X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
1083 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 48%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Propreté limitée dans les chambres et salles de douche !

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Only the female member of staff was pleasant and helpful the two other males were incredibly rude. The location is idlic and for €16 a night I could deal with the tiny room with walls covered in names of previous occupants. The door for the toilet wouldn't close properly and there was 2 showers in the whole building!

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

El lugar es muy incomodo, no tenía una limpieza donde te pudieras sentir cómoda. Tuvimos que cambiemos de hostel porque no nos sentíamos cómodas. La ventana tenía un hoyo donde entraba el aire por lo que el cuarto estaba frío. Aparte de que el espacio es demasiado pequeño en la habitación que nos toco.

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It's great if you don't have high expectations. I got a safe, clean bed for a night and that's all you can ask for in a hostel.


49%

Our room was very small and had low ceiling. The room and the bed linen were dirty. There was no reception or common room that can be reachable anytime. The person who is dealing with customers would open the door when you knock and his attitudes were generally rude. I believe I could find a better hostel for the same or a bit more amount of money.


63%

The stairs to go to the rooms are so small and no easy climb with luggage. You have to be very careful. The guy who was when I was goimg to check out at about 9:30a.m when the coffe shop was not open yet was very rude

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Hi, nothing to say to the girl at the desk for the check in and all the other enquires, the bad point was he manager at the sheck out ,Hewas very rude, was raining from the windows and he said that was my fault becouse i opened it...?????????, and also he tocked the door keys and i wont give me back the key bond!! horrible costumer service, you need to change

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Shower was nasty. Staircase is treacherous, wifi didnt work in rooms but did work down by reception. However, reception is actually a "coffeeshop" so can't use it without coming out smelling rank everytime. Bed wasn't too bad but linens had holes. Bathroom was one toilet in hallway, so small that sitting on the toilet my knees hit the wall in front of me. You are only paying for location. Lockers are shoddy. I've stayed in some questionable hostels, but this one was on a new level.


83%

We had a private room for two, right beneath the roof. When we came in first, we turned off the heating, cause it was so hot in there, but those windows weren´t properly sealed, so when we came back it was rather cold. The stairs are like climbing a Mountain, but that´s Amsterdam. The only thing I really would complain is, that we had no wifi in our room. It´s clean, cheap, safe and nice. and when you go downstairs you´ll get a wifi signal.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Couldn't get wifi on top floor for the entire stay but the staff were down to earth and friendly!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Ho soggiornato all'ostello Utopia per 5 notti dal 28/12 al 2/1 con altri 6 amici in una camerata da 8. Ostello veramente essenziale e piccolo (le scale sono una sfida quotidiana), ma nonostante ciò ottimo per la posizione (1 minuto a piedi da piazza Dam e 10/15 minuti sino al museo di Van Gogh), per la pulizia, contrariamente a quanto affermano altre recensioni, e per il coffeshop. Unico punto critico il prezzo: sarà pur stato capodanno, ma €250 per 5 notti non li meritava.


26%

Firstly i was not given room as mentioned on the website. The rooms are too cramped. Need to be painted and proper ventilation should be provided.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Sympa pour un week-end, chambres acceptables pour le prix payé, et très bien placé. Vaut le coup.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Bathrooms are too small.. And the rooms are as well. The beds are comfy... The coffee shop next door was awesome!


66%

It's a good place for the price and location nothing too special about the rooms but you get wait you pay for, would stay again.


83%

Check out was 11 AM but we were told we had ten minutes to leave at 10.35 , the gentleman on the morning of checkout was very rude and abrupt , the women staff in the coffee shop were very helpful and kind.


31%

If you were aiming for the feel of a turkish prison then 10 out of 10

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very clean, friendly staff, cozy, affordable.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Worst place ever.


57%

Owner ir very rude, rooms are very small (no space for a traveltravel bag) and it smelled bad. It's just a tiny bed With a roof...


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback