X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3388 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel has a nice common area where you can bring your own food and drinks. Excellent breakfast for 5 euros. It is a good place to stay if you dont want to go out every night, but instead to wake up early and enjoy the wonderful museums like Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.


80%

Nice hostel in a very nice area of Amsterdam,5 stations from the center but both the tram and bus station in front of the hostel ,sophisticated neighborhood with amazing garden 2 mints walk ,leidseplein area where we had all the fun, receptionists were nice ,except one , he was extra arrogant and rude ( the only one old and Asian) seems to be the senior ,i said GD morning to him 3 times and he didnt look at me and finally saying ( yes !) , i said Gd morning with a smile and all i got was (yes!)

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Basically a half-way point between a hotel and a hostel. Very clean, perfect location, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Hostile and misinformed staff? No toilet paper? Mostly teenagers? €40 a night!?! Only booked a bed at HVG because another reservation fell though. I was very disappointed and would not recommend anyone stay here - unless the Rijks, Van Gogh, and Stadt museums are all you plan to do in Amsterdam.

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice location and nice staff,, however when got to the dorm people were in the beds we were given. This wouldn't be an issue if the beds we got stuck with were not right up by the door and bathroom with people either hitting off your bed or draft anytime someone went in or out. Also the beds are very close to eachother, as in if you roll over you could end up in the next bed


71%

The lavatories were not clean. And there wasn't any soap dispenser. Although the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.


77%

Rooms were nice and clean, very secure and good location. They messed up my booking however and with very little apology had me move to a larger room and only offered a free breakfast as comp.


80%

Great location, easy walking distance to most that Amsterdam has to offer. got clean sheets and towels every day was very impressed. i only rated the staff and the atmosphere average because i never really spoke to any of them, i checked in then spent my whole time out of the hotel. so its not a complaint im sure they were great staff I just didn't interact with them. Overall a very good stay would recommend to anyone wanting a few nights in Amsterdam.

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Everything was fine, just very rude staff. Very clean hostel Shame the staff can't smile or be helpful.


86%

This Hostel was the first hostel me and my friends have ever stayed in and we feel it was a very good experience. Very clean, great location (just a few minutes walk from the centre of Amsterdam and Vondelpark). We stayed in an eight bed dorm which was great, staying in a room with five people you don't know can be a bit weird at first but they were all lovely and we all had our separate lockers so all our belongings were safe! Would definitely recommended this place to friends.


94%

Great location, lots of restaurants and cheap food around as well as shopping and tourist sights. Hotel turned hostel so the rooms and bathrooms are really nice there's even TVs in the dorms. Made some good friends here everyone was friendly all in all a great place to stay in Amsterdam.


86%

A mix between hostel and hotel. The room has a good size and the temperature is adjustable. Bathroom clean and new. The facilities are great. The only issue is the wifi signal in the room that didn't work well.


94%

The hostel was in a great location, staff were friendly and gave us helpful information. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Good location if your doing lots of sight seeing and museum looking, not good for young tourists doing the typical Amsterdam trip

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Really nice rooms and bathrooms with a great breakfast for only 5 euros. Unfortunately staff weren't very helpful nor friendly.


74%

Pillows were very thin could of been thicker or firmer but this might just be a Netherland thing since it was not the first time I encounter this on my trip. The room itself seemed a bit dull and moist maybe there needed to be a dihumidafire. Also, maybe the rooms can be a little brighter. I was staying in the double suite and I thought with a little more light the space could of been nicer.


77%

Extremely clean hostel in very good location. Brilliant to beat the queue at the Van Gogh Museum. Staff very helpful. Only thing that needs improving is events and things to do recommended/organised by staff. Felt like there was no recommendations to do anything and had to sort everything out ourselves. Would stay again.


86%

This hostel has really good facilities and is very clean! The ensuite bathrooms are great and the wifi is very reliable. One of the best hostels I've stayed at, would recommend!


74%

Compact room no storage space. Staff weren't overly helpful In regards to tips for amsterdam - told to google it. Nice and clean. Good bathroom

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

So much better than I expected. The bathroom was huge and the beds were comfy. I'm not sure whether I would have liked to stay here with people i don't know but as it was quite close. but as a group it was great. Don't bother with the breakfast, that was the only disappointing bit.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24


(164 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback