Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3,838 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3,838 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostel Van Gogh Located at Van de Veldestraat 5, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Van Gogh
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 CW Van de Veldestraat 5
82% 3838
52.3590644 4.8800110
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.0

Hostel was great as a base for exploring the city, right near the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum, but is not a good place for meeting other people! The only communal area is the breakfast area which is then closed for the rest of the day. Rooms and bathrooms were night, even had a flat screen TV! Not lockers in the rooms though, only small security safes. All you can eat breakfast was good value though, especially if you booked in advance as it was only 5€

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
5.7

The staff were really rude and not helpful. There were no lockers. There was no social atmosphere. The only positive thing about this hostel was the location - close to Leidseplein. Besides that, I'd recommend going somewhere else where there is better value for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
21st Aug 2016
6.3

The hostel is set up like a hotel. Small safe for valuables but no locker for bags. Absolutely 0 atmosphere. Lady who checked me in was the most grumpy, unfriendly and unhelpful person who clearly hates people and her job. Breakfast good but expensive. Bathrooms great and they make your bed each day. Fair distance (20+min walk) to town, but close to IAmsterdam sign,Vondelpark & museums. Hard to meet people, but good for a quiet change from party/noisy hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.9

Rude staff, especially the chick at reception,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.0

Everything was pretty great. The location was fab and access from the airport was super easy. We never ordered breakfast but it look like there was plenty of choice. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. My only gripe is the service, one woman in particular was very rude upon check in. We put it down to a bad day but every time we encountered her she had a bad attitude. The other staff, however, were wonderful and very helpful. 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Stayed in a single standard private ensuite room. Had exactly what I needed and was in a brilliant location. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Clean hostel would recommend on cleanisness hot showers 24hr in a good area with museum close by however far from the main centre it would be a 25-35 minute walk to centre main sights , you can take a tram which would be faster. Wifi was excellent good signal from the 4th floor up More like a hotel than a hostel wasn't a sociable place but nice and quite and I sleep well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed here with my mother. Location was great, very close to a tram stop and easy to find. I messed up the booking and we were both in private one person rooms. This was fine. The rooms were small but comfortable and clean. The elevator is very small, but works fine. Breakfast was well worth the 5 euros. Staff was friendly. I would stay again. Price was expensive for private rooms but Amsterdam is becoming very expensive for tourists.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
8.0

The rooms are really nice! Our 8 bed mixed dorm had its own bathroom. It's a few blocks from the major bars/cafes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
7.4

Stayed for 3 nights in mixed shared dorm, happy with hostel, each room has bunk beds with a plug socket and safe, room was clean and bathroom was great. Would definitely stay again. Only cons would be the wifi was weak, hostel is a bit far from the city centre (30 min walk or 15 min tram) although right next to the vondelpark but walking back and forth between the centre let us take in the beauty of the dam! Also the atmosphere is a bit refined so wouldn't really recommend for solo travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.