Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Utopia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 1270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 5.4
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 1270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 5.4
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • freemo_8138623
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
6.0

If you pay for wifi in your room, you expect to be able to use it. Staff said they would fix it & nothing changed. Said I wasn't happy at check out and a very rude woman questioned us wanting to use wifi on vacation anyway. When people travel across the world, it's vital to be able to have communication, especially when paying for it!!! Basic necessity

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
6.3

Room 5 has a pigeon problem, bird droppings in the en suite shower room meant we didn't use it at all! Everything was just slightly grubby, one of our party had to ask for his sheets to be changed as there were huge holes in it! The beds are comfy but noisy to move in ha! The location is fab though and the coffee shop below is lovely and chill! The stairs are ridiculously steep, but we found it to be a hilarious novelty when climbing up them at the end of the day! You get what you pay for basically :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
4.0

You should stay just one night, staying longer than one night is hell. There is nothing to deserve this money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
8.6

While not the prettiest hostel in Amsterdam, for the value it can't be beat. The location is close to the train station, major sites, restaurants/shops, and the tram lines. We also found the rooms and bathroom/shower to be quite clean, although small. The coffeeshop downstairs was nice and the staff working there was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor, so we didn't have much of a problem with the stairs but if you have to go up several flights they could be a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
4.0

Inaccessible plug points in an 8-bed dorm, double decker bed had no ladder to climb up, cleanliness was bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Pretty okay for what it's worth.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
7.1

Very basic but clean and suited it purpose! Needed a place to rest our heads after long days exploring and the comfy beds did just that! Couldn't fault it really. Apart from the very rude man (member of staff) we had to deal with when checking out, he was ignorant and just plain rude! But otherwise, the female member of staff we spoke to at all other times was lovely

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
3.7

very bad !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
8.9

Rooms are very basic, but warm and comfortable. Excellent coffee shop downstairs, i'll be staying here again!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
4.0

The hostel staff did not want to give back my deposit of 20 euros for being late 10 minutes for check out. It was a missunderstanding about checkout time. After saying sorry million times, they give me 10 back, and keep 10 euros . Basically , I pay 15 euros for a night plus 10 euros for 10 minutes. Never again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.