X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Urbano Reviews

San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
302 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Everything was really nice:-) I have maybe two recommendations for the future: -possible payment with credit card would nice -more facilities for the garden in terms of cosy sitting areas would be nice (so far there is only a mobile pavilion which is usually occupied by the smokers

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

i love this place. the persons who are working there are great, the rooms are great, the breakfast is fine and i am always happy to stay there. thumps up

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel good location great helpful staff


91%

Good, clean hostel in the university area -- away from downtown but still easy to get to by bus. Staff are friendly and helpful. Nice kitchen and decent breakfast included. Right across the street from a bus stop and bank, but a good supermarket is a bit of a trek. Not a party hostel, but unlike many hostels in San Jose they don't have a curfew. Reception closes, but you can get a key to head out before they do. Would definitely stay here again.


83%

It's a fairly large hostel, with a big communal kitchen, and an upstairs. We stayed in a private room as well as the dorms, both of which were clean, sufficient and quiet. The wi fi works great in the upstairs sitting area, which is nicely decorated too. The location isn't too bad. There is a supermarket in walking distance, as well as two fruit stands up the road. Downtown is only a short bus ride. The staff is friendly and helpful.


97%

Although this hostel is a little out of the city centre, the staff were brilliant and the place had a friendly, chilled atmosphere. Free pancakes in the morning, a TV to veg out, and a cute puppy dog made it feel like home. Would highly recommend staying here :)


97%

The staff, Kate,Claudia and Camellia were outstanding. They made sure I made my appointment with my accountant and set aside a small table near the outdoor patio where I could work on my US tax returns. The fresh breakfast of pancakes,pineapple and coffee was ample and delicious. Kate introduced me to one or two other visitors from the USA who were also preparing to retire in Costa Rica and I was able to exchange useful information with them.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place close to all students bars. Excellent staff, very available and efficient. I recommand it.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Super nice staff, the reception girl was awesome and very helpful. Nice room, clean with private bathroom. Only downside: far from the downtown, you need a bus to get there and it may take quite a long time depending on traffic. However, it's located in the university neighbourhood so it has SO MUCH cheaper prices, which was great for us, especially regarding food and bars.


94%

Great hostel with lovely staff. Good value for money with decent sized rooms .


80%

Super godt hostel/vandrehjem, jeg har været der flere gange og kan helt sikkert anbefale dem. Et af de bedste vandrehjemskøkkener jeg har oplevet, og jeg har efterhånden boet på mange forskellige i Costa Rica og regionen.


100%

Super friendly and helpful staff


94%

was a very good experience, staff were super friendly and helpful. hostel was very clean for being a hostel. We only stayed one night and woke up to a breakfast of fresh coffee and pancakes. I would highly recommend this place!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place! Big room, big lockers, computers, pool table, good kitchen. Good wifi throughout the hostel, nice pancake and pineapple breakfast. There's a big garden to hang out and to smoke, complete with a cat and little dog. Very clean, comfy beds. Lovely and super helpful staff, they even have a long term storage room. Supermarket across the street, buses to downtown, 5 mins from shopping mall and party street! Must stay here!


100%

Excellent staff. They were extremely friendly. The location was great also. There is a street nearby that is full of bars (where all the university students go). Also close to public transport. The hostel itself is also really nice, clean and comfortable. It reminds me of my childhood when I used to visit my rich friends' houses. This hostel also has a really cute pet dog and a cat which inhabit the backyard. My parents never let me own either.


94%

Only stayed there for a day but really enjoyed it. The hostel is very clean. The staff is so nice. Breakfast is amazing. But the location could be seen as an advantage or disadvantage. If you want to be away from the noise of San Jose, better stay here. But if you are always on the move, much better stay in the city because buses to other parts of CR are just a few blocks away.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I postet a lot of photos and texts about my two weeks stay in the really nice hostel Urbano.: http://blog.manueladoerr.de/?s=hostel+urbano Or here: http://blog.manueladoerr.de/ Thank you so much, it was wonderful!

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Felt more like home than a hostel. Zelda the mop dog toooo cute

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We were generally quite pleased with the Urbano hostel. Good bed, quiet, great kitchen facilities. Very friendly staff. If I may suggest an improvement, it would be to change their breakfast menu every day or every second day. For someone staying there for a week, pancakes every day for a week would be a little much.


66%

This was the strangest hostel in which I have ever stayed! Zero atmosphere on the outskirts of town. Kate at reception was excellent in providing advice about onward travel but that was really the only redeeming quality. I haven't stayed anywhere else inSan Jose but if you can avoid stopping in the city, then do! I was told lots of horror stories about arriving at the airport but it was fine, none of the hassle that you get in Asia. Stay here only if you need help planning your trip!


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback