X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
1000 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 48%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

This hostel had no common area and no working internet in the rooms. The rooms ade very crowded. The satff is unhelpful and unfriendly.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Reviews on website made me very unsure. So i only booked two nights however I wish i booked more time it was great staff so lovely such a nice coffee shop to chill in. rooms pretty good sheets were just average. but it was easy to find with from central station only one stop away by tram i wish i walked!!


40%

The distopia hostel/hotel b&b . What ever they want to call them selves . Is one of the worst places i have ever been. The showers are bad . And the front desk and or coffee shop is only open from 18 in the evening. So if your checking in early it has to be done in bobs hostel, wich wouldnt be a bad thing if the staff there knew there job... it took them more than an hour to check me in and it was really quite and dead ... anyway make sure you miss this one. Plus the owner is not nice


91%

Super séjour à l'hotel Utopia! Idéalement placé dans la plus vivante arrête d'Amsterdam, à 10 min maximum de la gare centrale, beaucoup de magasins, restaurants, coffee shop ou encore magasin de location de vélo. Modeste mais propre! Personnel sympathique, nous reviendrons dans cet endroit. Le seul bémol: pas de personnel avant 18h (heure d'ouverture du coffee de l'hôtel) mais personnel du Bob Youth à disposition! (autre hotel situé à 2min à pied) Idéal pour les jeunes!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel was one of the cheaper ones we found and we chose it for its location. The bad things: there isn't a kitchen so bear that in mind. It gets bloody hot in the rooms and if you're in a street facing room then it's super loud when you open a window for fresh air. A pair of earplugs and this was fine. The stairs are pretty damn precarious. I had no problem with them but they're super steep and narrow. There's a 20 euro deposit for the keys. Other than that it reall was a fine hostel.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The bed was fine and the staff were friendly. However the showers were dirty and they were only hot half of the time. The steps were very steep so difficult to access. And there were no facilities other than a bed, so we had to spend a lot of money providing food etc. positive though? The wifi did reach our rooms!


26%

By the time we've got there, we've been told that we wouldn't be able to check in until 4:30 pm for an unknown reason. At the booking time, we'd been informed that check-ins were possible from 9:00 am onwards. Eventually we'd to look for another hostel since we were dead tired.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Gar nicht so schlecht wie von vielen geschildert. Als das günstigste hostel mit superzentraler Lage wirklich ideal. Die steile Treppe war auch mal eine spannende Erfahrung. Bin zufrieden!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel in my experience! The staff is great and the rooms are very clean! I hope to comeback soon! The bar is a very good place for chilling out!! I've loved this place!!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We got the room on the very top floor that resembles the Harry Potter closet which is exactly what we wanted. The room was clean, the perfect size for us and even the bathrooms were spotless! It was a perfect little treehouse adventure and we loved it. Will absolutely book again for next time!


100%

the stairs... beware. good coffee shop, great hash and weed. the woman was very nice, the man with the beard hated his job. rooms were alright.


46%

Personnel peu disponible (si ce n'est désagréable), chambre libérée avec 6 heures de retard (ce n'est pas une exagération), draps sales, chambre minuscule (quasi impossible de circuler dans l'espace)...personnellement, et malgré une bonne expérience dans le domaine (Scandinavie, Allemagne, Italie...), le pire hostel dans lequel je n'ai jamais été. Précisions également importante : l'hostel en question est rattaché à un cofee shop. Mieux vaut donc être consommateur pour "apprécier" l'endroit.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

A nightmare!!! This is not a real hotel, I've never seen a room like that where you can't stand up.


66%

This is a decent spot if you're looking for a place to crash after a long day of exploring and a night out on the town. The place can get very expensive if you don't book well in advance, to the point where you definitely feel like you're blowing money for minimal value. The rooms are cleaner and safer than I expected, and the location is pretty good! (About a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station). If you check in at Bob's Youth hostel, it's laughable how miserable some staff members are

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Everything is dirty

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Poco espacio y habitacion muy sucia

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

horrible!!! El hostel es muy sucio. Todo en mal estado las paredes, las camas, el lugar para lavarse las manos estaba en un pequeño cuarto sin puerta dentro de la misma habitación. Todo oxidado y sucio, ahi mismo habia un armario lleno de mugre. Afuera un minusculo lugar donde había un inodoro y otro minusculo cuarto con una ducha. Todo sucio y olvidate de encontrar jabon y menos . Comparti la habitacion con 7 personas mas y no tenia donde cambiarme la ropa. Pague mas de 50€ la noche, estafa!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Extremely hot, cramped, and difficult to access. Stairwells were extremely narrow which is difficult to climb in a towel in a co-Ed hostel since showers aren't on every floor. The room was unbearably hot and my roommate and I woke up drenched in sweat and wanted to leave as soon as possible. I would spring for a hotel next time for slightly more money if for no other reason besides the heat.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

worst hostel i have ever stayed in (and i have been in over 50 and do not expect to much). the room was dirty with half eaten pizza boxes under our beds, two sperate beds and we could not place them next to each other because the room was so small. the staff was very unfriendly and rude. the did not give us any help. i would not recommend this place to anybody. it was very expensive for what you get. i will never sleep in this place again!


37%

This hostel may have been worth it if it was cheaper but it was very overpriced because of some events in town. The staircase is unsafely steep and narrow, even for Amsterdam. The room was cramped, insanely hot, and WiFi didn't reach it of course. Payment is cash only, which wasn't specified before. No lounge, just the cafe. They said a lot of things get stolen. Shower and toilets were decent but shared by a lot of people. This place is ok if it's cheap and you need a bed. Bring your own towel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback