Hostelworld.com

Hostel Van Gogh

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 3,583 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 3,583 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostel Van Gogh Located at Van de Veldestraat 5, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Van Gogh
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 CW Van de Veldestraat 5
81% 3583
52.3590644 4.8800110
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2016
8.6

Loved the location and the room. I wish the staff could have cleaned it a little bit more (old towels, trash, etc). The staff was great for the most part until I asked for more toilet paper then they were annoyed. Only thing missing is a pub downstairs but other than that it's great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.7

Location was brilliant. Security also very good. The only downside were the toilets in the reception. They just need more. Definitely recommend to all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2016
8.3

Overall the hostel was more like a hotel! Had great and clean rooms with an individual bathroom in each one! The only downside was that the wifi was hit and miss which is very difficult when you're backpacking and trying to plan but other than that, no complains!! Loved Amsterdam and would recommend the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
6.6

The rooms are exactly like what is shown on the pictures, the staff is somewhat friendly and amazing location, there was only a problem with our rooms because we booked an all female room and after checking in and drooping our bags in the room, from the bathroom came out a guy and we where a bit caught by surprise but when we explained to the receptionist what had happened we where quickly moved to a different room, this time an all female room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th May 2016
7.1

Good hostel, near museums and within walking distance of city Center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
8.3

I stayed in a private room at VAN GOGH hotel for 3 nights. Location is safe and quiet due to residential houses in neighbourhood. Well maintained and clean. Prizey for the room size offered (over 100eur/day), barely fits a single cot. But if you are a single person should be OK and not for a couple. Extremely helpful staff. Good spread of breakfast for 5 euro, they even referred me to restaurants where we could get cheap and great food. Very close (2 mins walk) to the big museums, tram stations

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.4

It was clean, efficient, simple. Good shower and comfortable beds. Could have done with a bit more space, but really cannot complain. Lift is small and very slow, so be prepared to use the steep staircase! Staff were friendly and the location is great, definitely in the 'nice' end of town, it is peaceful and a stones throw from Vondelpark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
9.1

A well located and clean hostel. Had a good nights sleep and staff were kind. The location was perfect for the museums and vondelpark. Easy to get to and from on trams. Was very happy with my stay! Would definitely stay again if I am so lucky to get back to Amsterdam again soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2016
8.0

Great location directly across from the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Very clean and hotel-like. A bit tricky getting back in late at night. Just have to hope for someone at reception. With the exception of one unnecessarily rude man at reception, the staff was very nice and helpful. My first night my room was overbooked so she quickly switched me to a new room and gave me a complimentary breakfast, which was so so, but good croissants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th May 2016
6.6

Nice hostel to stay in, room was very clean although I did see a mouse in the corridor. Location was great - close enough to walk everywhere but also a minute from the tram stops if you prefer to tram and a short walk to vondelpark which is lovely! Not the best place to meet new people and I didn't think there was much of an atmosphere, it was more like a hotel. Felt very safe; there was a small locker for valuables and the area felt fine to walk in later at night (girl travelling alone). :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.