X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2430 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Embora estrja classificado como hostel, o hotel esta divido em 2 alas: uma com quartos conpartilhados e outra com quartos privativos. Nos quartos privativos, onde fiquei, é um hotel. Com todo conforto e limpeza. O quarto era um pouco apertado, mas as camas extremamente confortáveis. Café da manhã excelente, principalmente em comparação ao custo x benefício. Em frente ao Museu Van Gogh, 1 min caminhando. Excelente localização. Recomendo!


71%

Assez cher, bien placé en face du musée Van Gogh. Bon petit déjeuner le matin (en supplément).


94%

La verdad es que nuestra estancia ha sido fantástica, el Hostel Van Gogh esta muy bien situado, nos han limpiado la habitación cada día y nos han cambiado las toallas sin pedirlo. El desayuno esta bastante bien. Dos quejas, el personal de recepción que nos atendio a la llegada no fue muy amable. Y la otra que en nuestra planta estaban todas las sabanas y toalla que retiran de las habitaciones por el suelo, no era demasiado agradable a la vista. Por lo demás lo recomiendo.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

el hostel es nuevo. limpio. frente al museo.el desayuno al nivel de un hotel de callidad. muy completo. la habitacion es pequeña pero limpia y tiene televisor. caja fuerte. psva electrica te cafe. las toallas son gratiutas.la gente que atiende muy cordial. excelente atencion y clima. hay una de las chicas que habls español y muy amable.muy recomendado


91%

Très bon hôtel ,propre et personnels sympathique qui parle français et anglais ,wifi fonctionne au top dans les chambres ,et le tram 2, 5 en face de l’hôtel directe pour la gare ,pdj buffet complet jusqu’à 11h le matin le top pour les lève tard !!!!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was great and the breakfast definitely worth the money.


77%

Asian man at reception was a bit rude. Was essentially a hotel with hostel bedding. Rooms were a bit cramped and the beds on the other side had no access to the tv which was a bit annoying. Bit pricey but overall the location is good, close to tram stops and supermarket


57%

One member of staff (behind the desk) was extremely rude. The other members of staff were friendly enough. The room wasn't ready upon check in time so the floor was left dirty and covered in crumbs, hair and various other things. The shower flooded the bathroom every time someone used it.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good hostel. Clean, organized and well located (but it's not in the center, but in the Museum District). But it has very little atmosphere or any hangout place. It's more of a Hotel refurnished to be a Hostel.


94%

the bathroom is the best among all the hostels i have stay in my trip. It is not localed in most central, But not very far, you can choose to walk or take the trám, very easy. The staffes aré very Nice, answer any question you asked. It is not the tradicional hostel. They have hotel room on the same place. The breakfast is the best i have ever have in a hostel. It is very clean And very worth the money, here is a great choice. I love staying here.


94%

Clean, safe and with an excellent location. Staff is friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay here again next time.


77%

The majority of staff were great but one man was extremely rude to ALL hostel guests, everyone talked about how horrible he was. Overall very helpful, and better than I expected from a hostel at this price

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Really good value for money! The rooms were clean and modern. Location was reasonably good and the wifi worked well, however the staff were a bit rude.


83%

Nice and modern, would have felt more like a hotel if we werent sharing a room, great room with private ensuite, felt comfortable. Good location, easy walk to the major sites of Amsterdam or a tram stop just around the corner


83%

Das hostel erinnert mehr an ein Hotel. Es wird täglich geputzt und ist dadurch sauberer als so manches andere Hostel. Leider sind die Zimmer recht eng, aber wenigstens gab es ein abschließbares fach für Wertsachen und eine lpe und Steckdose an jedem Bett. Die Mitarbeiter waren sehr hilfreich!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

really good hostel ! clean and big rooms and bathrooms as well. Very close to the Van Gogh museum and others atractions :)


80%

A really wonderful place for students or anyone looking for a comfortable enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. Located in the museum district it's a prime place to relax and enjoy the quieter moments in the city whilst most of the tourist spots and manic locations like the red light district are roughly a 20 minute walk away (depending on how likely you are to get lost) I'd recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a nice well budgeted hostel that has a great balance in it's location.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast!!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I was genuinely impressed with the room we had been given at the hostel, it was one of the most well presented I had ever seen! The only thing I feel let this place down (this is literally the only thing) was the poor attitude of the reception staff. He was very sharp to every person I heard him speak to and never smiled at a single guest.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Ótimas instalações, limpeza ok e café da manhã muitíssimo bom - único ponto a desejar foi o fato de não haver lavanderia dentro do hostel (porém, o hostel oferece um serviço em lavanderia terceirizada).


(206 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback