Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3,729 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3,729 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostel Van Gogh Located at Van de Veldestraat 5, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Van Gogh
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 CW Van de Veldestraat 5
82% 3729
52.3590644 4.8800110
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • greisen
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
7.4

Mold, but otherwise very nice accommodations

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.9

We love this hostel. Maybe a bit expensive but the location and rooms are excellent. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.7

Great location, the rooms are ok, every person has a plug, a light, wifi is ok too. Seems like it used to be a hotel, so I was in a room with 7 other people and we shared a toilet and shower inside the room. Best part was the breakfast, everything was really fresh. About the staff, some of them are reeeeeally nice, some others just seemed to hate their job and whenever I asked for something they made me feel as if I they were doing me a favor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.0

Very clean and modern. Great location for the museumplein so good for visiting the art galleries, however quite far out from city centre, but trams are easily accessible from the hostel. Lovely ensuite and spacious dorm. The safes in the dorm were also good for valuables. Friendly people here and quite quiet. Overall a pleasant stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.1

AMAZING location. Staff were super friendly and breakfast in the hostel was available for additional 5 euro fee too. 24 hr reception and laundry facilities were great too. Only complaint is the trash in our room was not emptied for several days, and when six of you share a room it gets pretty full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.4

We booked an 8 bed dorm with ensuite which was better than expected. Bed comfortable and towels provided daily. The bathroom was nice. We had breakfast on the first day but it's expensive for what you get. The location is good there is a supermarket nearby, the park is close as well as museums and Leidseplein which has bars and restaurants. The cafe next door has great coffee

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
5.7

Really rude staff, felt more like a burden than a guest!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2016
7.7

Great location for Vondelpark and the museums. However, a bit of a walk from the main shopping and partying areas. There were some aspects that made this place more like a hotel such as an en suite bathroom and fresh towels, but this was reflected in the high price. The rooms were clean but the hallways seemed to be constantly occupied by changeover bedding.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.6

This is like a hostel/hotel where you have A/C in the rooms and you get to use new towels everyday. The rooms and restrooms are clean. There is an affordable buffet breakfast which I really think is value for money. Location is very accessible - you only use 1 tram from the Amsterdam Centraal, which is the main station of the city if you travel from one country to another. The location is also good as there are a lot of shops and restos nearby plus 3 museums!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

This place was great. After a month of hostels, this place's showers and modern clean rooms were a dream come true. Actual hot water with real water pressure! Most staff were very friendly and really helpful, with the exception of one gentleman who was really angry and snappy all the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.