Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 4,053 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 4,053 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostel Van Gogh Located at Van de Veldestraat 5, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Van Gogh
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 CW Van de Veldestraat 5
81% 4053
52.3590644 4.8800110
Hostel Van Gogh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Dec 2016
6.9

Good Location, rooms ok for the amount you are paying. Overall the hotel is OK, however, it´s staff is they opportunity area. The receptionist (Oriental Guy) was very rude not only with me but with the people before me, he stated I was using a fake credit card just because he didn´t know the bank, this being after he completed the charge, his attitude was really rude and disrespectful, I´m pretty sure that if he doesn´t like his job, there are plenty of things that he can be performing instead.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

I had a very pleasant stay at Van Gogh Hotel. The staff was super friendly, the dorm was clean and neat and the location is great. I fully recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Perfect place to stay everything is walking distance! Amazing staff and nicely cleaned rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.3

Lovely, clean hostel! Felt really luxurious. One ensuite bathroom between 8 people (with nothing else in the corridor) was definitely not enough. Had to take the lift downstairs to use the toilet in the morning. One staff member was amazing (local from Amsterdam) who gave us fantastic advice about the city. One older man who spoke little English was very abrupt and rude. Stark contrast. We'd probably book again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel, next to the museums but a bit of a walk from the centre and red light district but still easily accessible. Very clean and secure with individual safes in the rooms for passports etc. Breakfast is 5 euros but good although you can get bagels and other food for similar prices nearby if you don't like what they have. Internet doesn't work on the 3rd floor but was fine on the lower floors. Staff were friendly. Not a hugely interactive atmosphere for solo travellers but good enough!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.6

The only complaint about Van Gogh Hotel is the wifi. The wifi quality on the second floor is really bad. However, I would recommend friends to stay there. Great bathroom e nice breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Wonderful location, friendly and helpful staff, and clean and secure rooms! The rooms were spacious, beds were comfy, and lockers and towels provided! I only had two complaints. First, the floors and walls were thin, so you could hear when other people were walking around above you and in the halls. Second, the bathroom was en suite which is difficult to share between 8 strangers. However, the bathroom was also extremely clean, modern, and much nicer than shared bathrooms in some other hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
8.0

They provide towels and will replace them daily if you leave it on the bathroom floor. Don't forget flip flops for the shower if u have a shared dorm room. Staff is quite nice and helpful, with the exception of the manager. We didn't have an issue but watching him interact with other guests was embarrassing. Not sure if it's a culture thing but he's definitely not a people person. Great location for shopping and eating, 10min walk. 30min walk 2 downtown, bring or buy an umbrella and you're good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
7.1

The man checking guests in at the front desk (a manager of some sort, from the look of his suit) was quite rude and standoffish, which made for a less-than-stellar first impression. Beds were comfortable and the linens seemed clean, but the shower in the ensuite bathroom had a terrible drainage problem and would overflow after a few short minutes. The rates were definitely on the pricey side, so it's not a good option for students or anyone traveling on a budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
9.1

Stayed in the 3 bed private room and it was an absolute joy, the room was cleaned everyday, had our own personal coffee machine to use free of charge. Will definitely be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.