X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Slotania Reviews

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
2162 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 59%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Before reservation, I've asked through e-mail for earlier check in and they answered that is posiblle to have check in at 12, we agreed that and that was main reason of choosing this hostel. When we came on reserved day at 12 they told us that is not possible to check in before 3 pm. I've said that we aranged 12 and the guy on reception said that he doesnt care about that and if we dont like than we can go to find another hostel and he even start to yell on me, he was very rude and unpolite.


83%

Everything was all right, except the lockers room which was all messy when we used it (friday 2nd) and wide open when we came back to pick up our luggage (problem with the locking card system ?). Plus, the heating in the rooms was too much : we booked additionnal nights in a six beds rooms after our night in the four beds one, and the feeling was the same. Thank you nonetheless for the welcomming staff and comfortable rooms, beds and bathrooms were great, everything was clean, nice decoration !

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Stayed at the 1st floor and interestingly the longest hotel corridor I have ever seen! Room and the toilet was clean. rooms are bit small and not enough closets. Though bit outside the city but there's a direct bus 69 from the airport to hotel. overall not a bad place to stay.


91%

The room was a bit warm and there was no way to adjust the temperature.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It's a liitle far from the center of the town, but it worth it. It's clean, it has good beds to sleep. The internet can be used only in the lobby and some rooms.


60%

We did not expect people from the outside to break into the rooms and steal stuff..

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel is very nice. With a bus/tram station on two sides and easy access to the city center (15-20min). The staff is nice, with our only problem being one person from the cleaning staff banging the doors of the room and bathroom one of the mornings we were there. There was a nice bathroom and warm covers. We didn't really like the mattress, it was a bit too soft, but we didn't ask for an exchange, either. Overall it was really good, in a nice and quiet neighborhood and a market in front.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Just got back from a great stay here! For the money, this place is excellent. The bathroom was better than bathrooms I've seen in 4 star hotels, nice comfy bed and a basic but clean bedroom. Would have liked a bedside lamp and full length mirror but apart from that good facilities. Staff were helpful. Location isn't amazing, it's about a 30 minute tram ride (but the tram is literally right outside the hostel and really easy to use). Definitely excellent value for money and no complaints

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was clean and tidy and the tv and safe were a pleasant surprise. Was disappointed by the breakfast as they charged us €5 which promised croissants, eggs, meats, cheese, breads etc. Only had bread, Turkey, salami and cheese! Had to ask for eggs which came just as everything else was being taken away. Not worth €5. Location was great as was right next to the tram stop and the aldi over the road proved useful. Would stay there again if in need of a budget hotel!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

I actually thought it was ok. It was the cheapest I could find in pricy Amsterdam, but I was with three other people who almost punched me in the nuts for booking this hotel. They all hated the fact that is so far from the center and in a seemingly dangerous part of the city. Wasn't so bad on the inside but I may have had very low standards and expectations


49%

Very unwelcoming and rude staff at the reception. We were forced to pay for everybody (11 people) with a single credit card because they refused for us to do otherwise. We were a group of students and none of us had that kind of budget. The people at the desk were rude and unwilling to give out basic information such as how to get to the heart of the city from the hotel. Finally the water was hot in the bathroom sink and cold in the shower, which is unacceptable for a three-star hotel.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome and clean hostel. A little out of town but easy enough to get the bus/tram into the centre from right outside the door! Supermarket over the road too. The wifi was great and the room was nice and warm! Thanks for a great weekend!


31%

BEDBUGS!!!! I WAS EATEN ALIVE ALL NIGHT LONG. I COUNTED 27 BITES THE NEXT DAY, THEN I WAS UNCOMFORTABLE FOR A WEEK. The hotel was decent in appearance, but the location was awful. bad neighborhood, and too far from any attractions. the bus going back to the hostel doesn't run all night and we got stuck having to figure alternate transportation at midnight. the staff wasn't very helpful or friendly, didn't care about our stay at all. but the real reason not to stay is the bed bugs! INFESTED!


71%

The dude at front desk was the nicest person to work at a hostel front desk !!!! Other than that...the hostel was far from city centre..which I personally like ...but in Turkey town.u feel like you're in turkey. Hostel was so run down it looked haunted and the rooms and hall smelled very strange.


83%

We were two and we had room for two. For this price it was really nice! Also we were thinking that it is normal hostel, (i dont now how it is with rooms for more people) but in our case it was hotel room (really small, but nice).

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel, close to the center by a 15min bus ride. The rooms were clean and neat. The only thing that bothered me and my girlfriend was that the main light of the room wasn't working, and we demanded to times in the reception to fix it and nothing was done. Complaints aside, it is well worth the price! Would recommend.


60%

The hostel was OK but there were bedbugs (room 154 was full on them) which was a HUGE minus.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This is a hotel and not a hostel, you can't use the kitchen. The breakfast is expensive and don't have many options. The hostel is so far the city centre. The price is good, but if you want enjoy more the city I suggest you should choose the hostel more close to city centre.


66%

The location of the hostel was okay, especially in connection with the price.There were 2 tram routes and 1 bus route to take. So it was possible to get directly to Centraal Station,Dam Square and Leidesplein from the hostel.But it took some time. With the trams we needed 20 minutes to the centrum and with the bus even 25 minutes. The room was tidy enough and the beds were comfy. But the hostel doesn't have atmosphere. Some of the staff members were not friendly at all but some were pretty nice.


60%

That hostel is not close to the center. Nevertheless, there are 04 or 05 busses/ trans that will take you directly from the center to the hostel, including after 00:00, but it will take you almost/ more than 30 minutes. The beds are good and the bathroom is really clean with very good shower. About security, in the middle of the night a guy entered our dorm and took his notebook that was charging there even tough he was not in our room! Unaceotable.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback