Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Smith

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,081 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,081 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
Hostel Smith Located at 20 Rue Droite, , Nice.
Hostel Smith
France
Nice 20 Rue Droite
74% 1081
43.6973959 7.2772725
Hostel Smith
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Loved this hostel! The actual dorms are super bare bones but the staff and location are amazing. Quick walk to the beach, shops, and lots of restuarants. Breakfast was provided and the staff are all travelers themselves making them very approachable and knowledgable. They even took us out to go dancing! Definitely would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.6

Really hard to find, wifi was spotty at best when in the rooms, and the shower flooded, but apart from that it was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

This hostel is located in a convenient area. Only few minutes of walking distance to shops, bars, the beach and also the castle hill where you can watch the beautiful sunset. The staff were really lovely and very helpful. They all are volunteers studying or traveling which made it easier to talk and connect with them. We played card games while chilling in the terrace and they took us dancing later in the night. Top score to the hostel and their staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
9.4

It's a very interesting place to stay if you don't have a problem with the bare bones. The staff are all super friendly. Most of them are international students studying French. The hostel is located within the old town of Nice, which is astoundingly beautiful. It is not like any other hostel I have been to. Everyone was friendly and wanted to get to know me, and they were super accommodating. Breakfast is toast and jam with coffee, which isn't much, but it's better than nothing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
10.0

Perfect location. So close to the beach, to the market, and to restaurants. The staff are so friendly and they make you feel welcome as soon as you enter the hostel. Also, thanks for the free breakfast! Will definitely be back here again in the summer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
7.1

The reception was closed when I wanted to check out even though the staff told me that it would be opened. I deposited 20 EURO for the key, but I cannot get my money back since the reception was closed. I have written mails and left messages on the website, but I have not heard anything from the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Nov 2016
8.0

The staff, kitchen, dining room are excellent. However finding the hostel is very hard and the lights switched off as we were walking up the stairwell with our cases - this instantly made us feel a little worried. We were greeted by one of the staff members and everything was perfect! The staff make it the best! I would advise them to fix up the bed rooms as the beds squeak every time you move and they are not very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • shubhamagarwal92
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Oct 2016
2.3

Old house converted to hostel. Inconvenient to find. Don't be tempted by free breakfast. Very basic one which includes just milk, bread and butter. When asked for any cereal the lady was rude enough to quote that they were only hostel in nice to provide breakfast. No soap or even toilet paper in washroom. Have to deposit 20 euros for the keys which is refundable though. Not safe in night (even the staff admitted). Reception not at all 24-7. Really bad experience, not at all value for money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We thank you for your review and we try our best to look for ways to offer our customers a pleasant experience in Nice. In France, the typical breakfast includes bread, butter, jam and coffee as also posted on our facebook page. We strive to offer you the best we can with our reasonable dorm prices. Our hostel is located in the heart of Vieux Nice...3 minutes walk to the farmers market and about 4 minutes walk to the beach. Nice has since tightented its secutity and we are very happy that we have not had encountered any issues. The reception is open according to our hours of operation. Feel free to talk to one of our staff if you have any concerns. Again, we appreciate your comment and wish you safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
6.3

The bed was terrible, me and my friend has serious itchiness from bed bugs after we stayed at Hostel Smith! We went to pharmacy to get medicine and it's been one week already but the itchiness are still there. Location was great, staffs are great, but the room is terrible and breakfast is awful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Oct 2016
6.3

This hostel was in a great location and was cheap. It has potiential to be a much better hostel if some renovations are done, the beds were uncomfortable and the room we were in was crampped. To get a key you have to pay €20 deposit and our room door had no door handle, we were told to keep it propped open with a book at all times. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was very basic (bread, jam and coffee) but was still good. Not a great place to stay but cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.