Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Urbano

  • San Pedro in front of Kennedy Park, adjacent to Municipalidad Montes de Oca, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 918 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 918 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jun 2017
10.0

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They made getting to our next destination safe and easy. The room and restroom was spacious and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have ever seen. Very helpful staff. If you want to come to costa rica. Do some "partial" planning and research before coming. Check out buses and exchange rates. visit the mountains and the beaches. Go to a meditation retreat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks for your review! We are here to help in anything we can, hope you enjoyed your time at Costa Rica! Yes, come enjoy our beaches, mountains and do yoga (p.s there's a Yoga center just 400 mts from the hostel). Pura Vida! Hostel Urbano San Pedro Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff are so helpful and the entire place is so clean and chill. It's not a party hostel but a great place to just hang out with fellow travellers. Great location right in the university district so plenty of bars and restaurants around if you want a more happening vibe. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks for taking your time to write us a review, everyday we try our best to keep all comfy, clean like at home. Hope you can visit us if you comeback to Costa Rica! Pura Vida! Hostel Urbano Staff

31st May 2017
10.0

Front desk was great, and very helpful with the area. By far the cleanest hostel we stayed at this trip. The facilities were great and we enjoyed the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks! We always try to keep everything comfy and clean, to help in everything we can to make your stay in Costa Rica the best and we encourage our guests to hangout in the common areas if they want to chill, have some beers and met other awesome travellers :) Pura Vida!! Hostel Urbano San Pedro Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

Great hostel, the staff were so so friendly and helpful, the best hostel kitchen I've seen in Central America and really nice sofa areas. Couldn't recommend more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks for your lovely review! We are super happy that we could help you and that you had a great time! Thanks for recommending us! Hope to see you soon :) Pura Vida!! Hostel Urbano San Pedro Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

By far my favorite hostel in Costa Rica. I've stayed here three times in the past five years and it's always great. Perfect location right by major bus routes, near shopping and good eats, and just two blocks from the beautiful University of Costa Rica campus. The hostel is a gorgeous house with comfortable rooms, a chill vibe, and great staff. Best deal in San Pedro/List Yoses area. Pura vida!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola! Thanks a lot for this lovely review, everytime you visit us is like seen family again. Hope you can visit us soon :) Pura Vida :)!! Hostel Urbano Staff

  • miltonshin
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
10.0

Awesome staff, very helpful ans great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks a lot for your lovely review! indeed, everything is super close, and we love to help our guests. You're welcome to visit us any time :) Pura Vida!! Hostel Urbano San Pedro

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th May 2017
9.7

Fanastic clean hostel with tv room with lots of comfy sofas and a beautiful outside garden. Super clean and large well maintained kitchen. Really tasty breakfast included and coffee 24/7. Was a bus ride or 30 minute walk to central San Jose but is located in university area so plenty of parks and bars nearby. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, definetely one of my favourite hostels in Central America.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola! Thanks for your lovely review, we always try to keep everything clean and comfy, plus we have several places to chill and met other travellers, free breakfast, coffee, te, and indeed we are super close from San Jose downtown. We are in San Pedro which has everything super close and usually cheap: bar, restaurants, parks, supermarkets, atms.. We would love to have you guys here again if you comeback to Costa Rica. All the best, Hostel Urbano Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

Overall, I loved this place. It defiantly has the atmosphere you want for the area. Hammocks and morning breakfast. The staff is so friendly and chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks for your review, we super happy that you enjoyed your time at Hostel Urbano San Pedro and that we could help you. We have several common areas to met other awesome travellers, a delicious free breakfast and much more... All the best, Hostel Urbano San Pedro Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2017
9.4

Clean, close to everything (and San José downtown by bus). The garden is very nice and the breakfast is good. I would go back anytime!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! Thanks a lot for your lovely review! We are just 10-15 min by bus or 30min walking from San Jose Downtown, and we have several common areas: garden, pool table, tv room, book exchange, garden, and much more... also free breakfast: pancakes, fruits and coffee or te. You are welcome to come back at Urbano anytime :) Pura Vida! Hostel Urbano Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.