X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2532 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Absolutely loved this place ! The staff is so awesome and the breakfast was Delish. Amsterdam is an amazing city!


94%

Hospedei me no hostel porem me surpreendi pois as instalacoes sao melhores do que muitos hoteis, eu recomendo.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Accueil de très mauvaise qualité, et ajout de taxes non prévues et tarif relativement élevé. Batiment récent .

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Internet access is important. Two computers in the entrance were accessible. Zugang zum Internet mit Rechner am Eingang war sehr gut.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The bathroom in the dorm was really nice and great staff! :) Some room for improvement are the beds weren't all clearly lettered, so some beds had two letters, there was a thick layer of dust on the walls and some mold starting on the wall below the window.. Also, I let my towel on my bed so it didn't have to be washed, and it got washed anyways. Nice to have a clean towel, but I didn't leave it on the bathroom floor as it said to leave it on the floor to be washed.


91%

Nem parece hostel, ótimos quartos e banheiros, super limpos, fornecem toalha (que são trocadas todas as noites)... Fiquei muito surpresa com a qualidade! O café da manhã também vale à pena. Talvez só não seja uma ótima ideia pra quem quer ir à Amsterdam só pelo fervo, visto que ele fica um pouquinho longe das baladas e coffeshops (nada exagerado, uns 20min a pé). Apesar de uma area legal de convivência o pessoal é mais fechado, não interage muito. Fica do lado do museu Van gogh. Recomendo!


71%

One man working at the front was a little rude. But, the rooms and bathrooms were nice, but the bathroom would get soaked every time someone took a shower.


74%

Boa localização, limpeza...!!! Quartos não tem armários para bagagens... Apenas cofre! Café da manha pago5 euros. Funcionários não são muito prestativos. Tem um oriental que é insuportável...!!! Falta uma área de convivência...!!!


91%

Possui uma localização fantastica, de facil acesso aos principais pontos turisticos! O cafe da manha, apesar de ser pago, é realmente fantastico! Apenas alguns funcionarios foram um tanto quanto rudes, o que nao permitiu dar nota 10 pela hospedagem!


100%

One of the best hostels that I've been in my life. Clean, tidy, secure, excellent location in the city centre. Best place ever

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Tried to check in early as our overnight bus got in at 6am, we understood that we couldn't check in until 2pm but the staff member at the time wouldn't let us even sit in the common area until cafés around the area opened up. Pretty disappointed as we were tired and cold.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Os funcionários não são muito simpáticos. O funcionário Oriental é extremamente impaciente, não é hospitaleiro, acredito que ainda não tenha se encontrado profissionalmente em sua carreira! Afinal de contas quem atende bem e com boa qualidade é porque desempenha uma atividade que gosta e por isso valoriza! O Hostel é bem limpo, seguro, bem silencioso, o café da manhã é bom e barato e a localização é extremamente boa!


83%

I guess every single hostel in Amsterdam seals its room windows so that young stoners can't smoke in the room which is totally normal. Hostel van Gogh did that as well but in my case the sealing was miserable and therefore my room was constantly at approximately 15°C...

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

El hostel esta ubicado fantásticamente al lado de los museos genial comunicado ,facilísimo para visitar los puntos más emblematicos paseando,el pero ,es que hemos estado un gupo de amigos en una habitación privada para seis personas considero un poco pequeña y la limpieza un poco deficiente ,por lo demás genial nosotros si recomendaríamos sin dudar.yo esque soy un poco maniática con la limpieza jajaja.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

A very good location. The bedrooms are clean. The employees are nice and helpful.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think you could add another kind of breakfast that includes only the sweet stuff for a lesser price, for people from those countries that make sweet breakfast (croissant, coffee, cappuccino, biscuits,...)


74%

Posizione ottima e anche l'hotel non è per niente male l'unico problema era la stanza un po' troppo piccola per 8 persone e soprattutto troppa polvere. Infine la colazione era ottima e abbondante ma 6,50 euro un po' esagerato.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

pas de cuisine disponible , dommage cafe et thé dans la chambre pas toujours en quantité

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Make the manager a bit more happy


77%

É exatamente como se você dividisse um quarto de hotel com desconhecidos. E provavelmente eles continuarão sendo desconhecidos. O quarto é muito bom, camas confortáveis e silenciosas, banheiro bom, e cofres nos quartos. Tudo limpo e bonito. Um lugar para apenas dormir com tranquilidade.


(212 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback