Hostelworld.com

Hostel Smith

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 965 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 965 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.6
Hostel Smith Located at 20 Rue Droite, , Nice.
Hostel Smith
France
Nice 20 Rue Droite
67% 965
43.6973959 7.2772725
Hostel Smith
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
3.7

This place was terrible. I would highly highly recommend against staying here. There is one bathroom and the showers are in there. There isn't a place for you to change you pretty much shower and step into the bathroom where everyone else is either brushing their teeth or going pee. The wifi was terrible it only worked in the reception which was also very small and only had two seats. In the rooms the wifi doesn't work and neither will your data. The rooms don't have many outlets. Worst hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
5.4

The hostel beds and blankets are very dirty. And the mattress is really uncomfortable to sleep on. They close the reception at 12 midnight so you have to come back before that or pay 20 euros refundable deposit if you want room keys. The breakfast is just bread, butter and variety of jams. Don't stay there if you are going alone. Only good thing is their location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
2.0

Awful. We booked the private room in hostel smith for three nights. We arrived to a dirty, beat up building, ascended a few flights of stairs and came into an erie looking room. They proceeded to tell us there was an issue with our room. Her boss came and informed us that our room had an issue, and offered for us to stay in the large room. She refused to pay for our room that night, even after the girl at the desk promised it would be paid for and sent us away. Don't stay here, just awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
5.7

The best thing is the location, the hostel is in the middle of the old city. We booked a private room for two, that was not bigger than a prison cell. Absolutely overpriced!!! The bathroom was not clean and the staff not very friendly..would not recommend it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
5.4

I wouldn't recommend this hostel. It's in a great location and is very affordable, but there were just too many issues. It was very dirty (particularly the kitchen). They completely ran out of toilet paper one morning and had to go out to buy more (unprepared). The beds were horribly uncomfortable and I felt like they'd fall apart any second. No good common place to hang out, wifi only worked in reception, and some of the staff was very unprofessional.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.3

The place locates next to Nice old town which is convenient to walk to the city centre or the beach. The staffs are nice, friendly, and helpful. However, our stay was not impressive. We didn't have a key of our room and when we asked for it, it required €20 deposit for each key. Bedroom, bathroom , and toilets were not really clean. Bed sheets and pillows were in bad conditions. Wifi was provided but was not able be connected in the bedroom. Moreover, lightings and sockets were not sufficient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location and awesome staff. Facilities as not great..bt awesome atmosphere...lots of helpful guests. Facility can be improved

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2016
7.7

My friend and I stayed in the twin appartments. Although it was a 5 minute walk from the hostel it was still in a fabulous location. Beds were good, shower pressure good and security great. But a little dirty and had weird smells.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
6.6

This place is very difficult to find, even though they warn you of this fact. We walked past the door 3 times before finding the very small sign. You then have to walk up a flight of stairs into a sketchy looking door that is never locked. The wifi barely worked and only in the reception area, never in the rooms. The shower never got hot throughout my entire shower and everything seemed dirty. It was in a good location though and wouldn't be bad if you were staying only for a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.0

What an absolute mess of a place. Staff were friendly/nice but had no clue what was going on. Was given a room key for one room, and a locker in another room (solve that one for me). The travellers coming through were really cool, which made the non-functioning wifi and computers not so big a deal, but still an annoyance for booking further travels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.