Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Santa Monaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
5.7

Staff were friendly and helpful, its just it wasnt comfortable to stay here due to the weather and the fans in the rooms were not helping with ventilation (really wish they had more fans or at least airconditioning) Wifi is quite slow unless you are in the kitchen area, but they have vending machines to grab a cold drink and cabinets for you to buy necessities Might come again cos of the price and because florence is walkable distance to everything

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.0

It's a hostel in 500 yrs old building and so with only stairs. Location wise it's very close to the city center(about 7min walk). WiFi is good. The rooms get really hot during summer as they are on the top floor and there is no fans or AC. The hostel is really huge with around 114 beds so you get a lot of opportunities to meet new people. Staff is really helpful with any help that you need. Will stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
9.4

Hot rooms but tolerable. 10-20 minutes from train station walking depending on your luggage. Only thing I didn't personally like is that no one is on the counter between 3-6 am and couldn't get my towel deposit back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Diego, We are glade that you like our hostel! About the money (5 euro) please inform as about an address and we'll send it by post. Sorry..sorry

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jun 2017
3.1

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE I BEG YOU, Pay the extra and stay elsewhere it's worth it Because YOU WILL NOT SLEEP no aircon it feels like you're a lasagne being cooked at 220 on gas mark 5. Staff were rude at first but redeemed themselves. It closes for 3 hours for cleaning and we weren't allowed up to our rooms regardless of the reason. Location average, and communal areas were unclean and needed updating. I've been all over the world and this is the worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
9.7

Hostel had a lot of people traveling in small groups or solo. The lounge area was nice and people socialized in small groups. Room was a good size and while it was warm anywhere in Italy in the summer is going to be fighting the heat. I was pleasantly surprised with the temperature in the room at night - it wasn't as hot as other reviews made it seem. The bike rental is an extremely good deal and really allows you to see different parts of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
8.6

This was a nice place to stay for 20 euro. I took bus #11 near the train station because it was easier than walking to the hostel, but when I left the hostel, I walked to the train station. The facilities are quite clean. The lights in the rooms are not turned on until the evenings, and the room itself was a bit hot even with three overhead and two floor fans running. There are only two sets of outlets along the walls to plug your devices into, so about 10 in total.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much! We try to do all is possible to have not a very hot rooms but this period in Florence..its very very hot!! However we are the cheapest hostel in the city center!

17th Jun 2017
4.0

Bathrooms and showers are incontinently located from the bedroom. Staff did not attend guest. Stopped in the middle of attending me to order other staff (waited 10 min)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello dear Guest, thank you for your stay, we are sorry for the waiting, Santa Monaca Staff is always at your disposal for all the questions.

16th Jun 2017
9.1

This hostel was very well located, and the staff was great- very friendly. The WIFI consistently worked very well, was speedy. The lounge areas are also very nice. The only issue I had was the no air conditioning. I was sleeping on the top floor and our room was unbearably hot. Have no AC at other hostels hasn't bothered me, but for some reason this one was so humid/hot. Especially in the upstairs bathroom and rooms. Also, there weren't enough lockers or plugs for everyone in the 10 ppl room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • edmario12
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2017
6.3

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights, the hostel is huge! Literally loads of young kids were there at same time which was annoying as very loud, the rooms were sooo hot! No a/c so had a fan which was rubbish and had to leave the door open to let a little breeze in. Hard to meet people though as they had a small terrace but they shut it at 10.30pm exactly so was kicked out, Hostel shuts aswell at 3am till 6am so was locked out both nights then they kicked me out at 10.30am till 2pm to clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Toranders887090
  • Norway, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2017
6.0

Not the best customer service from the woman at reception...actually kinda rude! Also, wet dirty bathrooms and no airconditioning in a 10bed dorm...jikes!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.