Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Utopia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 1,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.5
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 1,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.5
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.3
Hostel Utopia Located at nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Utopia
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012sh nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132
56% 1177
52.3743547 4.8910617
Hostel Utopia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
2.3

I have travelled a fair bit of the world, and I can confidently say that this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. It was absolutely disgusting. The health inspector should close it down. It is not fit for rats. The rooms smell of toe ram and body odour. The windows hardly open, so it is as hot as the Australian Outback. The hostel itself smells of weed, not just a little bit, a nauseating amount of weed smell. The staff do not care about you, they are too busy trying to act cool. VERY BAD

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.6

This hostel/hotel is in a great location, right above/attached to a coffee shop. However there was a miserable man serving and the facilities weren't very good. There was no sink on the 2nd floor where I was staying and the toilet was very stinky.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
5.4

It's in a great location but it's not clean, and you can't open the windows in the bedrooms. It's above a coffee shop which is great but the staff aren't very helpful. The owner is really rude, he shouted at us for not booking our taxi with him.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
3.1

Utopia is in a great location. Little however is clean but the sheets and it is clear nobody looks after the place. Security lockers were broken and beds shaky. There is no common area or kitchen. Staff who check in have no ability to do anything and would rather be running the nice coffee shop downstairs. Don't stay here unless you have no other choice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
4.3

The room was so small that you had to side step to get by the bed. The drains backed up when showering and the sheets smelled when we first arrived. Wifi didn't reach my room. Would not return here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
5.4

The environment is horrible...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
5.7

Pros: Good location. Cons: Shower was cold two out of three days of stay, room was mysteriously entered while out as blind was open with drywall mess on bed, expensive to stay on weekends, security was minimal. Neutral: Constant weed smell with cafe below, very basic, trams running outside window (not unbearable noise)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
6.9

I've stayed in substantially better hostels for less money. The room was okay, a bit shabby with graffiti on the walls and a disgusting drab green color. Bathroom was barely big enough to stand in, let alone use. No hot water in the showers, and our room only had one very oddly placed electrical outlet. The room itself was definitely not worth the price, but it was located very close to a lot of the major attractions in Amsterdam. Reception doubles as a coffeeshop, which was really cool.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
5.1

The location of the hostel is great. However, for the price we paid, I didn't think the facilities or cleanliness were up to standards.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
5.1

The manager is a bit insane, he yells at you instead of talking to you. The place also smells pretty bad if you have an ensuite, and is not generally very clean. Be careful of the stairs, with a suitcase they are extremely hard to navigate. The information hasn't been updated: new laws have been applied and the coffeeshop downstairs that doubles as reception now only opens from 6pm onwards on weekdays. This makes the stay a little bit more annoying. But the location is AWESOME.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.