X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
807 Total Reviews
  • 55%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Pictures of room are misleading rooms are very small the shared facilities are also horrible and award to use no were to hang your stuff in the shower etc

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Great for smoking weed.... Only 2 showers, crazy stairs to get in, ok wifi, good location. Cheap and a bit rough. Has good Lockers under each bed.


46%

Its a great location and has the utilities you need- it's just very small, very tight and the stairs are scary -- don't come here if you've got a bunch of luggage or heavy luggage! Its also above a coffee shop - judge based on your preferences. It should have been a lot cheaper for what you get- the washrooms are tiny and the showers are as well. Very dimly lit. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless you really needed a place for one night (which was my case).

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This place sucked.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Pretty disappointed overall with this hostel. The staff member who checked us in was great (friendly and very helpful) but the hostel itself was pretty dire. The room we had (Room 7) looked absolutely nothing like any of the pictures advertised on the website. The bed was broken, meaning that it sagged in the centre. The sheets smelt of wet dog, and it was overall very noisy. All this would be excused if the room didn't cost 47 euros for the night. Disappointing.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location from train station. In our room the wifi didn't work though and there is no communal area so the atmosphere isn't great. There was a toilet on every floor but not a shower. The place was alright for two nights but I wouldn't stay there for any longer.


74%

Poor WiFi connection in room 6. Very noisy, bring ear plugs to block traffic noise and talk from passer-byes. Checkin/checkout not polite or organized. At £25 per night, among cheapest hostel in town

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

i just think at weekends like 45euros for a 8 dorm bed is far too much. aswell the beds without a railing is not very cool to sleep in! you can not open the windows proper wich isnt really nice either if sleeping with 8 people in a room i think for maybe 20euros a night it woud be all good-but the value for money is very poor compare for example to berlin..

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Terrible, expecially for the hospitality of the employees who were very rude and unpolite. They must be shamed for the price that they ask for this room. I have travelled all around the world and I never found a place so uncomfortable. Unfortunately I know that this is the normal way of doing in Amsterdam. No dignity is the only thing that I can say on the people that work in this hostel.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

We had to pay more for the apartment, because they said the price we booked was without taxes. When I returned home i rechecked the reservation mail, and it seems the price it appears it's the final price, so I really don't understand because we had to pay more. Moreover, we had to wait half an hour to do the check in, and the rooms were dirty as hell.. it seemed like there was glue on the floor

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The hotel was overbooked was we got a twin room when we booked a double. We were told to come back to switch rooms we went back twice and were told it was not ready. We went away as felt we were wasting our time going backwards and forwards. So when we went back in the evening we were told we had not followed instructions and room was not avaliable. It was chaotic!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty gutted I was never notified we had to pay 5% city tax when we got there! Overall cheap and cheerful good for the general traveller.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Their reception is a coffee shop, so the guy that checked us in was so paranoid that a cop was gonna walk past and book him for 'being open' that he made us sit down on some other seats around a corner whilst we did so. The stairs to get up and down the place are an neck break waiting to happen and although they say you can get wifi everywhere...there is literally one spot on the entrance of the stairs you can get it. But, the rooms were nice and bright.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

the bunk bed is narrow and without any ladder to go up! even without any railings to protect you falling down!


63%

Excellent place but such a money... We ordered private double bed room, we.stayed on top floor, because of sealing was challenge to walk inside. Staff friendly and always gives you tips.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Utopia is ok for it's price. Me personally would like some more decoration in the rooms for a more chilled out atmosphere. The location is just awesome! Everything was super close and if you get a bike (which is totally worth it!) you'll love it! Yeah stairs are steep and don't try to "unplug" the fire-alarm: it will just get you in unnecessary trouble.. ;) Overall cool place to be. I hope for you (hostel) that you'll have the spare money to pimp your rooms a little bit stuff like shelfs or so

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Only plus seems to be its location. The building is dilapidated - windows and doors that do not open and close right, creaky bunk beds, inadequate number of power sockets (we all do have power hungry electronics nowadays!!!) and the stairs...!!!!!.well...they do provide for an amazing anecdote or two especially after doing what can be done best in Amsterdam....

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We enjoyed our stay at Hostel Utopia. Very pleasant staff, good location and nice room.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Utopia is hands down the most disgusting hostel to stay at in Amsterdam. Our room was extremely small and had 4 bunk beds in it taking up all the space. Sleeping with 8 people in close quarters is hot, smelly, and unbearable. Showers are absolutely gross and not clean. Everything, including the towels were very dirty. Also, the front desk is closed all day until 6PM which is very inconvenient and difficult for check-in and limits the hours for lounging downstairs to only 6-1AM. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This is not a real hostel : no kitchen, no commonplace. Sheets and towels were dirty, our room was dirty : it looked like nobody cleaned up between the guys who stayed there before and us!! The restroom and bathroom were not clean. Nice staff The location is really good but it was too expensive for no comfort!!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback