Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Slotania

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 2,810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 2,810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
Hostel Slotania Located at Slotermeerlaan 131, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Slotania
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1063 JN Slotermeerlaan 131
66% 2810
52.3812185 4.8210024
Hostel Slotania
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
7.1

The location is relatively good as it is easily accesible tocity area. One thing I dislike about this place is that it gets really hot. Probably needa do something about this as it can be hard to sleep at night. Overall it is still value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
4.9

The staff was not very welcoming and the guests in my shared room were very noisy and dirty. I had a terrible night there. I wouldn't recommend this hostel. The location was acceptable, but it was way too distant from the city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
7.4

Security: Pretty good. Hotels keycard system helps prevent anyone entering your room unless theyre supposed to be there. Location: The hotel is about 5KM away from the city center, but there is a very close station that makes getting around easy. Staff: Friendly, and immediately resolved my minor issues. Value for money: Pretty good prices considering its Amsterdam. A week stay (6 nights) for 2 people ran me about €350. Overall a positive experience. The beds were very comfy. 8/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel from the outside doesn't look great but inside the rooms are good. For the price you are given a clean and tidy room, the bathroom is clean and looks modern. Some of the staff are friendly, the others look somewhat indifferent at times. The tram to the city center and airport is just outside the hostel. The hostel provides lots of leaflet information on trams, buses, sites and tours which is very helpful. Overall the hostel is good quality at a good price. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
6.6

I reserved a bed in a 6 bed room. Looked like they put 3 bunk beds in a regular hotel room. That means the room had it's own bathroom, which in my opinion is a disadvantage because more chances the room is occupied then in a hostel where they have 3 showers and 3 toilets for 30 people. No curtains on beds. Receptionist was pretty rude but her manager was really nice.. Not an interesting area. Overall not bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
6.0

The hostel overall was quite good for the price you pay. Unfortunately, I found some of the employees to be a bit unwelcoming. The hostel lacks self catering facilities but does provide a breakfast for €5. They did however provide hot water and a microwave so I did get to make some of the food I had brought with me. There was a tram stop directly opposite the hostel which takes you to dam square so although it is a bit far away, transport to the centre is very easy and cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jul 2016
6.3

Staff were rude when I checked in and seemed annoyed whenever I asked for directions or information. Rooms were clean and the beds were so comfy! The ensuite was nice and clean as well. Downsides are the rooms are very small and have no storage. And the location is 5km, about a 30 minute tram ride from the centre. And the tram doesn't run very late. Ended up switching to a different hostel with a better location. It's a cheap and comfy bed though if that's all you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
4.6

The lockers are not large enough to keep a bag, though there were some small safes to keep valuables. The location is terrible, to walk to the centre of Amsterdam would have taken over an hour. There are bus and trams nearby but when you're paying this much to stay at a hostel you don't want to pay more for transport. Didn't have any problems with the facilities or staff but the location is a huge let down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

The room was too noisy due to be right in front of main road.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sagisul585
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.0

The doorms are stuffy and has no fresh air. The window barley open.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.