Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Santa Monaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3037 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3037 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Cheap, clean, amazing staff, superb location (everything's walking distance). Backpackers, family, travellers-who-are-not-five-stars-hotel-type, adventure seekers are welcome! Let's just.. have fun in florence!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.1

Hostel is in the centre and just a short walk from the station. If you sleep in one of the 16 bed rooms, get yourself some earplugs and be sure to respect the other people in your dorm. The staff is helpful, bathrooms a bit outdated but relatively clean, there is a rather small kitchen for everyone and a big room with tables and chairs. No cozy corners or sofas - it is rather a pragmatic space where you can stay for cheap money. Would definitely go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Mar 2017
5.1

👎🏼 cleanliness

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.4

The hostel really exceded our expectations. The staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms and the facilities were very clean and the beds were comfortable. A big kitchen was included in the facilities too so that was a huge plus. Towels and locks for the lockers are provided for a 5€ deposit. The location was perfect and it took us just 5-10 minutes to walk to the very heart of florence. All in all, we are definitely coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, good social atmosphere. Lovely that they have a kitchen that is near to the social area. Not a lonely night. Would highly recommend it, also very nice and professional staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2017
7.7

You have to buy a padlock if you want to lock up your stuff but the hostel seems to attract some trustworthy people so it's fine. Anyone can walk through the front door. Reception is there but I wonder if they would even check. Outlets are all in one place so you can't just sit in your bed charging your phone. 2/3 of our nights here, we had to listen to the opera and their rehearsals next door from 6-10pm. All in all, it's good value for your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello dear Guest, thank you for your review, only to inform that padlocks are with deposit or you can buy as you prefer. We have also a video control in all the common areas of the hostel to check all.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.4

Beds didn't have lights or plugs, nearest plugs by the door and if the dorm was full there wouldn't be enough for everyone, we didn't have a problem though. Showers sometimes cold. Lockers are a bit stiff and I had trouble now opening mine. Other than this it's a great hostel, nice big common room area making it easy to meet and get to know people. Location ok, a little walk to the centre. Everywhere is clean, staff helpful. I would stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing place. Excellent location and friendly staff. Kitchen available 24x7 and supermarket is right beside the hostel so it's very cheap. Rooms are cleaned thoroughly everyday and security is satisfactory. Only minor issue for me would be that the male washroom is too far from Ghibelini. Also, great mix of people in the large dorms and it's very easy to find companions to accompany you around while roaming the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
4.0

They have a big rate despite the conditions.The rooms are dirty,very cold and crowded.The baths are the worst:dirty and look like the most awful public toilets.They assiged me a room with an elderly group of women who were snoring all night long and i couldn't sleep.It was too much for me and even i have booked 3 nights i've only stayed 1.When i left the guy from the reception didn't even ask me why i was leaving and he gave me no money back for the 2 nights remaining.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

I stayed in this hostel for two nights. The ambiance is definitively super with very interesting people, the staff is very kind, the rooms are essential but they have what there should be in a hostel. Position is quite good, you can easily get to center on foot; there is a lot to do also in the surroundings too. I would definitively recommend and choose Hostel Santa Monaca again for the next journey to Florence! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.