Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 4432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 4432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
6.9

Good location and nice, clean facilities. However, my flight was delayed and when I messaged the staff to advise them I might be in later than expected they advised me to look for a new hostel. I understand that there is a hard-and-fast rule about having check-in's done by a certain time, but this was rather ridiculous. No attempt was made to help or even accommodate me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
10.0

This was my first stay at a hostel and I had a great experience at Van Gogh. It was in a very safe area and easy to find since it was right near some very popularly museums. Vondelpark was just a short walk away as well. Facilities were very clean. Bathroom was amazing. Each bed had their own outlet, as well as some extra throughout the room. Overall had a great experience here and hope that the next hostels I stay at will be this nice. It had set the bar high for me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.1

It was nice all in all. The atmosphere was a little bit dull inside, but I was amazing that they rented out bikes. We had so much fun pedaling through the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
8.0

Great location and rooms. Expensive for what it is. And one receptionist was the rudest person I had met in a while!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.1

Located right next to a bunch of great museums. Excellent location if you aren't planning on going to the red light district too much. As a solo female traveler, I found the security and safety to be great. Additionally, the area around the hostel felt very safe even late at night. There is a team stop extrmely close to the hostel and that is very easy to navigate. The breakfast was delicious and an excellent time to meet other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
6.3

It's location really good. Just few walks and you are front of the tramway door. Amsterdam sign it's few mins walk from hostel. Air conditioner plus for me. I would recommend it to everyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
9.4

this place was amazing! very clean and friendly staff, it is an excellent location and the wifi works really well. I would definitely recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.7

Great place, just off the tram stop. Very easy to get everywhere you might need to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
9.7

Really friendly people and surrounded by some amazing museums! Location is great as its much less busy to downtown which is just packed with tourists!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
8.9

We really enjoyed our stayed at Hotel Van Gogh. We were upgraded to a 4 person private room upon arrival with a private bathroom. The room was very clean and the shower head was amazing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only criticism would be the room had a bit of a musty smell and is located right next to a school, so we heard the kids early, but didn't really mind much. Overall, great experience at our first hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.