X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
842 Total Reviews
  • 52%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 47%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Owner is an arrogant arse, terrible check in/out system. Would not recommend!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Stay away! At check-in, you’ll probably be sent to another hostel with rude staff. The rooms upstairs are awful, you can’t sit up straight in bed (sloped ceilings and tiny). The mattresses are filthy and uneven, so don’t expect a pleasant night’s sleep. The wifi signal is non-existent on the top floor. The rooms and bathrooms weren’t clean, and there aren’t enough for the number of guests. It’s honestly not worth the money you’d save to stay here, and I didn't even get bedbugs like the others...

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

At the arrival (2-september-2014), My wife and daughter WERE NOT ACCEPTED, because a lady said the HOSTEL UTOPIA IS ONLY FOR ADULTS (my daughter is 17 years and 11 months old. In fact she was 18 years old on 10 septembre, 8 DAYS LATER). I HAVE NOT SEEN in the advertising of the Hostel UTOPIAthat is only for adults. Please tell me how I may do a claim against the hostel to the Dutch authorities. Many thanks. Regards. Miguel Borrero

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

CoffeeBar is a nice place but the room for 3 person is very small and the beds are not so good. The location of Hotel is excellent just few minutes to Dam and canals.


54%

Room was very small and dirty, the bed was broken and uneven making it very uncomfortable to sleep in. One of the staff came into our locked room without knocking (for what reason he didn't say..). Shower door didn't lock and the toilet was leaking all the time. It says that you can smoke in the hotel, but you can't, you can only smoke in the coffee shop attached to the hotel and there's better places to go than that. Only positive was that the location was good.


63%

Tiny toilets. Smallest I have ever been in! Night manager is a bit rude. Barging into the room in the morning without knocking to remind you to check out in 15mins. Wtf?! 8 bed room should only be a 6 (like it looks like it was originally) Very cramped. Also rooms on front of building get extremely hot in the warmer weather. Good location, but stay somewhere else with more atmosphere.


54%

Reception closed half of the time. Have to go to another hostel down the street to check in (their staff seem to hate it). No common area. Private room very small under the roof. Wifi password indicated wrong. Wifi not working on the third floor. Only advantage is the good location in city center.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The room was filthy and the bed had bed bugs. I ended up with loads of bites that swelld up something awful. The stairs are a death trap, just so steep (we were on the top floor). Even with the location we wouldn't stay here again. Also €20 for a key deposit is ridiculously high and the coffee shop is a pokey little s**t hole with a very rude. All of this is lorded over buy a rude and sketchy man. Please dont ignore the reviews like we did, its been two weeks and my bites still itch.


66%

I liked the hostel owned coffe shop ^^


77%

Considering the price, I was very happy. The room was the most basic as can be, but thats what you expect. the beds were comfortable.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Serious problem of cleanliness. Unacceptable for 40€/day. You have to pay a 5% additionnal tax when you arrive (not mentionned). Try another hostel of possible!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

if you need only a bed to sleep it's ok, but is so bad the atention. you only hace a bedroom and nothing else. is only for the night and thats it! very poor, not atmposphere, nothing!


94%

I was worried about staying at Utopia based on the previous reviews. When I arrived I was there a couple hours early so i walked around till I could check in. I ended up getting lost and didnt get back till around 2 hours after i was scheduled to check in. The staff was very helpful getting me a map and checking me in. The room was very quiet and clean with a lot of natural light looking out over the street. I stayed for one week in the same room and had no problems. I highly recommend Utopia.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff are really really lovely, will help you out and keep you safe

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Pictures of room are misleading rooms are very small the shared facilities are also horrible and award to use no were to hang your stuff in the shower etc

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Great for smoking weed.... Only 2 showers, crazy stairs to get in, ok wifi, good location. Cheap and a bit rough. Has good Lockers under each bed.


71%

It's not the best hostel, but you get what you pay...The stairs are the biggest trouble, to tiny. if you have a big baggage is gonna be a problem, and if you return a little bit drunk, also is gonna be a problem. the location is perfect, is not in the center but just a few blocks away from all (one block from the real palace!). Of couse, is a hostel and a coffee shop, so you have to expect run into people with that hobbie...


46%

Its a great location and has the utilities you need- it's just very small, very tight and the stairs are scary -- don't come here if you've got a bunch of luggage or heavy luggage! Its also above a coffee shop - judge based on your preferences. It should have been a lot cheaper for what you get- the washrooms are tiny and the showers are as well. Very dimly lit. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless you really needed a place for one night (which was my case).

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This place sucked.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Pretty disappointed overall with this hostel. The staff member who checked us in was great (friendly and very helpful) but the hostel itself was pretty dire. The room we had (Room 7) looked absolutely nothing like any of the pictures advertised on the website. The bed was broken, meaning that it sagged in the centre. The sheets smelt of wet dog, and it was overall very noisy. All this would be excused if the room didn't cost 47 euros for the night. Disappointing.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback