X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
935 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The only thing that can improve Hotel Utopia would be to burn it to the ground. The lobby, hallways, stairs, bathrooms, and rooms are absolutely filthy. There was never soap in the toilet area and the shower smelled like raw sewage. The rooms should be described as more of a closet than a guestroom. The beds were not comfortable, the sheets were STAINED, and my roommate and I were afraid to touch everything in there. I will NEVER go back again!! Stay away from Hotel "Utopia"!!!!!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Our booking got messed up but Jess was great and got it sorted and everything was fine in the end. Pretty basic set up. Fairly quiet. Private room definitely not worth it though.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Low cost, high management And cleaner of room s

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

It was owful because we had problems with the roommates and the hostel didn't give us any solution and any money back. The worst hostel of my life

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Although the room itself was fairly low budget, and noisy (due to it facing onto a busy road) the staff were amazing and we really enjoyed our time! Will definitely be back soon

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Horrible steep spiral staircase, tiny room, shower smelled so awful, cheap but depressing to go back to each evening. Worth paying that bit more

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The charming night watchman with the dancing eyes abused and overcharged us, the master of first impressions, then the room was as clean as my mind after a walk down red light and the plug sockets are on the ceiling. "Are you serious?!" I hear you cry. I am, your phone charges while dangling precariously above your calm, sleeping face. The walls have dirt all over and the ceiling has blood on. The whole venture was like an action scene from Indiana Jones. Best. Hostel. Ever.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

totally overpriced!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Room was clean, towel was changed and bed was made daily. However the stairway leading up to the room is narrow with equally narrow steps. Will be tricky if you are not carrying a backpack or have a cabin luggage. Anything more will out your arm power and balancing skills to test.Overall good stay. Oh but there were only 2 power sockets in my room which is by the door and if we are to charge our phones etc, will have to place them on a bed.Luckily there was no one occupying it when I was there.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

There is not a real reception in the hostel. It's a coffee shop that also rents room. The location is excellent by the way. Please change the password of the wifi with the correct one, there is a mistaken one. Suggested only if you have to stay for few days.


97%

thoroughly enjoyed my time staying here! perfect location great staff! will definitely be back when i next come over!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall, this hostel equaled what we paid for a private twin room. The place was surprisingly clean! The only complaint I have is that the electrical work is questionable. We were unable to plug in our power adapter to one of the outlets because it caused the buildings fuse to jump. We were only able to charge one device at a time. The wifi was unstable on the third floor, we could not get a steady connection.


60%

Good facility but the staff were very unhelpful and rude. the guy got really annoyed at everything.


74%

This is a really simple hostel if all you're looking for is a place to sleep. We booked a two bed private. No bed bugs, the room was very clean. The location was awesome only a 10 min walk from the central station and pretty much anywhere else. The stairs aren't good if you don't have a backpack super steep. There are only two showers, the door on the second floor didn't lock properly. Also there is only one toilet per floor. Both were clean. It's good if you want a place to sleep and shower.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Only use this hostel as your last resort. The rooms are small and cramped, the facilities are dirty, and overall it just isn't comfortable

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Despite what everybody had said about the hostel we are happy to say that in case we decide to go back to Amsterdam we defo will pick up utopia again!it was very clean,no b-bugs,perfect located and staff were very friendly and helpful.the only thing might be the size of the room,but we think you can't really find anything better.houses there are really narrow :p

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel was good for location, had a working heater in the room which was good. Decent for a few days, don't know that I would spend a week here.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Very over-priced for what you got. Paper-thin walls, small rooms & our room had a window which wouldn't shut. I was hoping that the bad reviews were just stuck-up old biddy's, but unfortunately this was not the case. The bad reviews are right. Would NOT recommend.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

There is no way to check out before 8:30 so you will lose your deposit if you have an early flight!! Im madddd cuz of this!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback