X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Slotania Reviews

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
2082 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 59%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

My dorm was quite nice, and the bathroom is of hotel standard - quite new too. Free towels on arrival, and I didn't have to return the linen when checking out. It's only about 6-8 minutes from Sloterdijk on the bus, so if you're coming in from Schipol it's no hassle to check in first before going to the city. The walk into the city and can say it's an uneventful walk. I wouldn't recommend it for lone travellers - it's quiet and lacks a common room, or even a bar. There aren't any bars nearby.


63%

Very good value for money but considering its 20 /30 euro to central in taxi

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Location was good. Not in the city center but the tram stop was right outside the hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, besides one woman who was never nice or helpful or polite in any way. Breakfast was good for 5 €. Just the bread wasnt the best. They sad there was also Croissants at breakfast, but we just became it after we asked for it in the last day. The room seemed to be "newer" then others we saw. Pretty clean. For this price you cant expect something better. No parking space!


77%

Not really a hostel at all, more like a hotel.


86%

Forget the negative reviews, this place is a winner. VERY clean, secure, friendly staff, nothing to complain about. The room comes equipped with an electronic safe, towels, clean bedding, a nicely equipped bathroom with a hair dryer, everything you need. The neighborhood isn't the best, but for Amsterdam, it's good enough, and it's not dangerous. Stay here.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Some rooms are smaller than others although containing the same number of beds. All in all, just make sure the size of the room is to your comfort. the place is very nice and very close to a mall which made my life pretty easy when the airline lost my suitcase.


83%

A nice place to stay, if the location is not the most important thing. Looks rather like an old hotel than hostel. I got a room for the dormitory price :)!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel,feel very nice bed n sfaff was helpfull

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Rude staff, old building that needs a lot of work, didn't seem very clean, very far away from city center.


80%

This hostel is 30min away from the center and for those who like riding a bike a good place to stay. Our room was very tiny and the beds were squeaking. The bedroom was amazing due to a hostel! The breakfast was okay.


80%

We were very impressed with our stay at Hostel Slotania. Myself and my friend shared a room, it was basic but had a lovely clean en suite with a fantastic shower, hairdryer, and towels. The room itself had a large tv with lots of channels, and a bed which was comfortable but a little too soft. Location-wise it was a little way away from central Amsterdam but there's a tram and bus stop right outside the hostel and we also hired bikes to cycle to and from on (from MacBike). Great value for money!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

it is a hotel style hostel, rooms are very clean and organized, bathroom/shower is super. Every bed has an electric socket with a light switch. there is a pub in the lobby. very close to tram and bus lines to airport or to downtown. I already booked it again for my next trip.


66%

Ok hostel. Not as bad as some of the comments made out to be. Located 20min tram ride from the centre, but buses and trams are right outside. Prices are expensive on weekends, but all of Amsterdam was so compared to others, well priced. Supermarket, and other food options close by.


69%

I missed a Kitchen

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great value for money. Sheets and towels changed every 1-2 days, decent size room, good shower and bathroom, 2 safes in our room (4 person room), loads of food shops nearby and a shopping centre immediately opposite. Great public transport links; bit far out from the city centre but there are bus/tram stops right outside for going to Amsterdam Centraal (21) and to Schiphol airport (69). Would definitely stay here again.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice place, enjoyed the room and the shower/bathroom area was really nice. When we stayed there were A LOT of young party animals up at all hours making lots of noise.... Of course not the hotel's fault. Not central but there's a bus/tram station right out the front door and they rent out bikes which was really handy.


69%

Reception wasn't rude, but wasn't exceptional. The room resembled a jail cell, 8 by 8 foot with 2 bunks, but was very clean, and had a very nice private bathroom. Good for a short stay. We were having constant problems getting into our room, for the cards kept malfunctioning. Fair distance from city centre, 20 ish minute tram ride. Over all, a decent place.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This is a decent no fills hostel. I was very worried about the room bc the reception room has an uncleaned dingy feel but my bed was really comfy and the ensuite bathroom was sparkling clean! It was about 20 minutes away from centre but the bus stop was across the street. It is also situated near restaurants, laundry mats, and grocery stores.


77%

For 5 extra euros you can get a very nice breakfast


71%

Good hostel overall


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback