X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
859 Total Reviews
  • 51%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 45%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Utopia is ok for it's price. Me personally would like some more decoration in the rooms for a more chilled out atmosphere. The location is just awesome! Everything was super close and if you get a bike (which is totally worth it!) you'll love it! Yeah stairs are steep and don't try to "unplug" the fire-alarm: it will just get you in unnecessary trouble.. ;) Overall cool place to be. I hope for you (hostel) that you'll have the spare money to pimp your rooms a little bit stuff like shelfs or so

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Only plus seems to be its location. The building is dilapidated - windows and doors that do not open and close right, creaky bunk beds, inadequate number of power sockets (we all do have power hungry electronics nowadays!!!) and the stairs...!!!!!.well...they do provide for an amazing anecdote or two especially after doing what can be done best in Amsterdam....

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We enjoyed our stay at Hostel Utopia. Very pleasant staff, good location and nice room.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Utopia is hands down the most disgusting hostel to stay at in Amsterdam. Our room was extremely small and had 4 bunk beds in it taking up all the space. Sleeping with 8 people in close quarters is hot, smelly, and unbearable. Showers are absolutely gross and not clean. Everything, including the towels were very dirty. Also, the front desk is closed all day until 6PM which is very inconvenient and difficult for check-in and limits the hours for lounging downstairs to only 6-1AM. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This is not a real hostel : no kitchen, no commonplace. Sheets and towels were dirty, our room was dirty : it looked like nobody cleaned up between the guys who stayed there before and us!! The restroom and bathroom were not clean. Nice staff The location is really good but it was too expensive for no comfort!!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This is a very basic hostel. No kitchen or common room areas and the space itself is very small. Showers smelt terrible but were clean. Great location to walk to all major sights.


86%

Awesome location for a very fair price. Room was tiny but still very confortable. Shared bathroom clean as it should be in that situation. If i come back would try to stay for sure again at the hostel.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

We booked the hostel for only one night after the kingsday weekend. We were pretty excited about the cheap offer and the great location. However, sleeping there for only one night ended up as a nightmare because my body was covered with bedbug bites (as a doctor told me) the next day! It is obvious that the Hostel deals with serious bedbug issues. It is not worth but irresponsible going there since you have to deal with serious consequences afterwards. Staff was very nice though.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Ideal for seeing the city. No common area or kitchen but you are in the middle of the city.


63%

The place looks a little bit sketchy but it's okay overall. Amsterdam is an expensive city after all.


80%

Very small room but clean and great location... True what they say about the stairs but no bed bugs. Was fine for one night. Our top floor room was cute and cosy with a tv and sink. No hand wash anywhere though, put some in please hostel utopia!

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Don't fall down the stairs, it hurts.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I woukd recommend this Place to any group of friends looking for somewhere to stay cheap but still have a good base to stay at , the woman who works there is first class camt fault her for all her help and the free hot choccy was lovely on checkout day :)

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff, very helpful and thanks for your help. I found the place clean and clientele friendly. No issues. Bring a small / med size padlock for your locker. No issues & thanks for your help.

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

four of us in all stayed at the hostel, was a great location, wasn't too noisy, everything was great until we checked out... the check out clerk, started kicking off about unnecessary matters, and starting bring up irrelevant material, after being a therapist for a good half an hour we shaked hands and went our separate ways... overall I was very happy, until the end when we felt no longer welcomed....overall i would give 4/5

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We stayed in on of the private double rooms. Ours was, although very small, nice and relatively clean. The bed is big but a bit too soft. The only real problem was a very strong cigarette smell. If you go there in warmer months there are windows to ventilate the room. In the winter this solution has its downsides.

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The price was higher in the end than the price that appeared in the booking. Also the man who checked us in never told us that we would need a key for the main door to come back late at night wich was problematic, when they at first didn't want to let us in at 4 in the morning. The same man told us we could leave our luggage there by checkout, wich wasn't true. Early checkout at 10:30. The good thing about the hostel was definitely the location.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The stairs were really small, someone with a big suitcase would have problem going up, and there are no elevators. The only thing i really didnt like was that they didnt had a place for you to leave your bag after the check out. We were leaving only in the night and we had to carry our bags around all day long.


86%

For 8 Euro a Night. And nice staff. guest can smoke own and eat there. Rooms needs a face lift really bad (some fresh paint will do), but at lest it was clean. I'll maybe come back, if the price is right.


43%

Generally speaking there was nothing wrong with my stay but I would not be returning. as yes okay. • Stairs are one thing... not having a decent hand rail is another •There was no shower on the top floor. • We spent most of our time out of the hostel worrying we were going to be robbed. • The sheets themselves looked clean but everything else in the room did not!!! Only plus was I could smoke and forget what kinda sh*t hole I was staying in!


(471 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback