X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2397 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

El hostel esta ubicado fantásticamente al lado de los museos genial comunicado ,facilísimo para visitar los puntos más emblematicos paseando,el pero ,es que hemos estado un gupo de amigos en una habitación privada para seis personas considero un poco pequeña y la limpieza un poco deficiente ,por lo demás genial nosotros si recomendaríamos sin dudar.yo esque soy un poco maniática con la limpieza jajaja.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

A very good location. The bedrooms are clean. The employees are nice and helpful.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think you could add another kind of breakfast that includes only the sweet stuff for a lesser price, for people from those countries that make sweet breakfast (croissant, coffee, cappuccino, biscuits,...)


74%

Posizione ottima e anche l'hotel non è per niente male l'unico problema era la stanza un po' troppo piccola per 8 persone e soprattutto troppa polvere. Infine la colazione era ottima e abbondante ma 6,50 euro un po' esagerato.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

pas de cuisine disponible , dommage cafe et thé dans la chambre pas toujours en quantité

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Make the manager a bit more happy


77%

É exatamente como se você dividisse um quarto de hotel com desconhecidos. E provavelmente eles continuarão sendo desconhecidos. O quarto é muito bom, camas confortáveis e silenciosas, banheiro bom, e cofres nos quartos. Tudo limpo e bonito. Um lugar para apenas dormir com tranquilidade.


83%

No kitchen area. just a microwave in case you were looking at cookiing. Breakfast in the hostel is a tad bit expensive but totally worth it for 6.5 euros. The facilities were great. its quiet in general. seemed more like a hotel converted into a hostel. Overall a great stay!


86%

Stayed here for three night - all the staff I spoke to were really helpful, the location is great for what I wanted, pretty quiet but right near the museums. Everywhere is walkable or theres a tram stop across the road. Rooms had small safes to keep important belongings safe (cameras passports etc.) bed were clean, tidy and comfy :-)

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nous avons passe un bon sejour. Mais acceuil un peu froid et pas tres aimable. Lorsque j ai demander de l aide pour me rendre a un monument on m a rappele que je n etais pas a l office du tourisme pas tres sympatique comme reponse ! Petit dejeuner copieux et chambre agreable et propre. Hotel tres proche des musees des trams et du supermarcche tres tres pratique.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Wi fi didn't worry was slow in room

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

El hotel me parecio excelente, muy buena ubicacion, no esta en el centro, pero esta en un lugar muy tranquilo y muy cerca del centro para ir a pie (5 minutos). Las habitaciones muy lindas, siempre limpias, con caja de seguridad, y la relacion precio/calidad, excelente. Fue la ciudad donde mas me costo conseguir un hostel que me guste, y estoy muy conforme con Hostel Van Gogh. El desayuno, aunque no esta incluido en la tarifa, es excelente! Lo recominedo!


94%

This is a great hostel. Single room was the best ever, bar not pretty but the beer, music and staff excellent. My favourite hostel in Europe - and I was only there one night!


91%

Really great hostel, was nice to get away from the more rough and ready type of hostel. It's close enough to use the tram daily (roughly €5 day ticket) or get a taxi from Dam square (€9)


91%

Hostel muito bom, tranquilo, bem localizado perto do museu Van Gogh. O atendimento do STAFF é um pouco frio, mas é bom. Limpeza OK. Enfim, não tenho o que reclamar. Parabéns ao Hostel Van Gogh.


89%

Very nice hostel in good walking-distance to most of the city-attractions. Nice and friendly English speaking staff and a clean hostel. Big breakfast buffet for 5 Euros. Computers with internet, fridge and coffemachine for use.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It's convenient to take the tram to the hotel, but not quite close to the major sightseeing spots. Pay attention that it's a hotel, hostel is not its major living. So they are not quite experienced in catering backpackers. The breakfast is good but kind of expensive. Anyway, it can be a choice if you love Van Gogh a lot:)

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

En general es una excelente opción para alojarse en una ciudad tan maravillosa, las habitaciones cómodas y limpias, el desayuno se lleva un 10, mi única mala experiencia fue con uno de los chicos de la recepción que fue un poco grosero al querer ampliar la reserva, aparte de eso Es un excelente hostel


77%

Bathrooms were hotel standard, beds got made most days, really clean standard all over the building. Not much atmosphere but convenient location! (Can walk to the city centre, lots of shops near, tram stop right outside)


69%

Decent ordinary hostel. Staff was good, a few rude ones or at least seemed that way. The breakfast advertised eggs and bacon, Prepaid for this for both days, niether day had eggs, 1 day had bacon. Dont be fooled. Rooms clean with good showers. Beds super close together, i was 3 inches from the guy next to me. Atmosphere here sucks if your looking for that. On my backpacking tour this is the worst of all the hostels I stayed. Wasn't even cheap. A good quiet location though. I would go elsewhere


(219 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback