X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2433 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Its a very good hostel! Its pretty much like a hotel. Everything there was nice and the staff were very helpful. Its located in a musume area,so you can find many museums nearby. Also you can take the tram to anywhere,which is very convenient.(Buy a day ticket,it helps save quite a lot of money)


83%

This hostel was in a great location (in my opinion). Close enough walking distance to busses/trams to and from the airport or train station (not central station, but I didn't arrive or leave from there). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Didn't have a bar to socialize ad or kitchen to use (microwave though). Other than that the room was very clean and comfortable. Shower/bathroom was awesome and clean. Close to less touristy things which made everything cheaper. Overall fantastic place!


86%

Tres bonne auberge mais legers manque de concideration de la part de certain personnel sur nos remarques

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Bom hostel, proximo aos principais pontos turisticos,

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A little far frim the main drag and no lockers in the rooms but overall the hostel is pretty standard. Nice facilities, decent rooms, welcoming staff. Would recommend.


80%

Nice hostel in a fantastic location. Modern bed- and bathrooms, though our bathroom never seemed to be properly cleaned- especially irratating as the shower always flooded the bathroom floor. I was disappointed that guests weren't allowed to access the kitchen, but the staff were generally polite and helpful, with the exception of the male manager at reception, who was really rude.


94%

rapporto qualità/prezzo ottimo. ho soggiornato in una camera ad otto posti letto. stanza e bagno sempre molto puliti, con cambio quotidiano degli asciugamani. personale gentile e sempre disponibile.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

A great hostel to stay at during a weekend in Amsterdam. The place is calm and is located in a nice neighbourhood close to alot of museums and stuff. The room was like nice and modern but could used a bit more cleaning. Our balcony was filled with old stuff, for instance two big construction cones, a pair of old shoes and some random garbage. But all in all, a hostel that I think gives you value for the money!


83%

Lo mejor, la ubicación. Está céntrico y a la vez es tranquilo y no hay ruido a la noche.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

bonjour je tien a vous feliciter pour cette aceille tres bon sejours petit dejeune copieux je le conseille a toutes mes relation merci encore bonne journnee

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent Hotel... I slept in the 8 beds-room and I was pleasantly surprised about the confortable and clean and facilities of the room. I didn't need buy shampoo or towels or soap. Really good value for money. Also, the breakfast for 5 euros was quite good. Maybe the only thing to improve... the asiatic guy at the reception could be more friendly.


57%

Beautiful area.... Not really a hostel. No common areas (good ones) no kitchen, not really catering to backpackers.


97%

Buen hostal parece más hotel y uno de los mejores desayunos hasta el momento


94%

A localização é excelente, perto de vários pontos turísticos e de pontos de ônibus que facilitam a locomoção para outros lugares mais distantes. Os quartos são ótimos e os banheiros limpos. O café da manhã apesar de ser pago a parte é uma delicia, possui enorme variedade, e o preço é bem em conta se comparado a outros lugares da cidade. Voltaria com certeza.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is good, the trem stop is just beside the hostel. The Van Gogh Museum is just across the street. The staff at front desk are pretty nice. The facility in the room is good. Generally this is quite a good hostel which I will definitely consider to stay again if I go to Amsterdam next time


100%

Excelente hostel, parece até um hotel, além de ser bem localizado.


80%

Everything was good but I had to points and veryiimportant to be taken in consideration first of all I booked in a female room and I was surprised to see that we had a boy sleeping in our room. Second in the second day of my stay they didn't clean the room and didn't even put toilet paper in room :(.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

quarto com problemas de encanamento.. ralos entupidos, após notificar a gerência, pouca atenção nos foi dada, elevador sem funcionar varias partes do dia.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Generell ein schönes Hostel und in guter Fußlage zu allen wichtigen Orten. Hervorragendes Frühstück. Schade waren die Schimmelflecken und der zugehörige Geruch in unserem Privatzimmer.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

In general hostel was very good. Was in an 8 mixed dorm. Rooms are quite nice and clean. Beds are comfy. Each person has own safe for security. Location is excellent - opposite Van Gogh museum and a short walk from Loads of great bars and restaurants. Only downside is the reception staff weren't particularly friendly - or at least the ones that were working when I was there. But overall - a good hostel and value for money.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(205 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback