X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna Reviews

Robert Hamerling Gasse 24, 1150 Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
4862 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Easy to find and short distance from the Westbahnhof train station. Many supermarkets, cafes, pubs and sights within walking distance. Great atmosphere everywhere in the hostel. Garden area is lovely and the kitchen facilities were very good. Free internet available on WiFi as well as the computers near reception. The en-suite bathroom was completely satisfactory. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.


91%

What a fun environment here! The only bummer is that you can't use the garden after 10pm because of a city noise ordinance. Otherwise a really great place!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I know, we HATE that noise ordinance! Unfortunately the Viennese really like to get their sleep ;). THANK YOU for this lovely review, and do come see us again sometime!

97%

Loved this hostel!! Everything was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The bar was full every night I was here so very easy to meet other people. Right in the middle of old town and schonbrunn palace (about 20 min walk to each) but close to metro. Will definitely be staying here again :)


74%

Pretty close to the Westbanhof train/metro station but still takes 20 or so minutes to get to city center. I was in the second building across the street, but otherwise I would have spent more time in the common room. It got pretty loud at night because we could hear everything going on in the common room as well as everyone meeting/going out/coming in on the street but we had to keep the window open because it was so hot (no AC or fans).

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU for your review - the summer heat hit earlier than expected this year. Because of comments like yours, all of our dorms are now outfitted with nice big fans which will keep our guests cool for the rest of the summer. Thanks for the feedback, and happy travelling!

100%

The best hostel I've been in Europe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
:) wow! Thanks!

83%

The patio was fantastic!! It was super hot with no fans in the room. That is my only complaint


100%

Excellent. I would stay there whenever I was in Budapest. Rooms clean, kitchen clean, staff very good and friendly. A quiet well equipped hostel.


100%

i was very excited to stay there again. friendly staff, clean kitchen, good wifi connection. Everythinga perfect. the best hostel for europe trip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
:) thank you!!! We'll look forward to your next visit!

91%

beds were a little dirty, kitchen was fully equipped with kits if fridge space. WiFi worked great throughout hostel. about an hour walking from the Old Town, easy to take the metro (10 min from old town)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! Be sure that we will absolutely look into the cleanliness of beds issue as cleanliness is really one of our main concerns next to making you feel at home etc. Your ratings seem to say that you still enjoyed the Hostel a lot, so we are glad - we only feel that you can actually make it to the first district in 25-30 minutes but of course as the main pedestrian area is leading you there there is always lot's to see ... :)

100%

We loved this hostel! There were people of all different ages staying here and it seemed really busy the whole time we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we are really busy at the moment and so happy about it too. The days just shoot by with friendly faces, interesting stories and jokes & some checking in to do on the side ;). We wish you all the best for your trip and hoipe you can make it back to Vienna someday!

100%

Good location near the Westbahnhof, friendly staff, clean facilities and an awesome chillout area! The piano is lovely and fun to play on ;)


86%

Very quaint place! The staff is incredibly helpful. Also they have homemade elderflower lemonade which is delicious! Atmosphere is nice to meet people in

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you very much - to be honest we ourselves could not life without the elderflower lemonade anymore. Our manager and one of our receptionists even went up on the Vienna hills himself to make their own sirup and while we use mostly bought one we now mix in our own Ruthi's best now and then ;) until its gone. Again, thank you and see you soon again in Vienna!

97%

I had a really good time at this hostel- it has a great atmosphere to meet other travellers. The staff were AMAZING - they helped me so much and were always friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! I will give the other staff your compliments, one can really use that kind words in this momentary heatwave here :) Wish you all the best for your trip!

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Europe so far. Not a party hostel, but it's pretty easy to meet people in the bar or the gardens in the back. The kitchen was pretty nice and there's a small electric grill in the back. The staff was fairly helpful and the rooms themselves were clean. Would recommend any type of traveller to stay here, you'll find a group to go out with if you want, or you can have a quiet night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for reviewing us and your kind words! We could not have put it better: this is exactly how we wish our guests to experience our place! We wish you all the best for your trip and a great time!

94%

I could not have been happier. Fantastic location. Great price especially for Vienna. Extremely helpful staff and just an all around wholesome atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's our guests who make our atmosphere what it is :). Thanks for the lovely review, and for your visit!

94%

Nice kitchen, cool bar, clean rooms/beds. Showers and bathrooms were tiny but got the job done. Location was right by the train station which was great, though a good 20 min walk from Old Town. However, it was right in between the palace and Old Town so it was easy to get to both attractions while in town. Really good place, highly recommended overall.


97%

Favorite hostel of our entire trip!


80%

I stayed on the upper bed, and the only way I could get up there was by a chair (Yes, there is no stair!). I don't have long legs, so it was quite dangerous for me. One day morning, the lower bed traveller put his stuffs on that chair, and I could not get down!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, this is certainly the first time we've had a guest trapped in bed ;). Thank you for the feedback - we love our bunk beds, but they're simply not compatible with a ladder - we're slowly upgrading to new, beautifully designed bunks with ladders included. In fact, we've just had a set custom-made for a few of our 6-bed dorms. It'll take some time to get the budget together, but ultimately we do want to upgrade every bed in the house. Wishing you a safe journey, & all the best!

83%

Nice place, good location, although having the sink in your room while the toilet is in another was a bit strange; no big deal though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Just a note - you were booked into one of our more economical room categories - hence the shower/toilet on the hall (a few of these rooms do include a private sink for teeth-brushing etc). We also offer en suite rooms with private shower, toilet and sink. Thanks for taking the time to review us, and happy travelling!

97%

The hostel was superb! Very clean, great atmosphere. They even change your bedsheets while you are out, just like a hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Good facilities with laundry room and lockers in the rooms and on the main floor in case you want to keep your stuff there for a bit after you check out. Location isn't really within walking distance of anything noteworthy, but it's only a 7 minute walk to the metro stop, which will take you into the city center in 5-10 minutes.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this great review!!! Just a quick word on our LOCATION - we're actually just a few minutes walk from the lovely Mariahilferstrasse, Vienna's most popular shopping avenue, newly transformed into a gorgeous car-free urban space stretching from the Westbahnhof to the historic 1st district- so no need to jump on the subway to get in on some Viennese action! Also, a note to future guests - we don't normally change sheets during your stay - we are a hostel & very eco-conscious :).

(270 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback