Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Utopia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 1,240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.4
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 1,240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.4
Hostel Utopia Located at nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Utopia
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012sh nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132
56% 1240
52.3743547 4.8910617
Hostel Utopia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
7.7

Perfect location, right in the centre, close to the train station and so close to many food places and coffee shops. The stairs are scary steep but if you take your time you'll be fine. The rooms are basic but you have a little sink in your room, which is good. And there's free wifi, a shower room and a bathroom for each floor. Only issue is it got very cold in the room, but the heater helped! Loved the help from the lady in the coffee shop. Would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
5.7

Check in is not at a normal reception but at the bar of a coffeeshop next door. Staff was rude to my friend when checking in. The stairs, I didnt believe the reviews at first, but after seeing this I have to agree. Even when sober they are almost impossible to climb. Hostel itself was just ok for the money we paid. No facilities just stairs, rooms and bathrooms so there is no atmosphere whatsoever. Nevertheless, for just one night this was perfect. Cheap and a central location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jan 2017
3.7

Extremelly small bedroom, no common room or kitchen and dirty sanitary.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
3.7

The location was very good but everything else was horrible. The heater wasn't working and it was so cold. The staff were really rude and not helpful or friendly. There was no internet access in our room although it was stated in the facilities. The stairs were really sharp and you can almost fall if you are with a big heavy bag. I won't recommend it to anyone

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
2.0

It was terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Dec 2016
3.7

if you are searching for a bed to sleep, just for one night, then this place is okay. But there is no common aria, no internet, no place to sit expect a super small and uncomfortable bed. There is coffee shop downstairs but is working only after 7 pm. Location is more or less good. Stuff is like robots, no emotions no nth, they briefly give u info and cannot wait to get rid of you.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.4

Very nice Coffeeshop, nice staff there, quick check-in Amazing location Perfect for backpackers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
4.6

I would stongly not recommend this hostel. STRONGLY NOT! You would rather pay a little bit extra for hostel or hotel nearby that area. The hostel is really really small and the very strong smell of the weeds (for those who doesn't like weeds). I didn't even want to stay longer in the hostel at all. Wake up early and stay until late night. That's only for sleeping. Exactly just for sleeping.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
5.1

The whole check in process and leaving your luggage is super annoying and the reception or this place and the SEPERATE hostel you keep your luggage seems way too dodgey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Oct 2016
4.0

The only upside to the hostel is the location. Everything else is absolutely below par. There is no security, anyone can enter the hostel. The staff is uninterested and marginally rude. The linen provided was decent, however, the washrooms and toilet were dirty and smelly. There were only 2 power-points for a dorm of 8 people. Heaven knows how they expected the residents to charge their devices. I would rather sleep on the station than at Utopia. Horrendous experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.