X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Slotania Reviews

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2007 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Rooms should have the facility for tea/coffee making facilities at least. Sight seeing tour should be encouraged with proactive arrangenments by the staff.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

staff are unpolite.good point is only cheap price.there are good cheap restaurant and supermarket near here so you don't need to worried about it even though it's located bit far away from center.


51%

Upon arrival we had to wait an hour and 20 minutes for anybody to show up at the front desk. We had searched high and low, but couldn't find any staff member for assistance. When I finally found a housekeeper and asked him if he knew where the front desk staff was, when they would be back, or how to contact them, he just said "I am a housekeeper and am not involved with them" - with the biggest smirk on his face - and turned his back on me to continue smoking a cigarette INSIDE.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

we stayed in 8 mixed dorm and my roomate from greece was very cooperative and fun..quite far from the city centre but the tram and bus bus is just few step from the hostel door..you got what you paid that's it..


20%

Die. Slowly.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

In my first night of stay, there was a problem in the heating system. Although the personnel are kind and helpful, they didn't do much to solve this issue. This night the room was really cold. But fortunately, they solved the problem on the following day and the next night heating was good. The facilities and the beds of the hotel is average. The location is 30 min away from the center by bus, it is a good option for a budget trip but don't except too much..


80%

The only bad thing about my stay was the group of guys that came drunk into the room in the middle of the night.


74%

The room is quite small and location quite far from the city. Luckily, the public transportation is available.


71%

we have been in this hostel last week.it is very nice and we spend a good time.the breakfast is a bit poor but you can find the main things to get a good breakfast..the location is lovely becouse you can get a bus close to the hostel and you spend only 30 min to go to piazza Dam.it is the centre.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

worth the value, clean rooms, nothing special. 2 streets from the hotel, you can park free on weekends.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel isn't in the city centre but the location is good. You can go to the city centre by bus or tram in 15 - 20 minutes. Room was very clean and nice. Receptionist was kind and helpful! Cheap and delicious breakfast!

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Chose this one due to ease of travel with a car and getting to the airport. Good transit connection to the centre, but the trams stop around midnight, so if you want to get to/from the centre between then and around 7 am, you will have to take a taxi, (about 30 Euro from Rembrandt Plein). Wasn't the warmest of welcomes from the night auditor, I'm used to more friendly service from the Dutch, but the room was clean and comfortable; hallways could use attention. Good breakfast, free wifi.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The service was really good and really worth of money.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The room I stayed in was excellent and well worth the price. However, the hostel description says they offer parking but it's only street side parking which charges a few euros every hour during the day. It's also very far from any of the major parts of the city and even by car with zero traffic it was a 30 minute drive downtown.


77%

Stayed in a 6 bed and 4 bed dormitory. Bathroom clean and renovated. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was simple but good and worth the price. It's really not that far from the center., about 40-45 minutes by walk or a few stops by tram. Not a problem. Lots of supermarkets around the hotel.


86%

very good hostel i recomend to all


77%

It's more of a hotel actually, so you can get the comfort and facilities as though you stayed in a hotel (towels and linens included and private bathroom with soap). They offer a nice breakfast, but you need to pay first (tip: it's worthy). The only inconvenience is that there are no lockers in the rooms, so if you share a room with strange people, you need to watch out your stuff.


74%

Nice clean room, good location.


69%

It wasn't so bad actually, before my stay i've checked some reviews of this hotel and it was a completly disaster, but anyway you get, what you pay.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

No cleaner or comfier than your average Hostel and 20mins tram ride from central

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(41 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback