Hostelworld.com

Hostel Smith

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 978 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 978 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.1
Hostel Smith Located at 20 Rue Droite, , Nice.
Hostel Smith
France
Nice 20 Rue Droite
63% 978
43.6973959 7.2772725
Hostel Smith
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
10.0

I stayed here just one night but could happily have stayed longer. Fab location right in the heart of the historical town, couple of minutes to the beach and I found the staff bent over backwards to help me. Clean, friendly, free breakfast which set me up for the day so would come back again no problem ! Owners are lovely and really do everything to make sure your stay is perfect. You can explore the whole town on foot from the hostel. All the bars and shops are on your doorstep. great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
3.4

Me and my friend had booked two beds in a 6 bed dorm 2 month in advance. When we arrived the hostel was overbooked. Their solution: we got two beds in a 12 bed dormitory. We didn't get back any money because apparently the 12 bed dormitory is the same price as the 6 bed dorm.. The kitchen is just tiny, dirty and the water coming out of the sink was cold so nobody bothered to wash the dishes. There weren't enough keys for everyone. Someone at the reception always had to walk us upstairs.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
3.4

It's hard to review this hostel as after we confirmed our booking and arrival time, they double booked out room. We were left at night as two female travellers to find other accommodation. However by far the worst part of this experience was the rudeness of the member of staff on the desk, he wouldn't refund our deposit of €20 or let us speak to the owners! His attitude was hideous. I understand that mistakes happen however it's the way you deal with them and this was extremely unprofessional

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
3.7

This place was terrible. I would highly highly recommend against staying here. There is one bathroom and the showers are in there. There isn't a place for you to change you pretty much shower and step into the bathroom where everyone else is either brushing their teeth or going pee. The wifi was terrible it only worked in the reception which was also very small and only had two seats. In the rooms the wifi doesn't work and neither will your data. The rooms don't have many outlets. Worst hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
5.4

The hostel beds and blankets are very dirty. And the mattress is really uncomfortable to sleep on. They close the reception at 12 midnight so you have to come back before that or pay 20 euros refundable deposit if you want room keys. The breakfast is just bread, butter and variety of jams. Don't stay there if you are going alone. Only good thing is their location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
2.0

Awful. We booked the private room in hostel smith for three nights. We arrived to a dirty, beat up building, ascended a few flights of stairs and came into an erie looking room. They proceeded to tell us there was an issue with our room. Her boss came and informed us that our room had an issue, and offered for us to stay in the large room. She refused to pay for our room that night, even after the girl at the desk promised it would be paid for and sent us away. Don't stay here, just awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
5.7

The best thing is the location, the hostel is in the middle of the old city. We booked a private room for two, that was not bigger than a prison cell. Absolutely overpriced!!! The bathroom was not clean and the staff not very friendly..would not recommend it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
5.4

I wouldn't recommend this hostel. It's in a great location and is very affordable, but there were just too many issues. It was very dirty (particularly the kitchen). They completely ran out of toilet paper one morning and had to go out to buy more (unprepared). The beds were horribly uncomfortable and I felt like they'd fall apart any second. No good common place to hang out, wifi only worked in reception, and some of the staff was very unprofessional.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.3

The place locates next to Nice old town which is convenient to walk to the city centre or the beach. The staffs are nice, friendly, and helpful. However, our stay was not impressive. We didn't have a key of our room and when we asked for it, it required €20 deposit for each key. Bedroom, bathroom , and toilets were not really clean. Bed sheets and pillows were in bad conditions. Wifi was provided but was not able be connected in the bedroom. Moreover, lightings and sockets were not sufficient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location and awesome staff. Facilities as not great..bt awesome atmosphere...lots of helpful guests. Facility can be improved

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.