X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Utopia Reviews

nieuwezijds voorburgwal 132, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
932 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Nada acogedora, lo más barato pero lo peor en calidad.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The only thing that can improve Hotel Utopia would be to burn it to the ground. The lobby, hallways, stairs, bathrooms, and rooms are absolutely filthy. There was never soap in the toilet area and the shower smelled like raw sewage. The rooms should be described as more of a closet than a guestroom. The beds were not comfortable, the sheets were STAINED, and my roommate and I were afraid to touch everything in there. I will NEVER go back again!! Stay away from Hotel "Utopia"!!!!!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Our booking got messed up but Jess was great and got it sorted and everything was fine in the end. Pretty basic set up. Fairly quiet. Private room definitely not worth it though.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Personal war sehr nett

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Sale, peu sécurisé et inconfortable.


49%

O hostel tem uma ótima localização, podendo ter fácil acesso a todos os pontos mais importantes da cidade. Entretanto, o quarto em que me hospedei não tinha absolutamente nada a ver com as fotos que sao publicadas no site. O quarto era super pequeno com colchao velho. Nós tinhamos uma mala maior e foi muito dificil subir tres lances de uma escada super estreita e circular. Os banheiros com chuveiro são muito velhos, sujos e com mofo, principalmente por serem uma caixa fechada sem ventilação.


91%

Good place

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Chambre petite mais restant fonctionnelle, la vue était moche (sur toiture de la cour) mais au moins on n'avait pas le bruit de la rue. C'était assez propre dans l'ensemble, malgré ce qu'en disaient d'autres avis. Douche peu pratique et mal ventilée, WC un peu déglingué. Pour le prix on peut s'attendre à pire, mais il ne faut pas espérer un truc refait à neuf non plus. Le prix calculé sur le site n'inclut pas les 5% de taxes supplémentaires, ainsi que le dépôt de 20 € pour la clef.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Sono stata in diversi ostelli ma questo è stato il peggiore,mi sembrava di essere in una stanza di un manicomio non lo consiglierei ad una coppia direi che ammazza abbastanza il romanticismo in più i due letti anche se la stanza era solo per noi erano sperati.la TV non funzionava, alla fine ci siamo stati pochissimo lo stretto necessario, l'unica nota positiva è la posizione.In+nella prenotazione c'è scritto che il prezzo era quello invece lui ha detto che c'erano altre tasse e non mi sembra cor

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was good if you just look for a place to sleep. The coffeeshop was nice but it opens at 6 pm and closes at 1 am. There is no room in de hostel where you can just smoke a sigaret, you must go outside. On the site it say that the "taxes are included in the price" not true! You still have to pay 5% tourist tax in the hostel. That was something they might need to tell upfront!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Low cost, high management And cleaner of room s

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

La ubicación es muy buena pero los cuartos podrían estar mejor. Eran muy chicos y los colchones estaban un poco viejos. La relación precio-calidad definitivamente no es buena. Es mejor hospedarse un poco más lejos y tomar un tram o caminar un poco más. La limpieza es buena, los espacios comunes se limpian a diario. Los que son sucios son los turistas que buscan esta versión de Amsterdam, que viven en el coffee shop y no cuidan el hostel. Todo depende del tipo de turismo que se busque.


77%

Wer die Stadt sehen will und nur was zum schlaf braucht ist es Ok !!!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Situation plus qu excellente...:) Auberge de base... si pas difficile cela fait tres bien l affaire. Dommage pour le prix excessif.


31%

It was owful because we had problems with the roommates and the hostel didn't give us any solution and any money back. The worst hostel of my life

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Although the room itself was fairly low budget, and noisy (due to it facing onto a busy road) the staff were amazing and we really enjoyed our time! Will definitely be back soon

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

La ubicacion es excelente... Inmejorable no se necesita ningun tipo de transporte, pero el baño del hostal es muy sucio. Lo bueno es la coffee shop!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Horrible steep spiral staircase, tiny room, shower smelled so awful, cheap but depressing to go back to each evening. Worth paying that bit more

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The charming night watchman with the dancing eyes abused and overcharged us, the master of first impressions, then the room was as clean as my mind after a walk down red light and the plug sockets are on the ceiling. "Are you serious?!" I hear you cry. I am, your phone charges while dangling precariously above your calm, sleeping face. The walls have dirt all over and the ceiling has blood on. The whole venture was like an action scene from Indiana Jones. Best. Hostel. Ever.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

totally overpriced!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback