Hostelworld.com

Hostel Utopia

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 1,127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 1,127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.9
Hostel Utopia Located at nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Utopia
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012sh nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132
61% 1127
52.3743547 4.8910617
Hostel Utopia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • scousenomad
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
4.3

Staff terrible attitude stairs upto room where nearly impossible to get up due to being to steep room was tiny only one socket which is what the tv is plugged into,but on a positive the location was quiet central which no need for trams.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
6.3

Noisy, small, no plugs, over a coffee shop, cheap and good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
5.4

Good location, but a bit of a dump. You check in in a "coffee shop" full of pot smoke, the showers have mold growing in them, the advertised breakfast does not exist, and the Wi-Fi is terrible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.0

Staff were very friendly. The stairs are very steep but that's just the building and it can't be helped. The rooms themselves were very clean and bright. The shower was very cold though- I'm guessing someone used all the hot water. Overall not as bad as reviews made out and we'd stay again. Thanks for having us!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Best hostel ever. Knowledge, friendly staff, clean, free dinner most nights. When I come back this is where I'd stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
2.6

This place was absolutely disgusting. For the price I wasn't expecting much but this was much worse than expected. The stairs were a death trap, the room was old, smelly and the only plug was nearly impossible to find. When we found it eventually it was near the ceiling so made it impossible to charge phones etc. The door didn't ever feel safely locked. The shared bathroom was rank and having a shower felt like being in a gas chamber and was so dirty. Wouldn't advice my worst enemy to stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
4.6

Hostel was generally clean, beds okay and had personal lockers with padlocks. The location is great. walking distance to everything and no problems coming back to hostel at stupid o'clock in the morning. However, the staff are rude and the hostel owner is an awful person. Despite the cleanliness the facilities were shocking, cafe sh*t and our window was broken. Despite all this, it is cheap... Very cheap. And wouldn't expect more or less. Would I recommend..? Maybe...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Mar 2016
4.6

One of the worst hostels i have ever been. The hostel is situatied in the middle of old amsterdam and there are a lot of restaurants, bike rentals, coffeshops nearby. Our room was very small and you cold seen many signs of former residents. The beds were small but okay. The heating wasn't working during the last two nights so it was cold in the room. The two showers are musty. The room was keen-eared. All in all just a money maschine with no vibe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
8.3

Great little (emphasis on the little) spot, very easy to get to from Central Station. Located above a coffee shop, which was also small but mellow and good for a quick smoke before exploring. Very happy with overall cleanliness and locale, big fan of Hotel Utopia.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
4.3

The owner was unfriendly and the stairs were impossible to climb. The location was fine, but the major problem was the security. EVERY PERSON in room five had their phone stolen one night because the door did not latch all the way, and the passcode to the door was not changed after a similar robbery had occurred in the SAME ROOM two days prior.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.