X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Urbano Reviews

San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
369 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

LOVED our stay at Hostel Urbano. The staff was extremely helpful and so friendly. They made sure that we knew how to get around the city and all of their recommendations were WONDERFUL! I definitely recommend stopping by next time you're in San Jose. One downfall... they are located near a main road and it get's pretty noisy in the mornings starting at 6am when you're trying to sleep.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great little hostel with very friendly, personable, and helpful staff. Free WiFi and breakfast (pancakes) is included. The hostel is a bit older, but very clean with a nice common room and back garden area. I stayed in a private room which was ok, but it was located directly in front of the laundry room and noise from the street was very loud at times. It's located in a good area within walking distance of a bank, small supermarket, and a number of restaurants.


100%

The staff was friendly and helpful and the other guests were cool. Complimentary pancake breakfast was excellent. Pura vida!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel Urbano is an excellent place to stay. This was my first hostel experience and I found it really enjoyable. The facilities are great. There is a kitchen which is fully stocked with everything you should need to cook your own food. There is a fantastic garden to just chill out in. There are also numerous other places to just relax and catch up. They also have a tv room with great seats. I had one of the private rooms and was not disappointed. It had it's own shower and toilet. Very clean.


100%

Open your mind. And you will see. From booking two months in adVance to leaving I was treated very well by the staff. From places to go and see and things to do

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful experience, great amenities, knowledgeable and helpful staff, flexible on everything, big room, clean bathroom, hot showers. Fantastic overall experience!


100%

Great place to stay with awesome people (especially the staff). Will stay there for another night for my flight!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Der eine ménnliche Receptionsmitarbeiter hat wirklich keine Ahnung, dass der Kunde seinen Lohn bezahlt. Er liebt und lebt die Reglemente statt mit zu leben. Some friendly education by a competent explainer might be necessary and helpfull. Kind regards Herbert


100%

Hostel Urbano was an amazing hostel, that really became my home away from home. The staff is so great! They were all super friendly, fun, informative, and willing to help out with anything I needed. The pancakes, fruit, and coffee in the morning were also a great way to start the day! The hostel is close to buses, minutes from the University, and within walking distance of any shops or amenities you might need. I would come back to Costa Rica, just to stay at this hostel again!


100%

This hostel is awesome in every way!! Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, and great atmosphere.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A little out of San Jose centre, but good buses meant it was easy to get into town. Mixed dorms had lots of plug points and individual lockers. Private rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean. Kitchen area, including dining table and tv room were always available plus a pool table between certain hours. Free breakfast provided and nice garden. Would recommend. Staff were especially helpful when calling taxis and choosing where to eat. 4/5

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is great for San Jose! In a really nice area with a good selection of restaurants and bars. The hostel has lots of things to do, there's a pool table, TV lounge area, garden, massive book exchange! I stayed there one night and when I go back to San Jose I'll stay here for sure!


91%

First stay at a Hostel. Urbano was recommended by a friend, Jay. Glad I did it. Nice people, clean, relaxed.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome stay, safe and convenient location, great staff and vibe, I am definitely gonna stay here again!


89%

Very friendly staff, lots of info for travellers. Our room was lovely with a veranda over garden. There is home made art

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really great hostel, super clean and comfortable with really clean kitchen and nice common area (huge flat screen TV too!). Very safe and a nice area of San Jose. Free breakfast was great. Only annoying thing was having only 2 shared bathrooms for the whole place. Usually you have to wait, even if you just need to brush your teeth.


83%

Clean hostel. Wonderful area which is close to the varsity, which has a great bar scene. Sadly this place is far from the airport. Taxi will cost you 30 dollars to the airport and you have to pay an additional 29 dollar tax to exit Costa Rica. Hostel is used on the weekend by people who volunteer in San Jose. Whom are young and already have their own friend group.


100%

|It is the best hostel I have ever stayed in.... Clelaln, clean, clean. Bright and airy rooms. Well maint ained. Helpful staff.




View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback