X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2594 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good location, lovely room and friendly staff. Including one member in particular, young female with blonde hair? Who checked us in. She was very helpful and friendly and great at suggesting things for us to do.


80%

A bit skeptical to begin with(atleast while we're trying to booking), but it turned out a pretty good deal.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

felt more like a hotel, very smart and excellent value for money


77%

Cumple con las expectativas. La ubicación es muu buena y el hotel tiene buena relación precio-calidad. La crítica es a la atención y en mi caso la habitación era algo pequeña!


77%

The hostel had great facilities and is very close to public transport and the museums. Well cleaned too. I wouldn't recommend for solo travellers wanting to meet people as the social area is more hotel-style. The breakfast is not worth the money, but there's a supermarket around the corner.


83%

Clean and comfy beds with towels provided. More mirrors needed in the room with 6 girls! Bathroom modern, kept clean and a great shower. Good buffet breakfast for 5 euros extra. Right near the I Amsterdam sign, and can walk into town easy. Overall a good hostel and would stay again.


100%

Very clean and nice facility. I wasn't aware though that being 54 years old excludes me from staying in the least expensive room, meaning 6 beds (with bunk beds). I was only told about that after I walked into the facility after a long transatlantic flight. I was informed that the info could have been find online (small print) and that I simply didn't read it. It was true. I didn't. I was checked in anyway but now I know I need to read the small print and probably pay for a more expensive place

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It was very clean and nice.Staff was very kind.There is an all you can buffet for 5 euros for the breakfast.It was very good.It is in a very good location,just near to Van Gogh Museum.I highly recommend this hostel.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed in a triple room with private bathroom and what I can say is that is not an hostel room, is a 3/4* hotel room. Very clean, spacious and confortable! The bed is really amazing. The location is perfect! If you like to walk you can do all Amsterdam walking and the hostel is just in front of the Van Gogh Museum that is 1 minute walking from the Rijskmuseum that is really central. The atmosphere and facilities are really cool and completely worth it the value for money. Cool staff.


100%

This was the most pristine hostel I've ever stayed in, in Europe - it was like a hotel! They give you fresh towels (for free!) every morning, and the place was immaculate. Cannot recommend this place enough - such great value for your money!!


89%

Esta bien ubicado, justo en frente del museo Van Gogh. Las habitaciones estan bien, parece mas un hotel, aunque al baño le faltaba ventilación. El desayuno aunque no esta incluido para ser buffet puedes comer muy bien.


91%

o hostel é bem localizado e o quarto acomodou bem as 6 pessoas. a equipe é eficiente, mas não foi muito simpática.


74%

The hostel has a excellent location and good facilities. The room is really good and spacious. Some things were not good, though. The hostel has no kitchen for guests. Even with the fridge and the microwave, there is no space for cooking, if you want to. The staff is not very frindly. I arrived in the afternoon with some friends and the receptionist did not give us a lot of attention and was not at all friendly.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Ha sido el mejor hostal que he estado durante mi viaje en Europa. Todo el personal muy buenas personas, en especial Raquel y la señorita de cabello pelirrojo corto. Me ha encantado el hotel. Lo rque comiendo ampliamente

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

everything was gut the hostel its clean and the location its good

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

El personal en general fue excelente, excepto por la persona de rasgos orientales que me atendió el día que llegue 31 de diciembre de 2014 , yo había agregado por mail un día más de reserva y lo habían confirmado pero solo se tomó el trabajo de verificarlo luego de mi insistencia y con mucho desagrado. Por el precio de cobran, debería estar incluido el desayuno, la persona que está a cargo del servicio es muy eficiente y agradable. Los pasillos están llenos toallas y sabanas por el piso.


97%

Ótimo Hostel. Excelente localização, staff super atenciosos. Para quem gosta de passeios culturais á vida noturna, esse hostel é ideal. Proximo a grandes museus, como o Van Gogh e o Nacional.


91%

Great! Can't say enough about this hostel. They took care of everything and they were very polite. Probably the single best hostel in town (though to be fair, I'd only been to one other)!


100%

Loved this hostel. The location is perfect for walking around and seeing the museums. Easy to get to from the airport. Overall, awesome place!


60%

vol de mon ordinateur ...

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(199 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback