X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
983 Total Reviews
  • 51%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 46%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

- 120cm bed size for couple is really tough - "paper" walls - great location - reception is in next door coffee shop

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

WORST PLACE EVER! First, we had to pay extra for the accommodation and we had to pay the tax again! The day that we arrived we had to go to another hostel, where the guy there was disrespectful and made us to pay extra 30 euros. So we paid in total more than 280 euros just for 2 nights. We, tired and wanting to avoid any problem, paid the money and went to our room: awful, really small, dirty& smelly. Toilet was worst, just cold water and the shower was broked. In conclusion: inadvisable.


89%

Staff could be a bit more friendly we all have jobs to do but a smile won't break your face.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

After seeing reviews on trip advisor we were nervous of our stay but it was perfect for us. Thank you to the night watch man who went out of his way to help us on several occasions. Hostel is kept clean and staff are very kind. We got what we paid for and we're very happy with that. Thank you.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The only thing that can improve Hotel Utopia would be to burn it to the ground. The lobby, hallways, stairs, bathrooms, and rooms are absolutely filthy. There was never soap in the toilet area and the shower smelled like raw sewage. The rooms should be described as more of a closet than a guestroom. The beds were not comfortable, the sheets were STAINED, and my roommate and I were afraid to touch everything in there. I will NEVER go back again!! Stay away from Hotel "Utopia"!!!!!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Our booking got messed up but Jess was great and got it sorted and everything was fine in the end. Pretty basic set up. Fairly quiet. Private room definitely not worth it though.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was a nice little place, not a very cozy environment though. Also there were mice in our room.


91%

Good place

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Low cost, high management And cleaner of room s

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

It was owful because we had problems with the roommates and the hostel didn't give us any solution and any money back. The worst hostel of my life

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Although the room itself was fairly low budget, and noisy (due to it facing onto a busy road) the staff were amazing and we really enjoyed our time! Will definitely be back soon

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Horrible steep spiral staircase, tiny room, shower smelled so awful, cheap but depressing to go back to each evening. Worth paying that bit more

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The charming night watchman with the dancing eyes abused and overcharged us, the master of first impressions, then the room was as clean as my mind after a walk down red light and the plug sockets are on the ceiling. "Are you serious?!" I hear you cry. I am, your phone charges while dangling precariously above your calm, sleeping face. The walls have dirt all over and the ceiling has blood on. The whole venture was like an action scene from Indiana Jones. Best. Hostel. Ever.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

totally overpriced!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Room was clean, towel was changed and bed was made daily. However the stairway leading up to the room is narrow with equally narrow steps. Will be tricky if you are not carrying a backpack or have a cabin luggage. Anything more will out your arm power and balancing skills to test.Overall good stay. Oh but there were only 2 power sockets in my room which is by the door and if we are to charge our phones etc, will have to place them on a bed.Luckily there was no one occupying it when I was there.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

There is not a real reception in the hostel. It's a coffee shop that also rents room. The location is excellent by the way. Please change the password of the wifi with the correct one, there is a mistaken one. Suggested only if you have to stay for few days.


97%

thoroughly enjoyed my time staying here! perfect location great staff! will definitely be back when i next come over!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(37 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback