X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
892 Total Reviews
  • 59%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 48%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

There is not a real reception in the hostel. It's a coffee shop that also rents room. The location is excellent by the way. Please change the password of the wifi with the correct one, there is a mistaken one. Suggested only if you have to stay for few days.


97%

thoroughly enjoyed my time staying here! perfect location great staff! will definitely be back when i next come over!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall, this hostel equaled what we paid for a private twin room. The place was surprisingly clean! The only complaint I have is that the electrical work is questionable. We were unable to plug in our power adapter to one of the outlets because it caused the buildings fuse to jump. We were only able to charge one device at a time. The wifi was unstable on the third floor, we could not get a steady connection.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Good facility but the staff were very unhelpful and rude. the guy got really annoyed at everything.


74%

This is a really simple hostel if all you're looking for is a place to sleep. We booked a two bed private. No bed bugs, the room was very clean. The location was awesome only a 10 min walk from the central station and pretty much anywhere else. The stairs aren't good if you don't have a backpack super steep. There are only two showers, the door on the second floor didn't lock properly. Also there is only one toilet per floor. Both were clean. It's good if you want a place to sleep and shower.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Only use this hostel as your last resort. The rooms are small and cramped, the facilities are dirty, and overall it just isn't comfortable

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Despite what everybody had said about the hostel we are happy to say that in case we decide to go back to Amsterdam we defo will pick up utopia again!it was very clean,no b-bugs,perfect located and staff were very friendly and helpful.the only thing might be the size of the room,but we think you can't really find anything better.houses there are really narrow :p

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel was good for location, had a working heater in the room which was good. Decent for a few days, don't know that I would spend a week here.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Very over-priced for what you got. Paper-thin walls, small rooms & our room had a window which wouldn't shut. I was hoping that the bad reviews were just stuck-up old biddy's, but unfortunately this was not the case. The bad reviews are right. Would NOT recommend.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

There is no way to check out before 8:30 so you will lose your deposit if you have an early flight!! Im madddd cuz of this!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Very dirty place and small room. Looking nothing like the pictures. The guy came at 4am in the morning to ask for the money whereas the other one told us earlier we could pay the day after. I will never go back and don't recommend it

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The room was dirty, the furniture was old and smelly. The bathroom light was broken and the ceiling was very low and slanted.


71%

Was a good hostel for it's price, considering everything in Amsterdam is grossly over priced!! The cleanliness of the hostel was a problem however, there was a blood splatter in our dirty bathroom the showers were gross and they didn't lock! Coffee shop had a great atmosphere and the Norwegian lady at the front desk was charming :) good price for location and what you get, perfect for a couple of days stopover.


80%

Stayed here last weekend, All members of staff very accommodating and chatty, especially 'The Stoned Guy' who DOES have a name! Basic accommodation, don't expect a lot feature, view or luxury-wise. If, however, you need a bed to sleep in for about 2-4 hours between periods of getting hammered, Utopia is the perfect place. It is close to Centraal station and Daam square, about 10 minutes each way. The coffeeshop is open nice and early so you can go in there and wake yourself up in the morning.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

I should have read the other reviews before booking. Hostel had bed bugs and I was eaten alive during my stay there. My advice, wear all your clothes to bed or stay somewhere else.


77%

Very good hostel and definitely worth £12 a night. Was worried that the cleanliness wouldn't be good due to reading a few bad reviews after booking but was pleasantly surprised (no bed bugs). The overall location is very convenient as its close to pretty much everything you need. Overall rating 8/10

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

the only good thing abt the hostel is, it is close to "Amsterdam attractions"


66%

The location is great and from what I saw the dorms seemed OK but we were in one of the private rooms for two and our room was under the roof, with not even a meter where we could stand up. Now if it was super cheap I wouldn't have cared because we weren't looking for anything fancy but we still paid 240 euros for three nights... Now it's true that accommodations in Amsterdam don't come cheap but for the room we had it still seems like way too much. The hostel is otherwise clean.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Really lovely environment, I enjoyed staying there :)

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Owner is an arrogant arse, terrible check in/out system. Would not recommend!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback