X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Urbano Reviews

San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
353 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Hostel Urbano was an amazing hostel, that really became my home away from home. The staff is so great! They were all super friendly, fun, informative, and willing to help out with anything I needed. The pancakes, fruit, and coffee in the morning were also a great way to start the day! The hostel is close to buses, minutes from the University, and within walking distance of any shops or amenities you might need. I would come back to Costa Rica, just to stay at this hostel again!


100%

This hostel is awesome in every way!! Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, and great atmosphere.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A little out of San Jose centre, but good buses meant it was easy to get into town. Mixed dorms had lots of plug points and individual lockers. Private rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean. Kitchen area, including dining table and tv room were always available plus a pool table between certain hours. Free breakfast provided and nice garden. Would recommend. Staff were especially helpful when calling taxis and choosing where to eat. 4/5

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is great for San Jose! In a really nice area with a good selection of restaurants and bars. The hostel has lots of things to do, there's a pool table, TV lounge area, garden, massive book exchange! I stayed there one night and when I go back to San Jose I'll stay here for sure!


91%

First stay at a Hostel. Urbano was recommended by a friend, Jay. Glad I did it. Nice people, clean, relaxed.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome stay, safe and convenient location, great staff and vibe, I am definitely gonna stay here again!


89%

Very friendly staff, lots of info for travellers. Our room was lovely with a veranda over garden. There is home made art

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really great hostel, super clean and comfortable with really clean kitchen and nice common area (huge flat screen TV too!). Very safe and a nice area of San Jose. Free breakfast was great. Only annoying thing was having only 2 shared bathrooms for the whole place. Usually you have to wait, even if you just need to brush your teeth.


83%

Clean hostel. Wonderful area which is close to the varsity, which has a great bar scene. Sadly this place is far from the airport. Taxi will cost you 30 dollars to the airport and you have to pay an additional 29 dollar tax to exit Costa Rica. Hostel is used on the weekend by people who volunteer in San Jose. Whom are young and already have their own friend group.


100%

|It is the best hostel I have ever stayed in.... Clelaln, clean, clean. Bright and airy rooms. Well maint ained. Helpful staff.


80%

The pluses: common areas clean, staff helpful and location away from tourist area, great for trying out local food. The bad: Private rooms on 1st fl here are dark, dingy with no windows, walls were thin. 1 next to TV, 2 next to washer. Could hear ppl slamming doors/ talking, train air horn at 6am, raucous birds and noisy streets. Bed was a full size for 2 ppl instead of queen, and hard. However dorms have nice views. Would not recommend staying in private rooms here except at dorms.


100%

110% again great people. Safe. Clean. Friendly, comfy, great spot perfect. Jess


97%

Nice place to stay in San Jose!! Very friendly personal.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel in a beautiful area! Could do with a few more bathrooms though. Currently on 3 to service 28 people in dorms.


100%

Urbano is ideally located embedded within the University of San Jose ambiance. The place is very clean, large rooms and dorms, quiet, and plenty of relaxing areas. The staff personality is warm and caring, very receptive. One of the nicest places in San Jose to meet new friends. Like the four I talked with, who came from three different countries, met, and now enjoy vacations together. The milieu is set by international backpackers. I will recommend it. The place is designed to be your home..


91%

stayed in private room and loved it, hot water in showers the whole time, staff was very friendly and helpful the entire visit, I would highly recommend staying here

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, San Pedro/San Jose isn't a great area, so wouldn't suggest staying there for longer than one day.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Hostel Urbano is the perfect hostel in San Jose. Great staff, a lot of information, nice atmosphere and an amazing garden to drink some imperials. If you want to go back in time ask for the roller skate rink place 2 min from the hostel.


86%

Staff were excellent. Very courteous and helpful. One problem, close to the railroad tracts so air horn of the train starts blowing around 5 o'clock in the morning. Buy the way on top of it you have the extremely annoying bells of the church next door. Not very pleasant specially for an Atheist.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great time at the hostel Urbano. I met great people and the staff members did a perfect job. Unfortunately, it was too short but I definitely recommend it and if I go back to San Jose this is where I ll go for sure. Thank you all.i

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback