Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Utopia

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 1,164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 1,164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.5
Hostel Utopia Located at nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Utopia
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012sh nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132
58% 1164
52.3743547 4.8910617
Hostel Utopia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
5.4

The environment is horrible...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
5.7

Pros: Good location. Cons: Shower was cold two out of three days of stay, room was mysteriously entered while out as blind was open with drywall mess on bed, expensive to stay on weekends, security was minimal. Neutral: Constant weed smell with cafe below, very basic, trams running outside window (not unbearable noise)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
6.9

I've stayed in substantially better hostels for less money. The room was okay, a bit shabby with graffiti on the walls and a disgusting drab green color. Bathroom was barely big enough to stand in, let alone use. No hot water in the showers, and our room only had one very oddly placed electrical outlet. The room itself was definitely not worth the price, but it was located very close to a lot of the major attractions in Amsterdam. Reception doubles as a coffeeshop, which was really cool.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
5.1

The location of the hostel is great. However, for the price we paid, I didn't think the facilities or cleanliness were up to standards.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
5.1

The manager is a bit insane, he yells at you instead of talking to you. The place also smells pretty bad if you have an ensuite, and is not generally very clean. Be careful of the stairs, with a suitcase they are extremely hard to navigate. The information hasn't been updated: new laws have been applied and the coffeeshop downstairs that doubles as reception now only opens from 6pm onwards on weekdays. This makes the stay a little bit more annoying. But the location is AWESOME.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2016
7.7

Great location, but really really really niiiiiiiice rooms and bathroom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
7.4

It was in a great location, everything walkable. The room was quite small and I had expected a double bed not two singles, but we made do. There's also no communal space in the hostel itself or access to a kitchen, but the coffee shop right next door was great and the staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • conorps
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.6

Loved it! Place smelt like weed. Everyone was pure. Can't wait to get back again n smoke some of that dank bud! Peace love and weed! TÀL!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
5.7

I think you cant expect much for 15euros a bed, but it was a very smelly room, a lot of sunlight with no way of closing the curtains, dirty toilets and that crazy narrow staircase that i can imagine many people falling over.. it is right in the center and walking distance to everything worth seeing in amsterdam.. but if i knew it before i would gave tried to book somewhere better..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
7.7

PERFECT LOCATION We got to Amsterdam pretty late and checked in at the coffee shop. We were greeted by a friendly woman rolling a joint for someone at the counter; she was very nice, checked us in, and made sure we were taken care of. The building is old and the stairs a little scary HOWEVER it is in the best location possible and well worth the stay!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.