X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2312 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

C'est plus un hôtel qu'une auberge de jeunesse. Nous sommes partis en couple pour 2 nuits, nous avons eu une superbe chambre avec tout inclus, serviettes, sèche cheveux, gel douche. Le petit déjeuner est aussi diversifié et excellent. L'emplacement est idéal, juste a côté du centre ville! Allez y les yeux fermés !

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The Hostel is really similar to a hotel - it is actually a mix. So, the atmosphere and everything else there is more comparable to a hotel than with a hostel. The good point is that the bathroom and the bedroom were excelents, but the staff and services to the tourist are far from the expectations of most of the people who enjoy staying in hostels for its alternative way.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelentes instalaciones, baño, limpieza, personal, buen wifi, muy recomendable y un excelente precio (en comparación con los demás hostales de Amsterdam, ya que esta de por si es una ciudad cara para alojarse.).


94%

Super friendly and dedicated staff. Asked a German girl who was working at the reception for good places to eat as a local and had the best grilled burger in a long time. Everything was clean and we had a full bathroom in the 8 bed shared room. Location is pretty good too, around 10 minutes walking to a couple of rent-a-bike places.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Half-basement room, very expensive. 460€ for father 2 sons, 3 nights, breakfast not incl. Right next to floor entrance; whenever floor door swung back, our door gave a shattering noise throughout the night. Right outside the window people were talking all night long. Worst thing was black fungi in the ceiling of both the room and the bathroom (photos were made). So even considering it's Amsterdam and it was a short-term booking, this is way overpriced.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

It was simply great: beautiful, comfortable and with every thing you would need. Location is also very convenient.


74%

No complaints would definitely stay here again. Good distance from tourist areas as staff were helpful. Clean hostel no kitchen but that is listed. Wifi was good in all areas.


86%

Hostel Van Gogh is more of a shared hotel room rather than a hostel feel. If you want a relaxed time in Amsterdam Hostel Van Gogh is the place for you. I was really happy about the facilities other than the fact that our shower was super leaky in the 8 bed dorm that we stayed in. The beds were comfortable and there were free maps and discount cards at the front desk that were very helpful. Over all quiet hostel close to everything.


91%

Good hostel, right in front of a tram station, comfortablr bed, hot shower, just a little bit expensive.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A bit pricey, but Amsterdam is, otherwise fantastic! Great quality of furnishing.


100%

Me encantó, todo muy limpio, ordenado y organizado.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a good hostel-- extremely helpful staff, convenient location, and clean facilities. The one negative of this hostel is the lack of social atmosphere. There is sort of a common area, but it is a restaurant style set up (tables as opposed to chairs/couches) so you don't meet as many people at this hostel as you might at other hostels. That said, it was still a great stay and I would definitely recommend the hostel, though it is better for people traveling with friends than alone.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

When we checked into our 8 person dorm the sink was clogged. I immediately told them but it took them 3 days to fix and I asked them everyday! We couldn't brush our teeth or wash our hands so we had to do that in the shower. Also some of the staff didn't seem friendly at all. However, good location.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The staff were very rude one girl in perticular, blond is hair tied in bun. the room flooded and though we were given a new room and upgrade, my friend and i were put in separate rooms One worker was very apologetic good looking young man with surer looking hair. Manager stressed and unable to solve any situation. The location is a bit far out it very expensive, breakfast for 5 euros was not really worth it, and no real social things were going on.


89%

Was a really nice hostel. Location was a little far from the center, a good 25-30 minute walk. Was a decent hostel.


97%

Hostel Van Gogh is a very pretty hostel. It is located next to the van gogh museum. It is not far away from anything, everything is in walking distance. . Also, for me it was perfectly located because it is not in the middle of the Red Light District chaos. The hostel looks like a hotel so it is very nice and clean. There is wifi and towels are available for no charge. I would certainly recommen this hostel.


100%

Best hostel I have stayed at throughout Europe!! Good location and facilities, nice staff and great rooms with air con. I highly recommend!!


63%

Had quite a big issue with the staff and our check in time being after midnight and they originally wouldn't let us check into our room, even though they have 24 hour reception and no curfew, and they also wanted us to pay the cancellation fee (which was the nights accommodation). This was very annoying for our group and started out stay off in a bad way, Hostel was nice and our bathroom was good, although not noticeably cleaned while we were there. Only small lockers and some didn't work.


100%

I really enjoyed my stay at the Van Gogh. I strongly recommend it. It is very well located , accross from the Van Gogh museum and a short walk from the Rijksmuseum. A wonderful breakfast. Very friendly staff.


94%

This hostel could be considered a hotel. It is super comfortable and they have the best breakfast. The rooms are clean and they have elevators, super important in a city as amsterdam where the stairs are super steep. Very well located, besides of Van gogh museum and Art museum, where it is the famous "I amsterdam" signboard.


(208 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback