X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Santa Monaca Reviews

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1756 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

The staff was less than hospitable and made it seem like it was a chore to help the guests even though ITS THEIR JOB. The hostel had an awful stench. The rooms were like an old military infirmary and it's not that clean. There was no atmosphere or sense of comraderie. The wifi was bad as well. This hostel is way over priced for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We're always sorry when our customers are not comfortable with us. We are always available, we love our work. If you asked us, we would said about the odor that it was a problem that came from outside the hostel...

77%

Location is good. Locks were not provided, which would have been fine but the ones we brought didn't even fit the lockers. Very questionable smell in the main kitchen area for 2 out of the 3 days we were there - maybe not the hostel's fault but could have aired out or sprayed the place at least. Top bunks of the beds didn't have rails. Staff were nice and helpful. Bike rentals were relatively cheap and worth it.


57%

5 minute walk from the Palace, about 15 from the main Piazza. The hostel itself was pretty dirty and kind of depressing. I stayed in the 16 person room & it felt like a prison bedroom. The one cool thing was that you could hear the opera from next door. The terrace was a great place to meet people, but it was WAY too small, plus they closed it at 10:30pm. They also close the rooms from 10am-2, which sucks if you wanna sleep in. For the price, i was expecting a lot more.


66%

This place is okay. It's a bit dark and dreary inside. Cool rooms! Good location, and it's pretty easy to find! The price is good, but I've stayed in nicer places for less. You can probably find somewhere better!


74%

This place was pretty good but not by any means the best hostel I've stayed at. Super decent for the price. Bathrooms inconveniently located and powerpoints in awkward spots. But otherwise pretty ok


100%

This is just what hostels should look like!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to feel you fine :))

100%

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel in itself was very clean and tidy. Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

They gave away my reservation even though I emailed them to let them know I would be showing up a day later than intended (and charged me for the stay as well!) There were no hostel beds available in the city that night, and I ended up having to spend close to $200 on a hotel room.


80%

It was nice.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The location couldn't have been better. The man at the reception was not the friendliest, but that's fine. Large amount of toilets/showers and was very clean.


69%

Alright stay. Nothing great about this hostel.


97%

Place was awesome. Close to train station and everything else. Big kitchen and eating area. Opera right next door and we got a discount so helped with the overall Italian experience. I loved it, although they should provide more social activities. But it was easy to meet people. Will definitely be back next time in Florence.


54%

The place was very dirty and old.


77%

The hostel isn't bad. The main problem here is the wi-fi. It never works properly! but all the rest is fine: once florence is not a really big city, the hostel is quite close to all main spots, staffs are friendly, the dorm was ok, quite confortable. One thing that is not a problem but can be anoying some times, the bathroom is a bit far from the room i stayed. There is a terrace but is reeeally small! haha everybody was expecting something nice but it isnt at all.


69%

Wifi doesn't work anywhere and the lockout is annoying. But location is fairly good and you can walk everywhere from the hostel. If you're only going to need a place to sleep and will be out in the city pretty much all day stay here, if you need amenities go somewhere else.


86%

Great place, wish they would put soap in the WC.


80%

the staff at the desk is really great, very friendly and eager to help! but the wifi DOES NOT WORK! even at the front desk, you can barely get a signal. it's fine to not have wifi, but not when they're advertising wifi that works in the room. the network didn't even pop up when I got halfway up the stairs to the room. other than that, the bathrooms and room were clean and comfy.


63%

First Lady we came in contact with while checking in was not very friendly or welcoming at all. After that though the other guys were nice and helpful. Washroom was clean. Location was good, really liked the mini mart next door. Room was not that nice to sleep in, kind of small and cramped.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The slamming door of the girl's bathroom on the first floor is so noisy that it wakes everybody in the room next to the bathroom!


100%

Awesome!!! You have to get out of your room from 10:00-2 which is a little hard if your hung over or want to sleep in but I got use to it and accepted it. The curfew is 2 and the patio shuts at 10:30. Other than these things though this was awesome. Seriously cleans and bug open beautiful. Loved it


(90 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback