had a good time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ShannonReeve98
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel we've stayed in so far, the staff is absolutely wonderful. You can go out every night and enjoy that with some of the staff, or you can relax in your room and not get blown away by loud music. Would absolutely recommend, nothing bad about this place at all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • justintotravel
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.7

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed in. The staff was awesome and very helpful. If you like going out at night they will take you to all the clubs and get you in without having to pay a cover as well. Location is perfect. Right down the road is the beach and 5th Ave is just a few steps away. Place was cleaned daily and they have giant lockers for all your stuff. Highly recommended staying here to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
6.0

Booked a room with ac but it was split between two rooms. Our room was super hot and the other room was super cold. We were offered another room which smelled like urine. Pool is only knee deep and once the bar is open you can only buy drinks provided, prices are similar to that on 5th.End up moving to a hotel for $5 more! Staff were helpful. There was absolutely no vibe, was still low season, although we heard that other hostels were fantastic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
6.3

Good value for the money, but if I could turn back the hands of time, I would choose another hostel. House music plays extremely loud next door (you can feel your bed vibrating) from the evening until 6am in the morning. Drinks are watered down, just like all of the resorts in the area. My bedroom was in the kitchen area and so was the bathroom. Kinda awkward waking up to use the bath or brush teeth with people eating breakfast just outside the door. Staff are nice, but English poor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
8.3

Party hostel! The staff are really friendly and regularly drink at the rooftop patio bar at night. If you wait until they close, they often go clubbing and can take you around without paying cover. Awesome! There is a karaoke bar downstairs and you're close to all the bars, so don't come here if you're looking for quiet chill times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.7

I stayed here two years ago and again in 2016. Great hostel work awesome staff. Particularly Adriana. Its close to all the clubs in playa so walking out is not an issue. Little pool on the roof beside their bar. So good. Night guy was not overly friendly but only one minor negative of this awesome hostel. Stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Sep 2016
6.9

Decent hostel in a good central position near the ADO Bus station! Staff take to you to an awesome bar/club with free entry!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.9

nice stay, cool staff, nice location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.