Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Smith

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1091 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
5.4

The hostel was not very secure. The bedroom door had a broken lock that was virtually useless and the lockers could be opened very easily even when locked as they were quite cheap. The location is great, especially if you are traveling when it is warm enough to swim. The staff were fine but they mixed up our reservation and put us in dorm-style even though we had reserved a private room. There is really no lobby or communal space, the rooms are dirty and the windows are broken. Not safe or nice

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.0

Smith Hostel was very cosy and central. The rooms weren't that clean and there wasn't great lockers or space for baggage. The wifi wasn't very good in the bedrooms either. The staff were quite helpful and friendly. Overall, this place has all you need when you're on a budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mrflc8228
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
4.0

Reservation could not be found(20/01-22/01) so instead of the 2 beds private room were put on 8 bed shared room, the person at the reception could not speak much English and it was not possible to solve the reservation issue at arrival. The pillows were stinking,at a least we were given clean sheets, toilets and shower were clean.Never had breakfast as on Sat 21/01 we waited until 09:15 and reception had not opened,we left and did not come back for the 2nd day,don't go unless you speak French.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
5.4

Staff were generally quite rude and unhelpful. Booked a private room to find out it was booked out when I arrived, still got a 6 bed dorm to myself which was oka. Room could not be locked from the outside! I noticed no other room that could be locked let alone shut, very unsafe. Did have lockers however luckily only one out of six in he dorm room I was in worked.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • BlakeB95
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
10.0

After travelling all around Europe for 3 months, this was definitely the best hostel I visited. The overall atmosphere was awesome and location great! The staff were incredibly nice and from day one I felt like we were all one big family or even friends for years. Great facilities here as well. I would recommend anyone to stay here as it offers a perfect balance to those who want space and time to themselves, as well as going out, meeting people and having fun. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Loved this hostel! The actual dorms are super bare bones but the staff and location are amazing. Quick walk to the beach, shops, and lots of restuarants. Breakfast was provided and the staff are all travelers themselves making them very approachable and knowledgable. They even took us out to go dancing! Definitely would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.6

Really hard to find, wifi was spotty at best when in the rooms, and the shower flooded, but apart from that it was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

This hostel is located in a convenient area. Only few minutes of walking distance to shops, bars, the beach and also the castle hill where you can watch the beautiful sunset. The staff were really lovely and very helpful. They all are volunteers studying or traveling which made it easier to talk and connect with them. We played card games while chilling in the terrace and they took us dancing later in the night. Top score to the hostel and their staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
9.4

It's a very interesting place to stay if you don't have a problem with the bare bones. The staff are all super friendly. Most of them are international students studying French. The hostel is located within the old town of Nice, which is astoundingly beautiful. It is not like any other hostel I have been to. Everyone was friendly and wanted to get to know me, and they were super accommodating. Breakfast is toast and jam with coffee, which isn't much, but it's better than nothing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
10.0

Perfect location. So close to the beach, to the market, and to restaurants. The staff are so friendly and they make you feel welcome as soon as you enter the hostel. Also, thanks for the free breakfast! Will definitely be back here again in the summer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.