Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Slotania

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 2,845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 2,845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
Hostel Slotania Located at Slotermeerlaan 131, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Slotania
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1063 JN Slotermeerlaan 131
66% 2845
52.3812185 4.8210024
Hostel Slotania
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Sep 2016
5.7

This hostel is at least a half hour tram ride outside Amsterdam central... But we knew that when we booked it. The girl who checked us in was absolutely terrible. She seemed annoyed that we were even there and then yelled at us when we asked for clarification about something. Like we should have known not to even ask. It was ok for one night but way way way overpriced for what you get

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jburton110
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.4

Location was great for me and for Playing Disc Golf in Slotter Park just down the Road. A little further from town but with Tram and bus links right outside not really a problem, as a result of being that bit further from it was quieter than most other Amsterdam Hostels. Not much in the way of Bar Life near by but a couple that were open till 1am

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
4.3

price quoted on the site was A$28, I paid €58 for one day and €20 for the second. Some staff were friendly, but some were arrogant. The environment is not cosmopolitan, but nearly entirely Turkish and one is treated as outsider. I would not go there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
6.9

Considering this is a cheaper hostel outside the city center the location was great - 2 supermarkets on the street, bus and trap stops directly outside the hostel. Safe location at night time. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Atmosphere could be improved by having a communal space such as a kitchen, somewhere to sit and chat. Everyone seemed segregated so really not good for solo travelers at all. Air con was terrible and not many lockers in the rooms. Overall good value for money .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Sep 2016
3.4

Much too expensive for a backpacker. No breakfast included, no air con. Impersonal. Too far out - half hour by tram or bus.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Sep 2016
4.3

Considering the price we paid, our room was BOILING hot and the window didn't open much. To make it worse, there were thick black-out curtains which the other people in our room kept closed (along with the window on our second night). Breakfast was basic, but okay for €5. Staff barely gave us a smile at check-in. You pay for you bed, and do not expect much more. Clean however, decent beds and close to bus stops etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.6

We had a great stay, the room itself was great! The only thing was that we had trouble sleeping due to the thin walls (im guessing). We could hear noise from the street and guests in the hotel throughout the night and early morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
6.6

The bed that I had to use was not in good shape it was very damaged The service from the front desk staff was amazing Even though they do not offer breakfast the one they offer and the basement the quality is extremely good for what they charge

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • abanoub2016
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
7.1

The hotel was good and its location is also good , but the staff were little bit not welcomy at least most of them never smile and the wifi is not good in rooms , you need to go in the lobby otherwise its good .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Aug 2016
4.9

This hostel is in the middle of no where. You have to get a bus and they go regularly but it's an at least 30 minute journey. The carpets around the hostels are dirty, the rooms themselves are okay though. Only small safes which isn't great when you're in a dorm. Staff moody and unfocused. Wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.