X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2434 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Well located and friendly staff, except for the guy in the breakfast line. Rooms are clean and they replace your towels every day if you leave them on the floor.


91%

This hotel was absolutely stunning! Check-in and -out was done within seconds and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. The room was gorgeous- as someone used to staying in the cheapest mixed dorms, it felt incredibly luxurious. It's just a pity that the bed meant for couples consists of two single beds pushed together- very annoying if you're trying to spend time with your sweetheart. Otherwise- amazing stay!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very clean, nice room, moderate price. No complaints here. I did have a private room with 2 double beds so I can't tell you what the dorm rooms are like but the room I stayed in was hotel quality for sure. I guess there was no phone in the room but who uses those anyways?

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We've stayed in a quite a few hostels, and I have to say, this is one of the best. It may not be in the center of Amsterdam, but it's in a beautiful area and still very close to everything. Very clean, outlets and lights next to each bed, friendly staff, and good breakfast! It's not just adequate, Van Gogh is somewhere I would stay again. If you're looking for hotel standards at hostel prices, this is the hostel. We will most certainly be back!

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

More of a hotel rather than a hostel. Still a really nice place with helpful and nice staff, good location and dorms. Sadly no atmospher at all really, because of it being more of a hotel. Showers are great! Good pressure and lots of room


94%

very pleasant stay, very clean, great breakfast, very good position


77%

very good place

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The breakfast was excellent and the kitchen/dining facilities were sufficient for basic meals. The key card system is effective, and smart that there are three levels of security to make it to the rooms. It was much appreciated/necessary that the rooms were cleaned daily (except for one day) because eight people in a small space with one bathroom cause a pretty big mess every day. The space is rather small and basic, very clean and in a GREAT location!


69%

Not the best but not the worst! However it wasn't even in the same league and the flying pig downtown or the bull dog which I have previously stayed in. If this is going to be a laid back trip with less partying and more sight seeing then this is probably the right hostel for you! If you want to experience amsterdams famous night life then choose a more central hostel although this is a nice place to get your head down!


97%

Had a great time. Very cool hostel.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was nice and there is nothing to complain about. 8/10 Would visit again.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, definitely almost like a hotel! Very clean, rooms had wifi and a television. The location was great, near the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum but still within about a 30 minute walk to the center of the city and everything else. Met some incredible people and had a really nice stay! (note I stayed in the all female dorm)


94%

I like staying at the Van Gogh and had a single room there. All fine, except that the mattress is so soft, I could easily have fallen out of bed had I made a wrong move in my sleep. Other than that, it's great and highly recommended!


97%

really great room, the cleaning boy did great job, the room is so clean. i like the bathroom. the staff are so friendly and helpful. oh, the bed is amzing too.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

We found that our room was nice yet lacked space for luggage leaving you no choice but to have it in the middle of the room, also under the beds was incredibly dusty, obviously hasn't been cleaned in months. Other than that it was a pleasant enough stay


86%

It was a wonderful stay. The location and the facilities were amazing I just wish the staff would be a bit more friendly

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Atmosphere was a bit quiet while I was there, but friendly enough. Everything else was great, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms in good condition. Not the comfiest bed in the world, but okay for 4 nights.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

clean, safe and all facilities (heater, hairdryer, wifi etc) you could need. Would def recommend it. Location wise,a bit outside the central Dam, Jordaan and Red light districts, closer to the museums and fancy shops rather than the trendier club-bar scene. Even then, its max a 20 minute walk to any of these locations. Communal area not great and doesn't really foster much much banter. not exactly a party hostel but tI wanted somewhere quieter so ideal.


89%

Dorms were nice but could prove a bit noisy at times. Place was clean and secure, staff were attentive and the breakfast was a good deal.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It feels more like somewhere between hostel and hotel


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(142 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback