X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2456 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Asian man at reception was a bit rude. Was essentially a hotel with hostel bedding. Rooms were a bit cramped and the beds on the other side had no access to the tv which was a bit annoying. Bit pricey but overall the location is good, close to tram stops and supermarket


57%

One member of staff (behind the desk) was extremely rude. The other members of staff were friendly enough. The room wasn't ready upon check in time so the floor was left dirty and covered in crumbs, hair and various other things. The shower flooded the bathroom every time someone used it.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good hostel. Clean, organized and well located (but it's not in the center, but in the Museum District). But it has very little atmosphere or any hangout place. It's more of a Hotel refurnished to be a Hostel.


94%

the bathroom is the best among all the hostels i have stay in my trip. It is not localed in most central, But not very far, you can choose to walk or take the trám, very easy. The staffes aré very Nice, answer any question you asked. It is not the tradicional hostel. They have hotel room on the same place. The breakfast is the best i have ever have in a hostel. It is very clean And very worth the money, here is a great choice. I love staying here.


94%

Clean, safe and with an excellent location. Staff is friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay here again next time.


77%

The majority of staff were great but one man was extremely rude to ALL hostel guests, everyone talked about how horrible he was. Overall very helpful, and better than I expected from a hostel at this price

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Really good value for money! The rooms were clean and modern. Location was reasonably good and the wifi worked well, however the staff were a bit rude.


83%

Nice and modern, would have felt more like a hotel if we werent sharing a room, great room with private ensuite, felt comfortable. Good location, easy walk to the major sites of Amsterdam or a tram stop just around the corner


83%

Das hostel erinnert mehr an ein Hotel. Es wird täglich geputzt und ist dadurch sauberer als so manches andere Hostel. Leider sind die Zimmer recht eng, aber wenigstens gab es ein abschließbares fach für Wertsachen und eine lpe und Steckdose an jedem Bett. Die Mitarbeiter waren sehr hilfreich!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

really good hostel ! clean and big rooms and bathrooms as well. Very close to the Van Gogh museum and others atractions :)


80%

A really wonderful place for students or anyone looking for a comfortable enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. Located in the museum district it's a prime place to relax and enjoy the quieter moments in the city whilst most of the tourist spots and manic locations like the red light district are roughly a 20 minute walk away (depending on how likely you are to get lost) I'd recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a nice well budgeted hostel that has a great balance in it's location.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast!!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I was genuinely impressed with the room we had been given at the hostel, it was one of the most well presented I had ever seen! The only thing I feel let this place down (this is literally the only thing) was the poor attitude of the reception staff. He was very sharp to every person I heard him speak to and never smiled at a single guest.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Ótimas instalações, limpeza ok e café da manhã muitíssimo bom - único ponto a desejar foi o fato de não haver lavanderia dentro do hostel (porém, o hostel oferece um serviço em lavanderia terceirizada).


77%

The staff is either very rude or incredibly nice and helpful. It depends on who you encounter at the reception. The manager seemed very angry and seemed to be in the wrong kind of industry. While the other staff members were pleasant to interact with. Rooms are great. Very clean. My only complain is that one bathroom in a room of 8 people is not enough.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Excellent location for museums, close to parks and away from crowded, narrow streets in the old city. Loved the neighbourhood. Bit of a walk to the city centre / station but the tram station a few steps away. Beds were comfortable but safes didn't all work and there were no lockers. Always had fresh towels but the cleaning staff would not clean bathroom counters or table tops and the room was dusty. Comfortable stay overall as long as u don't count on housekeeping or staff too much.


86%

El hotel en general esta genial y en la habitaciones de 8 personas tener un baño y toallas todos los días super genial. Tendrían que pasar la aspiradora un par más de veces pero lo más destacado es el famoso tipo oriental que esta en recepción. Debe de ser el gerente asi que estar hay si vais a ir. Ya habíamos leido sobre el y es correcta la información, habla muy rapido ingles y bastante seco el hombre. Se agradecería que fuese mas amable y hechase una sonrrisilla. Please smiles Eastern man!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

it was the cleanest hostel that i stay, we did not have any problem during the day time or night time sleep in room. the beds were comfortable, there was plugin and light near each bed The location is a bit far from the center but the center of Amsterdam is big enough to say the hostel's location is good but it is far from the Dam square, around 20 min by walking and 4-5 stops by tram


71%

the mold in our bathroom was pretty gross. mind you, it was a great shower so I got over it but it covered most of the corner. The manager gave me a really hard time in the morning when I was asked about a cup of water or water fountain. everyone else was nice though.


83%

Overall, my stay at the hostel was very good. You got lockers in the room, individual plugs and lights and nice beds and sheets. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Excellent location, walking distance for most sights and also very close to tram station. It is more like a hotel than a hostel so if you are more interest on parties you may prefer a party hostel. A little expansive but all Accommodations in Amsterdam seems to be like that. Excellent breakfast all you can eat for just 5 euros.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(208 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback