X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3029 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Mi sono trovata molto bene, mi e' molto piaciuta l'ubicazione perche molto vicina ai musei, si poteva fare tutto camminando, il personale molto disponibile e gentile.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms were very comfortable and modern, and staff were friendly. Location was a bit far out of the centre but a quick tram was easy to catch. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location right across from the Van Gogh museum and next to the Rijksmuseum. Hostel offers bikes for rent which is the best and quickest way to get around the city. They also offer a decent traditional European breakfast. Very clean and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend staying here!


97%

Amazing place to stay while in Amsterdam!!!

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very comfortable, clean rooms, very good location.


94%

Lovely staff were very welcoming and helpful. Definitely pick up the discount coupons from reception to get the most out of you stay in A'dam. €5 breakfast was excellent.


77%

Cool hostel with an interesting feel. Lots of very artsy people who aren't very social hang out in common area and everyone is high. Rooms were clean but the stairs sucked.


89%

Très bon séjour, beaucoup de services et une grande salle pour socialiser. Loin du centre-ville, mais le tram est efficace. Je recommande, bon rapport qualité/ prix


83%

Great clean hostel. Good value for the money.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff was very pleasent and helpful anytime we need it. Breakfast was tasteful and filling. Considering how busy this place always is, it still feels cosy. Mostly I was surprised how quiet our bedroom was with so many young people under the roof. We got a good night sleep. The location is excellent, right next to Van Gogh museum, Rijks museum, trams stations.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, no wifi though which killed it. Could also help with making hostel goers interact a bit more.


66%

great for the museum district! but a bit less convenient for the red light district

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The desk will be close after 22:00 it makes a little bit inconvenient and not so pleasant during my stay

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel was in a great location, staff was friendly for the most part. Rooms were nice, although there wasn't a lot of space. We weren't in the room very much, though, so this didn't really matter. Small safes for valuables. A bit pricey for Saturday night, but so was everywhere else we looked. Would definitely stay here again.


89%

El Hostel está muy bien, es comodo, limpio y muy bien ubicado. El personal es un poco parco, eso es lo único malo. Al parecer no están prestos a brindar ayuda


100%

Great hostel - near to the museums and no noise at night. Every bed had a light and plug socket - so handy. Lockers in the rooms work on a passcode. The cleaners seemed to make the beds every day as well!


86%

I thought the hostel was fantastic, however it was a bit of an issue when it came to showering as there was one shower between 6 of us, so getting ready took a fair while but other than that everything was great! Also sometimes the cards for the doors would stop working, and some of the safes were broken.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location near the museums and 15 minutes walk from dam square. More like a hotel than a hostel but big clean room with nice bathroom - no lockers but a safety deposit box. No kitchen- just a kettle and microwave. Clean towel and bed made each day was a nice touch - would recommend for a quiet stay


91%

about a half hour walk from Dam Square, Centraal Station and other attractions in that area. two minutes from Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. rooms clean. no real common area (only breakfast area)


83%

I would rather stay in a different area, but I was told to stay at this hostel by a friend so I did not even looked for another option. So I tought it was very close of the museums but far from other things in the city. Except for that everything was good! Excellent breakfast, clean bed and bathroom, nice staff.


(239 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback