X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Slotania Reviews

Slotermeerlaan 131, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2026 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Stayed in a 6 bed and 4 bed dormitory. Bathroom clean and renovated. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was simple but good and worth the price. It's really not that far from the center., about 40-45 minutes by walk or a few stops by tram. Not a problem. Lots of supermarkets around the hotel.


86%

very good hostel i recomend to all


77%

It's more of a hotel actually, so you can get the comfort and facilities as though you stayed in a hotel (towels and linens included and private bathroom with soap). They offer a nice breakfast, but you need to pay first (tip: it's worthy). The only inconvenience is that there are no lockers in the rooms, so if you share a room with strange people, you need to watch out your stuff.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

Nice clean room, good location.


69%

It wasn't so bad actually, before my stay i've checked some reviews of this hotel and it was a completly disaster, but anyway you get, what you pay.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

No cleaner or comfier than your average Hostel and 20mins tram ride from central

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect for people who are looking a cheap stay with a decent room with facilities. Excellent market per the road with supermarkets and a mall with a tram stop up the road going either way :) definitely staying here again without a doubt :) ps would be grand if you could out a kettle and a few cups in the room! Tea, coffee ect.... See you soon slotania!

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

A bit of air conditioning in the room would have been nice… It was like waking up in a tent in the morning! Very frowsty in there after a night's sleep, but other than that I really liked the hostel! Thank you for a pleasant, although short, stay. I'll recommend this place to anyone going to Amsterdam!

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Although located about 15 to 20 minutes away from the Central Station, Hostel Slotania is a good place to stay. Maybe not the cheapest one, but it's quite clean and comfortable.


57%

If you just need a place to stay for a night, it's a good deal cause it's clean and safe and rather cheap. But the staff was really unfriendly and you find yourself in a shoe-box-like room in an endless narrow corridor. You can have a good breakfast there - for 5 € extra. Don't know if I can recommend that.


63%

Staff have us no information upon arrival at all, just the room number and key. We ordered a double private but it was two singles pushed together so they would alway separate which was very annoying. The mattress had little bumps with no mattress protector. It was nice but could have been nicer as this was supposed to be a treat for my partner and I.


63%

Cramming 6 into a space for 2 without proper ventilation was for me uncomfortable. It was warm and clean and the staff were pleasant.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is very far from the center. If you can take one in the heart of Amsterdam, otherwise you'll have to spend money with taxis.


80%

The night staff is WAY more friendly than the day staff. Accidently booked for Thurs night instead of Fri and got it switched with no problem. Had 5 friends join Friday night and we were placed in a 6 room suite with no problem. Our bathroom was super clean. Beds were slightly uncomfortable and VERY squeaky. We even had a nice balcony. I would definitely stay here again. Only con is that it was a 25 min trolley ride from the sights but for this price (€10 a night) it was worth it to us!


83%

Great bed, great room, great bathroom - nothing to complain about, except for the distance from downtown.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

When we arrived, the staff were very friendly...however when arriving back early in the morning, the man at the counter was very very rude when I tried to explain to him that the vending machine was not working and he raised his voice and said that there was nothing he could do about it. Good for the money paid though

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I think the location could definitely be more desirable because it's a pretty far distance out from the main part of the city. I wouldn't feel very comfortable walking around that area by myself at night, but the hotel is still definitely worth the money.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very nice hotel, but a little far from downtown. But you can reach the centre easily by tram and bus, but you have to take into account the prices for round trip each day, and if you come back during a weekend night, the night bus is 4.5€!! That is the only drawback about the hotel, the location. We were in a room for 6 people and it is quite small, and without any closet and place to put our luggage, only under the beds.


71%

Front desk help left a lot to be desired. Not very helpful/cheerful.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Its fine to stay there if you need just a place to sleep. Beds are good enough. The rest is a bit broken, dirty, or just old. But for this money... almost ok.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(1330 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback