X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Van Gogh Reviews

Van de Veldestraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2674 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

El hostel es muy lindo, bien ubicado y las instalaciones nuevas. Deberían mejorar la atención al cliente, no es que me hablaran mal ni mucho menos, pero se notaba que el personal no estaba suficientemente preparado para atender a los turistas, no sabían o no daban muchas explicaciones sobre medio de trasporte, museos, actividades o atracciones conocidas de la ciudad.


69%

Not the best but not the worst! However it wasn't even in the same league and the flying pig downtown or the bull dog which I have previously stayed in. If this is going to be a laid back trip with less partying and more sight seeing then this is probably the right hostel for you! If you want to experience amsterdams famous night life then choose a more central hostel although this is a nice place to get your head down!


97%

Had a great time. Very cool hostel.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel Van Gogh is a very nice and clean hostel in the museum district of Amsterdam. The staff are professional. The lounge is good, and the breakfast was adequate. Fridge, microwave, and kettle available only as kitchen facilities but other than that I loved my stay at the hostel. Within walking distance of a supermarket, longer to walk to the Red Light District but doable. Dorm rooms were comfortable, individual safes provided, and a nice bathroom.


83%

Wir waren echt zufrieden.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was nice and there is nothing to complain about. 8/10 Would visit again.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Sauberes Zimmer, tolles Bad, nette Mitarbeiter und eine gute Lage im Museumsviertel. Insgesamt erinnert das Hostel eher an ein Hotel, auch was die Rezeption und gesamte Aufmachung betrifft. Einziges Minus, in unserem Bad war es extrem kalt. Gott sei Dank hatten wir einen Heizlüfter, der ein klein wenig Abhilfe geschaffen hat. Dennoch, zu empfehlen, wir würden wieder kommen!


100%

Great hostel, definitely almost like a hotel! Very clean, rooms had wifi and a television. The location was great, near the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum but still within about a 30 minute walk to the center of the city and everything else. Met some incredible people and had a really nice stay! (note I stayed in the all female dorm)


94%

I like staying at the Van Gogh and had a single room there. All fine, except that the mattress is so soft, I could easily have fallen out of bed had I made a wrong move in my sleep. Other than that, it's great and highly recommended!


97%

really great room, the cleaning boy did great job, the room is so clean. i like the bathroom. the staff are so friendly and helpful. oh, the bed is amzing too.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

We found that our room was nice yet lacked space for luggage leaving you no choice but to have it in the middle of the room, also under the beds was incredibly dusty, obviously hasn't been cleaned in months. Other than that it was a pleasant enough stay


86%

It was a wonderful stay. The location and the facilities were amazing I just wish the staff would be a bit more friendly

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Mande un mail para avisar de que una de las noches eramos 4 en vez de 5 personas. no lo tuvieron en cuenta a pesar de que lo habiamos explicado por telefono. nos hicieron pagar todo.


77%

Atmosphere was a bit quiet while I was there, but friendly enough. Everything else was great, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms in good condition. Not the comfiest bed in the world, but okay for 4 nights.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

clean, safe and all facilities (heater, hairdryer, wifi etc) you could need. Would def recommend it. Location wise,a bit outside the central Dam, Jordaan and Red light districts, closer to the museums and fancy shops rather than the trendier club-bar scene. Even then, its max a 20 minute walk to any of these locations. Communal area not great and doesn't really foster much much banter. not exactly a party hostel but tI wanted somewhere quieter so ideal.


77%

Bueno todo excepto una persona de la recepción de rasgos oriental


89%

Dorms were nice but could prove a bit noisy at times. Place was clean and secure, staff were attentive and the breakfast was a good deal.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

立地も設備も完璧だった。美術館や公園に近く、美しいエリアにあり、周囲を散歩するだけでも楽しい。市の中心にもトラムで簡単に行ける。シャワー室が広々としていて、水圧水流も十分で良かった。


100%

Todo perfecto. Buena ubicacion. Buen precio. Limpio. 100% recomendable.


83%

Bem localizado, bom café da manha, funcionários atenciosos.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(185 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback