X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2632 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Hostel Van Gogh was very clean and nice. I liked that they provided you with towels and each bed had it's own outlet, light, and lockbox. Breakfast was also good, but definitely buy tickets the day before to save a euro. There was only one shower/toilet per room which was a little lacking but not too problematic.


71%

Manager was rude to us. It seemed like more of an hotel rather than an hostel, so there wasn't much of an atmosphere. We were forced to pay a €250 deposit and our key cards were briefly deactivated after we received a noise complaint for drinking and talking in our room, although it would have been much easier and more logical to just ask us to keep the noise down, which we would have done.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Room was a quite unclean. Other than that most of the staff were very helpful apart from one man who was a little rude at times. one young man at the desk was very helpful and polite and recommended great places to go in the city which was great. Fresh Towels were given daily which was great but room was not cleaned daily.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel was nice, clean and in a good location. We didn't have any problems, except for a small issue with the bathroom which was immediately solved. The staff is nice, except for the guy at the reception who is constantly impolite and rude with the guests and his colleagues.


94%

I stayed in the Hostel Van Gogh for three days with some friends, and we really liked the place. It's clean, safe, the atmosphere is very nice, the staffs were great, the breakfast is good and the hostel is well located as well. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Booked an eight bed dorm for 3 nights for eight of us. We loved the hotel/hostel the rooms were modern and clean. Loved the fact the towels were changed everyday and had a breakfast on offer. The location is lovely, it's a gorgeous part of the city, loads of things to do in that area but if want the heart of the city, it's a tiny bit out of the way. Would definitely stay there again thou, had the best time.


54%

Arrived on time for check in asked to wait some extra hours. Asked the receptionist/manager (Jay Zheng) about printing out some museum tickets got screamed upon for being stupid and not understanding simple Microsoft office (in Dutch) which was totally unacceptable, unprofessional and disrespectful. Who does talk to paying customers like that? That ruined the whole experience, never again will I ever return there. Person on the desk should defiantly be brought upon a closer inspection

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a really nice little single room for myself at such a good price. I was only there for one night, just needed somewhere to have a good sleep. All museums are so close! Comfy bed and was so clean.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Keep up the good value and comfortable prices


100%

Great location, great facilities and friendly staff.


77%

Private dorms are perfect for a friends holiday

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great choice! Clean, secure and good Wifi.


80%

We had a really nice weekend at Hotel Van Gogh. We stayed in a double room with own bathroom. Felt more like staying in a hotel than an Hostel!


77%

Nice place to sleep, although not super special. Clean and comfortable, staff was lovely but not much atmosphere for making friends or hanging out. So not the best for solo travellers, but otherwise it's fine :)

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff seemed to have a problem with the group we were with. Weren't very friendly or co-operative. But nice hostel

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel most look like a hotel with great staff and amazing localization near Rijksmusem and Vangogh but the breakfast was 6.5 euros per day and once u book the option for couple room they just put two single beds together that end up getting apart during the night and u end up falling in between!


91%

Good location, good price and super clean. Just note it is not a social hostel, if it is what you're looking for.


74%

Front desk staff was often uninterested or flat out rude. It's standard for backpackers to leave their luggage in the luggage room before check-in, but we were met with a rude "check-in isn't until 2:00" upon walking through the front door. When we replied that we were aware, but wanted to leave our bags he wasn't very helpful, and we had to ask a couple of times for directions to the luggage room. Facilities themselves are great, though more like a hotel than hostel. Good location, clean.


77%

The hostel was labelled "Hotel" from the outside which was confusing and the directions provided on the booking by the hostel were not very thorough. Besides that the room and beds were comfortable with plenty of power points. Bathrooms were nice and clean and more like a hotel than a hostel. Not a lot of communal sitting space besides the eating area.


80%

Good location, lovely room and friendly staff. Including one member in particular, young female with blonde hair? Who checked us in. She was very helpful and friendly and great at suggesting things for us to do.


(119 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback