Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Smith

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 1,051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 1,051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3
Hostel Smith Located at 20 Rue Droite, , Nice.
Hostel Smith
France
Nice 20 Rue Droite
63% 1051
43.6973959 7.2772725
Hostel Smith
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Everyone there was very nice, welcoming, and helpful. I left a bag on the train and they helped me navigate French information given to me at the train station. The front door sign is hard to see and it's unclear at first what floor and what not but the rooms were nice and the bathrooms were fine. Night life is great and the Indian restaurant down the street was bomb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Sep 2016
2.9

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Uncomfortable beds, very thin mattress and horrible pillows. Filthy rooms. Mice everywhere, especially in the kitchen. Staff are useless, no knowledge of Nice. Unorganised. 20 euros to hire a tiny locker. Very hard to find the hostel, when you finally get there, you have 4 massive flights of stairs to take your luggage up. No security at all. Doors held open with a book or magazine. Rooms are very hot at night. Do not stay here. Most guests left straight away.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.4

The workers are all from different places doing a work exchange, which means the staff were as stoked to be there as you are. The downside to this was that they didn't know the whole town very well and only had a few suggestions on what to do in the area(but it was okay beach all you really need is the beach, which is less then 5min away). The free breakfast was toast and coffee, but of good quality. The kitchen was good. There was no "free food" but the staff would let you use there S&P and oil

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • afteglow0728
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2016
4.6

No AC in the room, so had to keep the windows wide open during sleep. That's how I got over 20 mosquito bites in 2 nights. The receptionists were helpful but didn't seem to be very organised. The two showers have glass doors which are transparent for both men and women, so I was quite uncomfortable in the shower. Simple breakfast. Nice location just in the Old Town but too loud at night. It was not worth the money in my opinion.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Amazing atmosphere at a great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
6.9

Wifi didn't work unless you were in the common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Hostel owner was really nice, offering us bfast the morning we arrived even though we hadn't paid for it. The location is great and atmosphere was good. Enjoyed staying here and would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
4.0

I honestly think this hostel is a great business for the owner and they offer a very bad service to guest. No safety at all, the room is very loaded with junkbeds and it needs a lot of maintenance to be done. With 14 beds in a room at 25€ person/night it should not been very difficult to install a door that closes, instead of keeping it opened with a.... newspaper roll! Sometimes no shower with hot water and no air cond. at all. Breakfast 9am, not so sooner. Avoid this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location - in Old Town. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.0

This hostel had the best atmosphere I have experienced in a while. The lady gave us a map and advice where to go. The downfall of this hostel is the cleanliness and organisation. Some of the staff are very unorganised. The bathroom and toilets weren't cleaned regularly encourage meant they were quite filthy. Instead of the staff watching t.v all the time, it wouldn't hurt to clean the toilets during the day. Overall this place is fine to stay if you are wanting cheap place but good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.