Hostelworld.com

Hostel Van Gogh

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.1

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The facilities are kept in great condition. Comfy beds and hot showers. €5 breakfast available, decent wifi and bus to airport just down the street. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jkgunterman
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel itself is super nice it's new and clean. We had an issue with our shower not draining and it ended up flooding our room. The staff didn't do much since it was late at night he said it wasn't his job to clean. Other then the drain it was great! Beds were super comfy. It is close to a metro line but pretty far from all the major attractions. Overall a decent stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • armeers6335
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.7

Great location, great rooms, beds were comfy. Only downfall was the bathroom, shower drain didn't drain and so overflowed into bathroom and then no circulation in the bathroom caused it to get pretty muggy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
5.4

During the first night of our stay when arriving back at our room we began to prepare our bed for the night, only to find the pubic hair of a previous guest in our sheets. This, for the first view of our hotel completely ruined the experience for us. We felt as though the whole room was unclean and did not feel comfortable sleeping in our beds, this showing with the very little amount of sleep we had over the period of our trip.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
4.9

The receptionist who did the check in for us (I suppose the FO manager) treated us unprofessionally. He used bad gestures, bad behaviour, and being racist. Approving his attitude will be one of the way to fix everything. As a FO manager he shouldn't give his colleagues this kind of example.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.1

It was my first time staying in a hostel, and Hotel Van Gogh did not disappoint. I booked a private room with a bathroom. Checking in was very easy, and I had read past reviews about the front desk/staff being very rude, but the guy who helped me was super nice and helpful. My room was very clean and they even provided towels and shampoo. I was afraid the hostel would be noisy, but it was pretty quiet during my stay. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Great experience here! The rooms were minimal but the shared bath was nicer than I've ever seen. I was in a 6p shared female room. The location was the best-- just steps away from the Van Gogh Museum and the tram. Very convenient. They have breakfast for 5 euro which was a great start to the morning and the staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Not so much a party hostel (from what I saw) but if you just need a place to stay in a safe and comfy environment, this place is for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
6.9

Room was cleaned that often. Very small room for putting 8 beds. However it was a nice room for a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
28th Jan 2017
4.0

The only thing that could improve this place is a new manager with a new attitude. Totally unobservant, incompetent and downright rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
6.6

Hostel was quite nice but I found the Asian man at the desk to be quite rude and cold. Didn't seem to care much about the guests and didn't even say goodbye when we checked out. Overall a nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.