Hostelworld.com

Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Hostel Urbano Located at San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose.
Hostel Urbano
Costa Rica
San Jose San Pedro, Montes de Oca 195-2050 San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca
91% 677
9.9331221 -84.0527701
Hostel Urbano
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2016
9.4

Only stayed for a few brief night hours, but Juan was extremely friendly and pleasant to talk to. Apparently he makes great pancakes but I was unable to try them. Huge lockers below beds allow you to lock up your whole luggage. Nice backyard and lots of common areas to socialize. Bathroom was a bit of a walk and upon arriving I found a (bed?) bug on my mattress. Mosquitos were eating me alive all night and kept me up with their buzzing, but it was too hot to sleep under the covers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oliviaalter6568
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.7

Really happy with our stay here, the room was massive and comfy beds, such nice people working there, good brekkie, lovely garden to chill out in.... Big thumbs up

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.7

This hostel looks shady from the outside with all of the bars on the windows, but inside it is beautiful and welcoming. Pool table, wifi, hammacks and a great staff. We had a private room on the 2nd floor that was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the balcony. Location is pretty good, near the university, lots of shops nearby, need to walk 20 mins to get to tourist area downtown with museums, etc. Best part was the free breakfast in the mornings. Banana pancakes and the best pineapple!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Panama, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
9.7

one of the best beds i have used at hostels... i loved my room. private facilities, balcony. the only drawback was because of the excellent location, the morning traffic sounds can wake you up at 6 am. food was great... miss claudia and a short guy i met were awesome at making one feel part of the group.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Really hip and trendy place. In an interesting location. When you go down the block there are some cool bars but seems a little sketchy? But definitely could be a ton of fun regardless with right people since who doesn't have a great time when Spanish music is playing?! The hostel was very secure. Has cool decor all over. Rooms are spacious. Not many facilities downstairs which sucked but hostel wasn't full so didn't bother us. Definitely recommend - although kind of far from airport I felt :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nikkstas
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.4

Great hostel, lovely people and all round an amazing stay. The only downside was no hot water in the shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.7

Overall it was better than expected. I spent three nights there. The bathrooms and rooms were super clean! The breakfast was simple. Staff super friendly. I had a great time here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Their check in closes at 22:00. My flight was 4 hours late...I had no way of letting them know, yet there was Diego the cab driver, waiting to greet me with the Hostel Urbano sign. The staff are the best thing about this hostel, all go out of their way to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Good value for money. Great location, near the University of Costa Rica, with lots of bars, restaurants and a mall. Super easy access to public transportation; about 15 min to the city center. Breakfast is OK: fruits, pancakes and coffee. Definitely recommended in San Jose!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2016
9.7

I stayed at Hostel Urbano on my first and last nights in Costa Rica. I found it to be clean, with a friendly, helpful staff very concerned with my comfort.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.