Hostelworld.com

Hostel The Roof

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5
Hostel The Roof Located at Centro, Avenida Venezuela #9-63 , apt 3, , Cartagena.
Hostel The Roof
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar Centro, Avenida Venezuela #9-63 , apt 3
71% 209
10.4253097 -75.5465894
Hostel The Roof
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hmayhe106897
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th May 2016
7.4

The best thing about this place is the roof terrace! Our room was the only one on the roof and sometimes felt like we had the place to ourselves. Good AC which was essential given the heat in Cartagena. Good wifi but didn't work in our room. The staff were really helpful in booking tours and buses for us. Right beside a supermarket and on the edge of the old town. Only downside was our door didn't lock properly and could be opened with just a little force! No lockers available for private rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
4.3

-sheets were stained -pillows were lumpy and had the characteristics of stale bread -AC was broken -limited lighting -no one else was staying at the hostel, perhaps not coincidentally

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.1

This hostel has an awesome roof top area but no one seems to use it. The staff were really helpful and told us how much we should pay for transport to our next destination. There's a supermarket very close by and it's within walking distance to most places. Would recommend staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
8.6

Basic hostel, kind of quiet but close to everything. Rooftop is indeed excellent, and hostel was clean. Staff helpful but not too talkative. Good price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
6.0

Hostel nicely located near Cartagena old town. Dorm bess all have lockers with electrical outlet, which is very convenient, and privacy curtains. However the atmosphere there is completely dead ; they have a great terrace but do not do anything of it (the bar is closed, no breakfast, not even music). Also the decoration is a little creepy, I changed hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
7.7

excellent, un lugar muy tranquilo!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • saggy_fox4861
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2016
6.6

Not a very pretty hostel and a bit away from the main old town area but staff were friendly and the huge roof terrace is a plus point - they should make better use of this, open it up to non residence etc and create a better atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Jan 2016
7.4

Good location, 3 min walk to old town, huge supermarket 10m away from the door. I really liked the dorm rooms here, having lock boxes with power points in each bed was great, plus privacy curtains were amazing. Kitchen is good, in a need of restocking cutlery/cups/plates etc. Not an overly social place, a guy who works (thinks he's a DJ) there seems to sleep on the roof top then play psytrance music really loud at 7am, not the best for enjoying your morning coffee in peace. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jlynnesand369
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2016
5.1

The hostel was quite dirty including the sheets of the private room we stayed in. They had odd rules for security that did not seem to make much sense. Good location overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.