X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
918 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Chambre petite mais restant fonctionnelle, la vue était moche (sur toiture de la cour) mais au moins on n'avait pas le bruit de la rue. C'était assez propre dans l'ensemble, malgré ce qu'en disaient d'autres avis. Douche peu pratique et mal ventilée, WC un peu déglingué. Pour le prix on peut s'attendre à pire, mais il ne faut pas espérer un truc refait à neuf non plus. Le prix calculé sur le site n'inclut pas les 5% de taxes supplémentaires, ainsi que le dépôt de 20 € pour la clef.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was good if you just look for a place to sleep. The coffeeshop was nice but it opens at 6 pm and closes at 1 am. There is no room in de hostel where you can just smoke a sigaret, you must go outside. On the site it say that the "taxes are included in the price" not true! You still have to pay 5% tourist tax in the hostel. That was something they might need to tell upfront!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Low cost, high management And cleaner of room s

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

La ubicación es muy buena pero los cuartos podrían estar mejor. Eran muy chicos y los colchones estaban un poco viejos. La relación precio-calidad definitivamente no es buena. Es mejor hospedarse un poco más lejos y tomar un tram o caminar un poco más. La limpieza es buena, los espacios comunes se limpian a diario. Los que son sucios son los turistas que buscan esta versión de Amsterdam, que viven en el coffee shop y no cuidan el hostel. Todo depende del tipo de turismo que se busque.


77%

Wer die Stadt sehen will und nur was zum schlaf braucht ist es Ok !!!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Situation plus qu excellente...:) Auberge de base... si pas difficile cela fait tres bien l affaire. Dommage pour le prix excessif.


31%

It was owful because we had problems with the roommates and the hostel didn't give us any solution and any money back. The worst hostel of my life

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Although the room itself was fairly low budget, and noisy (due to it facing onto a busy road) the staff were amazing and we really enjoyed our time! Will definitely be back soon

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

La ubicacion es excelente... Inmejorable no se necesita ningun tipo de transporte, pero el baño del hostal es muy sucio. Lo bueno es la coffee shop!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Horrible steep spiral staircase, tiny room, shower smelled so awful, cheap but depressing to go back to each evening. Worth paying that bit more

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The charming night watchman with the dancing eyes abused and overcharged us, the master of first impressions, then the room was as clean as my mind after a walk down red light and the plug sockets are on the ceiling. "Are you serious?!" I hear you cry. I am, your phone charges while dangling precariously above your calm, sleeping face. The walls have dirt all over and the ceiling has blood on. The whole venture was like an action scene from Indiana Jones. Best. Hostel. Ever.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

totally overpriced!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Room was clean, towel was changed and bed was made daily. However the stairway leading up to the room is narrow with equally narrow steps. Will be tricky if you are not carrying a backpack or have a cabin luggage. Anything more will out your arm power and balancing skills to test.Overall good stay. Oh but there were only 2 power sockets in my room which is by the door and if we are to charge our phones etc, will have to place them on a bed.Luckily there was no one occupying it when I was there.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Rares sont les fois où je me plains pour dormir, mais là ça dépasse la limite de l'acceptable! Après un accueil par le gérant qui ne sourit pas et qui s'impatiente pour qu'on paye que en liquide. LA CHAMBRE: pour accéder au 3eme et dernier étage sans ascenseur il faut montrer abilement les mini marches en colimaçon avec les valises pour arriver dans une chambre assez sale de 6m2 (3X2m mesuré) le lit et les oreillés jaune(heureusement quil y a des dras) vue sur un mur.. OUBLIÉ CET ENDROIT!


60%

There is not a real reception in the hostel. It's a coffee shop that also rents room. The location is excellent by the way. Please change the password of the wifi with the correct one, there is a mistaken one. Suggested only if you have to stay for few days.


97%

thoroughly enjoyed my time staying here! perfect location great staff! will definitely be back when i next come over!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall, this hostel equaled what we paid for a private twin room. The place was surprisingly clean! The only complaint I have is that the electrical work is questionable. We were unable to plug in our power adapter to one of the outlets because it caused the buildings fuse to jump. We were only able to charge one device at a time. The wifi was unstable on the third floor, we could not get a steady connection.


51%

Arrivés tard le soir, nous ne revions que d'une chose : un bon lit et un min de confort ! Ce n' était sans compter sur Utopia ! Les chambres doubles de cet Hostel sont surement des secrets bien gardés ! Après avoir gravi 3 étages en colimasson serré, bienvenue au Palace. Un Palace d'environ 2,5 m2 se composant d'un lit, d'un lavabo, d'une petite lucarne et gd luxe des tps modernes : une télé arnachée facon trek de montagne. Une utopie définitivement non conseillée !

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Die sehr steilen Treppen hinauf zum Zimmer sind lebensgefährlich, da tw. Handläufe fehlen, nur kaltes Wasser am Waschbecken im Zimmer, wo auch Licht fehlt. Wlan-Empfang hat man oben nicht, ausschließlich im Coffeeshop. Fenster sind undicht und mit löchernen Stoffen behangen, aufrecht gehen ist im 2er Einzelbettzimmer (3. Etage) nicht möglich. 1 von 2 Duschtüren nicht schließbar. Auch vor Tiergeräuschen durch ein Loch in der Wand zum Dachboden sollte man sich nicht fürchten!

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Good facility but the staff were very unhelpful and rude. the guy got really annoyed at everything.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback