X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Slotania Reviews

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2035 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It was a great place to stay. The location was a bit out of the way however. The rooms are clean and the available bike rentals was great. I do wish there was a way to cool the rooms down. it was incredibly hot in the room.


77%

This feels like more of a hotel than a hostel. TNot very easy to meet other travelers. It's pretty far from the city center (75 minute walk, 20 minute bike ride), so nightlife is a bit limited unless you use the bus or tram.


46%

The bathroom was filthy, hairs on the toiletseat and hairs and dirt in the shower. Stains on the walls.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Es ist ein Hostel, kein Hotel. Sehr gutes Sicherheitssystem, tolle Zimmer, allerdings ca. 30 min mit dem Bus von der Innenstadt

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

More like a Hotel than a Hostel. Very clean, but a fair distance from the main area of the city.


51%

While staying here, thankfully one night, I had bedbugs! My boyfriend didn't get them but I am covered in bites so I would definitely not recommend this place. The location sucks and is a very far tram or bus ride to the center of Amsterdam. Luckily at least the bus and tram station were right outside the hotel. The room looked very nice but definitely check the mattress.


71%

Good hostel, clean rooms, nice bathrooms. There are safes in the room for your small valuables much like a hotel would have. Never felt unsafe or had issues with my items that I did not put in the safe. The location is about a 15-20 minute tram ride from city centre, however my friends and I did not mind this because the tram was right outside the doorstep and we enjoyed getting to know the public transportation system of Amsterdam.


86%

Nice hotel. A little far from the central city, but the transportation is convenient.


60%

Rooms should have the facility for tea/coffee making facilities at least. Sight seeing tour should be encouraged with proactive arrangenments by the staff.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

staff are unpolite.good point is only cheap price.there are good cheap restaurant and supermarket near here so you don't need to worried about it even though it's located bit far away from center.


51%

Upon arrival we had to wait an hour and 20 minutes for anybody to show up at the front desk. We had searched high and low, but couldn't find any staff member for assistance. When I finally found a housekeeper and asked him if he knew where the front desk staff was, when they would be back, or how to contact them, he just said "I am a housekeeper and am not involved with them" - with the biggest smirk on his face - and turned his back on me to continue smoking a cigarette INSIDE.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

we stayed in 8 mixed dorm and my roomate from greece was very cooperative and fun..quite far from the city centre but the tram and bus bus is just few step from the hostel door..you got what you paid that's it..


20%

Die. Slowly.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

In my first night of stay, there was a problem in the heating system. Although the personnel are kind and helpful, they didn't do much to solve this issue. This night the room was really cold. But fortunately, they solved the problem on the following day and the next night heating was good. The facilities and the beds of the hotel is average. The location is 30 min away from the center by bus, it is a good option for a budget trip but don't except too much..


80%

The only bad thing about my stay was the group of guys that came drunk into the room in the middle of the night.


74%

The room is quite small and location quite far from the city. Luckily, the public transportation is available.


71%

we have been in this hostel last week.it is very nice and we spend a good time.the breakfast is a bit poor but you can find the main things to get a good breakfast..the location is lovely becouse you can get a bus close to the hostel and you spend only 30 min to go to piazza Dam.it is the centre.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

worth the value, clean rooms, nothing special. 2 streets from the hotel, you can park free on weekends.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel isn't in the city centre but the location is good. You can go to the city centre by bus or tram in 15 - 20 minutes. Room was very clean and nice. Receptionist was kind and helpful! Cheap and delicious breakfast!

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Chose this one due to ease of travel with a car and getting to the airport. Good transit connection to the centre, but the trams stop around midnight, so if you want to get to/from the centre between then and around 7 am, you will have to take a taxi, (about 30 Euro from Rembrandt Plein). Wasn't the warmest of welcomes from the night auditor, I'm used to more friendly service from the Dutch, but the room was clean and comfortable; hallways could use attention. Good breakfast, free wifi.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1332 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback