Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2017
6.0

Overall the first word that comes to mind for this hostel is grimy. The location is very convenient, and they do provide towels without charge. But it just smelled funny, the outlet for my bed was pulled out of the wall and unusable. They do have small safes in the room which is also nice. But the bathroom was kind of gross... every time anyone showered there was a grime layer on every surface and object in the bathroom. I wouldn't go as far to say don't stay here, just don't expect much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2017
10.0

didn't actually make it there...tefund policy?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2017
10.0

excellent location, easy to walk to red light area. warm staff. excellent breakfast, love the yoghurt and bread private locker and no need to worry about safety

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2017
10.0

Great price and location!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
7.4

Positives: Very basic hostel. Great location for Van Gogh & Rijksmuseum and close to bus & tram stop. Generally clean and quiet hostel & neighbourhood. Negatives: Very uncomfortable beds and pillows. No communal/social area. Only small lockers in rooms. No fridge in rooms or kitchen facilities. Staff weren't very helpful when one girl took ill in the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2017
8.6

This place is more like a hotel with bunk beds. But the beds are in good quality, and it meet all my needs. The optional breakfast for 5 euro is pretty good value. You may hear noise from kids playing outside, but it gets quiet during night. Water drainage in bathroom is not very good, but they give you free towel, which you may use to mob it all up :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
6.9

Was good for a short stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
8.6

Located very close to a few tram stops. Wi-Fi did not always work very well. Was very quiet during the night time. Felt safe in the area that the hotel was located in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
6.6

This place has a more of a hotel vibe than a hostel, not much of an atmosphere. It is in a great location and we did feel safe staying here. The main downfall was that our room had a mouse in it, which obviously wasn't ideal. Informed reception they did not seem surprised nor apologetic. They actually implied that it must have been our fault for bringing food in, which wasn't the case at all. We were moved to another room without much hassle and it was mouse free, so I guess that was a plus!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2017
7.7

Wifi connection very poor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×