Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4,144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4,144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Hostel Van Gogh Located at Van de Veldestraat 5, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Van Gogh
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 CW Van de Veldestraat 5
82% 4144
52.3590644 4.8800110
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed at two hostels for my Brussels-Amsterdam trip and on every front Hotel Van Gogh was better than the hostel in Brussels. Towels were free, adapters could be rented, staff was lovely and breakfast was amazing. All in all I would highly recommend this hostel (and I don't recommend lightly) to anybody holidaying in Amsterdam especially since it's near to two museums and has a cheap taxi to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.1

Close to rijksmuseum. Friendly staff. There is a bit more noise in daytime because it is close to kindergarten. Anyway, kids are lovely. Rich buffet breakfast for 5 euro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Really close to the museums and easy to get to by tram from the airport. The staff weren't really helpful at all. The rooms are tight but clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel! Clean room and en suite. Comfortable beds and pillows. Great buffet breakfast for 5euro. Man at front desk was quite rude, as mentioned in other reviews. Great location near museums and iAmsterdam sign. Walked all over city easily. Towels included. Functioning elevator. Felt like a hotel at hostel price. (No bar or other fun aspects of usual hostel, but it was a good resting break on our travels). Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • primaveram
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

LOVED IT HERE! Even though I only stayed a night. The hostel was super clean and it felt comfortable as if you were in a hotel, the towels were included and the bed was comfy. I would stay here again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

We were very happy with this hostel, it exceeded all expectations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
6.9

Good location, and good price for the room. Can't fault the cleanliness of the room, apart from the bathroom smelling strongly of stale smoke. There was a lovely lady at reception who checked us in early. However, we had to wait 10 minutes for the room, so we waited at reception. During this time the manager was rude & unprofessional to the lady on reception, & then also extremely belittling to us. I'd advise everyone to not let him belittle you; what horrible customer service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Great place , great location! Would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Clean, has security boxes, power plug by bed. Toilet/Shower. What else do you need? Closer to town, eh, 15 minute walk-ish.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Great location for the hostel, didn't like that the name at the front of the building is called a HOTEL. Made it confusing to get there. I also stayed in an 8 people mixed dorm and one bathroom wasn't really ideal for the number of people and they don't have a central bathroom at the front. Overall not a bad place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.