X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1933 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good place to stay, safes in your room, walking distance to sights. Heating turned up a liitle high but guess its different for everyone. Would recommend, but for us if we had more time or came back we would camp out of town, surrounding of town seemed really nice.


100%

I was really surprised it was as great as it was. Thanks for a great stay!

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good location and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend the hostel to people.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It is a really lovely hostel, but we did find the staff at reception a bit unhelpful. Room was great though and a nice place overall, really clean and in a good area.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pros: Clean and modern hotel/hostel in a very beautiful area of Amsterdam. The major museums are only a stone's throw away, and the city center is very easily accessible on foot. Excellent bus connections to the airport. The rooms were impeccably clean and the beds comfortable. Not too expensive either. Cons: The atmosphere was somewhat cold and sterile. Furthermore, there's a 5 euro extra charge if you want to eat breakfast at the hostel, which is rather unreasonable.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

No complaints. Would definitely return.


94%

Absolutely recommend this hostel, great place to be!


83%

It is a very clean, hotel-like hostel in a perfect location. That said it has zero hostel atmosphere. No real common spaces, no common kitchen, etc. Best for the older or professional staying at a hostel.


86%

The location was excellent! Close to many tram lines from which you can access most of the city and just minutes to major museums. For 5 euros you can eat breakfast at the hostel. The rooms were clean and everyone got their own safe. However, the bathroom had no ventilation so there was a consistent odor and mold all over the ceiling. Also the shower would leak onto the bathroom floor so it could get pretty dirty. The system was a bit disorganized which lead to some confusion during check out.


94%

Located two blocks from two tram lines. Very large grocery store 3 blocks away. Drug free area, has elementary schools within visual sight of hostel. Hotel quality bathroom toilet, sink and shower.


86%

One of the cleanest hostels you'll stay in. Worth it. Book it.


89%

This hostel was more like a hotel, fresh towels daily and a very nice ensuite! A definite recommendation for Amsterdam. A little bit out of the way from the centre but I wouldn't stay anywhere else.


97%

Awesome hostel! Clean, a million outlets, comfy beds, wifi, helpful staff, and for a reasonable amount of money . That's all I ask for and for some hostels this just isn't possible, but Van Gogh delivered. Thanks!


77%

I only stayed one night, but I enjoyed the facilities.


89%

Unfortunately not all rooms have a "van gogh gigantography" as it seems from all the photos and window had an opening that let air (and joint smell) come into the room, for the rest very good hotel.


54%

The boss is horrible guy behind the desk, the rest of the staff is really nice. The beds are really horrible, dorms are small and have a tiny bathroom with no toilet apart. Breakfast is really good, wifi works good. Nice location to start your trip in amsterdam, but I prefer to pay 15 euro's extra for a room in the hotel next to it.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I really really loved the hostel Van Gogh. It was almost like a luxury hostel but not that expensive compared to other hostels. I would definitely recommend going there its like a mini hotel. The breakfast is also pretty good for the price and the people I met there were super friendly and nice, I really had a great time!

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Some safes (multiple) seemed to be having issues in the room I stayed (3rd floor). Other than that, the rest was great.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place, great time!

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

The staff were rude, my room and bathroom was dirty, over priced, unsocial. Woken up in the morning by noise from across the road. Overall the worst Hostel I've stayed in during my entire 4 months in Europe and the only time I've felt the need to review and warn people not to stay here!


(897 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback