X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2529 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Nice place to sleep, although not super special. Clean and comfortable, staff was lovely but not much atmosphere for making friends or hanging out. So not the best for solo travellers, but otherwise it's fine :)

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff seemed to have a problem with the group we were with. Weren't very friendly or co-operative. But nice hostel

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel most look like a hotel with great staff and amazing localization near Rijksmusem and Vangogh but the breakfast was 6.5 euros per day and once u book the option for couple room they just put two single beds together that end up getting apart during the night and u end up falling in between!


91%

Good location, good price and super clean. Just note it is not a social hostel, if it is what you're looking for.


77%

The hostel was labelled "Hotel" from the outside which was confusing and the directions provided on the booking by the hostel were not very thorough. Besides that the room and beds were comfortable with plenty of power points. Bathrooms were nice and clean and more like a hotel than a hostel. Not a lot of communal sitting space besides the eating area.


80%

A bit skeptical to begin with(atleast while we're trying to booking), but it turned out a pretty good deal.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

felt more like a hotel, very smart and excellent value for money


77%

The hostel had great facilities and is very close to public transport and the museums. Well cleaned too. I wouldn't recommend for solo travellers wanting to meet people as the social area is more hotel-style. The breakfast is not worth the money, but there's a supermarket around the corner.


83%

Clean and comfy beds with towels provided. More mirrors needed in the room with 6 girls! Bathroom modern, kept clean and a great shower. Good buffet breakfast for 5 euros extra. Right near the I Amsterdam sign, and can walk into town easy. Overall a good hostel and would stay again.


100%

Very clean and nice facility. I wasn't aware though that being 54 years old excludes me from staying in the least expensive room, meaning 6 beds (with bunk beds). I was only told about that after I walked into the facility after a long transatlantic flight. I was informed that the info could have been find online (small print) and that I simply didn't read it. It was true. I didn't. I was checked in anyway but now I know I need to read the small print and probably pay for a more expensive place

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It was very clean and nice.Staff was very kind.There is an all you can buffet for 5 euros for the breakfast.It was very good.It is in a very good location,just near to Van Gogh Museum.I highly recommend this hostel.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed in a triple room with private bathroom and what I can say is that is not an hostel room, is a 3/4* hotel room. Very clean, spacious and confortable! The bed is really amazing. The location is perfect! If you like to walk you can do all Amsterdam walking and the hostel is just in front of the Van Gogh Museum that is 1 minute walking from the Rijskmuseum that is really central. The atmosphere and facilities are really cool and completely worth it the value for money. Cool staff.


74%

The hostel has a excellent location and good facilities. The room is really good and spacious. Some things were not good, though. The hostel has no kitchen for guests. Even with the fridge and the microwave, there is no space for cooking, if you want to. The staff is not very frindly. I arrived in the afternoon with some friends and the receptionist did not give us a lot of attention and was not at all friendly.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

everything was gut the hostel its clean and the location its good

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great! Can't say enough about this hostel. They took care of everything and they were very polite. Probably the single best hostel in town (though to be fair, I'd only been to one other)!


100%

Loved this hostel. The location is perfect for walking around and seeing the museums. Easy to get to from the airport. Overall, awesome place!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was in a great location. My only complaint was the male receptionist. He was very rude to everyone.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is very convenient and the breakfast is very cheap (5euros) for good, all you can eat food . We just hope they can build cabinets for the rooms. The only thing provided are small safety boxes where only a passport , some jewelry and wallet can fit in. There are no shelves to place toiletries or used clothes. Also the rooms and bathrooms are not that clean.


86%

The location is really great, near the Rijksmuseum, and really easy to get there, because it's close to the Van Gogh Museum. I didn't see a kitchen to make your own food there, however there is always a microwave available. If you book the breakfast one day before it's cheaper. And the breakfast is really good! Nice hostel, will be back more times.


71%

A good hostel overall. Close to the three main arts museums and vondelpark. The neighborhood is really quiet at night though, so don't expect to find too many places for food/drinks after 10pm around the hostel. If you are looking for a quiet hostel that has more of an hotel feel, a.k.a. no mingling with other travelers, then this place is great for a quiet place to sleep. Wifi is slow/nonexistent during peak hours (7pm-1am) but they do offer a nice breakfast buffet for 5 euros.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(138 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback