Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Sue Candelaria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
10.0

Our stay at Hostal Sue was amazing! It was extremely clean, the building itself has amazing colonial architecture, and it's a great place to meet other travelers. Not a party hostel but still social and you can actually sleep. Really can't recommend this place enough, the staff is amazing and extremely friendly. Thank you for hosting us *~*

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.4

Very accommodating here. I arrived at 5 am and they let me check in to a bed and sleep even though usually check in times at hostels are 1 or 2 pm. They didn't even take any info down to fully register me, they just let me sleep and we took care of everything when I woke up several hours later. At which time I figured it would be too late to get breakfast (it was almost noon) but they asked if I had had breakfast and when I said no they prepared it for me. Suuuuper nice staff here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
8.9

Enough good things can't be said about the staff. They were friendly, outgoing and very caring. The facilities are a bit basic. Bunks are warm and comfortable. 6 bed dorm only had 4 outlets. There's no lockers in the rooms, but there's personal lockers in the common area that fit a daypack. Location is right in the heart of La Candelaria. Bathrooms are simple but there's hot water. Atmosphere was a bit dead, but I put that down to the people staying there rather than the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
8.9

Overall pretty nice. The staff at the reception were a hit or miss - some were super great and helpful, others not at all. The breakfast is served a bit late - they say 8:30, but that usually meant earliest 8:45; not ideal if you want to get an early start.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.6

No complaints about this hostel. Overall pretty decent

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

Relatively big hostel, but kept really clean. Staff helpful and friendly, a lot of games and activities available. Kitchen is on a small side and breakfast a bit small (scrambled eggs with some bread, hot chocolate and juice), but all in all a really nice place. The three bed room doesn't have a locker in the room, there are only small lockers in the general area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
9.4

Hostel Sue is an awesome place. It felt like a home away from home to me. I will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Sue Candelaria is an amazing hostel with some great hippie vibes and lovely lovely staff. I felt right at home at this hostel and would definitley recommend it! The only downside is I thought the location was a bit dodgey at night... especially if you are travelling alone but i felt completely safe once back at the hostel 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff were incredibly helpful and found us a place to sleep with a duvet having arrived at 6am. Also helped me to find a place to buy a cellphone after mine had broken. Good breakfasts, hot showers and good WiFi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • themurph79
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

Only stopped over night so can't give a full review. But what I saw for the few hours I was there was good. Staff were very very good and the place very clean and safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.