Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
7.4

Great location right near the Rijks, I AMSTERDAM sign & the Van Gogh museum. Best if you want to be in a quieter part of town since it's quite a distance from the Red Light District. We were only here one night but it was enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
7.7

The hostel was lovely, was in a great location and was very clean. The man working at reception during the day however was so rude and very unhelpful which was really disappointing. He would never say hi or smile when we would walk through reception. I stayed at this hostel last summer and when we were renting bikes a woman was very helpful and came out to show us how to unlock the bikes whereas this time the keys were basically just thrown at us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.9

Great location, very clean, but certain staff at reception were horrible! We had to get our key cards fixed and they threw them back at us, when getting our deposit back for renting the bikes they threw the money on the counter, never got a please or thank you off them. Made us feel very unwelcome. If the hostel wasn't so good I wouldn't return with the treatment we received off reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
9.7

Really good location, price, and beds. Had a private room for 8 people and came to be about 30 euros per person per night. Definitely not a room to hang out in (very small) but perfect to come crash in after long days and late nights! Central to everything and right by tram stops. Breakfast was yummy and staff was generally pretty friendly! We were all super happy with our stay. Also, about a 2-minute walk to a grocery store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.0

The room was beatiful and it was cleaned every day. However, it is more a hotel than a hostel and has not even a nice common room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
7.7

The location is great. Not directly in the city centre, but very easy to reach with tram. Nice, quiet neighbourhood. The staff is friendly. Wifi works pretty well. Locker in the room works fine, too. One point that's not very ideal is that you need to put your card in the electricity slot thing to keep the light on in the room, which is kinda inconvenient. Otherwise everything is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
6.0

The one thing that we liked about staying here was the great location. It was centre to the CBD and was next to a healthy cafe which served delicious breakfast. The actual hostel condition does not accurately appear the same as it does in the advertised photos. It is not a spacious property where we can enjoy its atmosphere . The staffs were rather rude and not too accommodating especially during our check-in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
10.0

It was a great and clean place. The whole staff very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Very nice hotel. Great facilities and pricing. Would definitely go back to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
8.9

it's a nice hostel, clean, good wifi, comfortable.... I was only there for one night but the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.