X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Smith Reviews

20 Rue Droite, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
933 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

At our arrival, we were informed that our room wasn't in the actual hostel, but in another building which was not in the middle of the Old Town. The bunk bed was so fragile that whatever move you made, it swung so much that you were scared it might break apart, and it also made awful loud noises. We had to walk 7 minutes to the hostel to beg for fresh toilet paper every second day. Plus: WIFI dind't work because the Hostel hadn't managed to pay the bill for it. We'd never recommend Hostel Smith.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

In general I found the hostel ok, but the matresses were awful, full of insects and I got three pinches, like mosquito ones but bigger, very itchy, we got new bed sheets which was nice and the location of the room (privat) was also good, just few mins away from the tram


86%

Probably making more copies of the keys of the rooms, once there were less keys available than the number of people hosted.


80%

Great staff, perfect location. Lots of good suggestions of what to do and maps.


60%

Some of the staff were absolutely useless.


51%

Warning, there is NO hot water, not even warm. Showering in the cold was a mission. It was quite difficult to find this place so look closely at the buzz in signs on doors to see Hostel Smith. Our room was very noisy due to all the street noise and 5am street cleaning that we could hear everything from. Had a poor sleep, but if youre a deep sleeper maybe you'll be ok.


60%

The first night was a bit of a nightmare because of the smell inside and the noise outside. The second night was much better as I was switched to another room that didn't smell and had a reasonable shower and zero noise from outside.


80%

Awesome location. Close to everything you will want in the old town of Nice. Wifi did not work at all during our stay and staff did not care when told. All staff but one were very rude to everyone in the hostel


74%

At first we were a bit sceptic about the hostel. Being the cheapest hostel in expensive Nice it is a nice hostel. It is cosy but just not as clean as other hostels for the same prices in other cities. Breakfast is free which is nice (it only includes some jelly and bread but thats fine). The streets around the hostel are really noisy so don't expect a perfect night of rest. The people are friendly and the place of the hostel is perfect! After a while I really liked my stay over there.

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel owner was absolutely lovely, so helpful, we loved chatting to him


77%

Well, the balance money-experience is ok. The good things: is just in the heart of old town, friendly staff Bad things: I slept in a bedroom facing to the street and was really noisy, fortunately I'm really good at sleeping. If you're a very relaxed traveler stay, otherwise take a not so cheap option.


34%

This hostel had a really great location close to the beach and old town, however everything was fairly dirty, the staff was folding laundry in the sleeping room until midnight and repeatedly turned the lights on while people were sleeping. The showers were cold and had no water pressure. The breakfast was pathetic, only bread and coffee. There is no common area. It's cheap, but not a great place to stay.


34%

- In a 6 bed dorm there are only 5 lockers - the glass doors of the shower are see-through. it's a mixed bathroom and you can definitely see everything. very unpleasent for women - very few sockets to charge your devices. In our room there were only 2 for 6 people. Why not add some power strips? - the window doesn't close properly and the room is above a bar. You can imagine how loud it was. - wifi works only in the reception area not in the rooms - only good thing about it is its position

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Hostel Smith is located in the center of the old city, making it a perfect place for visiting Nice for a few days. However, there are a few issues that can be easily solved. First, the lockers in the rooms are not big enough to contain, for example, a laptop. Second, no hooks in the shower room. Last, breakfast starts at 9am. This means that you can't have breakfast if you want to get up early to visit the city. Anyway, I would recommend Hostel Smith to young people on vacation.


91%

location location location. this place is dead center of the best part of Nice. maybe a bit dilapidated, but for the location and price it is well worth it.


57%

While I was there I noticed the bedding was not properly cleaned. All they do is change the top sheets and the rest of the sheets are not cleaned which is unsanitary and made the room smell dirty.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The room itself was not at the address of the hostel, and so we still walked a bit through the old city of Nice. This was nice, but since we had a lot of luggage, it was also tiring. The room itself was good, though another roll of toilet paper would not be bad. Also some towels for the dishes would be good. For the rest, good room, nothing bad about it.

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Booked for 5 nights and only stayed 1. The security is terrible, the showers are completely see through and beds uncomfortable. For what you are paying its pretty bad. The only positive to this hostel is that it's in the old town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Alexandra, We are sorry you didn t like the place, We remain you that you had a booking for 1 night only, not 5, and that you have paid 38,00 EUROS for two people. All the best H,Smith

60%

The showers just have frosted glass doors so everyone can see you which is kinda weird.. The staff was really nice but the whole place is kinda sketchy (you have to buzz in and go up a dark staircase and then a different staircase to get to your room). Wasn't horrible, just odd


97%

Excellent stay in the best part of the city. All the rooms were newly renovated and we had a comfortable stay. Frank and his staff were very helpful and made our time in nice very pleasant Highly reccomended, great facilities in the best location possible. Thanks guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anora, Thank you so much for such a good comment. We hope to have you another time. All the best. H.Smith I

(46 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback