Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Uppelink Ghent

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1,566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1,566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
Hostel Uppelink Ghent Located at Sint-Michielsplein 21, , Gent.
Hostel Uppelink Ghent
Belgium
Gent Oost-Vlaanderen 9000 Sint-Michielsplein 21
94% 1566
51.0538855 3.7199020
Hostel Uppelink Ghent
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.7

Spacious and beautiful rooms with great views Well thought out hostel and friendly staff running the show. Really like this place for it's style - and cheap beers! Found the Wifi frustrating at times - possibly could add more APs and up the bandwidth?? But the price was very reasonable. Thanks everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.3

I don't think I have ever stayed at a hostel at such an amazing and central location. I was positively surprised by the atmosphere. The hostel is quite big, and the common areas are spacious but still homely. It's quite a good place to just hang out and to get to know some fellow travellers. Most dorms are large with many beds, which for me is not a plus. I think the prices are a bit high, but that's probably also due to the location. Carefully look into what rooms are available when booking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel in a beautiful old building in the centre of Ghent. Location couldn't be better. Only reason why I gave 4/5 for location is because it is next to the tram tracks and you can hear and feel the tram go by. If you're a heavy sleeper like me though you'll be fine. Showers are clean but washrooms are a little smelly. They're also co-ed. Love the high ceilings of the buildings. Top bunks are hard to get into though. It also shakes the whole bunk bed when getting into.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
8.6

Locker could be bigger. Doesn't fit carry-on size backpack. The view is literally the best you'll get in the city from the lounge, kitchen, certain rooms upstairs etc. Doors use security device access which is good. Drink machines downstairs. Nice kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.7

Still one of my favourites Hostels in Europe. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Beers are cheap and location is unbeatable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.1

Great location, friendly staff, and free breakfast! This place also has a great atmosphere and is very clean. I would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.7

Lovely location. Friendly and helpful staff. An undoubted must stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sampfitzner
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.6

Location, location, location! Right in the heart of Ghent overlooking the river, the views felt like something out of a postcard. It wasn't an overly social hostel as most people tended to stick to themselves so probably something to consider if you're a solo traveller. They also make you book a minimum of three nights which was a bit annoying as 2 nights is sufficient amount of time to do Ghent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.3

The hostel was great. Main gripe though was that my room was right over the tram tracks so very loud (and I'm a very heavy sleeper). My bed shook a little every time a tram went past. I asked for ear plugs and was told that they were a euro which I thought was a bit rich given how loud the room was. The noise can't be helped but a much better way to deal with it would be to proactively offer free earplugs for goodwill :) The guy that checked me in was lovely. Despite his Mexican knowledge 😉

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.9

Brilliant location right on the water, surrounded by beautiful old buildings. Dorm was clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast and wifi were good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.