Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Smith

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.2
Hostel Smith Located at 20 Rue Droite, , Nice.
Hostel Smith
France
Nice 20 Rue Droite
63% 1041
43.6973959 7.2772725
Hostel Smith
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Hostel owner was really nice, offering us bfast the morning we arrived even though we hadn't paid for it. The location is great and atmosphere was good. Enjoyed staying here and would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
4.0

I honestly think this hostel is a great business for the owner and they offer a very bad service to guest. No safety at all, the room is very loaded with junkbeds and it needs a lot of maintenance to be done. With 14 beds in a room at 25€ person/night it should not been very difficult to install a door that closes, instead of keeping it opened with a.... newspaper roll! Sometimes no shower with hot water and no air cond. at all. Breakfast 9am, not so sooner. Avoid this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location - in Old Town. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.0

This hostel had the best atmosphere I have experienced in a while. The lady gave us a map and advice where to go. The downfall of this hostel is the cleanliness and organisation. Some of the staff are very unorganised. The bathroom and toilets weren't cleaned regularly encourage meant they were quite filthy. Instead of the staff watching t.v all the time, it wouldn't hurt to clean the toilets during the day. Overall this place is fine to stay if you are wanting cheap place but good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2016
6.9

Overall a good hostel. Breakfast was below average for a hostel. In a loud location but can't help that. Staff are nice but slightly unorganised. Great location to the beach and other parts of Nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • LucyAlicee
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.3

Great stay at Hostel Smith. We loved the location of the hostel even though we hated carrying our suitcases up so many fights of stairs! We loved the free breakfast with fab views and the rooms were clean and nice. The only problem we had with this hostel was that neither of our keys worked in the door to our room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
6.6

Hostel Smith is a good place if you're completely fine having a place to sleep and shower. The whole place feels a little cramped and dirty, but it'll get the job done. As for it's location, it is in the center of the Old Town with great options for food all around. Pro tip: get up early for the hostel's free breakfast. I went an hour into the alotted 2 hour breakfast and the food was already gone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jul 2016
4.9

they need to keep the showers and bathrooms clean throughout the day, esp with the kinda traffic they have

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • juliandelprince1
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.3

You may have read a review referring to this hostel as the 10 circle of hell. I believe this person is insane. Perfect location, inexpensive and a good place to meet people. The number of facilities low but did not make a big difference.The staff were very kind and helpful, especially Lucy who provided a lot of good information about nice and was happy to help in anything needed. And Andrea was amazing cooking us an authentic Italian meal was delicious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
10.0

This is an incredibly hostel! With nice location (5 min walk to the beach) the staff is very supportive, the have a nice mood and they recommend nice spots in Nice and surrounding areas like Monaco

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.