Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 7879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 7879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2017
6.3

This hostel has a great vibe and some of the staff are super friendly. The common area is good and all areas are clean. Unfortunately though some of the rooms (I stayed in two due to a mistake by the hostel) are very small. The bunks were literally pressed against each other, meaning that my feet were touching my neighbour's during the night and neither of us was especially tall. Also, there was a very wide age range staying there when I stayed, with a bit of an older crowd than most hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
10.0

The staff was really helpful giving advice on where to go and what to see. They were very friendly and made sure we knew about all the amenities to take advantage of. The hostel was walking distance to the old town and city center. The hostel offered a great breakfast for a cheap price, had a bar with happy hour, and inside/outside sitting area to relax. We stayed in a private room which was quiet and clean and had its own bathroom. I would definitely recommend this place and would go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow. Thank you so much for your awesome review. That really made our day and is such a big reward for all the love and passion we put into our hostel. We are so happy, that you had a fantastic stay with us. We hope to see you again some other day :) Sunny greetings from your Ruthi-Team

13th Aug 2017
10.0

One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at! Lovely warm welcome, place was buzzing but rooms were silent! Great kitchen with garden attached. Great communication from the staff prior to the visit and they now have a very useful (android only) app with information,maps and public transport planning feature. Comfiest beds ever....nice bedding too! All felt very well thought out and managed...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely review and the perfect 10 :) You mentioned already basically all the things, that we also love so much about our hostel and we are very proud, that you already used our brand-new app. It will soon also launch on IOS :) All the best and safe travels from your Ruthi-Team

  • ollie_mchugh5478
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
9.7

Best hostel I've stayed at in a while. The facilities are amazing. Outdoor area is great, as it gives an opportunity to meet other travelers, as well as relaxing in the day. The location is good, and Vienna is amazing. Overall, the atomosphere is great, the staff were amazing, and I felt really at home. Would definitely stay again. Until next time guys...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We love the word "best" and if you felt like home here, that just makes our day. It should be a home from home :) So come back any time, hang out with us, chill at the bar and enjoy the beauty of Vienna. Until then all the best from your Ruthi-Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2017
10.0

The receptionists were great; the bar was good. Location good as well. Arrive early ish though cause you need to make your own bed which is a nuisance when your on the top bunk at 2am although, I stayed in 2 hostels in Vienna and both made us do that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your perfect rating. We are happy, that you had a great stay with us and we are happy, when you come back to us one day :) All the best from your Ruthi-Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, amazing atmosphere. Couldn't fault the place. Only downside was a bad snorer in our room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely review and the perfect 10 :) Yes, sleeping in a dormitory can be sometimes a bit challenging. Just to let you know for next time: we have earplugs for free at our reception. So just let us know. We are super happy, when you have a peaceful sleep :) All the best from your Ruthi-Team

  • frankflcd76
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Really friendly staff,they are into every little details which make them a really good hostel would definitely recommend!great,facilities and atmosphere too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

There was an extremely good atmosphere at this hostel - everybody was very friendly and laid back. The kitchen and communal areas downstairs also meant it was easy to meet and make friends with other back packers. Great rooms, great facilities, great staff - I could not fault my stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel was phenomenal. The staff were all super friendly it's in a great location just off the main shopping street and a 5 minute walk from the train station. And the atmosphere is amazing, the bar is always packed with friendly people who are all willing to have a conversation with you. The only downside is that they have to close the garden at 10 due to city rules. But other than that I can't think of anything negative to say. I'll definitely be staying here again next time I'm in vienna

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It really made our day :) All the best from Vienna. We are super happy to see you again one day! Your Ruthi-Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
9.1

We stayed for 4 days in August at this lovely hostel in Vienna. I was with my 13 year old son and 11 year old daughter. This was their first time in Vienna and we wanted to visit a few sights and do some shopping. This hostel was very well situated for all of these things and its location is one of the best things about the facility. We were there during a heat wave and it is worth noting that the rooms are not air-conditioned and very, very hot. But, that aside, the facility is terrific.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.