Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Utopia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 1,219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 1,219 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.5
Hostel Utopia Located at nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Utopia
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012sh nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132
58% 1219
52.3743547 4.8910617
Hostel Utopia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
4.6

I would stongly not recommend this hostel. STRONGLY NOT! You would rather pay a little bit extra for hostel or hotel nearby that area. The hostel is really really small and the very strong smell of the weeds (for those who doesn't like weeds). I didn't even want to stay longer in the hostel at all. Wake up early and stay until late night. That's only for sleeping. Exactly just for sleeping.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
5.1

The whole check in process and leaving your luggage is super annoying and the reception or this place and the SEPERATE hostel you keep your luggage seems way too dodgey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Oct 2016
4.0

The only upside to the hostel is the location. Everything else is absolutely below par. There is no security, anyone can enter the hostel. The staff is uninterested and marginally rude. The linen provided was decent, however, the washrooms and toilet were dirty and smelly. There were only 2 power-points for a dorm of 8 people. Heaven knows how they expected the residents to charge their devices. I would rather sleep on the station than at Utopia. Horrendous experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.0

There is nothing you can argue about the great location of the hostel! The value for money for accommodation in Amsterdam is fair and the rooms were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
7.1

In short, the hostel was pretty good. Wifi, shower facilities and toilet areas could do with a spruce up, but nothing major. Staff very friendly and coffeeshop downstairs very inviting. Could get a cup of tea down at Bob's YH in the morning for free. Felt safe enough, ok location around 7 mins into red light area and 4 mins to shopping. Only problem (not the hostels fault) the 6 men who shared our room being very loud and obnoxious while we were trying to sleep and snoring very loudly!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
4.0

- Surprise deposit of 20 euros cash not mentioned on the website. The waitress refused to give me a receipt for it. - Hosts smoke in the sleeping room and the fire alarm obviously doesn't work. - No security or staff to refer to in the middle of the night when drugged people show up in other rooms shouting and singing. - Most lockers are broken - Excellent location near Nationaal monument, but bad situation inside a coffee shop - Room access difficult with very sharp stairs

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
4.0

Location was good. Actual lockers in the room were a danger and biohazard, you had to pull them all the way out from under the bed and they were rusted, they also had trouble staying open and would unexpectedly slam shut on your fingers. The lovely receptionist in the coffee shop was a delight and was very sweet and accomadating since it was my birthday. People were very loud and roudy, which didn't bother me too much, except that I just heard them, never saw them,cus there was no common area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.3

staff was very friendly, in total i saw 3 staff members and every single one was friendly and helpfull. The location is amazing, not far from the station and right in the center of the city. The coffee shop was also very nice. I booked a private room for myself and 2 friends, the room was clean. We had a little sink which was very handy, the shared bathroom was clean enough to our likings. Wifi was not strong in the room but enough to quickly check emails. Overall you get all basics you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
7.1

The hostel isn't the best but I would say it is a very good value for money and you get exactly what you pay for. Only problem was that the room was never cleaned whilst we stayed here and the wifi wasn't the best unless you are on the first floor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
6.3

The location was great. We checked in using the cafe below which went fine. €20 deposit required for key which you get back at the end. Stairs are very steep, slanted backwards and dangerous. We were in the eaves of the building and could only stand up when walking against the far side wall. Cleanliness of the bedroom wasn't an issue but there was substantial unsightly graffiti which made the place look worse than it could have. plug didn't work well. Had to go down a floor to use shower

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.