X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Santa Monaca Reviews

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2075 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The hostel is good and conveniently located, but since it is old the rooms didn't have any transparent, or reachable windows which made for a very depressing stay while inside. The staff on the other hand is great, welcoming and accommodating. It would be a great place of they can remodel the windows for some daylight.


69%

The hostel itself was nice and in a good location, only a half hour walk from most attractions. The only real downside was that you have to leave your room from 1030 to 130 for the staff to clean. Its nice to have a clean room but really inconvient to not have access to your stuff or a washroom for that period of time. Basic hostel for your money.


77%

Great experience! Super convenient supermarket right next door. Well equipped kitchen. Shower water was warm but not hot:/ oh and they lock the doors from 10:30 am to clean so they expect you to not be there during that time. I had been in the kitchen when they locked the doors but they were happy to let me in when I told them I had forgot something.


86%

pretty spacious even though it was a 12 bed dorm. place was clean. bring your own lock if you want to use the locker. florence is not too big, so everything is within 30 minutes walking distance.


86%

Pretty good hostel! The wifi didn't work properly but have a wide range. Good beds and facilities.


89%

Wonderful stay here. Stayed for three nights: rooms were spacious enough, individual lockers were good, beds were clean and comfortable. Fully equipped kitchen is great, along with a really cheap coffee machine. Common room is quite large, which is a bonus. Location in Ottalno is perfect, within walking distance of all the major sights and near a decent supermarket, plus that part of town seemed to have the best eats. Would easily stay here again.


97%

It was a little cold at nights but the rest of it was good!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Once a convent from the 15th century, God cannot even save this hostel. Night staff was horribly rude. For the men's restroom, 4 showers and 4 toilets. Odds are you will have to wait. Not enough hot water and occasionally turns off due to technical problems. Want to take a #2 and wash your hands? Bring your own soap, none is provided. Mattresses are ancient and hard. Power strip was broken, one outlet for 10 people. Boring and dull, at least a quarter of the residents during our stay were 50+.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. The staff is always at your disposal for any clarifications or problems with your stay, speaking with us during your stay, we can resolve. As for the bathrooms , we have other bathrooms on the second floor. The "water problem" is a measure we take to conserve water; you have to press the button on the wall of the bathroom to get water flowing and it turns off automatically after a while.

43%

Bathrooms: No soap provided by the toilet taps. Shower taps turn off after 30 seconds so you have to keep pushing the button. No where inside the small shower cubicle to put dry stuff so valuables easy to steal. Bedrooms: People running around screaming at 2-3am on every night. Not enough power points. Rooms were cold. Staff: The hostel manager lady was very inflexible and stubborn. The two guys that work the night shift are lovely though and are doing it right!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We would like to remind you that cancellations are free only when done within 48hrs. Our shower taps are designed in a way that water is not wasted and hence the button. We have lockers in every room assigned to each bed , lockable. If one does not have a padlock you can get one at the reception for a €5.00 deposit.You also have the option of leaving your valubles at the reception for free. We have heating in the rooms Extra blankets can be requested from the reception. Thanks

74%

Great location, average hostel, good deal.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A good place if you are looking for just a basic place to sleep. Very basic in terms of facilities though e.g. there is no hand wash in the toilets, there was only one power socket in the room of 8 beds, since the multi socket board was not functioning. But in terms of value for money it is very good with good, friendly staff.


63%

The hostel is located across the River Arno, in an old building. You can't expect much from the building itself. My room was quite spacious and clean, equipped with lockers. The quest of finding the (female) toilets and showers was harder than I imagine since they are located on the other wing of the building. Breakfast is not included, but the kitchen & dining room is super huge. The walls are not sound proof, so you can hear the opera singers singing from neighboring building.


89%

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel has very good facilities, like the kitchen and the personal lockers. There were not enough power exits in the room, but it wasn't a problem at all. However, we could easily hear the noise from the corridor, reception and other dorms.


57%

Maybe it was because I stayed here during the off season, but there wasn't much of a social aspect to the hostel. It seemed to be more students studying than anything else. The 2am curfew was the major deal breaker though.


71%

I kinda liked this hostel but if i'm gonna be honest; next time on Florence i wouldn't come here... Don't get me wrong i think it's a good hostel and not expensive. But it is NOT the place to meet people. It's basically a monastery. Pretty decent place. But if you're into partying or late night walking or something stay at a different place because this place has 2am CURFEW.


60%

Justanother average hostel. Florence itself is a STUNNING city. Staff at checkin decided to finish their conversation (5 minutes) before they check-in me in. They just stood there talking to each other in front of me. Not exactly the best customer service. A lot of the other reviews have been complaining about ventilation and what not. It is an old nun convent. It's freaking awesome to stay in a place which has such history. I stayed during the winter and it was great, during summer would be bad


86%

IT was very pleasant stay, near hostel is small chapel - there was held opera concert just perfect !

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great dorms for the price, good for a short stay ! All facilities are good & clean, beds are confortable, you get towels, locks, extra blankets if needed... No breakfast option unfortunately. Doors slam a bit at night, but that's it!


89%

Safe place with lockers provided, along with other facilities, even towels. It is converted from an old convent so facilities are a bit old, but they are in good condition and clean. The rooms and common areas are spacious also. Would improve if the toilet cubicles are not that cramped, hand wash provided and the power sockets closer to each bed.


77%

The staff here is very friendly and helpful, however there is zero atmosphere if you are looking to hang out and meet other travelers. Also be mindful that there is a 2am sharp lockout. I was a little bit late one night and ended up having to stay out in the freezing cold until 6 am when it opened back up. I think that's a bit ridiculous and all guests should have key access to the building if there's no 24/7 desk attendant.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(86 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback