Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Slotania

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 3074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 3074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel, quite far from Central but well connected by bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • krisfort
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
7.7

The room and bedding was very clean and so was the bathroom the location is a little out of the way but easy enough to find once you figure out the trams and buses. Didnt really have any interaction with the staff or any of the guests outside of my own room but all in all a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
6.0

Hotel Slotania was located close to Amsterdam central, being just a tram ride away. However, the place itself was dirty and dark, and I came away with tens of insect bites after just one night there. Staff weren't particularly friendly and there was no way of interacting with other hostel guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
4.9

Staff is not friendly at all. That Indian lady at the counter was not polite at all. The rooms and the beds were very small. The wifi access in the rooms was almost unreachable. We also rented out bikes which were in bad condition. Will not recommend this hostel too a friend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
7.4

This hostel suits its name, being located in Hotel Nieuw Slotania. The dorms are nice with en suite bathrooms and towels provided. Small hotel lockers are provided in the room. The downside is that there is not a communal kitchen or a common area to meet people. The hostel is conveniently located on the main bus line to get to the city centre and bus passes are sold through a vending machine in the lobby (who would have thought?!). Overall, it was a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
3.7

The room was hot eventhough it was cold outside. The staff won't even give a damn about opening the window for us. Horrible experience bad neighbourhood.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
8.3

Stayed here for a night before heading back to the US. Staff was friendly. Just looking for a place to crash, so I wasn't wanting much. Location is a 30 min bus ride from Ams Centraal, tram probably would have been faster. No breakfast included, wifi was good, and plenty of outlets in the room. Smoking patio on the 2nd floor was nice, but messy from guests. Only bad thing was that is was under apartments, and there weren't lockers for bags, just two small safes in my 4 bed dorm. WC was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.6

Pretty nice for 1 night, long way out of town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
8.3

The facility is great for short and solo stay. It is more like a hotel then a hostel, so the facility, shower, rooms are very great. However, the staffs are not always helpful, I stayed 2 days and nobody mentioned there is breakfast. For the price, I think it is reasonable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.9

The staff were really friendly, flexible and helpful during my stay. The only downside was that second floor carpet was messy, the rooms were way way too hot and my key pass would consistently stop working. But the rooms and bathroom were extremely clean and had enough space and the staff were really great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.