X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
1086 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 47%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I have stayed at Hostel Utopia several times. It's cheap and in a great location and is conveniently located. Rooms are bare basics no frills. Sink in rooms, but next time I may try somewhere new just to change it up,

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Me&my friends stay here was a journey of high and lows, mainly lows with 2 highs.The room was only good when we ate a full box of truffles, I was so comfy and the room was changing colour but when sober the room is terrible. The second high is the location,then everything after that goes downhill. We paid for the location so I didn't expect much but this place really did breach my human rights. I can't fit everything I want to in this review, but people in prison have better conditions than this

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Location is good, but there were bed bugs. Multiple bites later and I would never recommend this place.


60%

I Think the Price to high for the run down rooms.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

It is just composed by a bar, some rooms, 2 toilets and 2 showers on the landing, not in the rooms... not very comfortable...

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The room was clean & it was in an excellent location but the bathroomabathr bathroom facilities were awful. The shower flooded and was not clean at all

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

At first I thought all the negative reviews were just from ppl who couldn't handle imperfect housing situations. Well, truth is, this hostel is awful in every way. My bed had bugs, the shower is disgusting, and they try to cram 8ppl in a 500sqft room. What a joke. To top it off the staff are a bunch of whiney, unfriendly d-bags. Go elsewhere


60%

Its located in a good place. Near the center. The hostel is very very small! And smely...the toilet is grous.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Quite costly for the standard it offers. But it's amsterdam, and since there are so many tourists, thats what you have to pay. Our room was below the roof, and besides being tiny, the whole ceiling was covered in mould. Upon request for a new room, we were told that there has never been any complaint about mould, and the staff wasn't exactly very eager to help. We were offered another room, but had to pay an extra fee, since this other room was slightly bigger. There was also mould in the shower


49%

The location is perfect, very close to the city center. Stuffs are not very helpful. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you want to use the coffee shop downstairs.


77%

Really enjoyed our stay here. It was all we needed and perfect location. Staff were a little rude, although saying that we only saw one guy, the receptionist the whole time!

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Loved staying here. Did exactly what we needed it to. A bed and somewhere to get washed. Totally fine. Only thing I would like improvement on is the electricity socket next to the sink was broken and the only other one was six feet off the ground. Take an 4way extension cable if you plan on staying here

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Bed is average but the duvets are stinks, we notice the cleaner only change the cover, never wash the duvets. Bathroom flood. No wifis at all in the room. Have some lockers under the bed which is good. Their staffs are not bad, we able to keep our bags before we check in. No kitchen, but they have hot water provided. On the last two night, they shift us to Bob's due to a repair. We had to moved to a 16 bed from a 8 bed. But they gave us 2 joints of weed as compensate which is not too bad.


49%

Check-in and check-out regulations are stupid, better make responsible staff reachable when needed.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

[Location]: perfect, the only positive think! [Cleanliness]: dirty, dusty and the showers were too ugly, I didn't go. [Security]: to less luggage locker in a room, no little locker for valuables, no luggage room. I had to leave my belongings unsecured laying around. [Wifi]: if you get a connection, it is terrible slow. [Conclusion]: don't go there, book one of the other hostels even if they cost more!


77%

Good place for somewhere just to lay your head and keep your stuff! Good security on the door to get into the actually youth hostel but the door locks and handles should maybe be replaced! Great coffee shop linked with the hostel, great place to chill when your room gets a bit small but it was a little bit expensive for the kind of room/facilities it supplied! Very clean though.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

There was mold on the walls in our room. There was no curfew on noise and no one to talk to about anything. The staff wasn't really interested in talking and it was super dirty.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The location was great, a short walk to the vibrant centre and redlight district but distinctively less touristy than other areas which made it quieter and more convenient when heading back. excellent coffee shop next door to the hostel itself and the shower was good too.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

You get what you pay for with this hostel. We stayed in a private twin which is on the top floor. The stairs are seriously steep (ladder-like) the room was tiny but had a fully opening window ;) everything was clean enough. Shared toilet and shower were spotless with plenty of hot water. There's not much of an atmosphere as there's no common area (apart from the coffeeshop!) but this hostel is right in the middle of everything and the bar across the road is smoke friendly and the staff are great

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

We had read some reviews about it before going to 'Hotel' Utopia, so we weren't surprised, but nevertheless still annoyed having to stay at such an ugly, dirty place. If we had only payed like 10€ per night it would've been fine, but for 50€ per person for only one night it was an absolute rip off! The toilettes didnt even have a place to wash one's hands nearby. Rooms were DIRTY. Staff was unfriendly. The beds queeked loudly every-time someone turned around in his bed.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30


(564 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback