X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2397 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice location close to Van Gogh museum and tram line. Room was clean and tidy


80%

Decent enough little hostel. Close to Van Gogh museum and Vondelpark; directly across from the tram which takes you straight into the centre. A little expensive, but not too bad a hostel.


91%

It is a very nice hostel, a very good price for sleep in Amsterda, however if you have plans to go to red light, eat in restaurants or go shopping it is a little far for walking. In general is a nice place to stay.


94%

Breakfast not worth 5€, but guest fridge and microwave mean you can make your own. Close to major attractions, walking distance to everything.


83%

This hostel did feel more like a hotel, but that definitely wasn't all bad! The rooms were very clean and modern, had a TV, and the bathrooms and showers were great. Not much atmosphere at the hostel due to not having a bar, but there was still an area to sit downstairs. One of the cheaper places in amsterdam and we were very happy with it.


97%

C'est plus un hôtel qu'une auberge de jeunesse. Nous sommes partis en couple pour 2 nuits, nous avons eu une superbe chambre avec tout inclus, serviettes, sèche cheveux, gel douche. Le petit déjeuner est aussi diversifié et excellent. L'emplacement est idéal, juste a côté du centre ville! Allez y les yeux fermés !

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The Hostel is really similar to a hotel - it is actually a mix. So, the atmosphere and everything else there is more comparable to a hotel than with a hostel. The good point is that the bathroom and the bedroom were excelents, but the staff and services to the tourist are far from the expectations of most of the people who enjoy staying in hostels for its alternative way.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelentes instalaciones, baño, limpieza, personal, buen wifi, muy recomendable y un excelente precio (en comparación con los demás hostales de Amsterdam, ya que esta de por si es una ciudad cara para alojarse.).


94%

Super friendly and dedicated staff. Asked a German girl who was working at the reception for good places to eat as a local and had the best grilled burger in a long time. Everything was clean and we had a full bathroom in the 8 bed shared room. Location is pretty good too, around 10 minutes walking to a couple of rent-a-bike places.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Half-basement room, very expensive. 460€ for father 2 sons, 3 nights, breakfast not incl. Right next to floor entrance; whenever floor door swung back, our door gave a shattering noise throughout the night. Right outside the window people were talking all night long. Worst thing was black fungi in the ceiling of both the room and the bathroom (photos were made). So even considering it's Amsterdam and it was a short-term booking, this is way overpriced.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

It was simply great: beautiful, comfortable and with every thing you would need. Location is also very convenient.


74%

No complaints would definitely stay here again. Good distance from tourist areas as staff were helpful. Clean hostel no kitchen but that is listed. Wifi was good in all areas.


86%

Hostel Van Gogh is more of a shared hotel room rather than a hostel feel. If you want a relaxed time in Amsterdam Hostel Van Gogh is the place for you. I was really happy about the facilities other than the fact that our shower was super leaky in the 8 bed dorm that we stayed in. The beds were comfortable and there were free maps and discount cards at the front desk that were very helpful. Over all quiet hostel close to everything.


91%

Good hostel, right in front of a tram station, comfortablr bed, hot shower, just a little bit expensive.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A bit pricey, but Amsterdam is, otherwise fantastic! Great quality of furnishing.


100%

Me encantó, todo muy limpio, ordenado y organizado.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a good hostel-- extremely helpful staff, convenient location, and clean facilities. The one negative of this hostel is the lack of social atmosphere. There is sort of a common area, but it is a restaurant style set up (tables as opposed to chairs/couches) so you don't meet as many people at this hostel as you might at other hostels. That said, it was still a great stay and I would definitely recommend the hostel, though it is better for people traveling with friends than alone.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

When we checked into our 8 person dorm the sink was clogged. I immediately told them but it took them 3 days to fix and I asked them everyday! We couldn't brush our teeth or wash our hands so we had to do that in the shower. Also some of the staff didn't seem friendly at all. However, good location.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The staff were very rude one girl in perticular, blond is hair tied in bun. the room flooded and though we were given a new room and upgrade, my friend and i were put in separate rooms One worker was very apologetic good looking young man with surer looking hair. Manager stressed and unable to solve any situation. The location is a bit far out it very expensive, breakfast for 5 euros was not really worth it, and no real social things were going on.


89%

Was a really nice hostel. Location was a little far from the center, a good 25-30 minute walk. Was a decent hostel.


(219 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback