Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Smith

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 1,015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 1,015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.1
Hostel Smith Located at 20 Rue Droite, , Nice.
Hostel Smith
France
Nice 20 Rue Droite
62% 1015
43.6973959 7.2772725
Hostel Smith
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2016
6.6

Hostel Smith is a good place if you're completely fine having a place to sleep and shower. The whole place feels a little cramped and dirty, but it'll get the job done. As for it's location, it is in the center of the Old Town with great options for food all around. Pro tip: get up early for the hostel's free breakfast. I went an hour into the alotted 2 hour breakfast and the food was already gone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2016
4.9

they need to keep the showers and bathrooms clean throughout the day, esp with the kinda traffic they have

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • juliandelprince1
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.3

You may have read a review referring to this hostel as the 10 circle of hell. I believe this person is insane. Perfect location, inexpensive and a good place to meet people. The number of facilities low but did not make a big difference.The staff were very kind and helpful, especially Lucy who provided a lot of good information about nice and was happy to help in anything needed. And Andrea was amazing cooking us an authentic Italian meal was delicious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
10.0

This is an incredibly hostel! With nice location (5 min walk to the beach) the staff is very supportive, the have a nice mood and they recommend nice spots in Nice and surrounding areas like Monaco

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.9

if u are a night animal,the hostel is very suitable for u because there are so many restaurants just below the hostel and there will be noise untill 3am or later in the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
7.1

Nice place! But internet didn't work! Little bit dirty and showers don't have secure so could be a little unpleasant for girls because it is mixed showers!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
5.4

No lockers or other place to put valuables. Staff surly. Breakfast at 9.00am earliest was too late, especially when it didn't ariive until 10mins after that. I either had to gulp it down or go without so as to get my train at 10.00zam (the station being 20-30mins away).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
6.9

This hostel was a bit less polished than I was expecting. The rooms are a patchwork of mismatched bunkbeds and half of the residents are staff. With that said, the location is optimal for the city center of Nice, and the staff were all extremely kind and inviting. Being that Nice is a bit pricey during the busy season, this might be the best option for a low-budget traveler. However someone seeking more than a place to sleep might think about searching elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Excellent location in the heart of the old town! However, the pub (great Irish pub!) might be loud till 11pm or so; but it was EURO 2016... Breakfast only bread and butter/jam and coffee. Well, enough for me - stayed 3 nights. Staff very helpful; many thanks! Had a fantastic time in Nice/Nizza!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • smithcj11985
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2016
3.7

Stay as a last resort only. Booked a private room in advance but arrived to find that I had been moved to a dorm room. No staff would accept responsibility and blamed it on Hostelworld website (although no problems with bookings at other hostels). Had to renegociate price for dorm room based on current price despite that I booked several weeks before. Unfriendly atmosphere, no towels provided, internet didn't work... I could go on.. there are better options in Nice

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.