Hostelworld.com

Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Hostel Urbano Located at San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose.
Hostel Urbano
Costa Rica
San Jose San Pedro, Montes de Oca 195-2050 San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca
90% 708
9.9331221 -84.0527701
Hostel Urbano
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2016
8.6

This hostel is clean, safe, and located close to a grocery store and to buses to get downtown. The only issue I had was with the Argentine man working at the hostel. He made me feel uncomfortable with his sexist and machismo comments about me. I did not appreciate being told I belonged in the kitchen as I made my lunch. All other staff was awesome and really helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
9.1

Juan, the owner/ manager, was awesome--very funny and helpful. Nice hostel, in terms of atmosphere and style. Walls a little thin at night but it quieted down after 10 and 11. Location is right in the center of the university area and across from a park and only about a 15 minute bus ride to downtown. Felt very safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
9.1

Solid spot near a vibrant and seemingly safe university area. Only drawback was that I had a flight to catch, and this place is pretty far from the airport so you're looking at their expensive taxi or a string of public buses (hispanohablantes only) to get there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Everyone was absolutely amazing, even the other guests. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th May 2016
8.0

Good hostel with a nice little garden out the back with a lovely cat :) Close to student bars and supermarkets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 75 reviews
1st May 2016
8.6

This hostel has some great common areas & a really nice vibe. The kitchen facilities & free breakfast are great & the staff are very kind/helpful/available. It's located in a nice part of SJ which feels safe & vibrant - in close proximity to the university. Buses into town are frequent & easy to use & cost roughly 50c/ride. Lots of supermarkets close by. Just 2 things - The property would definitely benefit from more bathrooms, and the central private room was loud & stuffy, it needs aircon :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my one night stay at Hostel Urbano. The best part was the staff who were very helpful in helping me to plan my first trip to Costa Rica. I also appreciated the simple breakfast and the availability of computers for free. As much as I liked the place, it is in the middle of the big city (not particullarly close to the airport), and on my next trip I likely will avoid going into San Jose at all. But, I do recommend the hostel if you are in the neighborhood. Nice garden. Nice peopl

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michellouise
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.7

We walked into Hostel Urbano and felt like we walked into our own home. Juan let us put our bags in our room before checking in and his sarcasm made us laugh even after a rough day of travel. The dorms were big and clean, beds super comfy and bathrooms spacious and spotless. The kitchen was well stocked and functional and the living spaces were varied and comfortable. I can easily see how people live here. Juan also makes delicious pancakes for breakfast, a talent only second to his sarcasm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.4

I only stayed here one night, however was made to feel very welcome by staff. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • risarenay3254
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.1

Great hostel with great staff. There's really homey lived in vibe here which is good if you're looking for a relaxing stay rather than a party hostel. The hostel is located in an area outside the touristy city center, and close to the university which means there are plenty of good cheap food options and bars nearby. The city center is easily accessible by bus for about 60 cents and 10 minutes of your time. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.