X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
822 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 49%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

El suelo, las paredes y sobre todo los aseos estaban muy sucios, las cortinas de las duchas tenian hongos de humedad, la habitación era diminuta, lo peor fue la atención del personal, es la màs lamentable que he recibido en mi vida (y he visitado hostels de toda Europa!). No tienen recepción, te obligan a desplazarte para hacer el check-in. Tenìa hora de entrada a las 11.00 pero no me han dejado entrar en la habitación hasta las14.00 y asi podria seguir hasta relleñar un libro, NO LO RECOMIENDO

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

The room was filthy and the bed had bed bugs. I ended up with loads of bites that swelld up something awful. The stairs are a death trap, just so steep (we were on the top floor). Even with the location we wouldn't stay here again. Also €20 for a key deposit is ridiculously high and the coffee shop is a pokey little s**t hole with a very rude. All of this is lorded over buy a rude and sketchy man. Please dont ignore the reviews like we did, its been two weeks and my bites still itch.


66%

I liked the hostel owned coffe shop ^^


77%

Considering the price, I was very happy. The room was the most basic as can be, but thats what you expect. the beds were comfortable.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Serious problem of cleanliness. Unacceptable for 40€/day. You have to pay a 5% additionnal tax when you arrive (not mentionned). Try another hostel of possible!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I was worried about staying at Utopia based on the previous reviews. When I arrived I was there a couple hours early so i walked around till I could check in. I ended up getting lost and didnt get back till around 2 hours after i was scheduled to check in. The staff was very helpful getting me a map and checking me in. The room was very quiet and clean with a lot of natural light looking out over the street. I stayed for one week in the same room and had no problems. I highly recommend Utopia.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff are really really lovely, will help you out and keep you safe

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Pictures of room are misleading rooms are very small the shared facilities are also horrible and award to use no were to hang your stuff in the shower etc

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Great for smoking weed.... Only 2 showers, crazy stairs to get in, ok wifi, good location. Cheap and a bit rough. Has good Lockers under each bed.


71%

It's not the best hostel, but you get what you pay...The stairs are the biggest trouble, to tiny. if you have a big baggage is gonna be a problem, and if you return a little bit drunk, also is gonna be a problem. the location is perfect, is not in the center but just a few blocks away from all (one block from the real palace!). Of couse, is a hostel and a coffee shop, so you have to expect run into people with that hobbie...


71%

Man sollte vielleicht wissen dass die Besitzer auch ein Coffeeshop führen, man sollte also nicht empfindlich gegenüber entsprechenden Gerüchen sein. Ist aber alles nicht so dramatisch. Sauberkeit und Ausstattung für ein Hostel und den Preis völlig akzeptabel.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Das Zimmer war klein und war nicht ordentich gereinigt. Überall lagen Haare und sonstiges auf dem Boden herum. Die Handtücher haben gestunken. In der Wand befand sich ein kleines Loch durch welches ständig Luft gezogen hat. Das Waschbecken war dreckig und hat gestunken. Der Mülleimer war nich geleert. Aus der Toilette lief unten Wasser aus und die Duschen wurden nicht ordentlich gereinigt. Es kostete 50 € Pro Nacht, dafür bekomme ich in Deutschland ein Hotel mit Frühstück !! Schlechter Service

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

El hostel es muy pequeño, y los baúles de seguridad para guardar las pertenencias están rotos y son inservibles.


77%

Unter der Woche ist der Preis ok. Aber der Wochenendpreis ist viel zu teuer. Im generellen ist das Hostel ok. Die Zimmer sind sehr klein und eng, aber sauber. Die Stiegen sind extrem steil und in unserem Zimmer stand auf der Tür eine Mäusewarnung. Aber für Tage unter der Woche ein super Hostel.


46%

Its a great location and has the utilities you need- it's just very small, very tight and the stairs are scary -- don't come here if you've got a bunch of luggage or heavy luggage! Its also above a coffee shop - judge based on your preferences. It should have been a lot cheaper for what you get- the washrooms are tiny and the showers are as well. Very dimly lit. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless you really needed a place for one night (which was my case).

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This place sucked.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Pretty disappointed overall with this hostel. The staff member who checked us in was great (friendly and very helpful) but the hostel itself was pretty dire. The room we had (Room 7) looked absolutely nothing like any of the pictures advertised on the website. The bed was broken, meaning that it sagged in the centre. The sheets smelt of wet dog, and it was overall very noisy. All this would be excused if the room didn't cost 47 euros for the night. Disappointing.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location from train station. In our room the wifi didn't work though and there is no communal area so the atmosphere isn't great. There was a toilet on every floor but not a shower. The place was alright for two nights but I wouldn't stay there for any longer.


74%

Poor WiFi connection in room 6. Very noisy, bring ear plugs to block traffic noise and talk from passer-byes. Checkin/checkout not polite or organized. At £25 per night, among cheapest hostel in town

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

i just think at weekends like 45euros for a 8 dorm bed is far too much. aswell the beds without a railing is not very cool to sleep in! you can not open the windows proper wich isnt really nice either if sleeping with 8 people in a room i think for maybe 20euros a night it woud be all good-but the value for money is very poor compare for example to berlin..

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback