X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
983 Total Reviews
  • 51%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 46%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We got the room on the very top floor that resembles the Harry Potter closet which is exactly what we wanted. The room was clean, the perfect size for us and even the bathrooms were spotless! It was a perfect little treehouse adventure and we loved it. Will absolutely book again for next time!


46%

Personnel peu disponible (si ce n'est désagréable), chambre libérée avec 6 heures de retard (ce n'est pas une exagération), draps sales, chambre minuscule (quasi impossible de circuler dans l'espace)...personnellement, et malgré une bonne expérience dans le domaine (Scandinavie, Allemagne, Italie...), le pire hostel dans lequel je n'ai jamais été. Précisions également importante : l'hostel en question est rattaché à un cofee shop. Mieux vaut donc être consommateur pour "apprécier" l'endroit.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

A nightmare!!! This is not a real hotel, I've never seen a room like that where you can't stand up.


66%

This is a decent spot if you're looking for a place to crash after a long day of exploring and a night out on the town. The place can get very expensive if you don't book well in advance, to the point where you definitely feel like you're blowing money for minimal value. The rooms are cleaner and safer than I expected, and the location is pretty good! (About a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station). If you check in at Bob's Youth hostel, it's laughable how miserable some staff members are

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Everything is dirty

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Poco espacio y habitacion muy sucia

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

horrible!!! El hostel es muy sucio. Todo en mal estado las paredes, las camas, el lugar para lavarse las manos estaba en un pequeño cuarto sin puerta dentro de la misma habitación. Todo oxidado y sucio, ahi mismo habia un armario lleno de mugre. Afuera un minusculo lugar donde había un inodoro y otro minusculo cuarto con una ducha. Todo sucio y olvidate de encontrar jabon y menos . Comparti la habitacion con 7 personas mas y no tenia donde cambiarme la ropa. Pague mas de 50€ la noche, estafa!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Extremely hot, cramped, and difficult to access. Stairwells were extremely narrow which is difficult to climb in a towel in a co-Ed hostel since showers aren't on every floor. The room was unbearably hot and my roommate and I woke up drenched in sweat and wanted to leave as soon as possible. I would spring for a hotel next time for slightly more money if for no other reason besides the heat.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

worst hostel i have ever stayed in (and i have been in over 50 and do not expect to much). the room was dirty with half eaten pizza boxes under our beds, two sperate beds and we could not place them next to each other because the room was so small. the staff was very unfriendly and rude. the did not give us any help. i would not recommend this place to anybody. it was very expensive for what you get. i will never sleep in this place again!


37%

This hostel may have been worth it if it was cheaper but it was very overpriced because of some events in town. The staircase is unsafely steep and narrow, even for Amsterdam. The room was cramped, insanely hot, and WiFi didn't reach it of course. Payment is cash only, which wasn't specified before. No lounge, just the cafe. They said a lot of things get stolen. Shower and toilets were decent but shared by a lot of people. This place is ok if it's cheap and you need a bed. Bring your own towel.


37%

This barely rated 1 star hotel! Is a price gouging rip off a place! Please check the small print on your travel insurance! To make sure you are covered for serious injury ? Before attempting the dangerous stairs with your case or backpack! Complete dog/sweatbox of a room! If I had the choice again from only them and being homeless? I would keep my money and take my chance in the homeless shelter!


37%

When we arrive, the reception was closed and we needed to book in in other hotel and no one told us about it. the room was so small, we could not stay inside the room more then sleeping. the bathroom and the shower was not in a good shape. we payed more then what the website says. finally, i will not recommend for this hotel to no one.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Esta muy bien ubicado, un poco viejo pero creo que en general así son todas las casas que están en el centro, reducidas pero por la ubicación vale mucho la pena.


37%

It seems, in Amsterdam, people will gladly rent out any cupboard or crawl space for a ludicrous fee. Even by that standard this place was particualrly poor. Busted plumbing and smashed floortiles. Light bulbs not working. Filthy. (There were half smoked joints and pizza boxes under our beds. Deeply unpleasant


60%

Overall it was a good hostel with a great location in the centre of Amsterdam. Everything is within walking or cycling distance no need for public transport. We read mixed reviews and therefore were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. The facilities are limited and could be cleaner but this is made up for by its excellent location. The down side was the fact that there was an overwhelming smell of weed everywhere but that's not a problem for everyone.


51%

Winziges Zimmer, Doppelbett war mehr ein Einzelbett, das bei jeder Bewegung fast zusammenkrachte, Bettwäsche war dreckig. Das Zimmer war direkt unter dem Dach, man hörte jeden einzelnen Laut der Tauben. Wenn man die Toilette spühlte, musste man fast eine Stunde warten, bis sie wieder funktionierte. Der Duschkopf wurde offenbahr seit Jahren nicht geputzt. Die Treppe ist LEBENSGEFÄHRLICH! Ich habe keine hohen Erwartungen, aber das war wirklich das schrecklichste Zimmer, das ich je gesehen habe.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Check in was at bob's hostel down the road, hostel utopia basically has no staff. Only saw him when we went to check out and it was a very dull experience. Internet was good, reached all the rooms and didn't cut out. Place smelt of weed a bit - but that might be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Comfortable beds but wouldn't stay more than 3 nights.


57%

Beliw expectations! Too expensive for the services provided. Excellent location, but the lobby is only open from 18 o clock, so you need to check in in another hostel. Las night they were overbooked and they changed our reservarion to another hostel. Is not that but taking into account that is Amsterdam, but if you compare it with some other hostels from around Europe is pretty basic.


71%

Very close to the center and the train station. The staff was not very nice as they didn't give information about the city or anything. The reception was in a coffee shop (a place that sells drugs and stuff) so it smelled really bad. The room was, although very small, clean and had everything. My problem was that my room was on the third floor so it's very tiring to climb all the stairs with my luggages and the wifi didn't reach the third floor. The hostel was next to a busy street so it's noisy


49%

the ''hostel'' was basicly the room, there were no common zones and the reception was a cofee shop next door that only opens after 6 pm, and the guy there were not that friendly, but the girl was really friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback