Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 7518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 7518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.4

Great homey and sociable hostel with everything you need + Free lemonade! Rooms are nice and spacious with ensuites. Loved the garden and bar area. My only qualm is it gets very hot and they really should invest in aircon at least in the biggest dorms as you can only open a tiny windows and it felt like a sauna. There was a ceiling fan but that just blew around hit air... Otherwise I would have given it a 10 ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Everything about this place was perfect. If you go to Vienna, you should most definitely stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
9.4

Only a one night stay yet I had a good time! Very friendly hostel with helpful staff and a casual atmosphere. The bar in the evening worked well, especially as it has happy hours. Location is quite good being close to the subway and about being 10 minutes away for one of the main shopping streets. Bike hire was also appreciated. Only slip ups were the sheets weren't changed and beds weren't organised when we went to bed which led to a lot of confusion at 1am leading to a complimentary upgrade.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.9

Great hostel, would have loved to spend more time here. The staff were really friendly and helpful, it was really clean and there were great facilities. The free elderflower lemonade was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.4

Beautiful hostel, really friendly staff and comfortable dorms. Really cosy garden and nice common areas, I especially liked the abundant fridge space to store my supermarket shopping. The only snag is it's a long walk (40 minutes) to the old part of Vienna, which I usually wouldn't mind but the weather was really hot during my stay. But this isn't the hostel's fault at all, I would definitely stay here again! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Great and clean facilities. Everything you would need you can find in the hostel, clean kitchen, a great bar with a happy hour (I recommend the Austrian Pale Ale or the hostel's own brew), bike rentals, and tons of other things. This was one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in, and it's also a great deal - especially considering that it's in Vienna! The staff was also wonderful, Patrick helped us a ton with booking bus tickets and giving us recommendations on what to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
10.0

This is the third hostel I have stayed at in Vienna and it was the best by far. Great atmosphere, location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, good lockers in the room with charging points inside, lovely courtyard to have breakfast or drinks at night. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in! The staff were lovely, really friendly and would do anything to help you out. Got free glass of fresh lemonade when we walked in which was amazing in 33 degree heat. The place is clean, the breakfast was great (although extra cost but not much) and it was really easy to get everywhere from the hostel. Would definitely reccomend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leilamariatoulmin9558
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.9

Absolutely loved the hostel! Lovely place really great atmosphere cute chill out areas and the staff were soo lovely! Recommend it to friends. The area isnt particularly interesting but there's plenty of places to eat very close by and is a nice enough street, but five minute walk to westbanhoff you can get to everything. DIFFICULT to find! GOOGLE MAPS WORKS FOR WALKING so just use that to find it because quando (reccomnded by them) was a nightmare for walking but great for public transport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sophlavy6245
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
9.7

We loved this Hostel!! Such a good atmosphere downstairs in the bar area, cheap drinks (even cheaper in happy hour!), amazingly friendly staff who point out cool places to visit. Clean and comfortable room, not cramped like other hostels we visited. We would definitely come back here next time we're in Vienna!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.