X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2632 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great price for a Sunday night in Amsterdam. I felt like I was staying in a hotel, but the rooms had bunk beds. The bathroom was gorgeous and the breakfast (not free) was delicious. Right across the street from the Van Gogh museum, and very close to the main square, it's in a great location. It was very quiet, not really a hostel where people can hang out in groups bigger than a couple, so if you're looking for something more lively, I'd look elsewhere.


83%

The room was huge and the bathroom was average with hot water and good water pressure! WiFi worked well. Safe in room and a spacious closet. Was a 3 bed room. Had water kettle for tea or other hot drinks! The staff was very friendly and helpful in day late night they were a little rough! Several modes of transportation nearby as well as museums, designer boutiques, casino and bars. No groceries stores nearby. The #197 from airport stopped one block away! 10 euros for round trip ticket!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

excelente hostel, excepto por la ubicacion, un poco retirado del centro ,aun que justo en frente del museo, todo excelente aun que el desayuno es por 5 euros mas, sería mejor que no lo cobraran :P


66%

Wanneer het regende, lekte er water door het raam in de kamer.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A really nice clean hostel near some really nice museums and leidsplein which is a cool night life area. There aren't any lockers in the rooms for your luggage but there are nice keypad lockers for your valuables at least. The staff kept the room spotless for us, and I met some cool people in my room.


91%

Hôtel très bien situé et propre. Le personnel n'est pas très accueillant mais reste correct.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Hotel was very clean, however one of the staff who was on the desk as we arrived was very rude!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A great hostel in a great location. The man at the desk is very rude and sets an unwelcoming vibe, but apart from that good value for money

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Melhor Hostel que já fiquei em relação ao conforto. Quarto espaçoso,limpo,banheiro e chuveiro sem igual. Porem o atendimento na recepção foi péssimo. Um dos funcionários além de porco,escarrando enquanto nos atendia,foi totalmente indiferente. Permitiu o check in de todos que ali chegaram depois da gente antes mesmo das 14h. Enquanto que nós tivemos de esperar das 7h as 14h.


83%

방이 좁습니다. 개인 락커룸 공간이 작구요. 대신 샤워실이 깨끗합니다. 수건은 매일 지급됩니다. 조식이 5유로지만 괜찮게 나옵니다. 와이파이는 로비보다 방안에서 잘터집니다.


74%

The hostel is very nice. But there is somethings that need be better. I stayed in the bedroom 208 and some beds didin't have identification. So, in my last night when i entered in the bedroom there was a person on my bed. The sink in the bathroom was blocked, but they fixed quickly. And at night don't have staff just the security.


89%

In the website the hostel's name is "Hostel Van Gogh" but actually it named "Hotel Van Gogh" So I was confused to find.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Très bon hôtel, avec des tarifs abordables. Bonne literie et salle de bain tout confort. Isolation moyenne si votre chambre donne sur la rue (une école juste en face), donc frais et un peu bruyant. Accueil sérieux. Les + : - location de vélo pour 24h = 15€ (le moyen de transport le plus sympa, même en hiver) - bagagerie sécurisée si vous arrivez plus tôt que le check-in ou repartez plus tard que le check-out. Globalement satisfait, recommandable


86%

Hostel Van Gogh was very clean and nice. I liked that they provided you with towels and each bed had it's own outlet, light, and lockbox. Breakfast was also good, but definitely buy tickets the day before to save a euro. There was only one shower/toilet per room which was a little lacking but not too problematic.


71%

Manager was rude to us. It seemed like more of an hotel rather than an hostel, so there wasn't much of an atmosphere. We were forced to pay a €250 deposit and our key cards were briefly deactivated after we received a noise complaint for drinking and talking in our room, although it would have been much easier and more logical to just ask us to keep the noise down, which we would have done.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Room was a quite unclean. Other than that most of the staff were very helpful apart from one man who was a little rude at times. one young man at the desk was very helpful and polite and recommended great places to go in the city which was great. Fresh Towels were given daily which was great but room was not cleaned daily.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hotel was nice, clean and in a good location. We didn't have any problems, except for a small issue with the bathroom which was immediately solved. The staff is nice, except for the guy at the reception who is constantly impolite and rude with the guests and his colleagues.


94%

I stayed in the Hostel Van Gogh for three days with some friends, and we really liked the place. It's clean, safe, the atmosphere is very nice, the staffs were great, the breakfast is good and the hostel is well located as well. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Booked an eight bed dorm for 3 nights for eight of us. We loved the hotel/hostel the rooms were modern and clean. Loved the fact the towels were changed everyday and had a breakfast on offer. The location is lovely, it's a gorgeous part of the city, loads of things to do in that area but if want the heart of the city, it's a tiny bit out of the way. Would definitely stay there again thou, had the best time.


54%

Arrived on time for check in asked to wait some extra hours. Asked the receptionist/manager (Jay Zheng) about printing out some museum tickets got screamed upon for being stupid and not understanding simple Microsoft office (in Dutch) which was totally unacceptable, unprofessional and disrespectful. Who does talk to paying customers like that? That ruined the whole experience, never again will I ever return there. Person on the desk should defiantly be brought upon a closer inspection

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(192 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback