Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

this place is perfect! Amazing location so close to all the major museums, near some good food places. Place was super clean and cosy! would 100% stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
2.9

DO NOT STAY HERE!! On our first night after a long day travelling we were up till 5am after hearing a mouse in our room. Our whole dorm went down to reception twice to report the incident and to see if there was anything that could be done to help us only to be told there wasn't. After speaking to the extremely rude manager we were told again there was nothing the hostel could do and we were refused a refund for our first night. Lockers didn't work. Wifi was terrible. Infested with mice.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
9.7

This hostel actually feels more like a hotel, meaning the bathroom was very large and clean, the blankets and pillows were very cozy, and there was air conditioning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.0

Lovely hostel, you have to walk 10 mins or so to central Amsterdam, but it's right next to a tram line and easy to get to from everywhere as it's right opposite a museum, and there's a lovely vibe and cheap food in the area :) breakfast was pretty standard and overall it was very clean and had great staff. Only con was no bar and no real party atmosphere, but Amsterdam is great so you don't really need that in a hostel there anyway

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eriksoncm
  • Colombia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
8.0

It was good for 3 nights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.9

This is a great hostel if you are looking to explore the city from a great location, while having a secure place to stay, and without the rowdiness of the city center. The 6 bed dorms are small and clean, however security wise there is only a safe provided for each guest, no locker (this was not an issue for me, but worth mentioning). We walked around the city every day and had no problem getting from place to place by foot from the hostel. There are also many restaurants within walking distance

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Jul 2017
6.0

This place is much more like a hotel than a hostel. There is one bathroom per room and no other ones on the floor so if one of your roommates is already in there you are out of luck and just have to wait. The room and bathroom were clean and modern, and there are some kitchen facilities downstairs (microwave, fridge, kettle). The location is great for the museums and okay for walking into the centre of town. If push came to shove I'd probably stay there again, but don't expect anything too fancy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
8.0

The hostel is only a 2 minute walk from the Van Gogh museum and maybe a 10 minute walk to downtown. It's nice to lay in the park by the Van Gogh museum at all times of the day! And don't forget to visit the coffeeshops!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • saundes1
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2017
4.9

This hostel is way overpriced for what you get. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm and paid a ridiculous price. The room didn't have much room for all 8 people to store/put their lugggage and bags were all over the floor in the small room. The room had one bathroom for 8 people and no other facilities if the bathroom was in use. Although the location was decent I would not stay here again or recommend due to the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
5.4

The dorms were way too crowded and they had no kitchen or laundry facilities for guests to use. This place was more like a hotel than a hostel. The atmosphere was pretty drab

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.