X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2334 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is good, the trem stop is just beside the hostel. The Van Gogh Museum is just across the street. The staff at front desk are pretty nice. The facility in the room is good. Generally this is quite a good hostel which I will definitely consider to stay again if I go to Amsterdam next time


100%

Excelente hostel, parece até um hotel, além de ser bem localizado.


80%

Everything was good but I had to points and veryiimportant to be taken in consideration first of all I booked in a female room and I was surprised to see that we had a boy sleeping in our room. Second in the second day of my stay they didn't clean the room and didn't even put toilet paper in room :(.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

quarto com problemas de encanamento.. ralos entupidos, após notificar a gerência, pouca atenção nos foi dada, elevador sem funcionar varias partes do dia.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Generell ein schönes Hostel und in guter Fußlage zu allen wichtigen Orten. Hervorragendes Frühstück. Schade waren die Schimmelflecken und der zugehörige Geruch in unserem Privatzimmer.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

In general hostel was very good. Was in an 8 mixed dorm. Rooms are quite nice and clean. Beds are comfy. Each person has own safe for security. Location is excellent - opposite Van Gogh museum and a short walk from Loads of great bars and restaurants. Only downside is the reception staff weren't particularly friendly - or at least the ones that were working when I was there. But overall - a good hostel and value for money.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I enjoyed staying in the Hostel (or "hotel") Van Gogh -- I think that if you are looking to party, then keep looking.. The location is far city centre.. I had to tram it (which closes at 12am - not good enough for partying nights) or walk, which is about 25 minute (not a lot, but also not super convenient). The room was very clean and seemed like I was staying more at a hotel than a hostel. The folks cleaned sheets and towels every day. It was harder to meet people than normal.


77%

Embora estrja classificado como hostel, o hotel esta divido em 2 alas: uma com quartos conpartilhados e outra com quartos privativos. Nos quartos privativos, onde fiquei, é um hotel. Com todo conforto e limpeza. O quarto era um pouco apertado, mas as camas extremamente confortáveis. Café da manhã excelente, principalmente em comparação ao custo x benefício. Em frente ao Museu Van Gogh, 1 min caminhando. Excelente localização. Recomendo!


71%

Assez cher, bien placé en face du musée Van Gogh. Bon petit déjeuner le matin (en supplément).


94%

La verdad es que nuestra estancia ha sido fantástica, el Hostel Van Gogh esta muy bien situado, nos han limpiado la habitación cada día y nos han cambiado las toallas sin pedirlo. El desayuno esta bastante bien. Dos quejas, el personal de recepción que nos atendio a la llegada no fue muy amable. Y la otra que en nuestra planta estaban todas las sabanas y toalla que retiran de las habitaciones por el suelo, no era demasiado agradable a la vista. Por lo demás lo recomiendo.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

el hostel es nuevo. limpio. frente al museo.el desayuno al nivel de un hotel de callidad. muy completo. la habitacion es pequeña pero limpia y tiene televisor. caja fuerte. psva electrica te cafe. las toallas son gratiutas.la gente que atiende muy cordial. excelente atencion y clima. hay una de las chicas que habls español y muy amable.muy recomendado


91%

Très bon hôtel ,propre et personnels sympathique qui parle français et anglais ,wifi fonctionne au top dans les chambres ,et le tram 2, 5 en face de l’hôtel directe pour la gare ,pdj buffet complet jusqu’à 11h le matin le top pour les lève tard !!!!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was great and the breakfast definitely worth the money.


77%

Asian man at reception was a bit rude. Was essentially a hotel with hostel bedding. Rooms were a bit cramped and the beds on the other side had no access to the tv which was a bit annoying. Bit pricey but overall the location is good, close to tram stops and supermarket


57%

One member of staff (behind the desk) was extremely rude. The other members of staff were friendly enough. The room wasn't ready upon check in time so the floor was left dirty and covered in crumbs, hair and various other things. The shower flooded the bathroom every time someone used it.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good hostel. Clean, organized and well located (but it's not in the center, but in the Museum District). But it has very little atmosphere or any hangout place. It's more of a Hotel refurnished to be a Hostel.


94%

the bathroom is the best among all the hostels i have stay in my trip. It is not localed in most central, But not very far, you can choose to walk or take the trám, very easy. The staffes aré very Nice, answer any question you asked. It is not the tradicional hostel. They have hotel room on the same place. The breakfast is the best i have ever have in a hostel. It is very clean And very worth the money, here is a great choice. I love staying here.


94%

Clean, safe and with an excellent location. Staff is friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay here again next time.


77%

The majority of staff were great but one man was extremely rude to ALL hostel guests, everyone talked about how horrible he was. Overall very helpful, and better than I expected from a hostel at this price

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Really good value for money! The rooms were clean and modern. Location was reasonably good and the wifi worked well, however the staff were a bit rude.


(211 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback