Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.0

Lovely little hostel (with great pancakes for breakfast). A bit out of the way but only a 20 min walk into the main city. Great common room areas but our bathrooms weren't cleaned daily (I was only there for 2 days) which made it a bit gross by the end. But overall a great place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
9.4

It was a great place to stay. Overall, the people attending was so nice and kind. I would recommend to bring your own towels or add this service. Highly recommended the driver service that takes you from the airport and takes you back when it is finished.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.7

We stayed at both San Pedro and Yoses and they both were great! The staff was so helpful and it was an awesome way to meet more people. Yoses had a beautiful view of San Jose and the mountains. You can easily get food at a close market or take the advice of the staff for food. We also used Randall to get to the airport and back. He was both on time and very kind! I would highly recommend using that service! Can't wait to return!!! Pura vida!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jonnybartos7648
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.0

Only stayed 1 night but it was good enough. Tidy hostel, staff are great and has a decent atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your review, we always try to help our guests in everything we can, hope you can stay with us if you comeback to San Jose. Pura Vida! Hostel Urbano San Pedro

30th Jul 2017
8.0

Beautiful layout, decor, kitchen, backyard, and tv room. The laundry was a bit overpriced but they folded it for me and even didn't dry what I asked them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
9.1

Nice hostel with a good atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola! Thanks for your lovely review! We are super happy that we could help you and that you enjoyed your time at Hostel Urbano. Pura Vida! Hostel Urbano Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Wonderful stay - thank you! Felt more like I was staying in someone's home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola! Thanks for your review! Well, you have a home here in San Jose, you're welcome to comeback any time :)! Pura Vida!!

21st Jul 2017
8.9

Big open rooms with lots of space for people to hangout. It got busy over the weekend and pretty loud in the evening but not a party hostel - more of a loud board games type of hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your review! indeed we have plenty space to hangout and meet other travellers. Next time bring your board games and some beers :D! See you if you comeback! Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.0

Claudia the manager is amazing! So helpful and really made our stay easy. The other staff were nice too. Hostel is clean, and dorms a good size. Great pancake and fruit breakkie. A bit of a trek to the bus station (we got a taxi), but otherwise a nice area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel and helpful staff. Good breakfast in the morning of pancakes and pineapple. location was good and in a safe area, restaurants and supermarkets close by. It was about a 30min walk to the main town but worth staying there for the nicer area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.