Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Strowis

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1007 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1007 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
7.7

Very friendly place. Great for location, staff go the extra mile, and the garden is wonderful. A place with character, with many characters staying there. An older building, so the showers and bathrooms were clean but smelled bad, in the way old buildings do. Don't expect the place to smell like flowers 😋

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
7.1

This hostel was supposed to be a peaceful break from all the hectic traveling. Their website says you can check-in at 8AM but your room is actually ready at 3PM. There was no AC so we had to leave our window open, despite the partiers next door in the streets until about 2AM. Call ahead and ask for a lower bunk, as the top ones are hard to get into as well as not fall off. Their "walking tour" is actually a pamplet with no map, just directions on where to go. Still a good hostel though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2017
6.6

Too few staff, always wait 10-15 minutes whenever you need anything (check-in/check-out). Breakfest is not worth 6€. Rooms are ok, lockers and fridge inconveniently placed, kitchen is dirty. Main male staff was very rude. The coin (given out with deposit) used to close my locker got stuck. The staff person accused me of losing the coin, told me that my claim was impossible. He then tried again and my coin fell out of the lock. He did not apologize and further accused me of being careless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
6.6

- Showers were cold more often than not; - Street was noisy at night until 4 am, the staff should have done something more about that; - Changing the entrance code every day is not practical; - Dorm door was usually unlocked; - Few toilets and often smelly; - Soap always missing at girls' toilet on the 1st floor; - Staff friendly but not very efficient (I was not given bed linen when arrived; staff sometimes absent at the reception); - Price is affordable (main pro); - Nice, quiet atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Lovely hostel with a convenient location for accessing the centre of Utrecht as well as being close to the central station. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and wonderful, very helpful staff! Will definitely be using again if back in Utrecht!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.3

There was a mix up with bookings, but this was dealt with effectively. Room was clean, as was rest of hostel. Very secure. Staff helpful with recommendations etc. Lockers in basement not in shared rooms. Adequate showers and sinks. Breakfast was standard for a hostel, and you could have a lot of it. Staff vet friendly also. Lovely old building with a great atmosphere created, but without being too loud at night. Good location close to a great city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
9.4

Hostel Strowis provided great facilities (for example a kitchen with all appliances needed to cook), a nice breakfast (€6), a cosy garden and common room and a good atmosphere. It's location was brilliant as it was in the heart of Utrecht and it was only a short walk to Utrecht Centraal which was a 30 minute train ride from Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing amazing staff! Good kitchen and facilities, very clean and the hostel building is so charming. A wide range of ages staying which is nicer than just party travellers. Good location, cheap beer and the best people. Definitely staying again and would recommend to everyone wanting a good time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.4

It is a little cramped but that minor detail is quickly overcome by the overall charm of Strowis and of Utrecht itself. The beds are a little short but this place doesn't cut corners and works fine for any number of people at once or alone. Paying 6€ for breakfast is absolutely worth it (and coffee/tea is included in the price). Internet connection is fine, a bit wonky when overloaded but frankly not excessively annoying even then. The most enjoyable stay of my two week trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
8.0

Despite having my microwave burger pinched from the fridge ( was labelled ) i would still highly recommend this hostel. I had free coffee on arrival, then the room seemed spacious. I found the showers okay, no problem with just pressing a button. Also, one must be patient, the water will be cold at first; then will get hot. The best feature of this hostel is the garden and pond. Very relaxing area, with the church bells. You do have to pay for buffet breakfast, but okay. Most staff were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.