Hostelworld.com

Hostel Sylvabelle

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 370 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.4
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 370 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.4
Hostel Sylvabelle Located at 63 Rue Sylvabelle, , Marseille.
Hostel Sylvabelle
France
Marseille 13006 63 Rue Sylvabelle
55% 370
43.2888946 5.3776075
Hostel Sylvabelle
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2016
5.4

There was no key for the rooms so basically anyone could come in, when we came some of the people were already robbed. There was a light that turns on few seconds when someone walk under it and it was massive annoying seeing that light flashing all the time! Women toilet and shower out of service, we had to go to the man dormitory and use them. The price might be high because of Euro championship, but definitely no worthy! Honestly the worthy price for this hostel should be 8,50 euro per night!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
2.6

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL. I have stayed at ~20, and this was by far the worst. The staff were rude and unhelpful, and took ages to even respond to me. There were no locks on the rooms -2 people had their things stolen. Everything is falling apart. The bathrooms in my female dorm were all broken and looked like they had been for a long time, so we had to use the men's. 1 sheet, no pillowcase, dirty scratchy blanket, broken lights. Marseille is great, but this hostel took from the experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
3.7

good: price not too bad, staff were polite, plugin for every bed bad: disgusting bathrooms in a poor location for women (wc's should have been fixed by now), lights sensitive to movement in the dorm rooms (meaning they basically turn on constantly through the night). No social atmosphere to get to know other hostel guests. ugly: no kitchen to cook! Cheap hostel- they charge an extra euro for a pillowcase! Poor security- no keys for entry into the dorms. Don't go here unless it's 1 night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
4.9

Terrible security for your personal belongings. Also shady atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
3.4

This place seemed unsafe. There were no locks on the dorm rooms, and the women's bathroom was located inside the men's dorm, which is not very pleasant for the women or the men trying to sleep. I paid for two nights, and on the first morning, a staff person woke me up by banging on my bedframe to demand to know whether I was staying or leaving. In short, cheap but not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
4.3

Not a place to meet young travellers even though I was staying in a 14 or so dorm, most ladies were in their 30-40s. Bad security and curfew was not ideal. Unhelpful staff. Bathroom was under renovation so had to go into Mens dorm for shower and toilet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
4.9

Encontré una cucaracha en el baño

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • bftesfay4903
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Apr 2016
7.1

Good value in a good location. The hotel is in the center,within easy walking distance of the sights. But lacks any hostel feel. It's a hotel with added dorms. They have good size lockers in the rooms. The pillows needs to be replaced. Over all not a bad place to spend a few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
4.3

I was supposed to be in a 12 female bedroom with private bathroom, but we had to use the toilets located in the male bedroom – reserved for girls. Toilets were smelly, didn’t have windows, and one of the days the lights were broken – which meant either having a lamp or being in the dark. The staff – with the exception of the cleaning ladies, all very nice and helpful – was highly unhelpful, and the overall feeling was more to be treated like someone they wanted money from instead of a person.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Apr 2016
4.0

What a waste of money. The staff weren't friendly. Had difficulty checking in, apparently we had no booking and it took her ages too finally find it and with no apology. Rooms basic and not that nice, no proper shower either just the shower head that you have to manually hold with no shower screen so water goes everywhere. Wouldn't go back

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.