Hostelworld.com

Hostel Strowis

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostel Strowis Located at Boothstraat 8, , Utrecht.
Hostel Strowis
Netherlands
Utrecht Utrecht 3512 BW Boothstraat 8
88% 662
52.0946686 5.1222091
Hostel Strowis
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st May 2016
7.7

In general it is a nice hostel, the staff is good, the location is very central since it is in the city center and you can go to the train station walking, 15 minute walk. It was pretty clean too. However, not having a locker in the room is not good at all. They offer you a locker outside for free, but imagine having to go down stairs every time you need to pick up something. I was there alone and I wanted to get to know people but there were some strange and old people there in the time...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Clean, secure, well located, and a great staff. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.9

The staff were the friendliest I have ever met - every single one of them always had a cheery smile and seemed genuinely pleased to talk and help. They all seem to like working there The pond in the garden is lovely and with lots of rare toads. The showers could do with a chair or more hooks, There could be more toilets and some private basin areas. It was limiting with men and women together in public at the sinks. The main sitting area \ bar \ dining area is lovely and very relaxed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ingridmicallef6968
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.4

We stayed at Hostel Strowis for two nights. My friend was really sick and one of the staff members very, very helpful in booking a doctors appointment and even upgraded us to a quieter room free of charge. The staff are amazing. The atmosphere was comfortable and friendly. The showers are clean. Only downside was that the lockers were downstairs - not in rooms. Aside from this, we had a perfect stay. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Very and helpful friendly staff, good location. We had a nice stay here, thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
6.3

Standard hostel. Lockers in basement are a bit of an inconvenience but safer, could still do with something in the rooms themselves though. Staff are really pleasant and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2016
8.0

I enjoyed my stay at Strowis. The rooms were warm and reasonably comfy after a 30 hours of flying. The people in the hostel gave off a slight uneasy vibe so luckily i was travelling someone else so it didn't worry me. The hostel has nice old school holland design really liked the layout and lethal dutch staircases. The night staff were super friendly and helpful especially brekky 😉 served me tea after a cold walk from the station it was a pleasant gesture. The morning staff weren't so nice 😢

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.1

The hostel is located in the centrum of Utrecht and a variety of grocery shops, restaurants and other shops are located just around the corner. The staff is very friendly and it is possible to check in early. They have a cozy garden and a nice common room where you can buy food to a fair price . Unfortunately the common room will be locked up after 1 am. All premises were clean and sufficiently furnished. The atmosphere in the hostel were relaxed but the guests weren`t communicative at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Mar 2016
8.6

Not a bad little hostel. Only gripe is that the bar was expensive for the drinks but very nice Decor and chilled out

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
9.4

I stayed here 6 months ago and I had a lovely time, so decided to come back. Staffs are friendly & super helpful, great location and good atmosphere. Shower was a bit cold though, I will stay if I have a chance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.