X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Rio Playa Reviews

Calle 8 Entre 5 y ave 10, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
969 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Awesome hostel if you want to meet other cool cats! The roof top bar is so good! Location is also great. Just off 5th ave. loads of cheap places to eat behind it. Had a blast thanks guys :) Kat


86%

Good location, clean rooms, great place to meet people. Good hostel, I recommend this place!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was in Mexico for a month and this was the best hostel I stayed in by a margin. Staff are excellent, very friendly and willing to socialise. Atmosphere at night is great as there is a pool area with a bar. Girls drink free every night for an hour and free tequila shots happen most of the night. If you're coming to playa to party you must stay here. Facilities and location are both good too.


100%

Best hostel in playa by far! Met the greatest people all round good vibe , it was my favourite place in Mexico not just for the people that worked how friendly

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

great helpful staff, happy people around, amazing happy hour for girls at the pool. one minus - poor air conditioning and it was really really hot!


91%

Nice place if you enjoy the nightlife and socializing. I met some amazing people at my stay, and can definitely say It was a great first stop to a long journey. Finding the place was a little difficult because of the small entrance but really easy if you use Burger King as a reference point on the 5th avenue. The Bar down stairs is usually very loud, but this is the "party hostel" so be ready for lots of loud music and people coming home very late at night. Great staff and a fun time overall.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Don't stay here if you actually want to sleep, if you want to party all night then it's fine. Try to avoid the 14 bed dorm, with only 1 air con unit for the whole room it was way too hot. We didn't get issued with a key for the dorm or hostel, so definitely make use of the lockers, I got the feeling anyone could wonder in off the street.


100%

The best hostel in Playa del Carmen!! Lively ambiance at the rooftop terrace/bar, very friendly and helpful staff, family atmosphere, close to the beach and everything, awesome experience! I ended up staying over a week, very convenient base also for doing day-trips to Tulum, Cozumel island, Cenotes etc.. Absolutely recommended if you're going to Playa!!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Bed was a little firm, and AC broke our first night there. Managing the kitchen during breakfast seemed a little...busy and requires some assertiveness. Pool area was a nice place to hang out, although they would party hard one night and next night closed surprisingly early. Staff was friendly and hospitable.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly, fun and very social.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel had a ball, booked for 3 nights ended up staying 6 and could have stayed more, thank you


86%

Met so many people around the world was awesome and great to party !

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were great - very welcoming and always helpful. Thanks for having me!


100%

This hostel was, with no doubt, the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It is really close to the fifth avenue and to the 12th street where the party is, that's all you need in Playa!! You also need the beach, do not worry about it, it's one block and a half away from the hostel. Andrea is the best part of the team!! Breakfast is also really good and the bar: excellent! They give you free tequila sometimes!! --Daniel

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The room was nearly ok, it has AC, but the bed and the sheets are not ok. If you are going just to party its excelent, because its above two bars that wont let you sleep at night but if you are arriving at the time they are closing you wont notice. If you're going with your love one on a weekend getaway not the place to stay.


74%

Great location and very friendly staff! Always felt safe and had a clean bed to sleep on. Facilities were not working when we stayed so had to go to restaurants to use them. A little over priced for what you get but it was still good!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a very good experience at Rio Playa. The staff was very nice and helpful. Special thanks to Andrea and Ana. I was in the 14 beds dorm, which was very spacious and had its own shower. You can have a good break from 8.30am to 10.30am for free. There is a bar and a shallow pool on the top, which make's it easier to meet new people. Drinks are reasonably priced. The location is great: get out of Rio, watch on you right side and you see the sea, walk 2min and you are on Avenida Quita.


86%

This place made me really really happy ; ) People and the atmosphere were sensational and met some really good friends.


97%

Such lovely hosts. We had a birthday party on the roof, so fun! I got to meet lots of interesting people just from staying at the hostel. It was very inviting and the staff helped me with any questions I had. Good shower pressure! Such great location, the beach is two blocks away!! Overall on my list of top two favorite hostels I've ever stayed at.


89%

The rooftop and it's location speaks for itself! The best area of Playa, clean and a real party hostel. Only down comments are that they advertise for air conditioning but you have no control of it. Staff turns it on late night and shuts off in the middle of the night. The 6-bed room had 3 lockers only and those were unavailable. Overall I would recommend. Great experience!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(52 results)


View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback